Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Armitage III


Alternative Titles

English: Armitage III
Japanese: アミテージ・ザ・サード

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 4
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Feb 25, 1995 to Nov 25, 1995
Producers: Pioneer LDC
Studios: AIC
Source: Original
Duration: 34 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.121 (scored by 9,663 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #32322
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2916
Members: 21,511
Favorites: 109

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 21, 2009
Archaeon (All reviews)
I will admit that I'm a fan of cyberpunk in its many forms, from novels by the likes of William Gibson and Iain Banks to movies like Blade Runner and Mad Max. As a child of the 80s, these were mainstays in my entertainment repertoire. By the time Armitage III was released in February 1995, I had already been exposed to titles such as Appleseed, Battle Angel Alita, Cyber City Oedo 808, Genocyber, AD Police Files, and those classics Akira and the Bubblegum series.

Now, given the time of it's release, much of the hype of that moment centred around the forthcoming Ghost in the Shell, read more
Dec 16, 2017
Gundroog (All reviews)
Armitage III is a good example of how important execution is now matter what concept you're working with. At the core this is a standard cyberpunk romp about the complex role of ever improving technology in human society, in this particular case it's about incredibly advanced androids that are not much different from humans in their make-up and functions. I don't think there's much wrong with the plot since story is not the highlight this time and more of a vehicle for stylized action that's occasionally mixed with some noir and drama.

Art\animation - I'm not quite sure who did the character designs for this show read more
Apr 15, 2013
Toucanbird (All reviews)
Preliminary
Armitage III: Where's Armitage 1 and 2?

Okay, so let me get this straight...it's 1995. There's this anime about a hot, skimpily dressed cybernetic police officer with her large, strong as hell partner trying to stop a terrorist that's trying to shake the political scales of the world in the distant, but not too distant future? Oh, Ghost In The Shell, right? Well, you're half-right, but the anime I'm referring to is a 4 episode OVA called Armitage III...which in all actuality came out before Ghost In The Shell.

At any rate, the plot revolves around a former Chicago police officer named Ross Sylibus, who is read more
Jul 13, 2018
Krunchyman (All reviews)
“I wish I had no brain to think and worry.” — Naomi Armitage

Ah, the age-old dilemma of being human (or a robot emulating a human), that which separates us from the animal kingdom — namely being, our superior cognitive abilities — is the same variable that alienates us, as well. We have the capability of creating fantastic technological instruments to ease our lives, yet those same instruments have the ability to “replace” our intended “purpose” of existence. From a biological perspective, we tend to believe in passing on our genes to future generations in a process known as procreation. The sense read more
Mar 21, 2011
PandaMaster99 (All reviews)
The story is focused on two cops, Ross and Armitage as they try to discover the reason behind all the chaos. At times I was under the impression that it is maybe too much influenced by Hollywood movies such as Blade Runner or AI but in the end, the story is well constructed and presented through the 4 OVA's. This is well explained with the use of the great animations. This came out in 1995 and it looks amazing for its time. The high amount of details is very impressive and you can see another anime that influenced The Matrix with the now famous green read more
Nov 8, 2007
Huntsman (All reviews)
Arimtage III is a truly great anime OVA. Sadly it came out about the same time as the original GHOST IN THE SHELL, and was overlooked for the overrated Ghost in the Shell movie. The story is far better, truly delving into whether machines are alive or not and could they be considered human, along with many other questions. Can they fall in love, or even have children. Then there are the two main characters, Naomi Armitage and Ross Sylibus. They add depth and bring life to the story. The action is great keeping you watching even in the read more
Mar 11, 2008
TheTaxiAE (All reviews)
Setting is probably 100years from now after we’ve colonized mars and are capable of creating advanced robots capable of being both useful and aesthetically pleasing to the eye as well. There exists hidden within the human population of mars a new generation of robot, one that has both emotions and another interesting ability. The animation is nice and detailed though not overly drawn and the sound is not the worst ever. There are 4 eps that I have found and if anyone wanted to they could probably be turned into a movie. Nothing special, has an interesting concept but over all I was just bored read more
Feb 14, 2008
DARGONTeraAlpha (All reviews)
Humans from Earth who created androids known as the "Second Types" colonize mars. People on Mars eventually become paranoid about these very human looking androids, causing riots and lynch mobs to burn the "Second Types" in mass quantities. The androids begin to resist the only way they can, by evolving into a new class of Android the "Thirds". A group of these "Third Types" begin to murder humans in retaliation for the way their kind is treated. The "Thirds" are soon classified as unlicensed androids, for the simple fact that they not only look, but act exactly like human beings.


Upon arriving on Mars Detective read more
Oct 22, 2018
MarryMeSenpai (All reviews)
I haven't watched too many anime that fit in this category, so keep that in mind when reading the review


overall the story was my biggest problem. the first two episodes are pretty good and dragged me into the story. but the last two episodes feel rushed and forced in ways. had me questioning if i missed part of the episode multiple times. several thing are not really explained.

art was pretty good actually thought this was an early '00 anime. character designs are real nice and the backgrounds are fitting for the story.

sound had a nice wanna say funk vibe going on. op and ed read more
Jul 20, 2013
JebekiSan (All reviews)
I have a great nostalgia for Armitage III (OVA), for it is among the first anime I had seen, having found an abandoned copy on VHS in a dorm room in 1995 (its year of release). I'm not sure it is possible for me to distance myself from that bit of affection in writing a review, but I have seen it many times since and it remains among my favourite and most esteemed works. Not for its story or art, in which it has surely been outdone by others, but for its sheer visceral feeling.

To clarify, I must make two suggestions. The first is read more
Feb 25, 2013
Tropeskiller (All reviews)
First let me give you a little backstory as to what Armitage III really is. It was one of the first cyberpunk animes to feature a strong female character (coming out the same year as the first Ghost in the Shell movie). However, it typically receives much less attention. It takes place on the planet Mars, and plays out in a "buddy cop" detective style.
Detective Ross transfers to the Mars police force trying to escape his mental anquish he feels from his former partner being killed by a cyborg. His new partner is a woman named Armitage who is secretly a "third type" robot read more
Apr 1, 2016
Voivodian (All reviews)
Cool anime that was completely overshadowed by the far more influential and spectacular Ghost in the Shell movie that came out the same year! Only room for one cyberpunk epic and unfortunately, this anime would of came out on top if it was any other cyberpunk anime.

For one the story is above par, for both a 90s OVA and a cyberpunk anime. Written well, cute snappy dialogue, no plotholes that were particularly unsettling (but strong inferences are needed when some events lead to the next) and the cyberpunk compulsory themes of government/ megacorporation conspiracy and robots vs humans in the battle over who possesses read more
Aug 29, 2011
warniefn (All reviews)
This was a really amazing anmie with great(though aged graphics ), good sound work and a really really solid story.

Armitage really steals the show , one major hawt bad ass , if you ever saw one.

what i liked even more , was some of those awkward questions raised as whats just considered life ,who deserves to be protected and how society deals with its demons and outcasts.lots of thought provoking stuff.

damn good anmie and well worth your read more
Sep 30, 2010
AnimizeEU (All reviews)
The first thing you should keep in mind while watching Armitage III is 1995... It was released back than... So for sure the drawings and animations can't keep up with newer works, but for the given time it was near to stand of the art. Same goes for the sound, the music isn't anything special nowadays, but back than it was good (Oh yes, just good ;)).

To the setting:
In the 2040's mankind has teraformed and colonized mars, and lives there in a highly technologized society, meaning Robots, Cyborgs and so on are fully developed and can be used for all kinds of things... If read more