Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Muv-Luv Alternative: Total Eclipse


Alternative Titles

English: Muv-Luv Alternative: Total Eclipse
Synonyms: MuvLuv Alternative Total Eclipse, MLA TE
Japanese: マブラヴ オルタネイティヴ トータル・イクリプス

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 2, 2012 to Dec 24, 2012
Premiered: Summer 2012
Broadcast: Mondays at 01:35 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Satelight, ixtl
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.151 (scored by 32,123 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #31962
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1418
Members: 72,505
Favorites: 314

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 18, 2012
Stark700 (All reviews)
There's been a lot of strange series that debuted in 2012. If there was another to name, one would definitely be Muv-Luv Alternative: Total Eclipse. No, it's not the end of the year (yet) for us but in the world of the Total Eclipse, it's walking down that path. The series is based off a LN (light novel) of the same name and takes place in a science fiction world where mecha, aliens, and hot women with suits of iron dominating the series. It's definitely not everyday that you get to see chicks fighting otherworldly beings and still getting the time to relax. Let's look read more
Oct 31, 2013
Kynov (All reviews)
Mecha anime is sometimes for most of people would avoid this one like me. It isnt about taste matter but sometimes we find mecha anime tends to be boring and repetitive. Like, they always about battle, battle and battle. They just focussing on that matters without leaving characters to develop. But back then, i am being suggested to watch Muv Luv Alternative and i must said, it was a great experience

Story (9/10)
Muv Luv Alternative Total Eclipse or should i say, Muv Luv. Is one from many anime that taking mecha as their main themes. But the differences between them, is they didnt focus about mecha read more
Dec 23, 2012
The_Pro_At_Stuff (All reviews)
Aliens, known as the B.E.T.A, invade our planet in the year 1973. They mindlessly attack humans and devour us like food. There is no way to communicate with these B.E.T.A , so our only option left is to fight them. To do so, we humans invent giant humanoid machines called Tactical Surface Fighters (or TSFs). Pilots are trained to man these machines and fight in the front lines against the B.E.T.A forces; however, this is not a story about those who fight in the front lines. This is a side story about the test pilots who make sure the TSFs are suitable for use on read more
Jul 8, 2012
MarissaChan (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ok so forgive me if this review isnt the best i think i have only written one a very long time ago.

Ok! This review is only after seeing the first 2 episodes so my opinion may change down the road but i like what i see so far. I am not a fan of mecha .. at all. I from time to time will give it a chance to see how the story develops. This story has the normal details of alien invasion and people flying around killing they enemy and how the world is at war. Yes im fully aware this plot has read more
Apr 27, 2013
AnimeeLoverr (All reviews)
I dont get why people underate this ? For starters i really liked this.. from episode 1 it dragged me in .. , its like harsh reality i wont spoil it but what im saying is the story was very interesting about the beta invasion and how the group eatch developed a relationship even if it was not strait away it was over time. im not really good with names so i dont really remember but i really loved this anime ... for those who underate it i know they have the own opinions but this anime is worth a shot thats what i would read more
Jul 9, 2012
Sigsig (All reviews)
Preliminary
At this point of writing, I have only watched 2 episodes. I never watched any mecha prior to muv luv, so do pardon me.

Stor/Characters: 8/10 & 7/10
In the short span of 2 eps, I can already feel the depth of the story. Characters are developed well; fear and gore appropriately conveyed. The progress (training, war) is realistic too.

Art: 7/10
The art style feels old, like pre-2006 era of anime. Graphics are not sharp, though blood and dismembered body parts are shown clearly.

Sound: 8/10
I like how the music came in at turning points, where the MC is saved. Also, the bgm create a scary ambience. Not to read more
Jan 10, 2013
Baddie007 (All reviews)
Going going hikari e
Going going shinjite
himeta omoi ima
tsuyosa ni kaete do it

Going going mirai e
Going going mukaou
akenai yo wa nai
aratanaru yoake o


Going, going, going to make my review now, waaaaaa ENOUGH! So this is one of studio Satelight's anime for the last part of 2012 eh? So this 24 episode anime is something which was combined with "Starship Troopers" with the usual Jap mech, for me the plot was good, but I really don't like this anime's setting where the BETA onslaught begun in 1973 and it continue 'til 2001?????? I guess the first director, Takayuki read more
Jan 28, 2013
DaveDaRave94 (All reviews)
The first two episodes of this anime grabbed me by the shoulders and shook me around a little. It was pretty brutal, emotional and intense. It created a very dark tone, which I was pretty excited about but then I got to the third episode and everything changed. Did it change for the worst? Well that's debatable.

The first couple of eps set the scene. It's end of the world humanity is on the edge of extinction and everyone is dying. Afterwords though every episode just seems to neglect the horrid reality of the world the characters live in. Also the tone I first spoke of read more
Mar 23, 2016
Seppiroth32 (All reviews)
Prelude



Muv-Luv is a franchise well known amongst westerners as “the best” visual novel ever made, and has a surprisingly big fan base. But most don’t know that the Visual Novel franchise is actually based on a Light Novel series, which no one has probably read outside of those who read Chinese translated books or Japanese…The reason why everyone liked the whole game was because it takes itself seriously and the characters have actual motifs for their actions, not feeling like dolls that can be played around with.

And thus, it became what it is today, but I’m not here reviewing the Visual Novel, but the read more
Aug 13, 2012
LelouchKano (All reviews)
Preliminary
so far i watched 7 episodes
at first i was really attached to this ainme
the frist two episodes are amazing but if the story goes on it gets even more boring.
and seems to be just some mechas and boobs.
i am somehow disapointet
sry for the bad english
Sep 18, 2013
Mythical_Truth (All reviews)
Here is a short and sweet version.
Since 1973, an alien called the BETA has been invading earth. Things to know about the BETA: we know almost nothing, There are several categories, and the first three minutes a pilot spends on the battlefield against them are known as the Three Minutes of Death, because it is rare for anyone to survive longer than that, even with giant robots. This story is not about the overall defeat of the BETA, but more like a major point amidst the chaos of the war. The setting is Alaska at a testing facility for the TFS robots and weapons. There read more
Aug 16, 2012
DragonGun7916 (All reviews)
Preliminary
THIS REVIEW IS SUBJECT TO CHANGES

Ok when I started this anime off I thought to myself hell yea finally a good dark and mecha anime. Well I turned out to be a bit wrong about this one. While the first 2 episodes of the series were what I was looking for things then took a hard left turn. The episodes after number 2 have been on the development of another main character and pushing the main of the first 2 episodes to the side somewhat. It also has taken away the dark aspect and made it more of a lighter hey look at me and read more
Oct 6, 2012
Raiwatanabe (All reviews)
Preliminary
There is one and only one way that could have saved this series from being more than just eye candy without any thought behind it:

Do not try to take a dating sim concept, and turn it into a legitimate anime by throwing in mindless racist attacks against America.

The first two episodes were good just for getting the concept behind the enemy, and the horrors of war straight. However, who in their right mind, when the species is on the line, sends a bunch of teenage girls who represent the best, brightest descendants of the Imperial heritage of Japan, out to the front lines? That is read more
Jan 28, 2013
GoldenFyre (All reviews)
----------NO SPOILERS PAST EPISODE 1-----------

Set in the past. Better technology then we have now? How could anything so ridiculous sounding be great? Well read this if your just looking for a good anime to watch, or if you want to know the answer to my question. This is a review of the Fall 2012 anime: Muv-Luv Alternative: Total Eclipse. Enjoy

Story: 10
Muv-Luv Alternative : Total Eclipse was a very unique anime. It is set in a past that has scientifically passed our current age technology. They have mecha-bots called TSF's which they use to fight the BETA. An alien species that is just bent on read more
Aug 17, 2018
RauLeCreuset (All reviews)
….This Anime was simply, Amazing, I loved every single episode from beginning to end, that is what is such a bummer, you never find an Anime, like the last one you watched. This one was definitely unique. I am a huge Gundam Fan, although this is not a gundam anime, but still, it was beautifully created, I even love the soundtrack, I hope there is, if not, will be a second season to this anime. I love anime this, with a great story line, & different characters that mesh together as one. It is truly outstanding the way this anime was put together, I mean read more
Feb 21, 2018
TheRedLine (All reviews)
To Start off If you havent read the Muv Luv Visual Novel you for the most part wont understand this world of Muv luv. To make it as short as possible, this is an alternate universe where historical events played out differently and humans put their backs out during the space age. Leading to humans first encountering the BETA, on Mars, then going to war against them on the Moon, until finally they landed on Earth back in 73'(at the height of the Cold War). This anime starts in 1998, by this time the BETA have already taken(which means they have eaten eveyone and everything read more
May 30, 2014
endofthedream (All reviews)
When somebody says the word "mecha", we would immediately think action and robot vs robot flying and fighting each other. Yes, muv-luv did have these elements, but it also included the mindset of the characters in it.

I'll get straight to the point, Muv-Luv Alternative: Total Eclipse was a great anime that was overlooked by a lot of people.

I'll first mention why I really loved this anime.
Storyline:
I feel like the storyline for Muvluv is very original especially since we get to see and experience what is happening in the backlines during an all-out war.
It starts off by giving us a feeling of despair and read more
Jan 17, 2013
datterama32 (All reviews)
Muv Luv Alternative: Total Eclipse doesn't know what it wants to be. The dramatic action-packed opening quickly loses momentum and eventually enters love-comedy-harem territory. Just as I was about to pull my hair out, it goes full blast into a suspenseful action-oriented arc only to run itself head first into not only harem territory but tournament too. Finally it picks right back up again for the last few episodes to give some form of an ending that leaves you scratching your head.

The mech action is OK but not altogether memorable. The Beta do not leave you with a sense of dread that they should. Whenever read more
Jun 1, 2013
rightstuff12 (All reviews)
I don't know what to say....

Att first I was like naaaah this anime is 5/10 then later on I felt something deep inside. It was inspiration.... my ratings went upp the more I watched I felt special....

I know there will allways be haters and I respect that, but there is nothig to hate about this anime.

The first episodes I was like naah but when it went to ACTION every episode was heaven on earth :S
Oct 13, 2019
mouthpiece (All reviews)
THE STAFF
- Animation is done by studio Satelight. Besides Noein I didn’t like any of their other numerous shows. Their budgets are average to good but they never try too much to create quality shows and anything they do is usually nothing more than dumb fun.
- Directing is done by Inagaki Takayuki, who is a bit known for his work in Desert Punk and Rosario + Vampire. You can easily tell he likes fan service and shits on plot, so you can pretty much guess right away what the show is going to be about.
- Based on the Total Eclipse light novels. Which in turn read more