Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Mobile Suit Gundam: The Origin


Alternative Titles

English: Mobile Suit Gundam: The Origin
Synonyms: Kidou Senshi Gundam: The Origin
Japanese: 機動戦士ガンダムTHE ORIGIN

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 6
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 24, 2015 to May 5, 2018
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: NYAV Post
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, MechaMecha, MilitaryMilitary, Sci-FiSci-Fi, ShounenShounen, SpaceSpace
Duration: 1 hr. 11 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 8.291 (scored by 1226912,269 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #2402
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2183
Members: 41,252
Favorites: 437

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 20, 2018
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
Mobile Suit Gundam: The Origin is an ode to excellence, an art habitually outdoing itself. It is the epitome of what Gundam is and was, and is the type of work only a master can craft. Origin is cinematic brilliance, and one of the finest in modern manga adapting and modern anime storytelling. As such, it is as charming and emotionally evocative as the franchise has ever been, continually asserting itself among the best animated series this decade has to offer.

It would be unwise to herald such a title as absolute perfection; there are blemishes in this magnificent work of art. The questionable overreliance read more
May 4, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
'Gundam Origin' is the best thing that has yet happened to the Gundam franchise. The series is so different from all the other Gundams, and so successful at what it does that it appears to be more similar to 'Ghost in the Shell Stand Alone Complex' and 'Legend of the Galactic Heroes' than it is similar to other Gundams.


This time around our story does NOT center around bunch of kids who fights against each others with super robots, and question their morality after falling in love with enemy kids. And when people lose their families, they do NOT get over it in mere 10 minutes read more
May 10, 2018
Rikuson1 (All reviews)
Mobile Suit Gundam: The Origin/機動戦士ガンダムTHE ORIGIN Review


Story (10/10) Masterpiece

The main purpose of Mobile Suit Gundam: The Origin is to setup the origin story to not just the Gundam but the entire Universal Century's story and all of the characters, protagonists and antagonist that play major roles in the 1979's original Gundam anime which kickstarts the whole Gundam franchise in the first place. With that being said this 6 episode OVA I felt did a wonderful job at introducing the whole of Universal Century to the viewer. But obviously coming from myself a person who is already quite knowledgeable to the universe damn near every read more
Apr 16, 2015
Brockemsockem (All reviews)
Preliminary
Some people think Gundam is the Japanese Star Wars. Well, we can safely say this is Episode One. I dread that newcomers to the franchise will see this OVA and judge Gundam Universal Century for it, because despite being a prequel, there is practically nothing here reminiscent of the classic show, or even most other entries. Even worse, it insults and bastardizes almost every character that the fans love. It has no reason to exist, and coming from a guy who's seen about 60-70% of all Gundam anime currently, that's immensely disappointing. Let me explain, using the prologue as a demonstration:

The story immediately rushes off read more
Feb 28, 2015
Yaguruma (All reviews)
Preliminary
There's a lot I feel about Origin I. I'll try my best to word it out smoothly. There will be spoilers and I won't feel bad if you bothered to read this. I hope that if you watched this movie you have the whole of 0079 as background information or you're really stupid.

Mobile Suit Gundam: The Origin. The very side story of Gundam that tells us how the brilliance that is 0079 started out. In its first installation, we are introduced to the era of Zeon Zum Deikum; The Principality of Zeon's forefather and the events that Put the Zabi family in his position. Zeon's read more
Mar 8, 2015
RisingSun-kun (All reviews)
Preliminary
I am likely different that most who decided to watch this ova in that this is the first Gundam series I've ever seen. I'd heard of it a number of times, but with so many different shows within the overall series, I had no idea where to start, and really no motivation to. However, I'd heard good things about this, and with it being an origin story, I figured I'd give the first OVA a try. And I have to say, it did not disappoint. Keep in mind for this review, I've only seen the first OVA, when I watch more I'll update this review.

The read more
May 7, 2018
gravediggernalk (All reviews)
PSA: This is a prequel; please watch AFTER you watch the original series

As far as how it adapts the story, it does a very good job adapting the prequel story-pieces of the manga adaptation, "The Origin," and I definitely recommend it to anyone who has seen the original series, especially if they're about to re-watch it.

If you consider the early-UC timeline to be "The Story of Amuro Ray and Char Aznable," then this sets the stage perfectly: It takes you from "before their time," through their childhood and adolescence, and finishes you off perfectly with all of the main players taking their places read more
Dec 1, 2018
Gundroog (All reviews)
Gundam Origin to me is close to being a perfect prequel. Before someone gets up in their arms about Origin technically coming from a manga that’s a full on retelling of the MGS 0079 story and therefore being more of a spin-off than a prequel, I think they decided to cut it off before the events of the TV show because that’s where some more noticeable deviations start. However prior to that it roots itself strongly in the material people already know with only minor deviations that in my opinion don’t undermine what it adds to the universe.
As such, in this review I’ll treat it read more
Mar 1, 2015
mfrenkel91 (All reviews)
Preliminary
So first thing's first. I've seen some incredible (art-wise) space-based battles in anime: the battle in the last episode of Macross Frontier, the fleet engagement near Pluto in the opening scenes of Yamato 2199, and the battle between Kshatriya and the grunt suits in the first episode of Unicorn. The Battle of Loum, something that's only been depicted once before, has always been the one Gundam battle i had always wanted to see, both for its reputed bloodiness and for being the battle that earned Char his Red Comet nickname. This depiction did not disappoint, being right up there with the rest of them. read more
Jun 8, 2019
SupremeLord (All reviews)
You know, this franchise really likes to retell the story of the OYW. I’m serious, there are so many reimaginings, retellings and side stories that it’s ridiculous. Perhaps the most infamous one is Tomino’s MSG Novel Trilogy, which I’ll get around to reading at some point. The most famous for good reasons, however, has to be Gundam The Origin. A 24 Volume Manga by Yasuhiko Yoshikazu the retells the whole original series while adding a shit load of new content to it. While I have been planning to read it, lack of accessibility has prevented me from doing so; however I will read it as read more
Jun 14, 2019
GOLenji (All reviews)
Gundam has several timelines, the story of which is in the UC timeline, before the first Gundam (Mobile Suit Gundam). The narrative is centered on Char Aznable, an iconic character from the first Gundam series as he is the main antagonist. In this series of films it is shown how Char Aznable came to become the famous Red Comet, nickname that he receives for his brilliant performance in the War of One Year, and also is shown how he came to become Char Aznable himself since before he was Edouard Mass and Casval. It is also shown how and why the project for the first read more
Feb 2, 2019
Thedude3445 (All reviews)
Really shows the limitations of directly adapting a manga series, having all the best and worst moments thrown in together with no regard as to how it's going to play out in a new medium. Someday Japanese anime companies are going to realize that 100% faithfully adapting a comic into TV format doesn't actually always work, because one medium has sound and motion while the other has panel spacing and static imagery. Really, there were so many moments in these six Gundam: The Origin movies where they could have messed around with the pacing, or ignored the narration in favor of visual storytelling, or just read more
Jun 13, 2016
Adam_Silvia (All reviews)
Preliminary
Mobile Suit Gundam The Origin III: Dawn of Rebellion marks a new path of vengeance for Casval Rem Deikun and his transformation into Char Aznable. As Gundam fans know this rebellion sparked the start of the One Year War, which will become the largest tragedy in the Gundam.

Watch my unboxing at http://www.popcultreviews.com/anime/mobile-suit-gundam-origin-iii-unboxingreview/

The prequel itself is extremely gripping, and draws you in all the way through. That’s probably partly due to the fact that fans know where the story is going, but more importantly The Origin prequel is the perfect spot for new fans to start watching. On top of that the thing I really appreciate read more
May 1, 2019
KungSour (All reviews)
SS Review – Mobile Suit Gundam: The Origin
(Short and Sour)

Before I start this review I would like to give my stance on Gundam, in other words where I am with the series and how familiar I am with it. I have next to no knowledge of this franchise…I have not watched anything Gundam related besides Gundam Build Fighters which I watched on a dare from a friend. But I don’t consider that to be anything really "main series" Gundam related seeing as it’s based solely on Gunpla which is model Gundams. With that knowledge I decided to watch this as it’s a prequel to the read more
Feb 27, 2019
SlaceTheDark (All reviews)
Welcome to my third review. After the first 2 I am finally giving a review to something outstanding. This review is about the ONA 'Mobile Suit Gundam: The Origin'.
MSG: Origin is animated by the well-known studio Sunrise who have been very successful with the Gintama series and Gundam series which this ONA is part of. The ONA consists of 6 episodes who at the start circle around half an hour and later jump up to around and hour and 20 minutes or runtime.

Story: As the name already suggests this ONA depicts the origin of Gundam that we know of, specifically the birth and background read more
Jan 26, 2019
Manthors (All reviews)
[Edit] The only other Gundam that I gave the highest score was Iron-Blooded Orphans. Now I must give to Gundam: The Origin, too. As a Gundam fan, I watch everything Gundam-related, but few get the highest score. This is an outstanding OVA series, with an amazing story. I`ll tell you all about bellow, but I already warn you that you must be familiar with the Universal Century from Gundam, to get the full experience.

Story: First, I must tell you that you need to know about the Universal Century (UC) storyline from the Gundamverse. If you are not familiar with the UC, you can still enjoy, read more
Aug 19, 2018
Stepalom (All reviews)
Before I truly start with this review I must say that Char Aznable is one of my favorite characters in all of fiction and before I watched the last two episodes, I was ready to tear this show to shreds because of it’s awful portrait of the Char Aznable character, fortunately the last two episodes were so good that the show went from a 4 to a 7.

Story and Characters:
MS Gundam:The Origin is the tale of the beginning of the One Year War and the rise of “the Red Comet” Char Aznable from his childhood till mere minutes before the beginning of the read more