Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kokoro Connect


Alternative Titles

English: Kokoro Connect
Synonyms: Kokoroco
Japanese: ココロコネクト

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 8, 2012 to Sep 30, 2012
Premiered: Summer 2012
Broadcast: Sundays at 00:30 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Silver Link.
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.911 (scored by 243,848 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #7032
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #133
Members: 472,533
Favorites: 6,201

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 26, 2013
Trollbrotherno1 (All reviews)
Disclaimer- this review takes into account the 4 episode "sequel" to the show

With the massive rise in access to entertainment and media/pop culture, we have gotten to the point where our options on what to watch are so stratified that we have the privilege of not liking something because its not our particular taste. In the world of anime and manga this leads many to disregard shows that simply don't fit the criteria of what we find entertaining. However, this does not mean that certain shows are objectively good or bad, it sometimes means that a show is an excellent version of whatever read more
Jun 17, 2013
SeitenSoushi (All reviews)
Is it just me, or do I only review shows beginning with the letter K?
Anyway, just so you know, I'm also including the Michi Random specials in this review.

Story: 10
What would you do if you and your friends started randomly switching between each other's bodies? Or if your deepest darkest desires were suddenly brought to the surface, out of your control?
Here we have a series that takes a supernatural storyline, adds some well-written high-school romance and plenty of compelling drama, and pulls it all together into one amazing package. Although some of the ideas may have been done many times before, Kokoro Connect read more
Jul 30, 2012
Yume_to_Tsubasa (All reviews)
Yet ANOTHER update on this review. This is one tricky anime to write a review on- Here goes.

In a school where extracurricular activities are mandatory, there exist five "outlaws".

Yaegashi Taichi, the pro-wrestling maniac
Nagase Iori, your typical spunky, bubbly, lovely character type
Inaba Himeko, the intelligent, cool computer expert... who is maybe just a tad bit too cool at times
Kiriyama Yui, lover of all things that are cute
Aoki Yoshifumi, frequently subject to rough treatment by the girls around him.

These five students form their own club, the "Bunkenbu" (Bunka Kenkyuu-bu)- and each day spent together is as ordinary as can be.

Until.

Kokoro Connect is best described as unique. read more
Apr 19, 2015
JulianImp (All reviews)
Kokoro Connect is a series I decided to watch on a whim after spotting it in CrunchyRoll one day, and I'm certainly glad that I did.

I felt like the story was, by far, the stongest point of the series and what made it stand out from your average high school romance/drama anime. While the audience is never given a full and proper explanation of why the main cast suddenly find themselves swapping bodies with each other, reading the others' thoughts or acting on their supressed desires, among other things, all these events are handled really skillfully to flesh the series' themes out.

All the apparently bizarre read more
Sep 27, 2014
jesterthomas (All reviews)
Kokoro Connect is exceedingly mediocre. It is not bad by any definition of the term - the artwork, voice acting, and one particular character (you know who) are great and deserve commendation in an artistic medium saturated with high school romantic dramas. Additionally, the concept of body switching introduced for the first few episodes had a lot of promise and led to a lot of well-executed plot developments. The show never strayed into what could have easily been an ecchi bait premise and culminated in what was, to me, the climax of the show's story in Episode 5 with a (no spoilers) heart-wrenching decision to read more
Jan 4, 2013
zannett (All reviews)
Kokoro Connect begins with a pretty ordinary setting. 5 friends belonging to the same club with an absentee adviser, spending almost everyday loafing around. Then everything took a downturn when a mysterious entity named Fuusenkazura appeared and forced them into his game so they could entertain him. His "game" involves abnormal phenomena that often take place at random intervals. The first arc features body-swap, during which the 5 may switch bodies at random, and every arc that follows has them deal with other similarly bizarre situations.

Before anyone starts watching, all of this might sound pretty entertaining -- except each of these games that Fuusenkazura read more
Aug 13, 2012
nemetzj (All reviews)
Preliminary
**Please take note: I am writing this review now, after seeing the first six episodes of Kokoro Connect. No spoilers are included in this review.***

I decided to write this review because as I looked at the reviews for Kokoro Connect I noticed that many reviews were rated not helpful despite any good points the authors might have had. So I am writing to try and win over some readers and get people to at least try the anime.

Kokoro Connect is a story about five friends who end up experiencing an unnatural phenomena where they switch personalities with each other and have their friendship tested. read more
Oct 20, 2012
Stellio (All reviews)
High school is essentially one of the most important four years of someone’s life. Throughout these years, not only does one fall under peer pressure, indecisive dramas, and separation into different clicks/social-groups, but you are often greeted with the unsatisfying feeling in overcoming mostly difficult, inexperienced tasks. However, the point of entering High School in the first place is to move onto secondary educations and learn not just fundamental cultures of others, but also about where you want to be in society for the rest of your life. During these times of hardships, not many people can gain true confidence; insecurities may rise from the read more
May 18, 2013
NonOtaku (All reviews)
When I first heard the plot summary for Kokoro Connect I thought it sounded like some hentai series. Even if it wasn't, it seemed obvious that it would be a provider of ample fan-service, it of course wasn't though. After all, if you swapped bodies with someone of the other gender, what would be the first thing you do?
Yep, the obvious, see how well they masticate. Read it again, what were you thinking of?

Kokoro Connect revolves around the daily, not so normal lives of Taichi, Iori, Himeko, Yoshifumi and Yui and their encounters in the Cultural Research Club. Up until recently they thought read more
Jun 28, 2017
DangerKitty (All reviews)
Including the four specials, this show is arguably one of the more annoying series I've seen. If you're into pointless high school drama, this show is for you.

In a phrase, this show is "YOU DON'T UNDERSTAND ME!" repeated for thirty minutes, seventeen times. The characters are repeatedly put into positions where it's determined (by the group) that they would all be better off if they talked about their feelings, and then proceed to not talk about their feelings. Everyone is a victim of some "pressure" from their friends, despite all of their problems being caused almost entirely by themselves. Everyone puts on some kind of read more
Oct 19, 2014
GoS1234 (All reviews)
Kokoro Connect is a rarity in anime. It is a romantic drama that thanks to the strengths in its characters and writing avoids the annoying melodrama that shows like Golden Time and more recently Glasslip unfortunately fall prey to... For the most part anyway. This can probably be attributed to its satisfactory pacing, which again is something quite a few shows in this genre seem struggle with. The review will cover Michi Random as well. Now on to the review!

Story: Requires suspension of disbelief far too often, but is still well-written and well-paced.

Its setup we see far too often in anime read more
Jul 10, 2013
Savepoints (All reviews)
NOTE: This review includes the 4 “Michi Random” episodes.

“What defines humans... Defines us? Nobody will notice a change on the inside if you look the same on the outside.”

What happens your desires and thoughts are no longer simply your own, but are also shared with your closest friends? How will it affect your friendship when you uncontrollably make a move on the guy your friend likes, or even if you find out a dark secret that your friends kept from you?
These are all questions (among many others) which KokoroCo tries to bring to light. In a way, you could say this is as read more
Dec 12, 2012
OrangeMilk (All reviews)
“One of the most beautiful qualities of friendship is to understand and to be understood.”

What Kokoro Connect essentially delves into, is exactly that, the notion of what friendship is, and how do we keep it alive when your true desires, love, selfishness, fears, pasts and fragility are all unleashed and out in the open.

One day a sudden paranormal occurrence of body-switching haunts a small group of five friends, which in turn alters their relationship and every day lives.

Since the plot is pretty much straightforward with a slight twist, Kokoro Connect is more of a character motivated Anime; with it being more ambitious read more
Aug 6, 2012
thekawaiifangirl (All reviews)
Preliminary
I've recently only just finished episode 5, but I think that's enough to give a worth opinion of this anime.

Honestly, I don't know what I was expecting when I first started watching "Kokoro Connect". Maybe a lot of shoujo vibes, with a lot of fluff and comedy. But what I got was that, and then some.

I won't go too much into detail, because that's spoiling, but I just keep getting more pleased with this anime as the episodes continue to air. It starts off as a normal school life anime, and then BAM, plot twist, and your entire perspective is thwarted. In a good read more
Jul 17, 2012
chiisaihimawari (All reviews)
Preliminary
[i just want to write a review even though it's been only 2 episodes. but i'm going to update this as the story progresses]

What would you do if your soul transferred in another person's body?

This is the dilemma of the 5 members of the Cultural Study group. From time to time, they exchange souls or you may also tell bodies, depending on 'someone'. As they exchange souls/bodies and see their life outside school, they will know each other more and their bond and friendship will grow stronger.

This anime teaches you to know a person not only with their physical appearance, but also their character and read more
Apr 27, 2013
ksyndrome (All reviews)
Story: 8
Angsty teens switching bodies at random, and now having to deal with the awkwardness of being someone they are not ?
sounds like a "Freaky Friday" remake...we all know where this is going...right?

WRONG!

Not only the series expand far beyond this anomaly to incorporate far crazier (and somewhat disturbing) phenomenons. This is the only spoiler I will provide.

Art: 6
This is the same studio that brought you guys gems like Usagi Drop, and Bakemonogatari, the latter of which got uber bonus points for style without having to dump too much into the art budget. KC however, is more like Usagi in that it read more
Sep 15, 2012
oooooooooo (All reviews)
Preliminary
Oh yea remember that mean joke that they played on a voice actor a few months ago, well the director was so worried that they wouldnt get any sales because of that and now they cut the anime by the last 4 episodes and said that if you want more then you will have to buy the DVDs so that made me hate this anime more than any anime I have ever known anyway this is the end of my rant and here is my review that nobody seems to agree on

Story:4
This anime started out extremely well with great setting and plot but after the read more
Oct 2, 2013
dabagonsmith (All reviews)
There is alot to say about Kokoro Connect, it was a rather odd, yet extremely enjoyable experience for me. I can kind of understand why this anime gets alot of flak from people, but that's not the animes fault, the problem that the anime "has" isn't a problem at all, it's disliked in the same way school days is, not because it's badly designed, but because it's something people don't like. People confuse something as being bad because they don't like it, but that couldn't be farther from the truth, hopefully my review sheds some light on this anime and can help anyone that's on read more
Jun 25, 2014
aiyuu (All reviews)
**Takes into account of the 4 extra episodes.

Kokoro Connect is an anime that is not going to appeal to everyone. Why? Because many episodes are dedicated to the characters and how they deal with their inner conflicts and problems. Of course on the surface their daily lives are not anything interesting until Heartseed greets them and they are faced with certain phenomenons which force them to change. And how they change is the true gem of this show, as it becomes from any other slice-of-life to a supernatural and mysterious that drags viewers in.
These unusual phenomenons range from switching minds in bodies and to give read more
Aug 13, 2012
BenGJH (All reviews)
Preliminary
Note: At the time of writing this review, i have only watched up to 11 episodes. Thus, the review might not be too accurate as more episodes air, but i will try my best to give a good review with my understanding of these first 11 episodes. (at the time when this review was initially written, it was only 6 episodes watched, i added in several things about the new arcs in the series this time round.)

To be honest, Kokoro Connect was not in my list of anime to watch for the season initially, nor did it catch my interest at first. When reading the read more