Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai


Alternative Titles

English: Haganai
Synonyms: I Don't Have Many Friends, Boku ha Tomodachi ga Sukunai
Japanese: 僕は友達が少ない

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 7, 2011 to Dec 23, 2011
Premiered: Fall 2011
Broadcast: Unknown
Studios: AIC Build
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.591 (scored by 182,580 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #12952
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #81
Members: 303,529
Favorites: 2,717

Reviews

Detective
Jan 2, 2012
If you have strong feelings about this anime, please don't read any further. I just noticed there was an abnormally large amount of overly positive reviews for this show and thought it would be best if there was a second opinion readily available.

Haganai was not an enjoyable anime for me. I did not find it funny past a certain point. For the first three episodes the show revolves around the mistaken delinquent and the two "heroines" of the series - Yozora and Sena. These episodes for the most part were quite sharp, and as Sena and Yozora's antics grew and grew, Kodaka's role as the read more
I found this review Helpful
TheArchangel
Dec 22, 2011
With Christmas fast approaching, I can safely say one thing: All I want for Christmas is Meat. Delicious, delicious, Meat.

Ahem.

What do you get when an ambitious and rather oddball girl drags an unwilling male into forming a club for whatever reason? You get the "Save the World by Overloading it with Fun (SOS) Haruhi Suzumiya Brigade!" Oh wait, wrong show. You alternatively could get the "Neighbors Club." Yes, that seems about right. This fabulous club is composed of Kodaka and Kobato Hasegawa, Yozora Mikazuki, Sena Kashiwazaki, Rika Shiguma, Maria Takayama and Yukimura Kusunoki. Watch as this rebellious group takes on one of the read more
I found this review Helpful
jonathanexp
Oct 7, 2011
Outstanding-Is one word that can sum up this entire series.

First of all, the story is exceedingly compelling. The underlying complexion of such a minute situation in the premise of today’s society and its impact on people nowadays may seem like trivial matter, but that may not always work out for all of us. Generalizing, many of us laugh/disregard those who are disabled or lack some sort of trait or ability that hinders them from their true potential. Those people, who do make fun of others, are none less than a prick. We fail as humans to understand the feelings of others, and must take into read more
I found this review Helpful
Emperormin3
Dec 12, 2014
Disclaimer: My normal scoring preconditions go flying out the window. This is my first non-critical review. This show is mainly for humor so I review it as such. So my scores are based more on how much laughter I got out of it and less on critical appeal. See the rest of my body of work for something more critical. If you don't agree with my score, please don't downgrade it just because you think the show is stupid or what not.

Summary: Haganai is another average slice of life anime. It's humorous, kinda realistic, and in a club school setting. I didn't expect much read more
I found this review Helpful
TsukuneGintama
Oct 7, 2011
The anime is very good.

It has an original theme, "Make Friends".
In most anime in high school, club characters do in the first year, but this anime the characters decide to make the club a second year of high school.

Yozora after talking with friends about Kadoka, discovers it is not the only one who can not make friends, then create a club to make "friends" and put an ad in code, to understand just who may join the club. She and Kodak are the first to join the club.

The anime has the same graph Denpa Onna.
It's a great college comedy and anime.

The manga is also good, read more
I found this review Helpful
abhinaVADAR42
Jun 1, 2014
To be honest, I came here looking for just a plain comedy, what I found was a much more. The opening few episodes were genuinely funny. At first the characters don't look particularly fascinating however, as the series progresses they become more and more interesting. Towards the end the anime is set up brilliantly for its next season which would be hard to miss if you completed the first one. An anime to get easily hooked to and one which becomes more interesting as it progresses.
I liked it a lot and overall it is quite nice.
I found this review Helpful
KumaKing
Jul 20, 2014
“It doesn't matter if you can’t make 100 friends. Instead, make real friends who are as important to you as 100 of them. It doesn't matter if you have one, as long as it’s a friend that you care about.” – Mikazuki Yozora
Everyone at some point in their lives eventually will make the decision as to who their real friends are going to be. This quote summarizes the theme of the anime.

‘Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai’, or ‘Haganai’ for short, is a story about a transfer student named Hasegawa Kodaka, who is having a hard time making friends due to the fact that he looks read more
I found this review Helpful
artist-retired
Oct 7, 2011
So once again we have a popular light novel adaptation that tries to defy most senses of competent writing and interesting stories, if you want to fascinated by real plots and unusual set ups, Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai is not for you, but if want the same ole, same ole, then anything would work out, even stuff as boring and singular as this works too.

STORY: YAAAAAAAAAAAAAWN... Here we have a good example of what uninspired and perverted novel writers can come up with by using the official "Same Old Shit" guidebook that many others used for years on end. Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai read more
I found this review Helpful
evanfa
Dec 23, 2011
Honestly is amazing anime. I think that this is a new kind of anime in relation to animation ....for me is the anime master piece of the 2011.

1. Each character has an special "humor" (and personality) and the mix of everyone is really cool and funny.

2. The drawings and landscapes are amazing... a master piece of art.

3. The story is creative and interesting, has few bored moments but the mix of "ecchi" and "funny" moments is fantastic.

I was thinking that would be a big mistake add more characters but honestly was a good bet.. Maria, "The maid" and the "Ero Scientific Girl" are great read more
I found this review Helpful
Jeffrey-sama
Dec 23, 2011
"How does one make friends?" If you were asked that question right now, what would your response be? For many, there is no true answer to this question as it all comes down to how one determines who or who doesn't become their friend. In Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai (or Haganai as some will call it), the main protagonist, and practically all the other side characters, attempt to find one of the many answers to this mystifying question. Surrounding this premise is a countless number of comedic moments, delicious fanservice and a tad bit of romance. All this makes for a surprisingly successful series. read more
I found this review Helpful
AtlasInvictus
May 12, 2014
Most of the things I get from harem anime without actually watching them is that as good as everyone is basically the same. From the basic premise, over the characters, the setting and most likely the whole conclusion, mostly everything has been done before. This is one of the reasons I don't usually get my eyes on such anime. Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai is an exception though because a very good friend of mine recommended it. "Might as well give it a try", I thought, "It only has 12 episodes, it's something different from the previous stuff I watched and it's on my HDD read more
I found this review Helpful
Jstyle
Nov 18, 2011
*Review [After finishing eps 1-7]*

Hmm... Well, all I can say is that there's nothing really spectacular about this new series as it uses the same old jokes and themes. The plot is obviously heading to a love triangle or possibly a harem and it's slowly deteriorating in terms of comedy. As for the characters, I've not seen any developments or whatsoever, they are basically a bunch of static stereotypes. I've also noticed that their faces are very similar (with the exception of Kodaka), they only seem to differ according to their hairstyles. The fanservice is also noticable in this one.

For me, that pretty much read more
I found this review Helpful
Kamakie
Jan 3, 2012
A long time ago, I had the idea to write a novel with every otaku trope in it, figuring I could capture the entire otaku market spectrum. Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai (Haganai) beat me to it. Goth loli, fujoshi, tsundere, forgotten childhood friends, natural-blonde-haired male lead ... it's all there in one jumbled mess.

What really got me was the number of face-palm, cringe-worthy moments in this show. After all, Haganai is about awkward kids trying to make friends. If you think watching someone with Asperger's try to hit on chicks would be hilarious, go for it. For me, there were quite a few times read more
I found this review Helpful
princesssinon
Jul 7, 2015
Story - 8/10
The story starts off with a teen boy, Kodaka Hasegawa, who has just moved back to his childhood town. When he first walks into his high school class, he gives the immediate impression to everyone that he's dangerous and a delinquent, mostly because of the color of his blond hair. Kodaka doesn't make any friends after this happens. But, soon after, he meets Yozora Mikazuki, another student in his class who is also antisocial and friendless. Both of them form the Neighbors Club, a place for people with no friends to help each other try to make friends. I will not go much read more
I found this review Helpful
XHellScytheX
May 7, 2016
Meat~ tasty Meat~ DELICIOUS MEAT~

*ahem*

Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai, or Haganai for short, is an anime that focuses on socially awkward individuals who are ostracized from the rest of society. It shows how they develop as people after spending time together. Possessing poor social skills myself, I figured that I'd be able to really relate to Kodaka, the main character of the series. After the first few episodes, I found that instead of relating to him, I was instead passionately envying him for possessing one of the greatest harems I've seen in an anime.

Plot: 7/10

The major plot point is soft, juicy meat. Specifically Sena's voluptuous read more
I found this review Helpful
sleepwalker
May 18, 2015
First off, this review covers both seasons of Haganai, but will still be spoiler free.

Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukuna, more simply known as Haganai, as the title states, is about someone who doesn't have any friends. While I was originally hesitant to watch the anime, I quickly discovered the beauty of it.

Overall: 8

Haganai follows the simple, yet effective, harem rom-com format. Nothing particularly excels in the anime. Pretty much everything is simply decent. With that in mind, I still enjoyed the anime quite a lot. Haganai is a fun, easy-going, hilarious and enjoyable anime. I would certainly recommend it to mostly anyone who enjoys lighthearted, read more
I found this review Helpful
Yukariki
Jan 26, 2012
Friendship comes in many flavors. One type includes gigantic lazer beams from an orange-haired girl in a white dress; another involves interpersonal attraction, the one that involves physical and personality attraction. Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai asks questions based on the latter: “What is a friend? Do good friends exist? If they do, will they add me on Facebook?”

The answer, of course, is, “It’s someone who you ask for money. Yes, they are also known as rich people. And yes, they will.”

Without a doubt, Boku not Pico refuses to acknowledge the true definition of friendship. It is romanticist in its ideals, believing that friends are read more
I found this review Helpful
Yemi_Hikari
Dec 24, 2011
This series is about a school club specifically designed to make friends. However, despite the serious topic of making friends, the plot line is not at all serious. No, the show is flat out comedy from beginning to end, and some of the humor will not appeal to everyone, even if some of the humor does appeal. I am also going to admit, that some of the humor is going to be the type that the viewer may question if it is really a good thing to be laughing at.

I mean, you wonder how the characters can be so stupid at times, yet the read more
I found this review Helpful
Rom0n
Oct 28, 2014
This is my first encounter with slice of life genre. High school animes I normally watch always have supernatural/sci-fi twist because I assumed without it, it would be just like American TV shows. I'm glad I'm proven wrong because now I have a plethora more anime to watch.

Characters: The male main character,Kodaka is likeable. He appears to be a delinquent but really just want to have friends. He is afraid of change and this fear is the driving force for the main plot.
Pretty much every stereotype of a girl is in this anime. There is the childhood friend Yozora, Koda's Siscon sister, read more
I found this review Helpful
kurobato
Mar 14, 2015
The opinions of Boku Wa Tomodachi Ga Sukunai are very discordant with each other, those who love him, who hates him and those who think that it is enough but nothing impressive. I honestly I really enjoyed because he managed to entertain me and I was never bored.
But enough talk and get lost in it immediately begins to talk about the plot. It is not the most complex, but I appreciated even if it is not the most original. It grows quite well and for some places even becomes interesting. I'd give it a 7.
The characters are one of the highlights of this anime. I read more
I found this review Helpful