Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Sankarea


Alternative Titles

English: Sankarea: Undying Love
Japanese: さんかれあ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 6, 2012 to Jun 29, 2012
Premiered: Spring 2012
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:55 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Studio Deen
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.451 (scored by 195,213 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #19092
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #228
Members: 369,792
Favorites: 1,762

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 10, 2012
Stark700 (All reviews)
So imagine this. Close your eyes and picture yourself walking to school, having a great day, realizing that you just aced a test, talked to a boy/girl you like, ate a good meal, and come home. You go to your room to relax but the first thing you see is a zombie girl lying half-naked on your bed. You try to to tell yourself if this is reality or fiction but just can't seem to do it.

Honestly, that's the feeling I got when I first started watching this series. In other words, very surprising. Originally, I didn't have high expectation of this series. No, it read more
Nov 7, 2013
finalchance531 (All reviews)
I wasn't so sure about this show when I read about it. I try not to look to deep and spoil something that I shouldn't. Regardless, this show is very entertaining.

Spoiler Free, outside from the summary information.
Quick and simple for those that want to know if this is a go or not.

Story: 8
This story was very enjoyable to me. It had just the right amount of comedy and ecchi without hurting the quality of the entire show. It pulls you in to see what on earth could happen next. With the whole plot around zombies, you cant usually go wrong, usually. The story will have read more
Jul 8, 2012
Lanthanum (All reviews)
Falling into 6 genres, Sankarea lacked a specific direction and yet remained enjoyable.

The first 3-4 episodes focused on mainly building the setting on which the rest of the show would be based on, and from there it took the direction of a typical romantic comedy SoL type anime. Being a fan of many SoL anime, I found the rest of the show to be enjoyable. Those who do not enjoy SoL shows may be disappointed after watching the well paced, plot based first 3 episodes when the majority of the show is a character based comedy.

As for horror and ecchi, both were incorporated into Sankarea read more
Jan 30, 2014
ZeroReq011 (All reviews)
Tell me if you've heard of this before. A high school boy dreams to be with his ideal girl. Not too uncommon among romantic tales, but here's something that might run your blood cold, pun intended. He likes zombies. He really likes zombie girls, and one day, POOF! Due to plot, he gets to live with one. With a premise like this, what could possibly go wrong? Quite a bit actually, yet Sankarea stands out as quite the opposite, as something special. It, however, requires some context.

Adapted from a manga of the same name by Mitsuru Hattori, Sankarea was directed by Shinichi Omata, with in-show read more
Jul 15, 2012
Kyoanilover11 (All reviews)
Sankarea is an adaptation of Hattori Mitsuru's light novel series. Mostly, the anime stayed true to the manga and as such many of my issues to do with the show stemmed from the poorly written script.

*Please stop reading here if you have not seen the show and do not like spoilers*

Story: 4
The story is of a young sheltered girl trying to free herself from the clutches of her very strange family - namely an abnormally obsessed father and an indifferent mother. The main story itself was quite interesting but that is where the positive ends. In trying to establish a deeper story, Sankarea poorly read more
Jun 5, 2015
NameWithheld (All reviews)
This is the most screwed up romantic comedy ever. Zombies are not sexualized the same way that vampires, ghosts, or even werewolves are. Zombies in fiction are generally considered gross, and having a romantic obsession considered weird. This show knows this and has fun with it whenever possible. But that is not the only way that it is hilarious. The dialogue, the characters, they all work together for great comedy. It's funny, engaging, weird, and surprisingly heartfelt. I would recommend it.
Dec 14, 2014
Soulgamer78 (All reviews)
It pains me a lot to give this series a 7. In fact, I really want to give it a 9 or 10 for this review. However, a few things stop it from being higher, actually only two things really. The first thing is simple. It never keeps the amazement factor rolling, the first three episodes were fantastic, but it slow goes to great, then good, then just plain OK. The second, and in my opinion much more important thing is that it stop just when things get interesting. It force me to read the manga from which this is adapted from and actually read more
Jul 22, 2012
Neo_ (All reviews)
Honestly, I do not know why so many people liked this anime.

The beginning was sort of normal, but by the end of this anime I got absolutely bored. Nevertheless, I expected something good till the last minute.I can't agree that the story was fascinating; zombie mania of main hero was sorta ridiculous plus the main heroine did not leave any impression at all. Oh, father's fetish was shocking too.

Overall, I did not like it.

Do not think this anime is worth it, unless you are bored as hell and this is the last anime left.

IMHO
Apr 6, 2012
Anmolya (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well I've only seen the first episode but well here goes anyways. The anime revolves around the main protagonist Furuya Chihiro. He's a complete fanatic of zombies. His world revolves around zombies & the type of romance he's looking for is with a dead girl.... Weird tastes right? The story starts out pretty subtle & introduces Chihiro & expresses his zombie madness. On a day like no other a tragedy occurs within his household. There's one family member short. His family cat happened to die. Chihiro becomes emotionally unstable so he tries to resurrect his cat Baabu. As the story progresses it starts to revolve read more
Feb 15, 2015
Honest_Senpai (All reviews)
Story:
Sankarea is a 13-episode anime series created by studio Deen. The story follows Chihiro Fuwuya a zombie fanatic who spends the majority of his time watching zombie and horror movies. One day his cat Babu is ran over by a car. A saddened Chihiro attempts to resurrect his cat with the help of a troubled girl called Rea Sanka.

When I finished high school of the dead I found myself craving for more zombie-oriented anime. After searching around on the internet I saw some recommendations and the first notable one I saw was Sankarea. My expectations as from the previous anime were gore, violence and over-the-top read more
Nov 22, 2014
Monjoex (All reviews)
~ this review contain spoiler ~

The first few episodes of this show really lead into what should have been a really decent story. The premise was there, the characters were there, but the follow through was very much less than ideal.

It’s a bit of trouble to explain without throwing in a couple of spoilers, so if you plan on watching this series and don’t want spoilers, stop here. You’ll see for yourself what I’m talking about when I say the execution was terrible. For those that don’t care much about read more
Jun 3, 2015
Nekiko (All reviews)
This is my first review, so I'm going to be as careful as possible here. This story is something I've sort of seen before, but with zombies instead.

Story:8 "Very Good"
The story overall is a nice idea, but the ending is unclear if you watch just the anime. The manga explains and goes further than the anime. This is actually pretty common though, so I will be giving the story an 8. Also it's extremely hard for me to talk about the story without writing any spoilers.

Art:9 "Great"
The artwork is odd, yet interesting, as the main characters look pretty and realistic. I'll explain odd in read more
Apr 9, 2016
Joby05 (All reviews)
Summary: This one is just meh. I'm having a hard time classifying it because it didn't really do anything very well and didn't fit into any category well. I want to say that makes it unique but it just felt kind of drab to me.

Story: 6/10
This had the makings of a descent albeit cliche story. The only thing that makes it unique is that she is a zombie but that isn't handled all that well (and gets no resolution in either OVA set). This anime was betting all it had on a second season. I find this interesting because it really wasn't that good... I read more
Jul 19, 2014
AnimeElitist (All reviews)
I will sum it up for you right in the start: "Pretty comfy anime, but nothing significant or memorable." Decently drawn show with rather interesting start which unfortunately loses steam as it moves forward. The concept had much potential: possessive love of deranged perfectionist father towards daughter, alcoholic mother apparently tired of living in solitary splendor, the whole make your dead gf thing etc.. but the execution of show seems very tacky, especially in the end. Its a shame that such a short show is filled with fillers which does not reveal any useful information about plot development nor they show any new interesting character read more
Apr 6, 2012
AnimeFan500 (All reviews)
Have you ever thought of trying to bring the dead back to life. Whether that be a love one or a friend. Knowing the full consequences of your actions will impact/change your life in ways that it may be impossible to go back. Even if you did bring them back they won't be the same person as they used to be.( soul and body) You may be wondering why this sounds like something from Fullmetal Alchemist but it is not as the one you are trying to bring back will in fact be an undead zombie!!!

Sankarea story involves Furuya Chihiro, a zombie read more
Nov 12, 2013
Bheaze (All reviews)
When I first came across this anime, I thought, zombies? In an anime? I had never heard of using these creatures as a main plot feature. So I immediately added it to my watching list and begun.

The first thing I noticed and loved about this anime is its setting. A family living in the temple grounds in a country area, much more relaxed than the bustle of a busy city. Each of the character's in the family play their roles perfectly, and contrast each other nicely. There isn't any fooling around with the extreme anime cliches, such as the 'horror' of openly talking to read more
Jun 28, 2012
tazillo (All reviews)
Once you've seen a lot of anime that focuses on romance and comedy it tends to get harder to recall them individually; this is especially true for the countless number of shows which choose to sacrifice story presentation and deep characters in exchange for unspeakable amounts of fanservice. It's not necessarily a criticism of the entire genre though. I mean, there's only so much you can do with a standard plot usually involving two characters who fall in love, only to be denied by one reason or another.

The successful romantic comedies (and I mean in terms of quality and not just commercially because crap anime read more
Oct 24, 2017
Coolest_Girl (All reviews)
Ok, so I decided that from now on, I'm gonna write my reviews a bit differently. So, I won't give scores for each category, but instead, I'm just gonna talk about my experience with the anime. I find that giving scores does not help people understand as to why I gave it that score as it's a personal thing. Not only that, but I feel like if I focus more on talking about my experience, then you guys will know if the anime is for you or not. So, let me what you guys think: do you like my reviews more in this format or read more
Jan 15, 2013
philipmarie (All reviews)
I had heard of Sankarea before and reading the premise I didn't except it to be any good; I expected it to be some ecchi romantic comedy with alot of black comedy and pointlessly dark moments, much like the lukewarm Elfen Lied. However, it caught my interest after seeing it labeled as one of the best anime of 2012 and started watching it some time after. And I was completely blown away.

Contrary to what others have said, this anime is NOT a romantic comedy in the least. Sure, it has some decent comedy but not a lot. What it gave me was an engaging drama read more
Apr 28, 2012
telerabies (All reviews)
Preliminary
I give a very positive review of this series even though I have only watched 3 episodes. I want to keep it short. Since I will come back later to write a longer review.

The most unique thing is the story- a relationship/romance between a zombie and human.
Movies that adopted this plot existed before but I don't believe any anime has done this.

Equally splendid plot is that the girl Sanka actually chose to become a zombie to liberate herself from the patriarchal control of her hypocritical father. The idea that being undead as a liberation from the reality is definitely not new as read more