Ao no Exorcist Movie


Blue Exorcist The Movie

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Ao no Exorcist Gekijouban, Ao no Futsumashi Movie, Blue Exorcist Movie
Japanese: 劇場版 青の祓魔師(エクソシスト)
English: Blue Exorcist The Movie
German: Blue Exorcist: The Movie
French: Blue Exorcist: Le Film
More titles

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Dec 28, 2012
Producers: Aniplex, Shueisha
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, FantasyFantasy, SupernaturalSupernatural
Theme: DemonsDemons
Demographic: ShounenShounen
Duration: 1 hr. 28 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.601 (scored by 126101126,101 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #12962
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #761
Members: 239,385
Favorites: 359

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 1, 2013
Stark700 (All reviews)
Note: This review assumes that you have at least some insight or knowledge with the original TV series or the manga.

So what would you do if you discovered that you were born as the child of Satan? Well for starters, you probably would view your life a bit different than the way it was before. For a particular kid named Rin Okumura, his life is never the same again. Then, enters even more troubles with the demons themselves. Well, who you going to call to exterminate these demons? An exorcist of course! Otherwise, welcome to the world of Blue Exorcist. Only this time, it's adapted read more
Jul 5, 2013
Avato-chan (All reviews)
Woo! I waited 2+ hours in a super long line in a cramped room to see this today! WORTH IT. I was extremely skeptical about a movie adaption of Blue Exorcist like many of you probably were when you first heard the announcement. I must say it was VERY well made in ever aspect imaginable, great story and art especially. Getting into the story a bit more the movie opens as a story book read by Father Fujimoto to the Okumura brothers and throughout the movie this particular little book is explored, talked about and experienced by the characters as the movie progresses, later Rin read more
Jul 22, 2013
Spirai (All reviews)
I was expecting something more action-packed and thrilling, but this was by no means a disappointment. This movie was perfectly fine. Just a-okay. It's a lovely chocolate cake smeared with some questionable cream and devoid of the cherry on top. And when you haven't had a cake for a while, it's a bit of an 'oh-well' sort of downer. But if you've had your fair share of sweets- from revolting, stiff wedding cakes to drool-worthy masterpieces- you will find this cake to be an ordinary dish, its expiration date a bit too soon, but far off enough to leave you munching in contentment.

STORY (7)

The read more
Nov 15, 2015
Tavgus (All reviews)
The ideals of two brothers clash, as the lines between demon and human fades before their very eyes. A diverse journey of fun, exitement, amazing animation, beautyful music, feelings and mild symbolism? This movie is one of the few side story movies I could recommend for anyone, fan or not!

Normally, I don't waste my time with movies attached to anime series. Lately though, I've been seeing alot of them, and it truly is like discovering one pearl after another, very much like discovering anime for the first time all over again.

I will not waste your time with a lenghty synopsis, as summarizing the movie read more
Aug 25, 2013
Spitfiire (All reviews)
Just a perfect movie for an Ao no Exorcist fan like myself. The characters are introduced in such a good way, simply said i was blown away by everything! Now some of you might be wondering:" Dude get real, everything in this world has flaws. Even this movie!". Well you are right but for an anime lover like myself every anime that has a good storyline is watchable. Now back to the point Rin Okumura has been one of my favorite characters for a long time, i really cant explain it but he has that main character aura that just makes you like him. I've read more
Sep 8, 2013
Mythical_Truth (All reviews)
Most Anime movies involve the usual characters fighting against a new threat. This one is very unique.

The anime is an action packed adventure, where Rin, Satan's son, fights against demons as an exorcist. The movie is almost completely different. While it starts with some action, it quickly turns into a more emotional movie. True Cross Academy is in the middle of holding a festival, meanwhile Rin, Yukio and Shiemi are busy exorcising a demon train. During the exorcise, something goes wrong and a small demon named Usamaro is released. The exorcists decide to deal with Usamaro after the end of the festival, and he is read more
Jul 23, 2013
bakuenjincamillo (All reviews)
How to make a typical Shonen anime movie expansion:

STEO 1: Introduce a new, misunderstood, character for the main character to befriend/fight/rescue.
STEP 2: Have the seemingly new good guys swerve to bad guys so the main character and the viewers can question what's right and what's wrong.
STEP 3: Have the tough to tougher to toughest battle scenario and include all the characters in the fights.

The Blue Exorcist movie took the first step and made it interesting again and completely avoided the second step(which is a VERY good thing). As for the third step, it was also avoided; and depending on the viewer that's either a huge read more
Aug 7, 2013
Smile_For_Anime (All reviews)
DON'T YOU DARE SEE THE MOVIE BEFORE FINISHING THE SERIES FIRST! cause you wont understand that important parts of the movie, (kinda exaggerating a little but you get more into it when you had seen it completely) so yeah:

This movie I must say its great, although I was expecting a little bit more, it's still a good movie.

The story is not that badass action experience I was hoping for but well it has its moments. Its more sentimental at least for me, not in a "cliche" kinda way but as "it gets to you" kinda way, especially the memories from their past.

They characters they look read more
Jul 23, 2013
_romeomontague (All reviews)
First of all let me explain the conditions I was under when I watched this movie.
-It was 1:51 AM
-I was a bit tired
-I had super high expectations.

I loved ao no exorcist. I would even go as far as to say that every night I would pray for there to be some sort of second season. This anime was, as expected nothing short of interesting, but did not meet my expectations.

Let me explain, I will try my hardest not to spoil anything, some characters were very ambiguous! as opposed to the series. I know that they don't necessarily have to agree, but that read more
Aug 3, 2013
BLoodXRayne (All reviews)
What worked:

The art and animation are outstanding. Seriously, I would totally pay to see this if ever it came out in theaters just to see the art. I appreciated how the flashbacks were linked with how the characters later on interacted and the events they went through. Also, the characters were given depth and personality... well some of them were. It was pretty entertaining.

What does not work:

One too many WTF moments here and there. Can someone please explain what happened here? I had a super hard time following the story. [was there even a structure to this thing to begin with?] Rin & Yukio read more
Jul 15, 2016
ObscureObsidian (All reviews)
Ao no Exorcist anime was pretty dissappointing. So, many people watch this movie expecting something not even good, just more decent that the anime ending was. It turn out to be more than this. It's actually a good movie, far better than the series is based.

This movie is the spin-off/second season's substitute kind of anime movie, like the second Tiger & Bunny movie, or many movies from shonen series, instead of the outrageous recap on buig screen kind, fortunetly. This kind has the chance to tell parallel stories with the characters, letting the creators tell stories they can't tell on the TV show because that read more
Jan 29, 2016
Rea_Ling (All reviews)
Well, so.. Where should I start. Hmm.....
This movie was just.. beautiful. Usamaro kinda remind me of myself, because I too want to make people happy, make them forget about their bad memories.. But, they don't want and can't forget them.

Animation was great, as always actually. Art too. Characters.. ah, I don't know what to say about them.

Rin was like Shiro and Usamaro like Rin. He cared about Usamaro and when the time comes... Rin had to lost another important person in his life. I cried like a baby... and when I remember it.. I cry again. I know i'm really a crybaby read more
Dec 15, 2015
Anilist637 (All reviews)
Holy smokes! Probably one of the best production values I've seen from an anime movie from art, sound, music, and just the way everything was filmed!

Just a little upset though that with so much potential for a great action packed and greatly styled set pieces this movie had going for it... it's mostly about 80% feelings for the heart and about 10% action (oh my goodness that opening scene was mind blowing! Seriously an adrenaline rush) then unfortunately the rest is a cliche'd but still a heart warming story.


Such an improvement though from the Blue Exorcist series though WOW. Would watch again only read more
Jun 15, 2014
Meese (All reviews)
The core reason this particular movie scored so high with me was the art. While the character animation could have used some polish here and there the backgrounds were simply amazing, and probably the film's most memorable part. With Shinji Kimura as the art director the quality comes as no surprise. Detailed and richly coloured the entire movie was visual eye-candy, scoring a 10/10 from myself and I'm sure it could satisfy even the most demanding viewer who watches animation more for the graphics than the story. There was however slight repetition of specific backgrounds when it wouldn't have been necessary but I doubt that's read more
Feb 24, 2014
Playcool (All reviews)
I will make this one quick. I enjoyed the anime alot, and after finishing the OVA and specials I got into the movie expecting to see lots of action, and amazing story (some reviews here state it...). After the credits roll out, I didnt got what I was looking forward, but either way, it was time well spent.
The movie definitly had some high productions values!! The animation is great (better thhan the anime at some parts), even if most of the movie isnt action scenes, everything is well done and the songs composed for the movie, were also very good. The story and characters read more
Jan 31, 2018
CHilDFricker (All reviews)
"Ao No Exorcist Movie" completely real deal... it's almost look like real life story.. about demon and human relation.. i love the hole story... i would wish to see one more movie and amazing story..

Usamaro is the cutest character that i never seen before.. for me i wanted to see more time Usamaro in the real story.. but however the the story seen pretty good without Usamaro.. Rin and Usamaro relationship as brother it's seem make things more complicated..


STORY: 8/10
i already told about how good this movie story... so i have nothing new,, but still wants to say that this story needs something more


Art: 7/10
Characters read more
Feb 9, 2018
Tyrannicswine117 (All reviews)
Warning possible Spoilers

After finishing the first series, I was quite surprised to see that a movie had been made and was looking forward to seeing another hour and 30 minutes of Rin and the others. However this wasn't as fun as I was expecting.

Story (6/10)

Now I was really unsure whether the Movie is even connected to the TV series, true it has all the characters there, but nothing is said about Satan's defeat. Instead everyone is preparing for this special festival, while Rin and the others are guarding the academy from any Demons that try to interfere.
While trying to stop a demon, Rin ends up read more
Sep 28, 2019
robert788 (All reviews)
Ao no Exorcist Movie (2012)

A festival that happens every 11 years is coming up. It is for one to help refresh the magical barriers around the city but also to celebrate. During the process a demon damages a shrine with the help of Rin being cocky as usual. A boy in the rubble appears with ears and a tail. This boy demon is then given to Rin to look after and they get close with a friendship. Turns out the demon is not with bad intent but does cause chaos. In the end it is all set right again and we have a good story read more
Feb 27, 2017
Katyrical (All reviews)
I remember when I first watched this movie. I was in a puddle of tears after the ending, and I couldn't look at rabbits the same way anymore.

The movie is very enjoyable, assuming you've watched the anime or at least know what the anime is about. If not, this movie may come off as confusing.

Even then, the movie towards the middle does hit a rough patch and doesn't make as much sense. But if you get to the end, everything pieces together and makes sense once more. The art and sound is as great as usual. The story is original. Overall, I give this read more
Jan 12, 2017
kassnicxo (All reviews)
Chronologically, I couldnt quite place where this cute and emotional movie sat in the Blue Exorcist timeline, but it didnt exactly effect the way I felt about it.

Like any anime movie, I dont think that this story had any direct storyline needs, other than the fact it was cute and heartbreaking all at the same time.

In this movie, you see Usamaro, a cute little rabbit demon that eats away memories that he feels people are pained by, in order to give them a happier, more carefree life. Rin, being Rin, takes him under his wing and soon we see that not only he and read more