Guilty Crown

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Guilty Crown
Synonyms: GUILTY CROWN
Japanese: ギルティクラウン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 22
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 14, 2011 to Mar 23, 2012
Premiered: Fall 2011
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:15 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Production I.G
Source: Original
Genres: ActionAction, Sci-FiSci-Fi, Super PowerSuper Power, DramaDrama, RomanceRomance, MechaMecha
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.551 (scored by 456284456,284 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #14252
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #67
Members: 884,389
Favorites: 17,078
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 18, 2012
Archaeon (All reviews)
Many people are aware of the financial problems faced by the anime industry, and one of the methods that studios have adopted over recent years to try to shore up their crumbling foundations is to adapt popular manga, games, and more recently, Western comics. This approach has become a tried and tested moneymaking endeavour for the majority of studios, but in many cases this is simply due the fact that the source material caters to the lowest common denominator - which usually means fanservice. Unfortunately, the relative success of these shows have allowed them to become the norm rather than the exception, and with that read more
Mar 16, 2012
Miharu-Kun (All reviews)
With the large amount of Guilty Crown reviews going around lately, It wouldn't be too hard to find a 'decent' review, right? well that's not the case at all, It seems that most of the reviews are either written by blind fan-boys/fan-girls or haters, 10's,9's,4's and 3's seem to be the popular choice of overall rating, though looking at Guilty Crown in a balance way, this anime definitely deserves a 7 and I'll explain why in the next couple of paragraphs which will you most likely will flick through.

= Story (3) =

If you have been watching Guilty Crown or have seen some of the rantings read more
Nov 30, 2011
Reckoner (All reviews)
Preliminary
Quite possibly the most soulless show to hit the anime industry in a long, long time, Guilty Crown is a true example of "don't judge a book by its cover." Yes, this show by studio Production I.G. may in fact have some of the most impressive TV anime visuals ever, while also having a modestly good OST (Save that god awful OP by Supercell), but once one peels away these more superficial aspects and dives into the core of this production, there is nothing but a hollow shell.

Guilty Crown is supposed to be about Japan in a semi-futuristic setting after some sort of viral pandemic read more
Dec 1, 2013
Link_of_Hyrule (All reviews)
**SPOILER FREE REVIEW**

...What the hell did I just watch? Th-This can't be right. There is absolutely no way that the stinking pile of garbage I just somehow managed to sit through can be the ultra-hyped, widely beloved anime I've been hearing about. Guilty Crown has single handedly made me lose my faith in the anime community's ability to know what is good and what isn't. To say that this series is overrated would be a massive understatement. The only thing I could do while watching it was scratch my head and wonder why the hell this show is so popular. Sure the animation is fluent read more
Feb 28, 2012
ringo-no-tamashi (All reviews)
Cliches. What anime nowadays doesn't have cliched moments? In my opinion, using cliches isn't that bad. That is, when it's not overdone and poorly used.

Guilty Crown is the perfect example of an interesting premise going wrong. It is a very formulatic show : following every damn cliches in anime history. It seems Production I.G tried really hard to make something revolutionary. It is revolutionary ; this anime completely changed my opinion of what a poorly written plot is. And not only the plot, the characters are mostly one-dimensional, and some of them bipolar.

First of all, the story is just plain uninteresting. It's mostly a mash-up read more
Mar 1, 2012
Resuki (All reviews)
Preliminary
I began watching Guilty Crown on a whim. It was a pure coincidence. If I had anything else to do that day, I probably would never have started watching. However, it just so happened that I was bored out of my mind and at the bottom of my current "to watch" list. When I saw Guilty Crown peeking out at me from another member's favorite anime list, I couldn't resist the temptation. Reading the synopsis turned me off. It didn't seem very promising. "Boy has power in his right hand that makes him special." Okay... cool?

So I started reading the reviews. They were horrendously read more
Apr 9, 2012
stoicspoon (All reviews)
The first few episodes had some problems, but nothing unforgivable, and the show actually seemed really awesome at first. There was so much they could do in the world they had set up.

Would the main character become a cunning LeLouche? Perhaps a brave Suzaku? Will we identify with his teen angst like we do with Shinji? Will he seem human?

The answer to all of these questions ends up being "no." The main character is someone you increasingly dislike as the show goes on.

Not only is he generic, he's a bad execution of the generic shonen protagonist. He doesn't feel very human, and his courage & read more
Apr 18, 2012
BloodRequiem (All reviews)
When I saw Guilty Crown on the preview list with the synopsis and the production team, I thought this was it. I thought that this would be an anime that would save the industry. Guess what? I was right. After all if you cannot be a good example, then you will just have to be a terrible warning.

Lets get to the good points. Art. It is Production I.G we are talking about here. Even the haters have to agree that the art is amazing. The animations were fluid and detailed. The character designs are appealing as well. The only problem read more
Mar 24, 2012
NeverKnowsBest26 (All reviews)
Guilty Crown belongs to what could possibly be the most frustrating of shows: ones which are well produced but poorly executed. Sharp visuals and a strong soundtrack are always a plus. However, they don't compensate for haphazard writing and overly hammy direction. Guilty Crown suffers from both of these.

The story takes place in a post-apocalyptic Japan, that is ridden with a deadly disease after a catastrophe called Lost Christmas. The nation has been taken over by militarists in order to supposedly prevent the spread of the disease. Shu is a normal high school student, going about his life adhering to the status quo. That is read more
Feb 18, 2012
elForte (All reviews)
Preliminary
BEST COMEDY OF 2011-2012. 10/10.

Oh wait. This isn't a comedy?

Well then.

Where do I even start with this mess, then?

Guilty Crown seemed to promise to be one of the best series of the season when it first aired. Boy, was I wrong.

The writing in this show is an absolute mess and tends to try to just throw random plot devices at you in random intervals to try and surprise you. It is not particularly surprising, but it's a bit cute (cute as in, a child seems to be writing the show).

The characters are really awful. The writing staff seems to be trying their hardest to read more
Oct 14, 2011
Kenta_Maebara (All reviews)
Preliminary
*Updated*
I take back what I said. This series is a complete mess.

Remember the first episode? Guy meets girl; evil government; le resistance; Deus Ex Machina (Gai); guy is thrown into battle; guy gets power from girl to fight giant-robots-from-nowhere - all done before, nothing new. And guess what? It GETS WORSE. Onwards from there, the build-up of episodes is just awfully underdeveloped. Towards the semi-finale, its revelations rushed past the audience like a train, or over the audience if you’re trying to figure out what the whole first half was for. The GHQ? Virus? Terrorism? Shuu manning up? Yeah, alot of those issues are read more
Nov 17, 2011
miathetiger (All reviews)
Re-edit 2 years after watching the show!

Story
9/10
The amazing part about it is that they'd leave you with more questions every time they offer some hint. And they do it little by little. Too bad that people never cared to look into it.

Art
9/10
It was wonderful in most episodes, but some were sloppy (e.g. ep 21). The character designs are great. By the way, there are very specific reasons why they made Inori wear those outfits other than the fan-service.

Sound
9/10
The OP/ED's are real monster. What's more, they're perfect fits for GC. Departures is singing of the people who died from FP's struggle for freedom read more
Nov 22, 2011
silvergreene (All reviews)
Preliminary
Note: These are my opinions only. Everyone has different tastes, and thus, what I think is cheesy may not be cheesy to someone else. I try to judge the show based on technical mastery and evidence of being well-thought out, but in the end, a lot of it is still based on personal judgment. That's it.

So anyways, I first wanted to watch this anime because of its freaking epic art, and animation-wise, I was not disappointed. But almost everything else was, in the purest sense of the word, utter crap.

To be completely fair, though, GC isn't /that/ bad (a 5 is still a "mediocre"), but read more
Feb 23, 2012
deadeaddead (All reviews)
Preliminary
One day some director decided to make an anime show where a regular teenage boy, who goes to school and gets super powers because of a serious event that happened (usually a girl appears which grants him that power). Soon after this anime was made, more similar shows kept being created. After a couple of years, Guilty Crown was made, and damn, it changed everything! No I'm just joking, it has nothing fking new in the anime industry. BUT, to everyone that thinks this is a copy of Code Geass, the only thing related between these 2 shows is "Magic girl appears and gives power read more
Mar 14, 2014
Evatallica (All reviews)
Truly original anime concepts are rather hard to come by these days, for a variety of reasons. For one, simple formulaic concepts are much easier to produce and usually cater to a wider demographic. Reason two being that the anime industry is an incredibly fragile business in terms of profit, meaning that risks that should be taken, or unfortunately shafted in favor of simpler anime. However, there is one reason that stands out above all, a general lack in inspiration. Pouring in countless amounts of influences and concepts from highly acclaimed anime of the past in order to create something unique is common ground. However, read more
Oct 30, 2011
Hectotane (All reviews)
Preliminary
Usually, I try to be a good sport and watch all of the anime before I make a review. But this time I have to make an exception. There's a time in one's life when there's a need to say "Stop That! Just Stop That!" And the people on the giving side need to adhere to that. Unfortunately, said people are the Japanese animu industry and they DO NOT care about us Westerners' opinions.

I should've seen it, though: The pretty girl during the first scene, the pansy-ass self-insert nobody (who's good on computers, by the way) created for the mere sake of the nobodies read more
Oct 14, 2011
versx (All reviews)
Preliminary
What the hell is going on?
Are all of the studios compete in "who can make most stereotyped and boring anime"?
First s7, phi brain, smth else, now this.

Story and setting some directly from code geass - Japan is SO SUFFERING, evil military forces everywhere, and there is bunch of liberal children who OPPOSE SYSTEM (of course, they are handsome bishounens and a loli, who looks exactly like Kuroneko, and military are all evil, bald and stupid), god spare me, also there is some hybrid of CC, Dalian and that girl from s7.
Technicaly, there is no difference between them (cc and s7 girl GIVE SUPERAWESOME POWER read more
Nov 25, 2011
Clockwin (All reviews)
Preliminary
Note that this show isn't finished and I probably won't update this review for ages so my opinions might substantially change.

Anyway, lets begin on a positive note:

Art: Clearly the best part of the series so far.
A lot of detail was put into the art, and it shows clearly with the backgrounds possibly being the most detailed you will ever see, the saturations of colours are amazing, etc. Don't really know how to describe this further so moving on.

Music: 'Out of place' is probably the correct term to use here. For example, the opening of the FIRST EPISODE had a really soft ballad over a read more
Feb 15, 2012
Tessa (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime has gone downhill. I was being fooled by the pretty art from episode 1 and the fact that it was a Notamina series [they usually have potential].
Ok, so the graphics are nice. The ost...ok, but I hate all the songs Inori sings. They have no heart. And up until now I thought that the artist was bad, but after seeing episode 16 I'm starting to feel that maybe they lack heart on purpose?

Anyway, spoilers might follow so if you haven't seen the anime till episode 16 you might want to skip the rest. Or rather, you can read this and skip the anime read more
Nov 13, 2011
Psyxwar (All reviews)
Preliminary
This really isn't much of a review, more of a first impression from watching the first quarter or so of the series. I may or may not update this in the future.

From the outset, I feel like I'm watching a Code Geass clone. It's quite a generic series. The ability of the main character (which allows him to draw out "Voids" from people) is even named the "king's power" (I recall the Geass being referred to as "the power of the kings") and it even has mechas!. The story, from what I've gathered so far, is about your typical shounen main character who has a read more