Mobile Suit Gundam II: Soldiers of Sorrow

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Kidou Senshi Gundam II: Ai Senshi-hen, Mobile Suit Gundam Movie 2
Japanese: 機動戦士ガンダムⅡ 哀・戦士編

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 11, 1981
Producers: Sotsu
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Original
Genres: ActionAction, DramaDrama, Sci-FiSci-Fi
Themes: MechaMecha, MilitaryMilitary, SpaceSpace
Duration: 2 hr. 15 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.361 (scored by 1525115,251 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #21342
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3558
Members: 25,549
Favorites: 25

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 13, 2008
Chag (All reviews)
Mobile Suit Gundam: the Movie Trilogy is the definitive incarnation of the massively influential Mobile Suit Gundam TV series. It may not be perfect, but it definitely deserves its lofty status in the history of anime as a proven classic. As one cannot have one part of the trilogy without the others, this review will cover all three of the compilation movies.

The first question on any new viewer's mind regarding the story of Mobile Suit Gundam: the Movie Trilogy (MSG) would be: "Do the films condense too much story from the TV series to fit into its limited run time?" The answer to that is read more
Aug 8, 2021
ktulu007 (All reviews)
I've talked about the Gundam franchise quite a few times. Including the first Mobile Suit Gundam film. To kick off this year's film festival week, I'm going to be talking about the second film in that trilogy, Soldiers of Sorrow. To start with a quick recap, the Federation and space Nazis IE Zeon are at war. Our protagonists are a Federation force largely made up of teenagers, because so many adults have died. They're piloting the White Base on a mission.

Story:

So, our protagonists continue to make their way to Jaburo while getting into constant battles with Zeon and receiving limited support from the Federation read more
Mar 2, 2010
PCS1881 (All reviews)
Story: The story got a lot better from the first film. It was easier to understand what was going on. Moreover it had better drama. That was better because it didn't seem too forceful compared to the first movie.

Art: The animation was still as good. However I found it odd that some characters especially the female ones looked practically the same except for hairstyles (Hamon and Matilda). Not really a flaw but worth noticing.

Sound: Nothing much to say here, the sound effects and the battle themes were well done. I think the voice acting was great too except for the kids. In my opinion it read more
May 8, 2020
lethargilistic (All reviews)
The middle of the trilogy is a series of vignettes from the middle of the show. They're not stitched together in a way that indicates progression, aside from the mere fact of certain people dying at certain times. It is nonetheless compelling in isolated instances.

Watching this reminded me of something people are always saying about Eureka Seven. They say it's "just Mobile Suit Gundam again," but it's so obviously untrue. Eureka Seven is, rather, THE BEST PARTS of Mobile Suit Gundam, remixed and combined and extended so that they're often running simultaneously and throughout the show. For example, the section in this where Amuro meets read more
May 10, 2009
Parabellum25 (All reviews)
The next stop on my tour of the Universal Century. Upping that ante from the previous movie, there really isn't much to say about it other than the fact that the movie is a middle chapter to larger story. This one contains more action, character development and finally some plot, something I felt was sorely missing from the previous movie.

The main subject of discussion here would be character development. Even relatively minor characters like Matilda and Kai get some, further reinforcing them as believable human beings. Of note is Amuro's development. Previously, we saw him as a reluctant teenager drawn into a mess he read more
Dec 13, 2018
Aiaigasa (All reviews)
As an upcoming Gundam fan, I decided to go back to where it began but was given the choice of the television run or the 3 summary films. I bought the film trilogy off of rightstuf and started my journey. Keep in mind I am familiar with anime on the older side especially the 70s such as Versailles no bara/Lupin the third. The 1st movie was condensed admirably from the show and did not have too much of a jarring plot progression and pace. Coming to the second film though I was surprised how packed and frankly divided it was. The first half of the read more
Nov 19, 2016
Paraturtle (All reviews)
Story:
A thrilling military drama. With superb pacing, each scene flows right into the next with incredible finesse. Nothing feels rushed and nothing feels overly done. There's a strong amount of respect for the characters and the events taking place. I have to say that the 0079 series is impressing me in every way. From the complex and realistic drama between the characters and Char's absolutely captivating character in general, I cannot wait to learn more and more about these characters and the world they live in.

I'm starting to wonder if Gundam is the "Starship Troopers" of the eastern world, in that it's an excellent science-fiction read more
Aug 5, 2021
md5fungi (All reviews)
The second installment of the Gundam Mobile Suit trilogy delves deeper into the consequences of war, which makes for some terrific character development and world-building. Amuro fights his inner demons as the conflict rages on. At the same time, we get a better glimpse at how the Zeons operate. The story is well done, but some of the novelty has worn off as we know what to expect.

I do feel like the middle of this movie meanders and lags just a bit, a lull that is made up for an epic battle between Amuro and Char. Once again, things aren't really wrapped up, so read more