Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Innocent Venus


Alternative Titles

Japanese: イノセント・ヴィーナス

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 27, 2006 to Oct 26, 2006
Premiered: Summer 2006
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Bandai Visual
Licensors: ADV Films
Studios: Brain's Base
Source: Original
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.891 (scored by 8,864 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #41702
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2870
Members: 22,686
Favorites: 56

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 17, 2008
Touka (All reviews)
Innocent Venus is a very underrated, largely forgotten about series. Such a shame, as it's an exceptionally written, immensely satisfying production.

We're introduced - in the beginning - to a shady duo accompanied by a young girl and a troublesome boy, who are on the run from a roster much larger and much more powerful than themselves. Innocent Venus starts off a little cliche, and occasionally fails to avoid banality, but as the plot progresses it becomes more complex, exciting and unconventional. It presents audiences with gleefully absorbing questions and defining plot twists, with a satisfying climax and ample pace.

Despite fairly commonplace archetypes, the characters breath read more
Dec 30, 2007
mizuhashi (All reviews)
Innocent venus is in my list of favourite animes forever. I thoroughly enjoyed it, mainly because I was hooked to the storyline right the way through. Full of twists and turns, I liked the way it wasn't exactly "predictable" . The series is short, doesn't drag on, but gives you plenty of time to "care" about the characters.
I watched this series in Japanese, and I thought the voice acting was fairly well done, and graphically it was good, however I felt that the intergration of the computer effects on the mecha used could have been more seamless, because when there was great use of read more
Oct 27, 2007
jukugo (All reviews)
Innocent Venus is a series I heard about a while back and I was pretty excited by the first episode. I was not expecting anything groundbreaking, but I was impressed by the visual panache and overall feel of the show. As it turns out, it is one of those series that starts off strong, and then loses its drive, only to pick it back up again in the final stretch. The problem is, by the time it starts to pick up the broken pieces of itself, it is a little too late to salvage the overall product. As rare as it is for me to read more
Jun 2, 2009
Suzune-chan (All reviews)
Inncent Venus is placed in a very hard section of anime that it is forced to content with. Since the anime has a mecha theme it is commonly compared up to the standards of other mecha anime. But this story offers a little heart, for a minii-series.

Story- The story is based around on of those commonly used ideas. It is almost like the creators took a bunch of commonly used ideas and pinned them to the wall, turn around a threw some darts at them. The darts that stuck became the plot. But for having traditional development with a typical plot, it was quite an read more
May 5, 2016
moissi (All reviews)
Innocent Venus is a hidden gem. It's a real shame how underrated this anime is, because it is actually very well written and executed, and everyone should at least give it a go.

We begin the anime getting introduced to Jin and Jo, a shady duo who is protecting a little girl named Sana. They are on the run from an organization much more powerful then them. It may not be a completely unique story, and there are some cliches, but Innocent Venus manages to stay fresh, constantly putting new questions to your head and presenting you with rather unpredictable plot twists.

Characters are, in my read more
Mar 20, 2011
Inugirlz (All reviews)
Story takes place in our world when a desaster happened and left the Earth drastically altered.

So we see more of how humans can be selfish/EVIL bastards

World gets divided into the rich and the poor.

And we've got 3 main characters:

the white-haired nice guy who's the brains of the group and who has a mysterious air around him, Jin

the black-haired fighter who's stoic and rarely talks. Jo. Yet its not like he's a cold person, he's actually really nice and cares about those around him, he shows his love through actions--not words.

the pink-haired damsel in distress. Sana. Wait--what 'damsel' she's a friggin little girl. Very naive read more
Apr 1, 2019
animeetche (All reviews)
This was a decent animation, and a worthwhile watch.

I liked the anime for the setting and being thrown into the mists of a post war like deppression state.

Personally i felt (as always) it was a story that could have bee happily elaborated to 24 episodes.
But this was still fairly well plotted, and it worked in a way that gave you just enough information to keep you happily binging through the episodes, but DEFinately much more story would have been welcomed.


All of the charecters, had that bit of unknown mystery about them, and to a degree you do find out more as read more
Apr 30, 2011
karnak (All reviews)
A story set in the future about warfare between factions who want to seize control of what is left of the earth, its resources and it's population, using weapons-like-androids they try to seize power by any means necessary.

The beginning of the series don't tell us much story is just pure action and some knowledge of the main characters behavior.
The story sure has potential but the series show us very few background story of the main characters which makes it boring after some episodes, i was thinking it was going to be interesting but after getting to the 10th episode, all became easy to guess.

Then, if read more
Apr 30, 2011
SamuraiBlue19 (All reviews)
This is quite honestly one of the best 12 episode shows ever created. It's informative, creative, and enjoyable throughout all 12 episodes, constantly keeping the viewer interested and intellectually engaged throughout its entirety. The show itself is very similar to a phantom: requiem of the phantom and Darker than Black, but still possesses its own unique qualities and issues regarding humanity and its ever-growing thirst for power. The main characters are very unique and dynamic, allowing for the viewer to become captivated by each and every one of their stories.
The art itself was brilliantly handled, with CG's being smoothly transitioned onto the screen. The read more
Jun 3, 2014
jyagan0 (All reviews)
While the premise of the series is a bread and butter of anime series, it happens to also be a plot that I've enjoyed many times over. At first I really enjoyed this series even when it started becoming laboriously convoluted to the point it seemed like they were randomly adding stuff to the plot to make it more "interesting." But, by that point I was caught up and interested in the characters and wondering what exactly was going on in their heads. Maybe I was projecting onto them too much from other anime I enjoyed, because looking back there wasn't that much character development. read more
Nov 21, 2017
DarkRavie (All reviews)
Innocent Venus is a mecha type anime about the military trying to incorporate the nervous system of certain humans into machines called Gladiators. Out to stop them is the resistance and they will do everything they can to protect the one called Venus from falling into the military's hands.

My thouhgts:
I truly enjoyed watching this anime. The animation is very good and fluid. The characters of Jin and Jo are great. Jin is the calm quiet type, he'll reason with you, while Jo is the strong and quiet type and will just plain scare you. Gora could be said to be the comic relief read more
Jan 13, 2012
Meh_93 (All reviews)
Enjoyment / Overall :: 7

The plot was good, had twists that kept me watching, and the characters were all interesting. The problem is that none of the characters have any background and there were some plot holes that bugged me. The thing is, all of this could have easily been fixed with more episodes. This series could have been great had it been longer, but ultimately, it wasn’t, so there was some wasted potential.

Story :: 7.5

The premise of Innocent Venus is pretty cliché: the main characters are protecting Sana from an evil organization and we don’t know why. The first half the anime is a read more
Mar 11, 2014
Juky (All reviews)
I have conflicted feelings about this anime series. Overall, I enjoyed it, but there are issues I have with this anime that ultimately leave me unsatisfied.

The story of Innocent Venus is somewhat dark, with a major plot twist happening in the middle of the anime. Plot twists happen all the time, but this one feels slightly forced, since one of the main characters change significantly, and this was the biggest issue I had with this anime. This also relates to the issue with characters. Because of the fact that the characters are mainly flat, with the exception of the three protagonist, I felt attached to read more