Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Inu x Boku SS


Alternative Titles

English: Inu X Boku Secret Service
Synonyms: Youko x Boku SS
Japanese: 妖狐×僕SS

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 13, 2012 to Mar 30, 2012
Premiered: Winter 2012
Broadcast: Fridays at Unknown
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: David Production
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.651 (scored by 130,599 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #11942
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #223
Members: 263,961
Favorites: 2,676

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 2, 2012
Jeffrey-sama (All reviews)
A teenage girl struggling with her interpersonal skills; a loyal man struggling with his intrapersonal skills. Inu x Boku SS tells of the tale involving these two troubled persons. Over time, it is inevitable that one will change depending on his/her surroundings. The influences that come from peers and others are undoubtedly strong. To be able to thrive in such environments, one must be able to filter these influences and only be changed by those which they feel will benefit them. In the end, it is always others that do the shaping; one cannot merely wish to be transformed and have it happen. Whether these read more
Mar 30, 2012
Stellio (All reviews)
When this anime first started airing recently I was unsure what it was going to be about. At the end of finishing this series, I still am unsure what this series qualify as. Inu x boku was supposedly a comedy story incorporating some supernatural and mysterious themes. However, it seems like the director changed their mind during the middle of the series.

The main plot follows around a young woman named Ririchiyo. Basically, she's a very delicate person, so delicate and shy that she can barely express herself. In fact, to the point where she almost expresses the opposite of what she means every time. Thus, read more
Mar 25, 2012
SevenKnights (All reviews)
Preliminary
Does a very good job on sticking with the manga. Luckily the manga is ahead so for those like me who have read the manga way before the anime was released you know how things turn out and you can focus on the artwork and seeing your favorite characters in motion :3


Story: There really isn't a "story" per se. The manga is slowly picking up but as you can see from the first 11(?) episodes released currently it's mostly the main (what? 6-7 characters?) conversing with each other and little things between Ririchyo and Soushi. 7/10

Art: Very Nice. Nice style to it. 10/10

Sound: The OP read more
Aug 10, 2015
ChucriBZ (All reviews)
[b]Inu x Boku SS[/b]
To clarify i haven't read the manga and after i finished the anime i was reading comments that the story is a lot more different from the manga and i read a little about the manga and i agree is way too different, it has more of a tragic approach and the anime is more comedy, even in the serious parts something funny happens, but because i have just watched the anime and not the manga i liked the anime a lot, maybe because i laughed a lot and really enjoyed it.

[b][u]Story[/u][/b]
The story is about a girl (Ririchiyo, who in fact is read more
Aug 14, 2012
quadnia (All reviews)
Inu X Boku SS was one of those anime's i had seen around, or saw some tiny references to, but it never gave me any incentive to watch the anime and it seemed to me like it was one of those anime that focuses to much on fan service and comical stuff. That being said after having not a lot to watch i gave it ago.

Story 7

The concept itself was ok, nothing special, your typical romcom anime. The story had a slow start, i didn't feel particularly pulled into the story until about episode 11 where Miketsukami past was revealed the episodes inbetween i read more
Feb 2, 2012
Hengao (All reviews)
Preliminary
Inu x Boku SS or what others may refer to as - Dog and Me.
Adapted by the manga Inu x Boku SS. It′s not too long ago when I read the manga, but when I found out that there will be an anime, I thought of trying to watch it until it comes out. Honestly, it made me a little bit impatient. Because I really wanna see the animated version sooner.
And of course, my hopes didn′t let me down. As I thought, the animated version is great and much like-able.

If you are reading the manga, and currently at the latest chapter. You might be impatient read more
Apr 24, 2013
rmmr111 (All reviews)
So, when I watched the last - and completely unnecessary to the plot- episode of this series, my reaction was not: "Ooown, how cute!!!" , nor: "This is an amazing anime!!!"
It was literally:
"Wait, that's it?"
I think that pretty much describes my experience with it, if you're not up to reading the entire review.

Story: 5
Maison de Ayakashi is this super elite mansion with wealthy kids that happen to be descendants from monsters from Japanese Culture.
Not only that, but they also have one secret service assigned to each resident, for their protection and stuff.

What may seem like a promising idea to explore Oriental Mythology read more
Jan 16, 2012
AnimeFan500 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Re review
Inu X Boku SS-- ( Dog and Me) The story of this anime is about The Shirakiin house's daughter, Shirakiin Riricho, who has issues with her rich family as she is unable to do things on her own free will. Also with friends at her school too. I have this feeling her past will catch up to her. She decides to break away from her family and life. In order for her to live independently she lives in this mansion "Ayakashi Kan" (House of Spirit/Demons/Ghosts/Youkai) where she meets her SS-Secret Service Miketsukami, Soushi who is her servant, guard etc. She rejects the SS read more
Mar 31, 2012
ilustrIsImo (All reviews)
I was drawn into watching this anime because of three reasons.
1. Yoko Hikasa, Aki Toyosaki, and Kana Hanazawa were cast in it
2. Ririchiyo Shirakiin looked cute
3. The picture I saw hinted at romance

I liked how the animation style switched between normal and chibi to make the funny moments even funnier. The story was mostly fun and light-hearted and was not about fighting like I was expecting. They only had to fight three or four times and they were not that serious. The story did not have that many screwed up events in it. The worst one concerned Miketsukami but read more
Nov 16, 2014
saberine (All reviews)
This anime 'Inu Boku SS' seems to point to 'Dog and me secret service', but, it isn't the literal meaning of course, that would be a bit boring unless you had some super cool dogs! anyway.

The story is based on a girl named Ririchiyo who lacks social skills and can never say what she really thinks. The Fox Spirit, Miketsukami Soushi is her secret service agent and pledges his life to protect her. In the beginning you feel like there is an underlying story behind his commitment or a reason for his attitude towards his job.

Even though she is projected, I feel that the main read more
Dec 3, 2014
whatchamini (All reviews)
So I am not quite sure why some people are not so happy with this series. I thought it was very sweet and enjoyable, and I really really liked it.

Story:
While the story was not an overarching plot-line, nor was it extremely deep, it was very enjoyable. This series was more of a rom-com than anything else, but it definitely had some drama to it, and the supernatural aspect of it actually worked to enhance the story overall.

Art:
Nothing special or extraordinary in the art department, but the series had beautiful, bright colors, and the characters were unique and beautifully drawn. The art read more
Feb 22, 2015
Hng (All reviews)
There is something very unfortunate about a show that chooses to confirm certain traits and elements of the story that the viewer sometimes wanted kept to the power of the imagination.

One of the most important things to get out the way when watching this show: The place and role of the main characters, in this case the male and female leads, Miketsukami Soushi and Shirakiin Ririchiyo. Miketsukami is a 22 year old incarnation of the Kyuubi, the fox spirit, and Ririchiyo is a 15 year old high school student. Keeping in mind that this is a clear 7 year difference in age, one cannot read more
Mar 29, 2012
Foxsynyu (All reviews)
"The time you have lived thus far; we will remember it, again & again, the story of a long, long time we will live out together"

Inu x Boku SS is one of the series that made a lot of us, laugh, cry, and smile all at the same time. This is one of the greatest and almost beautiful love story I have seen in a very, very long time.

First of all let's start with the storyline...well, there really wasn't any at all. But this really follows the manga so well, I'd almost say they got it word for word! The first episode describes a young read more
Mar 3, 2012
Gigglepud (All reviews)
Preliminary
The series started of brilliantly, with the way the main character, Ririchiyo is introduced. The way the series introduced the Ririchiyo's problems as well as the other residents at the apartment was also great. Overall, the first episode was an excellent start to the series.

But then, as the story progressed on, Ririchyo changed. Instead of being some badass character who wanted to get along with everyone, she changed into a shoujo who fell in love, and the latest few episodes focused a lot on her feelings and shoujo character development.

Comparing to the comedy, and the set up of the first few episodes, the latest few read more
Dec 6, 2017
Arvanitis (All reviews)
First of all, I'll have to say that although I'm a huge anime fan, my mean score is 5.58. Which means that a 5/10 is not actually a bad rating. This is my first review, so feel free to send me some friendly advice on what to do better on my next one.

In my opinion, this show's plot is interesting and it could have been a success, if it was well-executed. The female MC (Ririchiyo) is a girl from a rich family who is half-human/half-youkai. Her introvert personality combined with her anxiety to face other people made her decide to move to "Maison de Ayakashi", read more
Feb 15, 2016
GenuineOne (All reviews)
Once in a while a nice romance is always satisfying to find. The art is well done with a lot of detail and the characters are different from one another. The complete differences in personality is an interesting attraction to the other characters. Other than the very slight progression between the two main characters, there isn't much to the plot. The story goes slightly into detail about the past of the leading female and male characters, only enough to lightly touch on it. Overall it was really cute, but I was expecting more depth to the story and progression in their overall growth. 7/10
Sep 30, 2017
melodyvonshewk (All reviews)
I picked this anime up on a whim. The art looked pretty, and I wanted to watch something light-hearted with lots of humor. Mind you, this review is solely based on my opinion alone, It isn't related to the manga in anyway.

So, main question: Is this anime worth watching?

Well, the answer is complex. It depends on how you want the story to turn out. Lots of people have expressed their views on this anime, most of them liking how it turned out, while others wanting it to be a dark-toned anime, inspired from the dark manga. Inu x boku SS is an anime, that at read more
Dec 2, 2015
aryapotato (All reviews)
Positives:
This anime is quite a slow paced but riveting one which is full of emotional moments and flashbacks into the pasts of the characters. I would recommend it to anyone who likes rom-coms, action and some very emotional scenes.
It is full of character development. Throughout the anime there are many scenes which look into the past to see what made the characters the way they are. The storyline was quite interesting but also quite cliche. It was a typical story of a girl meeting a guy who fell for her and she for him. However the twists and turns in the plot of the story read more
Jul 26, 2014
Nsheds (All reviews)
In a way, I found this anime hard to watch at times. I had a strange vibe from it that didn't really suit me. But on with the review.

The story. They could of done much more with what they gave us, I feel they could of expanded some more on the things that we were first told in the first episode about their ancestors and such and less about the main protagonists everyday life (mainly school), that I could of done without. because they spent good amount of time each episode of the protagonists morning routine.

However, If you read more
Sep 17, 2016
pleochroic (All reviews)
That turned out to be very different from what I originally expected, but that became clear in the very first episode. After that the plot became extremely obvious -- yes, including the Big Reveal; though maybe one has to have some vague familiarity with Cyrano de Bergerac to see that coming. I feel most of the potential of the anime was wasted on routine comedy bits, and consequently I feel let down.

Story: Decent set-up, both in regard to the cast being half-youkai, and Ririchiyo's acid tongue, though the whole "secret service" nonsense made me roll my eyes. But the show did read more