Demashita! Powerpuff Girls Z
Powerpuff Girls Z
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

English: Powerpuff Girls Z
Synonyms: PPGZ
Japanese: 出ましたっ!パワパフガールズZ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 52
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 1, 2006 to Jun 30, 2007
Premiered: Summer 2006
Broadcast: Saturdays at 07:00 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Toei Animation
Source: Other
Genres: ActionAction, ComedyComedy, MagicMagic, SchoolSchool, Sci-FiSci-Fi, ShoujoShoujo, Slice of LifeSlice of Life, Super PowerSuper Power
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: PG - Children

Statistics

Score: 6.351 (scored by 74367,436 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #65152
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3158
Members: 21,084
Favorites: 132

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 25, 2008
RICEA42991 (All reviews)
I was a big PPG fan while it aired back normally on CN. So hearing that my much loved animated series was getting an anime series was great news to me. However after watching the anime series I was greatly dissappointed at how much they downplayed it.

Story: 6 The storyline was fair to me. Changes of course had to be done, but the amount of changes were a little to much for my tastes.

The main dissapointment was just how weak they made the heroines powers. Having yoyo's and barrettes made PPG go from a age-less great show, to a kiddy show in read more
Sep 17, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

The United States is constantly getting bashed for producing horrible adaptations and ripoffs of other countries' shows, movies, etc. Many times these criticisms are justified and the American version truly was shit. Other times the the US version is judged unfairly by people who never even saw it. Today's review is an example of a shitty adaptation of an American cartoon. Have you ever wished that some country would take a beloved US cartoon and do to it what the Yanks did to "The Wicker Man?" This is that cartoon!


Background:

The original Power Puff girls was a popular US cartoon during the animation bubble of read more
Sep 16, 2009
Shinjisblade (All reviews)
In a nutshell it was ok. After seeing the whole thing you can see how they stayed true to the original series, partially. They kept the old villains looks, personalities, and motives the same but also introduced some of their own to mix it up.
What bothered me the most were some of the cliches and overall placement of....well everything.
Complicated problems are solved within seconds, Professor Utonium has always built some new invention right on time in order to save the day, and they cram things that should span episodes into about 5 minutes.
Everything seemed small scaled, even the girls powers which if read more
Jan 11, 2015
angelsreview (All reviews)
So I know what the first comments are going to be, it’s a Powerpuff Girls knockoff. And to that, I would say yes and no. This is a slightly different story as the girls were not created with sugar, spice, and everything nice with a toxic element, but were normal school girls given powers. Yes, they made the Powerpuff Girls into an actually magical girl story with secret identities and such. They even have a ‘transformation’ sequence as the girls turn into superheroes.

Let me go over the storyline, and just to let you know, I only saw the English one so if the Japanese is read more
Feb 14, 2020
SilentKitsune_95 (All reviews)
I usually don’t write reviews, but this will be an exception because... nostalgia.
I was 11 when I found out about this series back in 07’. I was already a huge PPG fan during my early childhood, so watching this series was so much fun. Years later, it has aged. I still have an appreciation for it.

If you’re already a fan of the original series, you’ll enjoy it just fine. It’s not perfect, but it’s durable. Be mindful of some of the changes made in the anime (the girls not being related is a prime example and are 13 instead of 5. Slight changes to some read more
Nov 12, 2019
whylime (All reviews)
TL;DR: Powerpuff Girls Z is a blast of nostalgia from my personal childhood and a fun show to watch when you have nothing else.

L;DR
First and foremost, I've given this show the rating I did out of pure nostalgia. I never watched the original Powerpuff girls as a kid the way that my friends did, and instead I grew up on... this. It's what probably introduced me to anime and what bonded my older sister and I- hours in front of the phone watching this show. I also remember watching it dubbed, and from my vague childhood memory it wasn't that bad.

In this review I can't read more
Aug 11, 2009
softwarekiller (All reviews)
Preliminary
Although I not a big fan of PPG I really enjoyed this series. And because it's based the Cartoon Network's Powerpuff Girls, I will compare them too.
The CN's series was an attemt to make a japanese style cartoon in America (just look at it: chibi characters with big eyes, magical girl feeling - schoolgirls turn ito heroes - that's not typical in the US.)
This series is a kind of "We show you a real japanese PPG". So the Aniplex made a franzische with some modifications.
First the changed the situation: to show it's an improvement of the US series, the Chemical X get read more
May 13, 2013
Kiki-Redemption (All reviews)
Powerpuff Girls Z (PPGZ) is the retelling of the homonymous American cartoon (I’ll just call it PPGA), the silly adventures of a trio of supergirls as they protect their world from all sorts of criminals and monsters. Instead of just stopping to a dubbed version for reasons that I only imagine being fan pleasing, Japan decided to have its own PPG series, made from scratch. And boy, did they change a lot…

This is not exactly new in the industry. Since as far as the 80’s America and Japan make their own versions of the same story. Famous examples are Macross/Roboteck, American-only sequels to Voltron Defender read more
Sep 30, 2019
SavageSource (All reviews)
Most people mocking this anime with Sailor Moon for a reason, but unlike all the mahou-shoujo genre, it comes from the already popular much more brutal and regular non-anime Powerpuff Girls from Cartoon Network. However the story itself is nicely done however not faithful to the original story at all, but has many potential to continue the story in manga, even if the anime itself gained far from enough popularity than expected from the English and other asian Cartoon Network channels from the 2000s. The artstyle tastes simple and touches Scott Pilgrim in many ways. The transformation of the girls were pretty much unnecessary and read more
Apr 5, 2014
Umfuu (All reviews)
The animation had a rushed quality to it as if the episodes needed to be pushed out as soon as possible. A few scenes were reused a bit too much, excluding the transformations of course. While the story was tedious, overly goofy, and some episodes felt like barefaced copies of previous ones, it did manage to keep me amused. If it weren't for those more entertaining moments, though, it would have been a very "meh" series. The main attraction here is the immature playful comedy. I would suggest staying away from Powerpuff Girls Z if you are particularly critical with plot. (80% of the awesome read more
Aug 25, 2015
rirururu (All reviews)
I feel like this is the kind of series that you would enjoy so much more just by not taking it seriously. Clearly the writers weren't taking it seriously. But seeing as this has the beloved cartoon's name attached to it, of course it's going to receive a lot of hate. The point is, I think that if the producers wanted to make a joke series, they shouldn't do it with an already existing franchise that lots of people love.

Story: 4/10
Where do I begin? I'm not going to pretend that anything made sense; like I said, if I turn off my very logical mathematical mind read more
Dec 15, 2010
Drumming1997 (All reviews)
So, me and my little sister (Me 13, she 5) watched this. After the first few episodes, my sister pretty much summed up the flaws. The ppg powers are greatly reduced, ("I don't like how they can ONLY use yo-yo's and stuff)...also, the voices are horrible. This anime is ALOT like Sailor Moon, but with the ppg storyline. In Sailor Moon, I was forced to watch the subbed version, due to the fact that I couldn't STAND the voices. Same with this. My sister can't read, so she was forced to watch the dub, she also hated the voices.

The characters a rewritten a bit;

read more