Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Fairy Tail Movie 1: Houou no Miko


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Gekijouban Fairy Tail: Houou no Miko, Priestess of the Phoenix, Fairy Tail: The Phoenix Priestess
Japanese: 劇場版 FAIRY TAIL 鳳凰の巫女

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Aug 18, 2012
Producers: TV Tokyo, Dentsu
Licensors: Funimation
Source: Manga
Duration: 1 hr. 26 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.601 (scored by 71,761 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #13812
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #825
Members: 124,672
Favorites: 448

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 17, 2013
tommy73 (All reviews)
Let's not look at the score and assume so soon that I'm not fond with the series altogether; I like Fairy Tail as a shounen series. I'm not the biggest fan of the series, and granted that the series has lots of flaws which can be easily improved, but altogether the series is very entertaining, the characters are memorable and some arcs can be really fascinating. And now, the long-running popular shounen series finally gets its take on a movie. It's fun having a series you may love or like to get a movie, so I was naturally looking forward to some more Fairy Tail read more
Aug 31, 2012
gato03 (All reviews)
Two days ago I went for the first time to a cinema in Japan and while I was at first indecisive as to watch Fairy Tail, Naruto or the Rurouni Kenshin Live action, I ended up going for Fairy Tail.

When I entered the cinema I had no real idea of what the story was about, I had seen a very short trailer but nothing else. Aside from that, my japanese understanding still has a loong way to go, so probably I missed some of the details that could have made me enjoy the movie more. But I got the hang of the general idea read more
Mar 20, 2013
Ranthir (All reviews)
Wow. Just completely blown away.

There are alot of Fairy Tail lovers out there, as well as people who hate it for being kinda a main stream Shounen Anime.

Fairy Tail the series always had/has the knack for being kinda all in your face with the whole Nakama thing, like we are friends because we say we are, and therefore you shall also think this.

But in Fairy Tail Houou no Miku they really mad a good job, they took the basecore of the friendship trough thick and thin to a whole new level. The whole picture of we are friends because we say we read more
Mar 29, 2013
Blackdragonwar (All reviews)
I was excited for this movie! I mean, jeez, a fairy tail movie! I can already tell you a few things: The movie is okay, but disappointing if you watched the anime.

The story is okay, nothing wrong with it. It's not very original but it's just fine so I decided to give it a seven. It doesn't deserve a higher mark though because they didn't work it out like I expected.

I heard people say that the art of fairy tail is terrible. Maybe it could be a bit more modern (I also heard they have a rerun of fairy tail with a new animation team read more
Feb 23, 2013
MOLLY123 (All reviews)
The movie was fantastic.I wanted to watch this movie for a while and it was totally worth the wait. There were so many epic fighting scenes. So many explosions! I love the new characters too, they had such cool and interesting abilities! The art was amazing! The plot for this was great! The ending was awesome and quite different from the show. Some of you might like this so much you might like it even more than the show itself. It's a 10/10 from me!

Note: You should probably watch the movie if your in the 100 episodes in the show.
Feb 23, 2013
ijen (All reviews)
Let me have the honor of stating my opinion about this movie!
this is going to be a long topic.so please have the patient to see through it!
before that let us go a way back!
First of all,
who is the main character of this anime!not as the male or female but as whole!!!
NATSUUUU!!!!so what i thought when i started this anime!!!!after a while i watch while yawning Lucy heartfellia that! Lucy heartfellia this!finally Well no more whining!
let us get back to the topic!

Again first of all,this movie is about a girl called eclair.what was interesting was her dress setting!a poor class indian dress which really looked good!a read more
Mar 11, 2013
Grizzly578 (All reviews)
I watched the entire film last night, and instead of jumping to write a review I thought through the pros and cons of the movie.
Cons First
For being based upon Hiro Mashima's work I was greatly disappointed how cliched the plot was as a whole. If you have some of Hiro Mashima's work you would know that he is a master at taking peoples expectations of events to come, and turn them on your head. This film wasn't stuffed with a thick/ complex plot like each story arc in the mainstream anime/ manga series.

The new character introduced didn't come to me as a fully read more
Jun 29, 2013
bboytigger (All reviews)
Watched this movie today, rated this creation of a solid seven. Firstly, the dash is not as realistic as in the original series, secondly, that there is no fun, which is inherent in Fairy Tail. Throughout the movie I was waiting for a classic, so to speak, jokes from Natsu, Happy, Lucy and others, but alas... But in spite of all the things that I personally did not like the movie at the highest level! The plot is unpredictable and it pleases. All the characters are good as always! But the most important thing - that's what the theme of friendship is revealed in the read more
Feb 2, 2017
LackOfARealLife (All reviews)
Don't get me wrong, I'm not hyper critical when it comes to Fairy Tail. In fact, you can reference my other reviews and ratings to find out just how much I love the main series and the manga (its a lot by the way..... a lot). But this film just didn't sit well with me. I sat through the whole thing and thought to myself 'this is where I should be getting that Fairy Tail feeling.... but I'm just not'; which is a shame because I literally woke up at 2AM in a fit when I remembered that I had forgotten to watch this film.

So read more
Aug 16, 2016
Monnishue (All reviews)
i feel that this could have been a normal part of he series and was compacted into one movie, that being said some parts feel rushed but on the other hand some parts that would normally over stay it's welcome are not there.

sound art and characters are all typical to the Fairy Tail name, so that being said it is the story and enjoyment that bring this movie down.

spoiler alert. don't read below if you haven't seen the movie.

there seems to be this popular thing with the Japanese that if someone dies and they show happiness, it is accepted and improves the impact of read more
Oct 12, 2016
iv4oooooy (All reviews)
SPOLERS alert

The film began with a strong fight scene, which made me to think "Amazing". But fast after the scene my expectations began to fall. I find the story line to intresting, but not well done. The anime(TV) always managed to me some emocional feeling, but here un the moive i cant feel that. There were times where the plot was slowing down too much and moment where there was a plot hurry so that you can not follow the story I dary to say: the movie is strong and good for people who not follow the manga and anime for years, read more
Apr 23, 2017
OmikanKHarutimo (All reviews)
*This is my first review so bear with me* I am a huge Fairy Tail fan, but I did not find this movie as enjoyable as I hoped I would. The artwork was a definite let down for me and I felt like the characters could have been portrayed better. The plot was okay, but it did remind me of several anime movies in the shounen genre. It still had some decent action and comedy. I wouldn't recommend it to someone who has seen an abundance of anime, unless you are a hardcore Fairy Tail fan, but for a beginner it wouldn't be a terrible read more
Nov 7, 2016
B_Raiden_ (All reviews)
Hello to whoever is reading this. Is my 2nd ever review so i like to keep it short and clear to the point. As this is a movie and not a series I would talk each section independently but I'll summarise for an easy spoiler review.

What I liked:
1. There was the humor we know and love in Fairy Tail and it was easily identified early on but it did eventually turn serious as the story progressed.
2. The music. Probably my favourite part, the opening I loved I believed it went well for the type of leadup for the movie. But i more liked the read more
Jun 2, 2016
Prince_Lyon (All reviews)
Fairy Tail: The Phoenix Priestess

Yes, guys, there is a Fairy Tail movie, although I'm bit late idfc.

So let's jump into this review, shall we, now I watched the entire movie last night but *sigh* I'm honestly disappointed. I expected better from this movie, the movie has a lot of flaws that makes it almost unwatchable, however, I gave it the benefit of the doubt since it's the first movie. The start starts off, pretty interesting in fact, but then everything changed when the story grew stale, not even Natsu the master of epicness can save this from this L, but what I read more
Sep 1, 2014
Brave-Heart (All reviews)
my english not good so be nice with me ~

This film taken from one shot of the same name

I expected better from the film, but unfortunately

the film has lots of flaws and when you when you see a lot of shounen less desire to watch things duplicate and this is what happened in this film, as in some episodes of the series.

story :

The film revolves around a mysterious girl named Éclair who appears before Fairy Tail, the world's most notorious wizard's guild. She lost all of her memories, except for the imperative that she must deliver two Phoenix Stones somewhere. The stones read more