Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Final Fantasy: Unlimited


Alternative Titles

Japanese: ファイナルファンタジー:アンリミテッド

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 2, 2001 to Mar 26, 2002
Premiered: Fall 2001
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 18:30 (JST)
Licensors: ADV Films
Studios: Gonzo
Source: Game
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.271 (scored by 12,765 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #71712
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2515
Members: 30,080
Favorites: 89

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 5, 2008
go_go_raito (All reviews)
It is not what I've expected it to be... Most of you would think the same after seeing it for the first time.
Almost every episode starts off with a narrator called FABULA telling you what happened so far and at the end she makes a brief prophecy for the next one.
The characters are appealing and I grew to like every single one of them, but their design doesn't match (to be honest, they're even ugly sometimes...) with the backgrounds and effects (both really good), however... you get used to it after a while and with each passing episode you come to know them better.
Anyways, the read more
Feb 10, 2008
Bluesnow (All reviews)
If you just found out about this anime are are thinking: "OMG!!! Final fantasy anime~ this must be the best thing in existence!111!!!11" Think again.... Besides references to a few summons and other final fantasy lore~ the story feels like nothing resembling final fantasy at all. Its not a sequel or connected to any other fantasy universes in any way~ If anything it just felt like a diabolical anime company decided to add "final Fantasy" to the title to brainwash fans of the franchise to buy their series... a very inhumane marketing tactic indeed...

Story: Kids from the "real world" looking for their lost parents in read more
Jun 10, 2014
jyagan0 (All reviews)
As a longtime Final Fantasy fan, I'm continuously amazed that this triple-A videogame series, with over 20 years of lore to draw from, remains unable to make a successful big screen transition. "Final Fantasy: Unlimited" may not be completely devoid of elements from the games or a bunch of FMVs duct-taped together to appease fanboys, but this anime still pretty much lost me when one of the characters uses a gun to conjure summons (yes, a freakin' gun). When all is said and done, "Unlimited" is nothing but a souless "Alice in Wonderland" ripoff (the anime's world is even called Wonderland). The barely-there story yields read more
Oct 8, 2008
Chara_Nari2728 (All reviews)
Normally, when I think about Final Fantasy, I think about FF 7 and all of those characters.

But, when I saw this Final Fantasy, I immediately fell in love with it.

The characters are great, the plot is very good, and the mood of the story matches the usual drama that Final Fantasy is so fond of.

I love how we get a quick but detailed look at the past of each character. It helps us to see how dramatic and tragic their lives were.

Another thing I absolutly loved was the return of everyone's favorite Final Fantasy animal....the Chocobo!

Chobi was very cute, and even if he seemed read more
Jan 31, 2018
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Final Fantasy: Unlimited began airing towards the end of 2001. It was one of Gonzo's early anime projects. Yes, the same studio behind Gantz, Solty Rei, Strike Witches & Gankutsuo. Gonzo is one of those studios that seems to have something really bad for every good series they put out. The Sunabouzu to balance out the Bakuretsu Tenshi, if you will. They've also had quite a few middling titles. Where does this one fit? Let's take a look.

Story:

We open with a scene in our everyday world where two dragons are facing off as onlookers take bets and wonder when Godzilla is going to get involved. read more
Jul 25, 2012
angelsreview (All reviews)
Preliminary
First off, if you are looking for something that is just like the games, then stay far away from this show. It is made for children and that’s how it should really stay in my mind. Another thing is that it pretty much gives you a middle finger when you want to know more of the ending because the manga that takes place after this isn’t translated for Americans. I seriously don’t know why they would dub this (except for maybe the big boom of video game selling, and yet, this has nothing to do with them.)

A lot of the stuff that should be read more
Nov 4, 2015
Evol69 (All reviews)
I remember watching this Anime 10 years ago and the thing that stood out the most about this Anime was how long that guy (Kaze) took to load his gun with 3 soil capsules. Probably the most annoying part of this Anime, don't waste your time.

Sure there's a chocobo and moogle and Neo/Ultimate/Omega Bahamut (I forget which one) is in this Anime to give it a Final Fantasy experience but other than that, the overall story and character building sucks. No one really stood out in particular in personality just only in design.

The action scenes were nothing special and it became predictable like read more
May 3, 2009
belldandy2009 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I think this is nothing like the proper FF series, certainly the animation is poor and simple in comparison but it's like FF for Kids.

It is a easy anime to follow and 9/10 episodes "Soil is my Power" said by the character called "Black Wind" which so far he saves the day a lot but there is not much history on why he sticks around.

But saying all this it is a good anime, and being in English Dub it is easier to follow, you have a brother and sister looking for there parents in the other world called "Wonderland".

If you look at it differently from read more
Feb 10, 2010
abazaba920 (All reviews)
Before you start to watch this anime, leave all your preconceived notions at the back door. This is NOT a typical final fantasy story. It is more childish and has nothing to do with the video games aside from a few mixed references of "chocobo" "mog" some of the summons. If someone were a hardcore final fantasy fan and would be severly angered and dissapointed if it wasn't up to their expectations, DONT WATCH THIS ANIME. That being said it should be judged on its own scale.That being said I will get more into specifics
Story- good, but what really makes it is the whole read more
Jul 11, 2010
Shiro- (All reviews)
Story

First of all I watched this anime just because I played the FF games...all of them until FF 13...and...it doesen't have nothing regarding these 13 games...[Just a chocobo that later transform into super-chocobo *sarcasm* actually was the "Legendary Ciel" ? , a Kupa that apers in the last episodes, and some enemies from FF VI apearing in one episode [I think they were named Cactus? -] and 2 ore 3 sound max from the FF series sountrack...the rest...is a rock on the bottom of a ocean...Now...regarding this anime story...At the begining I thinked it was nice...but as the episodes started to repeat I kindda hate read more
May 22, 2016
kelif (All reviews)
This was a very different kind of Final Fantasy I'm used to, but coming from a Final Fantasy fan since over a decade now, I didn't expect it to be just another sword hack-and-slash anime trying to copy the games. I enjoyed it very much, even rewatched and shared with my friends.

It's much darker and creepier than I imagined it would be. The story was pretty great and original, and the characters were likable. The character's did, however, seem to come right from a children's book, which, at least to me, added to the effect.

I recommend the subtitles though, because the english dub for read more