Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Steins;Gate Movie: Fuka Ryouiki no Déjà vu


Alternative Titles

English: Steins;Gate: The Movie − Load Region of Déjà Vu
Synonyms: Steins Gate Movie
Japanese: 劇場版 シュタインズゲート 負荷領域のデジャヴ

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 20, 2013
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: White Fox
Source: Visual novel
Genres: Sci-Fi, Thriller
Duration: 1 hr. 30 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.591 (scored by 148,969 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #692
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #236
Members: 251,728
Favorites: 1,252

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 19, 2013
Veronin (All reviews)
*Minor spoilers ahead*

How does one continue a story that has already wrapped up perfectly? The announcement of a Steins;Gate sequel film was inevitably met by both caution and anticipation. Like the concept of travelling backwards in time, Steins;Gate: Fuka Ryouiki no Déjà vu is a paradox. It does not need to exist, and yet it still has every right to.

It could have been an ordinary piece of fanservice, a throwaway story, and some would have been perfectly content with that. It could have been a forgettable prequel or even a retelling of the TV series' story. There were so many options available that you can't read more
Dec 5, 2013
akaraC (All reviews)
'No one knows what the future holds. That's why its potential is infinite.' - Rintarou Okabe (from Steins;Gate)

Steins;Gate: Fuka Ryouiki no Déjà vu is quite simply a thrilling, romantic and beautifully heart-warming experience.


The Story: 9/10
------------------
Under the production of White Fox, the original Steins;Gate anime made in 2011 has received it's long waited movie arrival. The original Steins;Gate anime was under high critical acclaim, and was successful in both Japan and Western countries where it was the spotlight anime for the year. And it had such a great reason to be there. It was quite simply stunning. Shortly afterwards, the special of Steins;Gate was released and read more
May 31, 2013
facesforce (All reviews)
Now I will start off by explaining this: I watched this movie in Shinjuku one week after it came out. Being my first real anime I saw on the silver screen, plus the fact that I am a Steins;Gate fan may impair my judgement. You have been warned.

Steins;Gate:Fuka Ryouiki no Deja vu, or "The burden of Deja Vu" is the absolute ending to Steins;Gate. Need I say more? Yes? Well, let's get into the details while avoiding as many spoilers as I can.

This movie is a sequel, after the bonus episode "Oukoubakko no Poriomania", and it acts as a finale to the series, closing loop read more
Jan 16, 2014
5camp (All reviews)
There are two kinds of anime movies from existing franchises. The first is made because the creators wanted to continue the story in movie format. The second is made because the original TV series gave them a lot of money and they didn't want to waste the brand. Steins;Gate is the second type. Of that second type there are three further types. The first is the rarely used complete rewrite where the creators decided to fuck the original story and make up an entirely new ones because they've got so much creative juices they can't be bound by canon. This was not the Steins;Gate movie, read more
Oct 18, 2013
VincentGlenArti (All reviews)
Being a huge fan of original Steins;Gate VN, i was quite excited to hear about a movie being announced. After some time of waiting for it and then not waiting because i was tired of waiting, a camrip all of a sudden pops out on nyaa dot eu, and so do russian subtitles after some time (faster than english ones, which is funny and awkward at the same time).

I can't really say i am glad or disappointed. It wasn't really quite promising from the first trailer of it, to be honest. I was afraid that this would just ruin the whole series with it's sentimentality. read more
Jun 24, 2013
StarBlaze (All reviews)
"BURDEN OF NOT HAVING A 100/10 RATING ACTUALLY"

The Installment of the Anime:
Although actually it is classified as a simple story about Kurisu getting worried and all about Rintaro disappearing, the story of the film is much more than just that. Due to frequent journeys across multiple World Lines (or simply timelines), which we saw as a plot revolving around D-Mails in the anime (it’s the sequel to the anime series), Rintaro lands in the “Stein’s Gate” timeline. Actually, it all begins off with having images of other timelines, when Kurisu returns from America after her studies.

Details:
Grossing about 5,28,70,917 in Indian Rupees in the very first read more
Dec 23, 2013
bellellis (All reviews)
Good art, and songs don't help much when the 90 minutes or so the movie lasts are bursting by the seams from characters working so hard to remind us of their primary personality traits they seem like caricatures of themselves, and everyone's favorite running gags sometimes seeming to barely have time to be finished in their most basic forms before another one is brought up, perhaps in order not to disappoint anyone. The plot is not much but an afterthought, a new strange consequence of the trouble in the show thought up to give Kurisu some time in Okabe's well-covered original plight. The high points read more
Jan 8, 2014
Quitch (All reviews)
Steins;Gate ranks as my favourite anime of all time, a great cast, a great story and an emotional rollercoaster ride that ended perfectly.

I was not a fan of the OVA, which was the epilogue the series didn't need and was therefore nervous about the film. I wanted more, but the story was so perfectly self-contained, could they pull it off?

Unfortunately the answer is no. It's not a film without merit, there is the core of a good idea in here, but it's not well realised. The opening features too much fan service, too many callbacks to characters traits without there being events to merit this. read more
Dec 1, 2013
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
The original Steins;Gate TV-series is without a doubt one of the greatest anime ever made, as its ratings goes to show. Given the masterpiece source material it is based on, you might reckon that it is only natural. Yet the sequel film, named Fuka Ryouiki no Déjà vu is completely separate from the original visual novel script, and with that in mind I went into this with a fair amount of skepticism. The mere brand label of Steins;Gate is enough to give yourself unreasonable expectations, and the last thing I wanted was to aim too high only to fall flat in the end.

Fortunately though, these read more
Dec 13, 2013
Stark700 (All reviews)
So let me ask you a few questions:

Have you ever regret something you’ve done in life?
Ever done something you thought maybe you could take back or wish it never happened?
What if you could travel through time and erase that memory, or better yet take it all back?

I’m sure it’s a thought that might have crossed sometimes in your life. In the Steins;Gate world, that is all possible with a handy dandy tool – the time machine.

Taking place on year after the Steins;Gate world line, this movie serves a continuation from the franchise bought to you by NitroPlus and White Fox. The read more
Mar 21, 2014
LukeLC (All reviews)
Oh my, how does one go about reviewing something like this? What we have in Steins;Gate: Fuka Ryouiki no Deja vu ('The Burden of Deja Vu') is a very welcome addition to a very beloved franchise of visual novel, anime, and manga. The original visual novel/anime was outstanding to a degree few series can ever hope to achieve, and the special 25th episode kept up the pace flawlessly and tied up the story in the best way imaginable. Did we really need a movie to go along with such perfection? No, but every fan wanted it--anything to keep Steins;Gate alive.

I went into Fuka Ryouiki no read more
Dec 18, 2013
Asfaria (All reviews)
I enjoyed the Steins;Gate anime series a lot. Despite it's slow start, it turns into a complex thrilling story which is one of the most logical and intelligent stories I've ever seen that dealt with the mysterious concept of time travel. This movie threw away all of the logic that the anime had and creates a "What if Okabe was doomed to suffer after all his hard work" scenario. It just seemed like an unnecessary edition and, unlike how things were resolved in the anime, it solves things in a very unintelligent way that isn't fitting of this mature series. Sorry in advance that this read more
Feb 15, 2014
GD3jr (All reviews)
Disappointing compared to Steins;Gate. Could not live up to the original masterpiece.

Story -

Story brought nothing new or interesting. It focuses a lot more on Makise Kurisu and her journey. It felt like a boring repeat of past events with nothing new added. It dragged on and I am sad to say that it is just average. Not much stands out!

Art - Again with the art this is the same standard as Steins;Gate. Some scenes have great lighting and the character designs remain flawless.

Sound - Sound was good but I found the intro to the original a bit catchier. Still a good score throughout the read more
Dec 17, 2013
_North (All reviews)
Meh.

For the 1 1/2 hour run time, the movie executes the finale to the anime series, but sacrifices some consistency in the process.

Some of the events and devices seen were modified to fit into the plot of the movie, but there was little groundwork to build up to them and they were more or less inserted into the story for their function alone.

The actual story itself was a little awkward, after the midpoint of the movie, the lull never builds up into a climax and in a monotone style, the movie ends.

The animation, artwork, and sound was about the same as the read more
Jul 3, 2014
Juthatan (All reviews)
I was so exited for this movie, but after watching it I felt very disappointed. It lacked character development and throughout most of the movie nothing was going on.

The issue I had was the movie was very slow, then wrapped up quickly at the end. It also seemed to lack any sort of development.

Just like the original story, the art was amazing. If you have seen the original then there isn't much to say. The characters had the same art style as the series, which was good. The movies animation was good to. Overall, the art and animation is the best part of read more
Feb 7, 2014
Link_of_Hyrule (All reviews)
**REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS FOR THE ORIGINAL "STEINS;GATE" SERIES, BUT NOT FOR THE MOVIE THAT IS BEING REVIEWED**

Considering that Steins;Gate is my favorite anime series of all time, I was both very excited and very worried at the same time once I finally got the chance to watch Fuka Ryouiki no Déjà vu (henceforth referred to as FRD).

On one hand, the original series got everything single possible thing exactly right; there was absolutely no room for improvement and the series had nowhere to go but down. FRD had all the setups of a major let down that could taint the masterpiece that is the original. On read more
Feb 23, 2014
Flawfinder (All reviews)
Do you know why I don’t usually like character-based stories? Not because I have anything against strong casts or whatever. It’s because most anime seem to think that you can just do what most films do with Robin Williams: just put them in your product and somehow you’ll make a good watch out of it. To which I say, “oh, so you’re one of those fans aren’t you?” You know, the fans who support the “let’s talk about cool stuff whilst focusing on dull character development and interaction that doesn’t really go anywhere instead of doing cool stuff” anime that I absolutely loathe with a read more
Dec 4, 2015
AnimeCruizer (All reviews)
I love this anime. I recommend it to every anime otaku to please watch this anime series. From the start every minute until this movie end each minute. I just loved it all and am totally grateful that I became an anime otaku for with I got to watch an awesome movie like this.

Story :-
I can tell that I was satisfied by just watching the series at start, but it was not 100% satisfaction. Even though the whole anime series - 25 episodes were awesome I could tell at the 24th episode that Okabe will go mad because of all the experience he had read more
Jun 3, 2015
Mr_Cherry (All reviews)
As this is a review and people dont want to be tired by many words and long sentences i will try to be short!

I am a very big fan of the original Steins;Gate series and after finishing the 24 episodes and the epilogue(ep.25) i scored them with 8.

This particural movie wasnt of course the kind of movie which is a summary of all the episodes and is made only for purchasable purposes (as the series were good, everyone will buy and watch it)!!

But my excitement ended there!!
I Had a really great time watching the movie but i felt like it was another episode or should read more
Mar 28, 2015
DanteMustDie8907 (All reviews)
Steins;Gate - Fuka Ryouiki no Deja Vu - 6/10

Pretty good movie, lots of very nice character development as it focuses on Kurisu's attempt trying to save Okabe.
Brings back the atmosphere Steins;Gate had, but in a better way.
Set after the series and the OVA.
The art is pretty much the same with a bit more 3DCG scenes especially in the crowd, the dialogue is well-written and seriously it's just a fun thing for fans of Steins;Gate to watch.