Full Moon wo Sagashite


Searching for the Full Moon

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Full Moon o Sagashite
Japanese: 満月をさがして
English: Searching for the Full Moon
More titles

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 52
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 6, 2002 to Mar 29, 2003
Premiered: Spring 2002
Broadcast: Saturdays at 07:30 (JST)
Producers: Nihon Ad Systems
Licensors: VIZ Media
Studios: Studio Deen
Source: Manga
Genres: ComedyComedy, DramaDrama, RomanceRomance, SupernaturalSupernatural
Theme: MusicMusic
Demographic: ShoujoShoujo
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.941 (scored by 4079140,791 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #6312
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1672
Members: 97,678
Favorites: 1,640

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 17, 2007
Ria (All reviews)
Full Moon wo Sagashite was one of those animes I started on a whim. I had already read the manga, and decided to give the anime a try to see how much I liked it in comparison. To my surprise, I <i>loved</i> it, possibly even more than the manga version. The changes it makes from the manga were actually ones I (for the most part) preferred.

---Story---

While Full Moon wo Sagashite may not see like much on the surface -- little girl has a life-threatening disease, wants to sing, and becomes sixteen years old with the help of two friendly shinigami -- it read more
Apr 4, 2007
algelic (All reviews)
Suitable for all audiences, young and new. Contains some bloodless violence.


Story - 10/10

At first, this looks like the typical shoujo series directed at young girls, thanks to all the bright colours and cute characters. From the synopsis, it looks like a sad and depressing anime about death. But it's so much more than that.

We meet the main character, Mitsuki, who is a young girl with throat cancer and whose biggest dream is to become a great singer and maybe one day meet the boy she loves, but who left for America two years ago. One day she is visited by two death gods (the Shinigami) read more
Jan 27, 2021
RuRuLove505 (All reviews)
Spoilers in the second part.

I love, love, love this anime so much. The main character Mitsuki is this adorable character who thinks and cares about the feelings of everyone else. Even though she is weakened by illness and /has/ to care for herself more. She's not selfish, and isn't an annoyingly, over-the-top "cutesy, clumsy" kind of girl. Not at all. And she's not some self-pitying, cowardly, 'I have no friends so I'm going to cry all day' character either. Music is her motivation, and she uses that to be a better, self-dependent, self-motivated, cheerful version of herself. Because of this factor, I was able to read more
May 27, 2010
kekekeKaj (All reviews)
I watched "Full Moon wo Sagashite" because it had one of the highest average user ratings at one point on this other anime site that I visit. So it probably comes as no surprise that I was sorely disappointed to find that it's only good, but nothing special. So the main purpose of this review is to provide a different viewpoint from all those other rave reviews that can be found for this series.

"Full Moon wo Sagashite" is quite a heart warming anime about a little girl who wants to become a singer, but only has one year to live because of the read more
Aug 24, 2014
DreamingLily (All reviews)
Full Moon wo Sagashite: Searching for a full moon

I guess most people who are anime fans just constantly look for those anime that really leave a deep impact on you, lift you up, and help you gain a further appreciation for anime. Sometimes we wonder if that special one will ever come, that one that is so special to us on a personal level that we will forever remember it as long as we continue to watch anime or even think about it. This time for me, I think I found one of those in full moon wo sagashite.

On the surface full moon wo sagashite read more
Aug 8, 2009
srsng (All reviews)
Let’s sing a song…

Studio Deen pulled off another heartwarming and emotional anime that will tug at the strings of your heart.

The story of Full Moon O Sagashite is very unique. Sure that it falls under the magical shoujo, typical idol-singer genre, but there existed an aura, an unmistakable atmosphere that persisted throughout the show—There’s a build up of emotions waiting to explode, and it felt like a time bomb the entire time. This definitely cannot be considered the normal stereotypical anime, regardless of what it may seem initially. It also has its own share of drama and slice of life theme – exploring life and read more
Mar 20, 2021
eednamoj (All reviews)
This is conflicting.

For starters, this anime is beautiful. The artwork, the music, the character development, the romance, the story - all of it is above and beyond. In fact, in most areas it even surpasses the manga. Although some episodes are clearly filler or fluff, overall the anime is really great and easy to keep interested in.

The main protagonist, Mitsuki, has a tumor in her throat, which makes her love for singing and music basically impossible to chase. Throw in the childhood love she lost as a kid and her promise to him that the next time they meet, they'd both be accomplished read more
Aug 19, 2010
sailorstar (All reviews)
Either you are reading this because:
1# You want to know what the anime is about or basic scores
OR
2# You want to see if anyone else loved this anime as much as you did.

Whichever one of the two reasons, I hope you enjoy my review ^_^

I finished Full Moon Wo Sagashite [Searching for a full moon] a few months back and only realised recently I had not recommended it.
SO here is my long overdue review-

[STORY]

10/10

At a first glance this may seem to be a girly, shoujo anime that is about as deep as a paddling pool, but the story revolves around trust, forgotten read more
Mar 22, 2020
NickLucario (All reviews)
A magical experience. Most likeable characters I've ever seen, amazing messages, studio Deen makes each performance look interesting and engaging, they add tons of personality to the scenes of lighthearted comedy, and also deliver with some stunning dramatic animation in its most intense moments. It's just all around an amazing anime to watch with great characters that have a ton of chemistry. It's themes are beautiful and at times heartbreaking and very interesting. It takes so many tropes that you've seen in other shows and completely flips them on their head and gives an experience like no other. This show has a million 10/10 moments, read more
Aug 4, 2015
Suppi (All reviews)
I discovered this anime via the song "Eternal Snow" (I wouldn't recommend listening to it before watching thoug). It directly catched my attention. And I wasn't dissapointed.
Full Moon wo Sagashite is a must watch if you like the shoujo style. A more well know anime in the same style is Card Captor Sakura (CCS). If you liked CCS then you should watch Full Moon wo sagashite. As you could imagine from the synopsis, the story has a serious and sad note although the characters can be funny.

I liked the song of the anime a lot. Characters were awesome and likeable.
Once I read more
Aug 27, 2018
Ismata-chan (All reviews)
Full Moon wo Sagashite was such an amazing trip to re-experience. I read the manga years ago as a kid and really enjoyed it, but I didn't know there was an anime until recently. I was so drawn in that watched the entire thing in a few days! Mixing such beautiful and fun moments with bitter ones is really what got me the most.

This is really an anime for all audiences. The characters are lovable with great chemistry. The story is bittersweet and inspiring. The music is just phenomenal! (The openings aren't what I would prefer, but everything else is just astounding!) I really don't read more
Jul 17, 2014
NyaNatsuki (All reviews)
It was only in March 2013 that I started watching this Anime after finishing a few other Animes on Youtube. I was on Youtube and I clicked on it. At first, I didn't really like Full Moon, but I gave it another chance and I'm glad I did.

Story: 10/10

This is just my opinion, but I believe this story is amazing. No story is completely flawless but this was close to it. Twelve year old Mitsuki has lung cancer and two shinigami show up granting her one life to live. If I was Mitsuki I would be crying and upset, but she wasn't upset she read more
Mar 28, 2018
Sweetsinger9 (All reviews)
Story: 10/10
A girl and boy promises each other to fulfil their dreams. Her dream is to become a singer, however, unfortunately, she suffers from throat cancer. But, with the help of two shinigamis, she is able to sing once again.

Art: 10/10
The art is cute, but has its flaws. This type of art was often common during the 2000s. The character designs were appealing and unique.

Sound: 10/10
The anime's soundtrack is amazing, you get so absorbed into the music and it helps set the mood even more when someone happy or sad happens.

Characters: 10/10
The characters develop over time and they are characters you will love, read more
Nov 17, 2015
easternjohnny (All reviews)
i'm going make this review short and sweet

this anime is about a young girl name Miriko searching for her destiny to somehow become a singer after finding out she has cancer in the throat, with out of the blue two death gods show up and that she somehow can see she finds it by magically becoming a full moon out of a promise she made..

this anime is heartwarming and puts a lot of emotional feelings to a test from death to wanting to have Miriko to live on with both her altered-ego called Full Moon to herself, and searching for her great friend which read more
Apr 15, 2011
ProperPrincess (All reviews)
full moon wo sagashite, is a heartwarming series.
about a girl who has throat cancer. she is visited by 2 shinigamis, they tell her that she only has 1 year left to live in. Both shinigamis becomes surprised when she tells them that she is not afraid to die and to lose her voice is much worse. she has a dream of becoming a singer, so she runs away from Shinigami to take an audition, but is then captured by the 2 shinigamier. she gets frustrated and tells them, If she only has 1 year left to do, so she could just as well carry out read more
Feb 10, 2009
Liddo-kun (All reviews)
Preliminary
One of my most favourite shoujo anime of all time, Full Moon shows us the importance of wanting to hang on to what we hold dear in life, to regain what has been lost and hold on to it no matter the price. Human love and compassion portrayed on a realistic level, Full Moon is simply a classic anime that will never be outdated.

Dec 11, 2013
sandra12300 (All reviews)
full moon wo sagashite was one of my most loved animes. i was looking at animes that i could watch and i found my self looking at the title i really liked the sound of it also i like the moon and stars so i was interested.

story

Mitsuki is an ordinary Twelve year old girl that loves to sing but she was diagnosed with a malignant tumor of the throat that stopped her from singing. then two shinigami appear and tell her that she has one more year to live.long ago she made a promise to a boy she loved that read more
Sep 13, 2009
Bishounen_Hunter (All reviews)
~Main | Overall
Full Moon wo Sagashite, for me, is the quintessential shoujo anime. It has all the elements a shoujo addict like myself craves; it's funny, dramatic, emotional, has nice looking characters and great music. There is not much to be said about this series that has not been said already, I would truly love to give this series all PERFECT 10s because it does deserve it, but there are some minor stuff I gotta take points off for. Still hands down Full Moon excels as a shoujo series as most reviews you come across have demonstrated by giving this show nothing but 9s read more
Aug 9, 2010
dancequeen1093 (All reviews)
This will defientely always be one of my favorite animes of all time. There is so much depth to be enjoyed with this anime, it's impossible not to love it!

Story - 10/10

The Plot of this anime was unlike any plot I have seen before! Mitsuki, a 12 year old girl with throat cancer dreams of becoming a singer to reunite with her childhood love. Sound like a nice, rosy anime? Well, it can really fool you. This anime is not as cheery as it seems. I guarantee. It made me cry buckets. But nevertheless. The plot is truly amazing and the story read more
Jun 12, 2008
ethann (All reviews)
Full moon wo sagashite is about a 12 year old girl who has throat cancer but wants to become a singer. One day she is visited by two shinigami or death gods who tell her she has one year left to live, so instead of being depressed she is determind to acheive her dream and meet the one she loves before time runs out, which is made possible with the help of the two shinigami, however, feelings soon develop and this becomes a problem for the shinigami.

The story is very intersting involving several different elements, namely, Fantasy, Romance, Drama, Comedy and music. The story has read more