Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Senki Zesshou Symphogear


Alternative Titles

English: Symphogear
Synonyms: Senhime Zesshou Symphogear
Japanese: 戦姫絶唱シンフォギア

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 6, 2012 to Mar 30, 2012
Premiered: Winter 2012
Broadcast: Fridays at 23:00 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Source: Original
Genres: Action, Sci-Fi, Music
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.061 (scored by 23,359 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #32942
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1243
Members: 59,009
Favorites: 649

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 3, 2012
Infinite (All reviews)
If you hate inconsistencies, stupid plot devices, a horribly flawed setting, and poor characterization, Senki Zesshou Symphogear is your worst nightmare.

The start of the series is deceptively good, we see a concert that's animated brilliantly, and we have a seemingly gritty story; we witness Kanade die in the past, and Miku crying over Hibiki's grave in the future. This image the anime painted itself in the first episode is one of the greatest deceptions I've witnessed in any form of media.

After the first episode, the animation quality drops dramatically, at times you wonder how the producers thought they could get away with it. Epitomizing this read more
Jul 11, 2012
pakin (All reviews)
Since this was in storage for quite sometime I finally decided to watch, and finished this anime. This is pretty much action-y, but at the same time, it has a pretty deep story to it, and is kind of entertaining. For people that love action, I think you guys may or may not like this anime, since the action isn't really the main focus, cuz they focus more on the plot I would say..

Story 8/10
Started of pretty good on how they kind of went to the future, and then goes back to what happen to get there, like a lot of anime I know. It read more
Jan 7, 2012
orbbie (All reviews)
Preliminary
What a mind-blowing anime. Every bit of goodness packed in about 30 minutes of futuristic action packed visuals, eardrum blowing sound and a story that, so far looks to be heading to the right direction for one of the most viewed, most popular, eyes popping anime of the year. Fanboys rejoice, even though its only the first episode thats currently out I can already tell that this is chuck full with allot of emotions that will make you cry both for tears of joy and sadness (I had water in my eyes throughout the whole episode). The gods of anime have answered my prays and read more
Jan 7, 2012
Maximus-San (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'll be honest, this is probably what I've been most psyched for this season besides Nisemonogatari and I'll tell you why.

Magical Girl meets Gundam meets The World Ends With You.

Okay so maybe the ties to TWEWY are in the enemy designation only, (They're called Noise in case you hadn't guessed) but I stand by Magical Girl Gundam, even if I wasn't sure of the comparison at the beginning of the show, by the end with that 3rd transformation sequence, I was more than convinced as the parts for her suit grew out of her body.

The show starts off with a flash forward, before coming back read more
Apr 2, 2012
Yemi_Hikari (All reviews)
The high hopes I had for this series were dashed after the first few minutes. The storyline felt like someone decided to animate a fanfic for a much better series. There were these honest traces of something better in the storyline. It fell flat because of the cliches within the series and because of how much of a Mary Sue the main character is.

In the first episode I was left asking why Hibiki was so special compared to all the other people who exist in this world. She's not special because she has any sort of talent, something she constantly admits. Her childhood is bland read more
Mar 16, 2012
Tzu (All reviews)
Have you ever looked forward to something that looks appealing only to be shot down? Have you ever seen a new series not based off anything else where it's simply stand alone and thought it would be good? I had these impressions only to be gunned down at point blank.

One does not simply fail to execute new.

Yes, I took that gag straight out of Mordor but seriously though. How do you fail to execute a rare or new idea? You make something like this, I myself thought this would have been interesting but was found on the wrong end of the spectrum. Essentially what we read more
Feb 4, 2012
Nasty001 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ok, nothing personal this is just me, as of episode 3, I've decided to drop this anime. This is because, I find the combination of the following genres; action, fantasy, magical girl, music and sci-fi doesn't seem to be properly combined, in fact the genres seem to cancel out each other, this thing can be compared to a good movie being turned into some sissy musical stage theatrics. Ok, so there other animes that do feature songs and actions in them, true, co'z in those animes the musical is not the main genre, here on the other hand the main genres sci-fi and musical seem read more
Apr 2, 2012
YuanMori (All reviews)
Despite a weak start and a weak team of writers, Symphogear still manages to be somewhat enjoyable if just for the absurdity of it all.

Unfortunately it doesn't seem to deliver the type of dark story we are shown in the first episode, rather the show is riddled with Dues Ex Machinas and plot holes. The characters and their backgrounds are written at a barely passable quality, but fortunately this seems to get better as the show goes on (except for the background characters who remain terrible the entire show).

Fortunately I found the music, gear design and battle scenes made up for the rest of the read more
Dec 2, 2013
Asfaria (All reviews)
Senki Zesshou Symphogear is an odd musical, action anime featuring girls in colorful sci-fi battle suits who must fight against monsters called "Noise" in order to save humanity. In order to use the relics that power their Symphogear suits, the girls must sing certain songs. The different songs they sing give them different powers ranging from charging up their suit to unleashing their strongest attack which has a recoil effect on them when used.

Despite a visually promising concert scene in the beginning of the first episode, the story falls to pieces almost immediately. It seems almost as if the organization working with the Symphogear girls read more
May 1, 2012
KelseyWhiteleaf (All reviews)
Senki Zesshou Symphogear is an anime surrounded by music by Nana Mizuki (not only her, but a large part is). I gave an overall score of 8, which could come from my love for the music of Nana Mizuki, but I do believe there are serious flaws in this anime.

Story:
The story is the main flaw in Senki Zesshou Symphogear. I actually am impressed that they made an anime of 13 episodes which doesn't feel rushed even though quite some things happen. But the "why" in why are things happening is explained but when you hear it, it's kind of lame. Though the concept around read more
Sep 28, 2017
ChristopherKClaw (All reviews)
It is said that there are seven wonders in this world, but the eighth and most important one that is often forgotten is a series that from start to finish is just a feel-good brain-off hype-fest. I dunno why all the other scores for this show are so low or what kind of no-nonsense all-business attitudes people had while watching this air, but holy crap are you missing out on a fun time if you judge this based on conventional merits.

Let me give you a few tips about watching Symphogear:

1. Get a drink. not a hardcore drink. Nothing with vodka. Just throw some peppermint schnopps read more
Feb 26, 2012
XBurn (All reviews)
Preliminary
OK this is my 1st review so it's going to be really short,so let's get started.

Right so you may have looked at the season anime list this year and saw this particular one and though to yourself 'hey cute girls wearing sexy Armour that's pointless cause almost 70% of the body is bare but the sword their holding is awesome' right? So you wait for the 1st to debut.

So you watch the 1st episode and if you can tell a crappy anime by from just watching the 1st 5 minutes like me, you high expectations are dropped really low. Basically what you got is read more
Sep 12, 2016
awesomedude20 (All reviews)
*Review contains minor spoilers, nothing major, but proceed at your own caution.*

Senki Zesshou Symphogear... I've never been so happy to have accidentally stumbled upon an anime in my life. Also, I will be speaking mainly of this anime, but I will be mentioning the following 2 seasons as well.

Now, before we get going, I'd like to make it clear that this anime is nowhere near perfect. It most definitely has it's flaws, some bad animation here, some poor plot choices there, plot armor galore over yonder, I could go on. But that doesn't change the fact that this anime does one thing, and it does read more
Jan 10, 2012
Cruiser (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well, Senki Zesshou Symphogear is one of the first anime to begin airing in 2012. A good head-start to gain fans' attention. This anime can combine two different anime fields : shojo with music and shonen with battle and mecha. This makes the whole anime became Divine Intervention

The story is scored A, thanks to radically different story compared to any other anime. All anime have their unique stories, but this anime featuring music and battle simultaneously instead of mere music competition. This item makes the SZS anime stands out compared to any other anime as an intersection of battle anime and music anime. Whole anime read more
Sep 3, 2015
khlorghaal (All reviews)
My friends deem this unwatchable, and I don't blame them, nor would I anyone else who says it's unwatchable.
However I find it somehow enthralling. Something about the combination of the music and the fight scenes generates an exaggerated hype that I love.

There is lots of edge and qq, which would normally ruin a series, but its done in a way that either the scene can be skipped without missing anything important. Or it's so overdone that it's funny, using tropes like 'They are powered by friendship!'

The art style heavily reminds me of Megaman, while still being original.
The nameless villains look like some sort of ugly read more
Jun 18, 2012
X10A_Freedom (All reviews)
TL;DR version: Not worth watching unless you get enjoyment from girls battling with some good weaponry and/or a huge fan of Nana Mizuki's music.

Symphogear gives us the premise of an alien race that is causing havoc. The only counter to these strange creatures is the Symphogear weapon system which the female protagonists equip themselves for battle. While this formula for a battle anime has been done a countless number of times, what really matters is "how" it is done, rather than the "what". Unfortunately, Symphogear clearly lacks the direction and the refinement seen in other series such as Madoka.

Firstly, there is the read more
Sep 10, 2012
ExHomura (All reviews)
I am just here trying to balance out the amount of negative reviews of this anime.

Senki Zesshou Symphogear (I am just gonna call it Symphogear) wasn't a very bad anime, if you want sci-fi action based anime, Symphogear is worth trying out.

My first experience watching the first episode of the anime was like "Wow, this is the real stuff people needs to watch these days." Of course it was quite a let down as animation quality was dropping episode by episode but it was still watch-able to the point that you can still cope with the animation. The art style in some point would change read more
Jun 18, 2017
Cure_Felice (All reviews)
Symphogear is literally one of the best anime I've ever watched. The story was laid out amazingly and the characters were awesome.

Starting off with the story, it was truly awesome. So, the story basically starts with ZweiWing performing a concert, but suddenly the Noise attack and nearly kill the protagonist however, Kanade sacrifices herself using her “Zesshou” to save Hibiki’s life. This is, truly, an amazing way to start off the story as it introduces the viewer to the main characters but also creates an uneasy and upsetting atmosphere.
Then, as the story continues, Hibiki (now read more
May 9, 2012
Knightmaretiger (All reviews)
Fellow anime connoisseurs,earlier this year we were graced by a torrent of new anime like Aquarion Evol or Guilty Crown
though the latter had its obvious weaknesses I agree that it was worthwhile watching,However this is not
the case for all of this season's new anime namely Zesshou Symphogear'whats bad about it wasn't
the 'Noise' (and no im not talking about the monsters, im talking about the 'Noise' that the characters call singing.)or the fact that the main character
is a mutated pikachu with the depth of a sheet of paper nor the
fact that the best character died a martyr to save this lowly abomination from the apparently read more
Feb 5, 2016
Judita_96 (All reviews)
If you are the type of person that likes singing along anime songs, and you know NANA MIZUKI, this is a great anime for you.

I find that symphogear is one of those animes people don't normally see, but as the story goes own you find yourself in a really motivating anime. Which has a lot of music-fight mecha scenes, school scenes where c¡you can ship characters in a yuri way and even have fun with each characters own story, apart from the group one.

I find that this anime, can somehow , like with other animes, motivate me to move ford wars, as the girls read more