Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica Movie 2: Eien no Monogatari


Alternative Titles

English: Puella Magi Madoka Magica the Movie Part 2: Eternal
Synonyms: Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magika Movie 2, Magical Girl Madoka Magica Movie 2
Japanese: 劇場版 魔法少女まどか☆マギカ 永遠の物語

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 13, 2012
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: Shaft
Source: Original
Duration: 1 hr. 49 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.421 (scored by 65,416 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1542
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #794
Members: 129,484
Favorites: 440

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 23, 2013
Asfaria (All reviews)
I've never been a fan of recaps. I never understood why things needed to be shown multiple times further decreasing my enjoyment of it with every repetition. So going into the recently subtitled Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica duo of movies, I was really wondering what I would think of it.

I'm not the biggest fan of the anime series (at least I wasn't before watching these movies), and, while I think it's good, it never left a very big impression on me. The reason I'm writing a review of the second movie instead of the first, is because this movie finally succeeded at leaving that impression with read more
Jul 23, 2013
Stark700 (All reviews)
Madoka movie 2 review (part 2 of the epic trilogy):

Well as mentioned previously, this movie is the 2nd part of the trilogy installation from the Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica saga. The movie covers the remaining 4 episodes from the original TV series. While the first movie was titled 'The Beginnings', this is where it it ends from where the TV version left off.

This movie is essentially another recap of the TV series and thus, there is no original material in terms of storytelling or plot twists. However, that doesn't mean viewers should pass up a chance to give this a shot though because not only does read more
Nov 7, 2012
snowwolfs (All reviews)
The TV anime Puella Magi Madoka Magica took the anime world by storm when it came out last year. What was supposed to be a vapid, plotless “healing magical girl anime” turned out to be a storytelling masterpiece. Much to the delight of fans like me, this year, Shaft adapted the TV series into two new movies. But being film adaptations, are the movies actually of any value?

First, let’s be clear, the two Madoka movies do not tell any new stories different from the original TV anime. However, that doesn’t mean the two movies have no value, for they are by no means mere recaps read more
Apr 22, 2014
Sneako (All reviews)
Recaps are usually episodes/movies that re-tell a story that has already been told, but in a shorter and more compact way. It tells you valid points and informative parts in a story without all the unnecessary bits.

Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica Movie 2: Eien no Monogatari is a recap of the last four episodes in the original series; Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica but squeezed into a 2 hour long action-packed thrilling movie. When I first finished the original series of Madoka Magica I felt like I didn't watch it to my full potential (being distracted or not focusing at some points of the show.) That being, I read more
Oct 23, 2012
Ryt (All reviews)
I saw this movie at the Chicago premiere of the first two Madoka Films. Overall I was expecting the same quality art, sound, and story as the television series.

I was not disappointed. I'm sure anybody reading this review has watched the original episodes (if you haven't, go do it right now), so I will not explain much about the plot as it's exactly the same.

The art-style is typical Shaft; quirky and a bit alien, but extremely detailed, sharp, and interesting. Most of the music is new, and the soundtrack goes great with the reanimated fighting scenes.

Overall, I really enjoyed the movie and it's a great read more
Dec 10, 2012
SeibaaHomu (All reviews)
Note: This is a review for both part one and two.

Airing in the Winter 2010 Season (Starting in January of 2011), Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica was met with critical acclaim and gained a lot of popularity in the west and Japan due to its ambitious and thought provoking storyline hidden behind its frilly pink dresses. Shaft were a very popular studio before hand with hits like Bakemonogatari and Hidamari Sketch. But Madoka Magica's popularity exceeded even them. Because of it's success, Shaft decided to expand upon it by creating a trilogy of movies based on the series. The first two movies (Which I'm reviewing) are read more
Aug 13, 2013
Raptor1221 (All reviews)
Back in 2011 Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica shattered the anime world. Winning multiple award, and being the most successful and well known deconstruction of the magical girl genera to date. It has created some divide in the anime community as hyped shows usually do (Ie, SAO). Yet, not nearly as divided or as flawed as the former. Madoka Magica has become the epitome of greatness to some, good to most, and an object of scorn to a select few. Well here we are in August 2013. The long awaited Madoka Magica movie re-works are now available for streaming. These Recap Movies which originally released October read more
Jul 28, 2013
Aeroblip (All reviews)
The first movie covers the first eight episodes and the second movie covers the final four. Just like the first movie, Shaft added extra effort to ensure fans are treated with a visual tour de force. Subtle tweaks and greater attention to details build upon the drama created by the story. Combined with an excellent cinematography and an amazing soundtrack (which includes a couple brand new scores), viewers will experience a beautiful, yet haunting masterpiece. Yet no matter how stunning the art may be, these cosmetic enhancements cannot mask the underlying story and pacing issues. Caution: Major Spoilers.


Puella Magi Madoka Magica the Movie Part read more
Aug 10, 2013
Savepoints (All reviews)
Disclaimer: Have you not seen the series nor movie I heavily advise you not to read this, as even without spoilers it could very well more or less ruin the experience for you.

“If someone says it’s wrong to hope, I will tell them that they’re wrong every time!” - Kaname Madoka

As the first and second movies pretty much exactly follow the story and events of the original series, (which I’ve already written a review of) this review will more or less consist of comparisons between the series and movie, along with some of my personal thoughts.
(And again, a perfect score doesn’t mean it’s all perfect. read more
Apr 14, 2018
CrusaderElly (All reviews)
Yay more numbers that don't add up!

My review for the 2nd movie is pretty much the same as the first, so I'll just write it here for the both of them.

There's nothing wrong with either movie as they both retell the events of the anime with slightly better sound and animation.

However, it barely adds new things, if any. In fact, in the first movie, several nice character moments, and even Mami's entire background is cut. And although the second movie is longer than its series equivalent, I didn't find many meaningful additions other than a few panning shots, one of which was excruciatingly long.

Again, there read more
Apr 15, 2016
Nadimi (All reviews)
After watching the first movie and realizing that it was no more than a pretty recap, my expectations for the second one definitely dropped, and for good reason.

As mentioned in the description and almost every single review, this movie deals with the last 4 episodes of the original anime series. As with the first movie, animation is improved, music is changed, things are added on, gems are made shinier, etc. etc. etc.

However, the enjoyment stays the same. Having already watched the original series, you already know what's coming, hence making the "thrill", "mysteries", and "revelations" seem far less interesting. It is mainly for read more
Feb 21, 2014
anime-cat (All reviews)
I haven't been writing reviews for a while because of school. I have so many reviews that I need to write about some terrible animes and some really good ones I've seen recently. One of the really good animes I've watched recently is Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica. I'm writing the review now and not after watching the third movie because I know they aren't supposed to connect so this review is purely on the recaps.

Before starting, I'll tell you what I thought of the anime (or movie?) before I watched it. I thought it was a kiddy anime about a bunch of girls with magical read more
Dec 27, 2012
microgamer2vs2 (All reviews)
Story: Pacing is a bit off-putting. Aside from the randomly inserted original TV OP animation, the extended flashback sequence and the big info dump after the climax dominate the duration of this movie, requiring the audience to digest a lot of information in one sitting. The movie noticeably made effort to accommodate these large story sections (even including movie exclusive scenes to transition into them). Given the original series, they did as well as they could in converting it to movie format, but ultimately, it's a point this review can bring up in critique.

With that said, the previously mentioned flashback sequence remains the strongest emotional read more
Jul 11, 2015
Eagleshadow (All reviews)
It's interesting that the first movie adapts the first two thirds of the series, rather than half. So the second is left for last third. This means it's much more fast paced than the series in the first movie, which is great when you're trying to sell the show to someone. There was only one scene that I missed from the series that wasn't present in the second movie, everything else felt accounted for and pacing felt improved. The second movie benefits a lot from slower pacing as it gives the climax the time to really shine and feel well rounded.

Arguably, it was read more
Aug 15, 2013
platinumSKIES (All reviews)
With the second Madoka film in the bag, I'm seriously pumped for Rebellion Story to come out, if only so we can see where this universe takes us next.

(Once again, disclaimer: if you haven't watched the anime series and/or the first movie, you're really in trouble here. No spoilers, of course, but really, go watch the other two. ;) )

Story (10/10): I can't be unbiased when I say this, but this movie recaps my favorite part of the whole damn show. Episodes 9-12 are hard hitting and this movie adapts that excellently. Since we get an unbroken line throughout, you realize how much really read more
May 22, 2015
ratchet573 (All reviews)
I’ve pinned down why I hate this series. It’s depraved and horrible. That doesn’t mean I don’t fucking love it, but watching this second film in the trilogy, I realized that I never wanted to watch it again because it’s just too much. It is mature and dark, but the focus is the death of young girls and the hopelessness they are cast into. And because of the fact it spends so much time delving into the minds of characters who are barely pubescent and are basically being murdered off by a race that finds emotions to be a birth defect, it makes the series read more