Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Rurouni Kenshin: Meiji Kenkaku Romantan - Shin Kyoto-hen


Alternative Titles

English: Rurouni Kenshin: New Kyoto Arc
Synonyms: Rurouni Kenshin: Shin Kyoto Hen
Japanese: るろうに剣心-明治剣客浪漫譚- 新京都編

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 2
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Dec 17, 2011 to Jun 23, 2012
Producers: Aniplex
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Studio Deen
Source: Manga
Duration: 46 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.161 (scored by 8,726 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #31272
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3138
Members: 18,891
Favorites: 33

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 23, 2012
Dietrologia (All reviews)
Preliminary
Rurouni Kenshin has always been one of my favorite shonen anime. When I heard that there was a new anime project coming up, I was excited because I thought that perhaps we would get the Jinchuu arc from the manga animated, since it has never gotten a proper adaptation. More news came by in the coming months and it transpired that the project was simply a movie retelling of the Kyoto arc; this by itself already represented a wasted opportunity, since that part of the story has already been adapted faithfully in the first anime, so there really should not be any reason for read more
Mar 23, 2013
Hayzee (All reviews)
The most succinct way to describe Shin Kyoto Hen would be: "glossed over." What else would you expect from a two hour retelling that attempted to cover 27 episodes of the original series? That's not to say, however, that the OVAs are entirely without merit.

ART
The environments are strikingly beautiful. The characters are modernized: cleaner and redesigned to better suit the current aesthetic, but unfortunately look washed out and unfinished when set against the detail of the backgrounds. Cinematography is done very well; the usage of color and light, particularly contrasting Kenshin's meetings with Misao and Shishio, is a nice touch.
Animation was hit read more
Mar 28, 2012
Queen_Stars (All reviews)
Preliminary
When watching this, my mind invented a philosophical saying I should get halmarked, remeber people, I said it first:
"You obtain a wonderful large, one of a kind book, this book is very well written, highly valuable - you can't wait to read it.
Along the way, you incure a very, VERY tiny tear towards it's spine, most people won't notice.
You eventually get to the end of this book, yet you remember that insignifican tear somewhere within the book.
What do you do?...
Leave it alone and stick eith the notion of it being unlikely to draw attention to itself?
Or
Do you get sticky tape to patch it up - read more
Dec 25, 2014
Ray_Monster (All reviews)
First thing is that if you haven't seen the Rurouni Kenshin/Samurai x's serie, you can enjoy this OVAS, but surely will not understand much of the things that happen. Second thing, I noticed that people were disgusted with the OVAS because of difference between the original and this one's, but I don't see it like that since this are, again, OVAS, not the remake of the arc or anything else but a great scale ensemble of the Kyoto arc events within another more dramatical point of view and story, that personally love it.
Ok, here I go:

STORY: 8/10
I rate the story as very good because, read more
Jun 11, 2015
fullmetaljo (All reviews)
I’m not going to use any arbitrary numbers because that won’t provide an accurate representation of what I just watched. One thing I’d advise before ever picking this title up is be sure you watched the original Rurouni Kenshin series prior. If you don’t you might be completely undone before you get to some of the juicier bits of this two part series. For everyone whose unaware of the story surrounding the New Kyoto Arc in Kenshin these films(?) are hard to follow and don’t convey enough of what made the original run of the arc so satisfying.

Now I’m not going to waste time arguing read more
Oct 15, 2017
tomateunmate (All reviews)
what's the point of this?
Every five minutes or so I had to wonder that. Why would you have the sword collector and not give him swords? Why have over the top techniques and not show the name painted across the screen? Why reanimate and exclude the animation intensive scenes? Why have Kaoru and Yahiko if you take out all their scenes? Why have Kenshin's master and super fast Soujiro if there is no secret super fast final technique? Why have Soujiro loose his calm over a moral issue if you don't show whis moral issues? Overall this feels like someone with a plot synopsis read more
Apr 6, 2012
RedSwordHeart (All reviews)
Preliminary
I knew out of the gate that I would feel little fondness for this OVA, having been disappointed that it wasn't the animation of the Revenge Arc I've been wanting for years.

On its own, the OVA was way too fast-paced, changed too many key elements of the story around and made Kenshin too OOC for me to enjoy it.

Without spoiling it, Kenshin several times acted more like Battousai than the Rurouni even though he had no reason to, including doing something to an opponent very similar to what he had done to an opponent in Tsuiokuhen.

So over all, they tried to cram too much into read more
Mar 31, 2012
artist-retired (All reviews)
Preliminary
This first part of an attempted revival of a beloved franchise starts out as a half complete and completely rushed missed opportunity, where the unnecessary trends of adaptations before it continue and tries to put a spot light on a character who really doesn't need it and fans who know that it shouldn't be on that character.

*This review will be updated when the second half becomes available to watch.*

STORY: As a long time fan and blah, blah, blah, you can guess the rest, and you can definitely guess what I'm about to say: This is a pretty big disappointment.

A project that was doomed at start, read more
Jan 20, 2013
Paulwillson26 (All reviews)
As a fan of all things Rurouni Kenshin I was quite excited to see an updated two episode OVA remake of the Kyoto arc of the original series involving Shinshio Makoto as the bad guy, probably made to coincide with the release of the live action film. After all Rurouni Kenshin inspired me to take up martial arts.

I have to say I was left disappointed. Disregarding the fact that the two episodes were released so far apart, the first episode was good but the second felt rushed like the producers were trying to squeeze in as much as possible and as a result some of read more
Jul 15, 2018
MissAnime (All reviews)
Well, I admit since it's a remake of the original anime it does look a far better version -quality wise-, the story has been hugely diverged from the original story and I don't understand the concept of making new special episodes that are just an altered story remake (and not a better alteration).

I suggest since they seem to be interested in making some more money, at least they should remake the full anime keeping the story intact. seriously it pissed me off!

the story order has been messed with, the characters that were in the main anime are removed from main events such as Sanosuke and read more