Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

AKB0048


Alternative Titles

English: AKB0048
Synonyms: AKB0048: First Stage
Japanese: AKB0048

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 29, 2012 to Jul 22, 2012
Premiered: Spring 2012
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Satelight
Source: Original
Genres: Music, Sci-Fi
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.511 (scored by 19,032 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #15642
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1567
Members: 42,475
Favorites: 561

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 14, 2012
DraconisMarch (All reviews)
Preliminary
I hate it when people write reviews for shows before a series ends as much as anyone (especially ones that dub a show godly after one episode), but the rating of this show in comparison to the ass-load of complete garbage airing right now (whose names I won't mention), combined with the average user's apparent misconceptions about it (comparing it to Symphogear? lolno), combined with its low popularity, made me decide that I have to say SOMETHING.

In short: I don't get it. I don't get why this is so lowly rated when, even after just the first episode, it's proven to be superior to read more
Jul 22, 2012
Stellio (All reviews)
With the large amount of questionable things AKB0048 attempted, this show was inevitably doomed to fail. The large casts of characters, the doubtable synopsis and its variety of genres clustered together just to name a few. Most ridiculous of all, the director expected AKB48 singers, a real-life, popular idol group, to successfully convert into voice actresses. Furthermore, most soundtracks in the actual anime will be inserted directly from AKB48's popular debuts, and this all just seemed too convenient to work out. Thus, I walked into AKB0048 expecting some terribly scripted dialogues, incorrect utilization of AKB48 soundtracks, and tons more to name. But here I am, read more
Jul 26, 2012
DmonHiro (All reviews)
Well now, here's something that I was expecting to be a giant pile of horse crap. I mean, come ON, a show about AKB48 saving the world through song? That's so freaking dumb. And then I remembered Macross already did that... Wait... Kawamori Shouji is directing it? THE HELL? The director of Macross Zero, Aquarion, and Macross Frontier (among others) is directing a AKB48 anime? Color me intrigued. Series is composed by Okada Mari, who has some very good titles under her belt (Hanasaku Iroha, Gosick, Wondering Son). All in all, the production team seems solid.

So yeah, that's how I started watching this show, in read more
Mar 1, 2013
Fantassy (All reviews)
So, AKB was a series that not many people seemed to like, so with this review I’ll try my hardest to explain why it managed to win me over. And let me get one thing straight: it’s not like I’m some sort of idol fanboy. In fact, I hate the idol business. I really dislike J-Pop as a music genre. And I’m really not a fan of abusing moe and cute girls to pander to an audience. So yes: how on earth did this show manage to win me over?

For the people who aren’t familiar at all with AKB0048: AKB48 is an idol group, consisting read more
Apr 30, 2012
akbfan (All reviews)
Preliminary
I watched this simply because I'm an AKB48 fan..but I had my reservation about this anime. The design wasn't my style, I prefer less loli looking art. The storyline was just ridiculous with their premise of "moe space musical terrorists." However I decided to not judge the book by it's cover and watch this show, mostly because Shouji Kawamori of Macross and Mari Okada, who wrote Ano Hana, Toradora, Lupin the 3rd, all animes I enjoyed. There's also the amazing voice actresses cast that pulled me in.

Edited after more episodes.

At first I was expecting some kind of K-on/Idolmaster typical stuffs with the extra read more
May 3, 2012
killbethy (All reviews)
Preliminary
Whether or not you should watch AKB0048 can pretty much be answered with two questions...

1. Do you like AKB48?

2. Does the dream to become a seifuku-clad guerilla idol that zips about on floating platform bravely fighting anti-entertainment mechas with weaponized stage props all while nailing the group choreography and keeping a tune sound like story-telling genius? (OR, more succinctly, could you really care less about a show's plot as long as you get to watch some moe chicks?)

If you answered "no" to either of these questions, AKB0048 is just not for you. When push comes to shove, it really doesn't matter how good read more
Jul 27, 2015
pedrosp14 (All reviews)
First let me apologize for the mistakes I can make as I am from Brazil.
I have watched some Idol animes to know that this one is my favorite of them. I will try not to tell any spoilers.

Story (8):
The plot spins around 4 girls who as kids attended to the concert of AKB0048, an ''rebel'' group who makes concerts on planets where entertainment is banned, facing lots of danger they risk their lifes to bring joy to people, and show love. These 4 girls decide that one day they will join this group. I really think this is a great story, it is different from read more
Nov 26, 2016
azphyron (All reviews)
First, I’d like to mention that when I watched this anime a while back, I was unaware of how popular the idol industry was in Japan, let alone who the group AKB48 was. I came into this show expecting an enjoyable music-focused anime, and I was happy with what I got.

STORY:
The best thing about this show is the mixing of genres. It has a futuristic sci-fi setting, which lays the foundation for the universal ban on entertainment. The group of idols also serves as a group of rebels who are fighting to bring their music to their fans all across the universe. I really liked read more
Jul 23, 2012
YuanMori (All reviews)
It's not often that an anime comes around that pulls one over on the audience as fast as AKB0048 does. Given what is probably one of the silliest premises ever in anime the writing takes hold and runs away with it, spinning a complex story of futuristic idols in a world where entertainment is banned.

I went into this show with incredibly low expectations and came away wowed. Although the show does not fall too dark there are some rather grim undertones - to perform their concerts in worlds where entertainment is banned the idols form two teams, a performance group and a defending group. The read more
Nov 21, 2012
DesuChan (All reviews)
AKB0048, its sole purpose is to promote the real life group AKB48, an infamous japanese girls group. Honestly I have been an AKB48 fan since I discovered J-culture itself, but having it become an anime was an entirely different situation for me.

I was very skeptical about AKB0048, and for a long time when I see AKB0048 on other member's anime list, I would often ignore it because the synopsis sounded stupid enough.

But on one faithful day, I decided to download it and give it a try. Since the genre was "Music", one of my favourite genre's I downloaded the Blue-Ray edition... my life read more
May 14, 2017
BluXBerry (All reviews)
I'm pretty sure people would hate me for this but I honestly thought that AKB0048 was better than Love Live! School Idol Project. This was because the idols in AKB0048 were fighting to put on shows and I think fighting idols are cool. I literally kept searching and searching to find a fighting idol anime like this. Not only that but the art style gave the characters this glossy look and I loved all their eyes! Most people said that this was as failure anime but, I thought this was an a outstanding anime. Somwhere along the line I had something that I could read more
Mar 20, 2017
Mikaru7 (All reviews)
Okay.. starting to review AKB0048 is hard for me a bit I guess.. but here goes...

Story- 10/10--
The story is a bit unrealistic, with girls fighting with weapons and also singing with the. But it's truly fun and entertaining.

Art- 8/10--
The art is nice and I liked it alot. But sometimes it turns me off and other times it is awesome for me.

Sound- 10/10--
The background sounds are awesome. The seiyuus do a great job in voice acting. Music is entertaining.

Character- 8/10--
Characters are likable or lovable. I couldn't get to like only a few characters but others are all amazing for me.

Enjoyment- 10/10
I enjoyed a lot while watching read more
May 14, 2012
sialzcrew (All reviews)
Preliminary
while i see the title "AKB0048" im thinking this anime will be bored but after i hearing my friend talking about AKB48 in facebook and i give they link about this anime and in next week he says to me if "AKB0048 its anime from AKB48" (until that i dont know who or what is AKB48 xD)
but while see the 1st episode im know if AKB48 its girl band xD
now i`ll review this anime :
Story 8 : the story conered in this anime is about crazy rule.., yeah banning an "entertaiment" but where is bad there is good, the AKB0048 likes rebelion and they using read more
Dec 22, 2012
Phantasmafloria (All reviews)
With the coming of a new age for the Japanese music industry, it becomes difficult to get by without mentioning AKB48. A national phenomena, and a growing one overseas with a fandom somewhat familiar yet strikingly different to that of anime.

Speculation from media and fans alike have all pointed towards AKB0048 to being a anime cashout as required for the expansion of the 48 group empire, a journey into the world of animation.

Under the tutelage of Shōji Kawamori of Macross fame however, we receive a unique and interesting look into a microcosm of idol fandom and a surprisingly clever critique of the wrongs within the read more
Nov 21, 2015
JUNSILENCE (All reviews)
Story: The story is about the universe being banned from entertainment. That means no music and no concerts. The rebels known as AKB0048 are a bunch pop idols who defy the laws and bring music into peoples hearts. The problem with the story is fact that they took it too far with the plot as in a group of teenage girls facing off against male soldiers in war. Its not believable that girls can beat soldiers with guns. Very dramatic with too much crying among the female characters.

Art: It was okay I did not like the eyes of the females with hearts in them read more
May 16, 2013
nobleneurotic (All reviews)
AKB0048 is a story of a group of girls’ dream to become a part (some, as successors) of a famous all-female entertainment group AKB0048, or 00 for short.

Story: (9/10)
A group of girls that rebels against the government thru entertainment and music? What a stupid idea. It’s so stupid that it actually turned out wonderful. Planets, under the entertainment ban, are dull and lifeless. Entertainment is their only catalyst. I can now imagine how bad our lives would be without entertainment.

AKB0048 has this excellent storyline that begins with a small piece, progresses, and links up all of the characters’ stories but still maintains those small read more
Mar 2, 2015
UltraDoom (All reviews)
I liked this way more than I should have. The art was fantastic with mix of traditional and CG work for the performances, I enjoyed the modern style and the attention paid to the choreography and background art in particular. I also found myself having favorite songs very quickly (Beginner anyone?!?!). The music in this show is based on real songs performed by the actual AKB48 which has an almost equally interesting story (check out wikipedia). The story is based on the spread of peace and centers on the efforts of the individual members as they overcome personal struggles and push through to new limits. read more
Sep 1, 2014
BigBoss0327 (All reviews)
Story: 8/10
AKB0048 started off great. I really like an anime that has a perfect first episode, and from then on every other episode had me in tears. I don't know if that was due to the fact that I sacrificed a whole six and a half hours of sleep to watch this or because I was emotionally touched in some way. Probably both. This anime is just so unique though. Idol anime + Action + Mecha + Cute Girls. What more could you want? Oh yeah, plus it actually has a decent story. It's dark, mysterious, filled with love, hate, jealousy, and all that nasty read more
May 21, 2012
Zhangsterali (All reviews)
Preliminary
I found AKB0048 average. Its not bad or great. I believe the rank of this anime should be around 1500 not 3000. First the storyline isn't very realistic but it isn't really childish. The characters have thier own sense of style but are a bit too dramatic. The sounds are really clear and not postponed. The art isn't that good compared to others its not as realistic as others. I found the anime enjoyment average not really that tempted to watch it but still feel like watching it. Overall is ok and isn't a bad anime to watch. My opinions might change through the next read more
Sep 29, 2012
Fatalpulse (All reviews)
Audiences can easily dismiss the "Three episode rule" while watching AKB0048, for that everything you see in the first episode is what you will see in the all the upcoming episodes. It's straightforward and the audiences can immediately tell if this is their thing or not.

AKB0048 the pure concentrated Shoji Kawamori crack, it's harmless, silly, over the top, visually stunning, and honestly embraces itself on its shortcomings. While these may not be the recipe of what makes a legendary piece, the show keeps viewers relaxed and satisfied.

I myself came into this show with zero knoweldge about AKB48, and ended up still knowing nothing about read more