Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Shin Tennis no Ouji-sama


Alternative Titles

English: The Prince of Tennis II
Synonyms: New Prince of Tennis
Japanese: 新テニスの王子様

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 5, 2012 to Mar 29, 2012
Premiered: Winter 2012
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Production I.G, M.S.C
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.641 (scored by 21,315 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #13042
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2076
Members: 41,828
Favorites: 213

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 5, 2012
BoChan (All reviews)
Preliminary
I never expected Prince of tennis to get a continuation and since I'm a big fan of the series, I got really excited when I heard the good news.
I just started watching it and what I can say for now is:
For this season the art got a little upgraded, not entirely to my liking but it's still really close to the previous art...so no problem there. And since the season just started, the epic battles are yet to come.
So for everyone who likes sports anime, give it a try. It's worth it
For Prince of tennis fans: ECHIZEN'S BACK!! "Mada mada, da ne" :D
Jan 4, 2012
nathan5550123 (All reviews)
Preliminary
WOW i have never been a fan of prince of tennis but i just saw the new one and i love the new feel of it! definitly an anime I'm going to keep up with :DD and I'm sure that anyone who loved the prince of tennis is going to love this new one!
Apr 14, 2012
chiaokeli (All reviews)
I liked it. Prince of Tennis is one of my top favorite animes...but this new season...
STORY
The story is ok, there is a plot...sort of. It's pretty basic, and not very complicated. The comedy is not sidesplitting. The matches seem repeating, but the techniques they have now are not like the first anime; they make you go "oh cool", unlike the first season where I was beyond excitement.
What devastated me beyond repair is the ending. To not spoil anything, I will not go in detail. It is among the worst ending I have ever watched, and if it's not for the following reasons, I am really read more
Feb 27, 2015
cheokyeng (All reviews)
I highly suggest that you watch Prince of Tennis and its National Tournament OVAs before watching New Prince of Tennis.

I loved the original Prince of Tennis (and National Tournament OVAs) and finished it in about three weeks a while ago. The New Prince of Tennis is had a completely different atmosphere that I didn't expect.

Story [7]: The story was acceptable. 50 middle school representatives from the national champions go to the U-17 Japanese representative camp against high school students. I thought it was interesting at first, except when that started to change further in. Then, the story started going downhill from there. I nearly read more
Sep 22, 2013
HaiiroTama (All reviews)
*Disclaimer: I've already written a detailed review of Prince of Tennis. This is more or less an analysis of New Prince of Tennis, as it pertains to the original anime, so it's less structured and doesn't go in-depth on anything that isn't being compared to the original Prince of Tennis.*

To say that I had high hopes for New Prince of Tennis would be, you guessed it, an understatement. The original Prince of Tennis was not just an anime, it was THE anime, to me. It was that enigma that, despite seeming to be "just a sports anime," managed to capture my heart and rose above read more
Nov 2, 2012
Karpman (All reviews)
New Prince of Tennis. A sequel which should not have been born.

Don't get me wrong. I absolutely loved the series and am still reading the manga. But I am not here to rate and talk about the whole series. I am here to talk about this particular season, I am going to review the 13 episodes I watched.

The story starts off where the last one ended. Seigaku became national champion and almost all of its regular members have left. But where are we now? Now we suddenly are at a U-17 training camp for tennis. And this U-17 camp is for the representatives of Japan. read more
Jan 5, 2012
AnimeFan500 (All reviews)
oh how I've waited so long for a new season of Prince of Tennis. My wish has come true!!!!!. OMG New Prince of Tennis takes place after the Nationals Tournaments arc. Echizen Ryoma and everyone is back!!!! Yeah!!!! Down to the story- it seems that Team Seigaku and the other teams are invited to this institute U-17 to see who is the best players- Middle school and High School players.My guess the best players would be put into a team later on in the series(guessed based on the OP song) So they are pitted against one another. Player ranks from 1-10. 1 being the read more
May 21, 2012
pika2000 (All reviews)
It's been a while since I watched Prince of Tennis. Good to see this new series, albeit a short one.

Just for starter, everybody is in this series, and I mean everybody, from Tezuka to Atobe,. The series rely on your familiarity of PoT in general. Oh, they are also adding the high school players. This may alienate new viewers, but the story is fairly simple that it shouldn't be a big issue. Just don't expect much. It's only 13 episodes.

And that's where the story is a bit of a letdown. The opening made it seem like they would form a new "ultimate" team at the read more
Apr 5, 2012
Altaria-chan (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hello Everyone and I am back to write a review about The New Prince of Tennis/Prince of Tennis Season 2. Please forgive me in advance for i know for sure that i'll commit a ton of errors whether in the usage of the words and anything else for i am not that inclined in the English language. This is gonna be my second review so please be considerate if there are unforgivable errors. Note: Comparisons will be surely mentioned

Okay, Let me start off this review by giving my own opinion on it's story then after that giving my rating to the other aspects in reviewing read more
Dec 10, 2012
mrsKWON (All reviews)
So the most arrogant sports protagonist with the equally most arrogant characters returns in the anime world again with its new series.

With a new series comes with a new story as the majority of the players from the previous one are gathered in a training camp. There are new and much bigger obstacles that the players have to face. It is way harder than all the obstacles they’ve faced before. There’s also a whole new and different kind of drama. The previous one was interesting enough but I think it was still lacking with the certain excitement that would make you anticipate what was really read more
Jun 20, 2013
darleymondo (All reviews)
I enjoyed every bit of the prince of tennis! it was really interesting, fun and awesome! I loved all the different characters and their attitudes and the way they were drawn. Eiji is so cute plus ryoma! it's really cool. it made me love tennis again and it was very creative. I watched all the episodes and love love loved it so much that I was addicted and did not do much work....

I really want the creators to make more episodes if they can because I want to know what happens after ryoma wins the U.S open and what seigaku will do after the read more