Aru Tabibito no Nikki

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: The Diary of Tortov Roddle, A Traveller's Diary
Japanese: 或る旅人の日記

Information

Type: ONA
Episodes: 6
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Mar 19, 2003 to Jun 4, 2003
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: None found, add some
Source: Original
Genres: AdventureAdventure, FantasyFantasy
Duration: 3 min. per ep.
Rating: G - All Ages

Statistics

Score: 7.131 (scored by 1002510,025 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #30842
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3497
Members: 22,079
Favorites: 111
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 16, 2008
melieon (All reviews)
Oh my, what and incredible work of art we have here.

Diary of Tortov Roddle is really something unique, I enjoyed it very much.
It's like watching a moving panting, like running through a museum while beautiful music is being played all over the place.

It really doesn't has a plot, It's just Tortov Roddle traveling and showing us places. But oh, what kind of places.
They are so magical, with a great amount of surrealism, artistic, unique.
It leaves you wanting more. Always wanting to know what other kind of places he will visit. Places just beyond our imagination.

The art is really simple, original,different. That's what makes it read more
Sep 6, 2013
Gazoinks (All reviews)
Legitimately one of my favorite anime, although really not for everyone.

The Diary of Tortov Roddle is a series of wonderful, beautiful, surreal, wordless (aside from text from Tortov's diary) shorts, starring the traveler Tortov Roddle and his strange long-legged pig mount and companion. There's not really a story to speak of; the series is essentially a series of short vignettes. Tortov goes somewhere, experiences something odd, and then moves on.

What somethings they are, though. The series is surreal, but unlike most uses of surrealism, it's not really symbolic. The surrealism doesn't represent the mind of a character, or the author's opinion read more
Feb 20, 2014
2SugoiToActSugoi (All reviews)
Aru Tabibito no Nikki translates into "A Traveler's Diary." That is exactly what it is, and that is exactly what you should expect. Aru Tabibito no Nikki is the diary of a man named Tortov Roddle. His diary is beautifully simplistic; he writes about what he sees and what he's doing. He writes about what is on his mind.

There is no exaggeration. There are no women with massive breasts, there are no chibi scenes or outrageous expressions. This sentence explains exactly what this short is: "Accompanied by his long-legged pig friend, Tortov takes us on an on-going adventure of peaceful contemplation."

And what a beautiful read more
Oct 12, 2018
Krunchyman (All reviews)
“Wonderfully strange.” — Krunchyman

I can’t quite put my finger on it, but something about The Diary of Tortov Roddle feels quite exceptional. In the eye of an impartial observer, the six stories may seem a bit disjointed, with no obvious through line or extensive exploration into the character’s psyche. Be that as it may, it would seem that The Diary of Tortov Roddle was not meant to be understood through the narrow prism of human logic, but, more or less, experienced via innate emotions. A placid, visceral viewing experience if there ever was one.

The surrealistic approach, along with the imaginative artwork, gives read more
Jul 14, 2012
Solemnmind (All reviews)
A common misconception about animated shorts states that they, bathing in creativity or not, never reach the same heights of storytelling as full-length features. While it's true that there's little room left for plot devices and character development if you happen to have a running time that doesn't even surpass half an hour, I still find this notion absolutely ridiculous. Rather than observing a short film and condemn it based on the lack of things you'd find in a movie, I've always been under the belief that the approach itself needs to be changed in accordance to the running time. Hopefully, viewers who happen to read more
Aug 24, 2009
neow_neow (All reviews)
The Diary of Tortov Roddle shows us in a somewhat unique way. The story starts where Tortov Roddle, the main character and somewhat the narrator, introduces himself and tells us a bit about his journey.

During his journey, he encounters a lot of fantasized things, such as frogs, a fish, a bear, a pig, rabbits, etc. (I will not say specifically how they are related to fantasy since that would spoil the whole thing). He always guides us in his point of view and in a journal way. So, it is not hard for us to understand this story.

In my perspective, I really love the read more
Dec 27, 2009
Marquis_D_Luffy (All reviews)
Tortov Roddle summed up in one word is "phantasmagorical."

I just wanted to use that word. ^^;

When I first started watching Tortov Roddle, I wasn't sure I was even watching a product of Japan. Tortov Roddle shares the name anime only in the sense that it wass animated in Japan, and the concept is from Japan. And though you could draw similarities from the latter, the former is difficult to see. Watching, I felt as though I was looking at a French arts short film. And that is what Tortov Roddle is, a series of artistic shorts, pushing surreal boundaries and supplanting reality for fantasy.

The series read more
Jun 25, 2010
starshinesMonet (All reviews)
As it has been expressed by my peers, the art alone is reason to watch. It really is like watching old Canadian or European cartoons - particularly, for me, The Man Who Planted Trees (which is one of my favourites). I love watercolours, personally, so this art style spoke to me immediately, because the textures and hues are those of a watercolour painting. As Tehnominator states "the grainy look makes the images seem aged... like in a story book from one's childhood" or in my case, a painting.

This could also be due to the wonderful implementation of frames to tell a story, like read more
Jan 7, 2021
_keola_ (All reviews)
Aru Tabibito no Nikki ( the story of Tartov Roddle ) is 6 short episodes, a 16-minute masterpiece. A travelers journey set in 6 short experiences. // not for everyone, this show is something you will either love or not really care for //

on to the review -

Story: 8/10

The story is the one place where people typically say it flakes, there is no overall story but after seeing each scene you can get a sense of his life. A lone man and his long-legged pig travel, you are watching the various things he experiences.

Art: 10/10

I am a sucker for the artsy-fartsy read more
Mar 1, 2013
isMusic (All reviews)
Thought provoking, melancholic, imaginative, quiet, strange yet so beautiful and calm. I like to see myself just exactly like that. A very artistic short series that leaves you wanting more. Soothing and relaxing music that forces you to clear up your mind. A beautiful masterpiece.
Mar 29, 2014
Po_and_Dong (All reviews)
A series of anime shorts by Robot/Oh! Productions who have also produced some similar, unrelated shorts. This series has 6 episodes that are all no more than 3 minutes. It is basically a very short quaint, episodic story with no plot whatsoever and no overarching story. The shorts usually place Tortov Riddle travelling to some location with his gigantic camel pig, and doing or seeing something for a few minutes. The art style is fantastic, a picturesque, surreal, somewhat French inspired look that fits the tone of the short perfectly. It makes every short enjoyable and is basically the most unique part about the series. read more
Aug 10, 2018
Nugaz (All reviews)
In my "career" as a critical bastard, i have inevitably encountered many art and even art-forms whose purpose are either personal exercise or provocative propaganda, and just like a completed checklist none enriches that feeling more than surrealism. The shear paradoxical venture of one's rationalization (or attempt rather) of the hidden self, the subconscious, is both cause of celebration and awe, though it is expected the difficult individual analysis of such works. This one made me think.

A skinny-legged tall pig, ridden by a tall hat wearer across a barren landscape of trees with thin long trunks, not unlike tied balloons, draw a clear parallel read more