Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Uchuu Senkan Yamato 2199


Alternative Titles

English: Star Blazers 2199
Synonyms: Space Battleship Yamato 2199
Japanese: 宇宙戦艦ヤマト2199

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: May 25, 2012 to Oct 25, 2013
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Xebec, AIC
Source: Original
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.511 (scored by 16,977 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #992
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1247
Members: 49,988
Favorites: 1,048

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 23, 2013
rtil (All reviews)
Most of you may know that Space Battleship Yamato 2199 is a remake of the 1970's space opera by the same name (bar the 2199). If one were to make a comparison of its significance to its importance of the genre, it is basically the Star Wars of Japan - the series that one would point to as a culturally significant moment in entertainment and the rise of the genre itself.

In recent times, one becomes wary when they hear the word 'remake' or 'reboot'. Audiences have reluctantly witnessed so many beloved series, stories and characters get butchered in misguided and unnecessary attempts to be recreated.

Thankfully, read more
Apr 28, 2016
raegazel (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS!

Overall this show was an enjoying watch, and one can sense that a lot of love and care was put into it. For those reasons, this is a very painful and disappointing review to write, but I feel it might be necessary to "warn" potential viewers about some elements of this series that are problematic. Specifically, the plot.

I understand that this is an extremely popular and influential franchise, especially in Japan, and I also do agree that this is a very well-done remake.

However - there are SEVERE issues with the plot of this series, issues that I feel are glossed over because read more
Nov 19, 2013
RedgraveGilver (All reviews)
Note: This is a remake of the classic Battle Ship Yamato by Leiji Matsumoto which is one of the most revolutionary anime.

Space Operas are very rare now a days in the anime industry. Just as the quality of mecha anime and it's audience has been downgrading and declining in favor of slice-of-life, ecchi and harem genres, space operas were always being overlooked at. After almost at least 40 years, one of the space opera classic during the 70's was given a chance to have a remake in order to introduce the series and gain a wider audience in today's anime community. But does the show read more
Apr 3, 2015
TalosStormcrown (All reviews)
Space Battleship Yamato was an anime that defined the 70s, attaining the status of “The Star Wars of Japan”. However, the fact that it was from the 70s also means a lot of people wouldn’t have the chance to watch it, as many would put it aside because of its aged artwork and animation. This is why Space Battleship Yamato 2199 was extremely hyped by both new fans and old fans, as it’d remake the first season of the series with good animation, giving the new generations a chance to watch it. In the end, how did it hold up? I haven’t watched the original read more
Dec 7, 2013
Raptor1221 (All reviews)
To be called “The Star Wars of Japan” you must be doing something oh so right. “Space Battleship Yamato (1974- 1975) was labeled as such. It’s a show so imbedded in popular culture that I had even heard of it. This was long before even watching my very first anime (To me known as “Star Blazers” for US). It was truly the show of an age. Now fast forward to April, 7th, 2012, an OVA remake of the beloved classic begins its air time. The final question of fans was. Will it live up to the original? Or disappoint us read more
Sep 18, 2013
5camp (All reviews)
Preliminary
::Note:: This is a co-written review with myself, Scamp, and fellow blogger and MAL user Shinmaru

Scamp: Space Battleship Yamato is a TV series from 1974 by Leiji Matsumoto (well, mostly by Leiji Matsumoto, although it’s complicated) about a spaceship travelling across the universe captained by a man with a very impressive beard. It’s one of the most influential anime ever made, considered the point from which anime started to turn towards more serious and complex stories. I shall now ask you to completely forget all of that because instead we’re going to talk about Yamato 2199.

Yamato 2199 had a bit of a strange airing run. read more
Apr 28, 2016
OppaiTaisho (All reviews)
A journey; a trek; a voyage, that's how watching Uchuu Senkan Yamato 2199 feels like.
You know an anime is good, REALLY good, when 26 episodes completed in 4 days feels like 26 episodes completed in a year. This anime just drags you in.
Now let's get to the review!

Story:10
The story of Uchuu Senkan Yamato is a simple one: A story of trials for salvation, just like those legends of the ancients. Though simple, it's executed well and remains entertaining throughout. There are no annoying sub-plots that detract the story, everything that happens is related to the main premise that is to reach Iscandar, which is great read more
Aug 9, 2015
rookieanimedude (All reviews)
About two years ago, I watched through the original Star Blazers/Yamato series, as well as the sequel and inter-quel movies that accompanied them. While they each had significant flaws (under-developed characters, lack of world building, and short-changed arcs in the case of season 3), I enjoyed following the adventures of the Space Battleship Yamato from series to series thanks to its well-animated fight scenes for the time, thought-provoking (if heavy-handed), exploration of moral grey areas, and the inspirational message that no matter what happens, good will triumph over evil.

I was ecstatic when I discovered the series was being re-made in the form of Space Battleship read more
Dec 27, 2014
skarabox (All reviews)
THIS COULD BE AN EPIC ANIME... but it falls short. Therefore only 7/10. You will enjoy it at first and then you will get disappointed, wishing it could be perfect. I hate anime like that.

The story and characters have an epic potential but I don't know whether it is because it is an old anime or what, but the story has many holes, characters behave really shallowly a lot of times and the anime create really artificial moments in order to evoke a certain emotional reaction in the viewer. All of this makes you feel like the authors treat you as a dumb, not read more
Aug 11, 2016
DiegoBrando12 (All reviews)
This is my first review on MAL, shoulder, my English is not very good but I will try.

uchuu senkan yamato 2199 is a remake or "reimagining" of the original series that tells the Lechi matsumoro crossing the space battleship yamato to find an artifact in the hope of humanity on the planet Iscandar against gamilas. In short this is the plot, now begin.


Story: 8/10

The series begins by explaining what I said, but this to develop its plot is discovered the because because the land is so bad, if gamilas are directly what they do that, how strong is the yamato etc. This gives also to read more
Nov 19, 2013
Kmyatsuhashi (All reviews)
Preliminary

Remaking a classic is a pretty dicey proposition. Remaking a benchmark title is madness. Thankfully, the creators of Spaceship Battleship Yamato 2199 threw caution to the wind and faced the challenge head on. The result is a loving tribute to the 1974 anime that’s faithful without slavishly rehashing it.

Story

Story wise, things are identical. An alien race, known as the Garmillans, have pummeled the Earth with radioactive bombs. The effects appear irreversible until a second alien race arrives from the planet Iscandar with a miracle cure. The catch? The cure is only available on Isacandar. To get it, the Earth needs to send a ship across read more
Jan 8, 2016
luhter (All reviews)
I have not seen the original Yamato, so this review has not "old-new" hate or nostalgia. It's about Yamato 2199 as a singular anime series.

Story 6:
The story starts strong. The first 8-10 episodes were 10 story-wise, the next maybe an 8 , and around episode 18 and after 4-5 .
I've included a spoiler section at the bottom of the post. There I will tell you why such a low score but I advise you not to read it unless your 4-5 episodes deep into the anime.

Art 10:
It's beautiful. The backgrounds are great and vivid, the visual effects and animations are awesome and some can read more
Feb 5, 2016
katamuro (All reviews)
This anime is great for many reasons, the story, the art, the music, the battles. All really good.
Want an anime with ship battles that do not seem contrived? Watch this.
Want an anime with epic story, lots of characters and a bit of romance? Watch this.
Want a good space opera that is not ashamed of being seen as "soft" scifi and uses it to all it can? Watch this.
Really, there is just so many reasons to watch it even if you have never heard of Leiji or have seen anything made by him.
I can honestly say that even the slower episodes provide great read more
Mar 11, 2017
JohnTron (All reviews)
Farewell Earth, the ship now departing is Spaceship Yamato.
And what a departure indeed.
Yamato 2199 is a literal orgasm for anyone loving space, myself included. I was very skeptical going in but I am so glad I did.

Story 9/10
One always wonders either during the peak or the end of a war, "who shot first?" Who literally opened fire first can sometimes be a mystery, and sometimes this mystery can turn your own people against you.

The people of Earth are being decimated by 'planet bombs' that are being launched from the reaches of our solar system. The land is barren and the people of Earth have moved read more
Jan 22, 2015
dustinator1991 (All reviews)
For those that wonder about this anime, you might not partially like space-related anime. But I warn you, give this anime an chance. I wasn't too keen on watching this show but I gave it an chance. And guess what? I was surprised that I actually liked it.

People praise this anime saying that this remake was made from an classic of an old anime. Now I see what they were talking about. I agree with them. This anime is awesome!

When many people, hear remake or "reboot," they get turned away but I assure you that this anime will meet your expectations and then leave you read more
Jul 12, 2014
tagbadger (All reviews)
Wow! This show absolutely blew me away! I haven't enjoyed a series so much in a long time. I've been going through movies and shows, from all sorts of genres and eras and styles, and rarely does anything have everything I want to see in an anime, and this is one of those! I'll admit, I put off looking into any of the Space Battleship Yamato series or movies simply because the surface concept seemed so outrageous - a World War 2 style battleship...IN SPACE? That's CRAZY! I could not have been more wrong.


There's drama, space battleship combat, intrigue, read more
May 16, 2017
RingoStarr1991 (All reviews)
***THIS IS A SPOILER FREE REVIEW***

My anime quest has finally led me to the path of space operas and with this quest I find myself finishing 26 episodes of absolutely masterful scenes. This remake of a cult classic seems to have surpassed anything I could of imagined.

Story: 7/10

This is a remake of the original anime Space Battleship Yamato: The Quest for Iscandar. From what I have read online the remake does an amazing job of keeping the feel and core concepts of the original in tact while offering a fresh look and take on the series.

At its core, Space Battleship Yamato 2199 has one read more