Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Mirai Nikki


Alternative Titles

English: The Future Diary
Synonyms: Mirai Nikki, Mirai Nikki (2011)
Japanese: 未来日記

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 9, 2011 to Apr 15, 2012
Premiered: Fall 2011
Broadcast: Sundays at 23:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Asread
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.791 (scored by 699,486 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #9412
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #12
Members: 1,157,726
Favorites: 26,206

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 13, 2013
Seeyounextweek (All reviews)
Notice: this review will contain a few spoilers. I'll mark them but if you haven't watched this yet, proceed with caution. Sorry about that.

Survival games have always been one of my favorite kinds of stories. I just love them. So naturally, when I heard about Mirai Nikki's premise, I was greatly looking forward to it. Unfortunately, after an excellent first episode, this series began to get worse and worse; by the end of it all, it had become nothing but a huge disappointment.

Let's begin with the positive aspects of this show. The art and animation in Mirai Nikki are, for the most part, rather good, read more
Oct 25, 2012
Zarny (All reviews)
This is the first anime review I've ever written, so hopefully everything will turn out ok. Any feed back would be appreciated as long as its constructive ;)

This review won't contain any spoilers.

What would you do if you had something that told you the future? If you already had all the answers for an upcoming test, or knew how to avoid bully's on the way home from school? What about if it told you were going to die?

Mirai Nikki is a brilliant mix of a Psychological Thriller, Action, and Romance. Yuki is a boy who gains the ability to read the future read more
Jul 26, 2012
ihateeveryone (All reviews)
I'm going to tell you all a story. Once, there was a man. A man who loved trains. This man loved trains so much that every year or so he would put different things on the train and send it off for other people to see and enjoy. Sometimes he would put fruit on the train, othertimes he would put toys. All to see the end result that his precious train would deliver.

One day, said man decided to put as many fucked up things that he could find on this train. He put razors, cyanide, bombs, and even decided to mix in some sweet things read more
Nov 7, 2011
Fate25 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I basically had went to the trouble of signing up an account for myanimelist.com just to write this positive review for Mirai Nikki after watching episode 5.

Like the synopsis said this is a psychological thriller, with murders, gore, sins and some demented killers.

However unlike most thrillers the story is extremely good, the characters are all very unique, each with deep, well developed personalities that are slowly revealed to the viewer as they watch more and more episodes of the series. Its a mechanic that makes shows very addictive to watch, just like how you want to spend more time with your date as they read more
Jan 12, 2014
Xynatox (All reviews)
This anime is one that has a lot of good surrounding it by word of mouth, and every once in a while you hear someone say it was meh or not worth watching. When I originally watched this, I had only seen the opening and I thought it was amazing and one of the best openings I've ever seen, as I still hold to this idea today. Upon watching the first few episodes, I was intrigued, but not impressed. When I finally finished it, I felt like I had wasted a tremendous amount of time and immediately wrote it off with a one out of read more
Feb 20, 2012
artist-retired (All reviews)
You know, having a future diary for myself would have been ideal for my viewing of this anime, so that I would be warned of how nonsensical and down right retarded the anime gets, which is a shame because I happen to have been enjoying the bloody fun so far...

STORY: Mirai Nikki (Future Diary) is, for lack of a better way to describe it, fucking nuts. A psychogist would be laughing at this mental breakdown of a plot, but I got to be fair, I do enjoy this anime to a certain degree, but it's the crazy sharp turns it loves to take is what read more
May 6, 2012
user_01 (All reviews)
Mirai Nikki - you won't stop shaking your head.

Mirai Nikki is a poorly executed show filled with contradictions, illogical character behavior, forced plot advancements, haphazard personality changes, inappropriate scene changes, moronic plot twists, lunatics and most of all: imbeciles.

The plot is quite simple. The God of Time and Space (Deus Ex Machina) is looking for a successor. Thus, he invites Yukiteru (our male protagonist of this story), Yuno (our female protagonist and Yukiteru's ally/classmate/stalker/girlfriend) and ten others to a battle royal in which the last survivor becomes the new God of Time and Space. While everyone's identity is concealed from each other, Deus Ex Machina read more
Apr 16, 2012
Keirik (All reviews)
Oct. 9, 2011:
Mirai Nikki's anime adaptation begins.

--DEAD END--

A mess. That's probably the easiest way to describe Mirai Nikki. From beginning to end, it was simply a total mess. The story begins as an apparently simple battle royale between a bunch of varyingly crazy people who can predict the future. By the end it's a dimension-hopping cluster of ridiculous plot twists and some veeeeeeery half-assed writing.

I wouldn't want to spoil this... unique series for anyone, but I'm just going to say that it involves stuff like one character killing and impersonating herself, a gay guy pooped out by GOD who sends texts while getting his head read more
Feb 7, 2012
domofication (All reviews)
Preliminary
DEAD END. You are facing your inevitable demise. But you possess a Future Diary, allowing you to evade death. However, other holders will be after your life to win Deus Ex Machina's twisted game and to become the next god. But don't worry. Gasai Yuno will protect you...

Mirai Nikki is an extremely excellent anime that does a fantastic job of incorporating the "Battle Royale" atmosphere and creating the perfect yandere. The storyline was complex and well-structured, almost flawless. It does well as a psychological thriller, weaving intense situations and suspenseful moments into an intricate pattern.

Story (10):

It is interesting how the director and character designer of read more
May 19, 2012
Stark700 (All reviews)
“The best thing about the future is that it comes one day at a time.” - Abraham Lincoln

“What do you want to be when you grow up?”

When you're little, have you ever thought about the future? Have you ever wanted to know what it would be like five, ten, or twenty years from now before you grow up? It is probably a thought most of us came upon in our lives. However our protagonist Yukiteru "Yuki" Amano is a loner who instead of thinking about the future instead spends his time daily writing a diary on his phone. Talk about a strange habit for a read more
Feb 7, 2014
HybridMedia (All reviews)
Yandere.

Yandere.

What in the mighty fuck is a yandere?

Well, good sir / madam / whoever the fuck you are, a yandere is a common term in otaku fandom, a yandere is a person (usually female) romantically obsessed with someone to the point of using violent means to get them in their arms. Often seen with a sharp weapon and a psychotic grin. Now maybe the most known character to be this type is Kotonoha in School Days since while she’s calm and gentle, she can also be unstable and quite messed up in the head, as the final episode sequence proved that (although that was the read more
Mar 22, 2012
JezusBull (All reviews)
--Sorry for my English, I'm from a non-English speaking country--
Ok, right now this show is incredibly overrated, at first I was enjoying it, there is some gore, action, and even some fanservice, but that's about it, because the story is a total mess, it makes no f**king sense at all! There is this God Deus and he is giving cell phones (or future diaries) to some people so they kill each other in a game and the one last standing will become the new God, that's the premise and I know it doesn't sound so bad (it kinda reminds me of Death Note) but things read more
Nov 8, 2013
Danno (All reviews)
Mirai Nikki is disappointing. My review will contain a few little "spoilers", though they have little relevance to anything and spoil nothing. This review is kind of a mess and all over the place, much like this series!

- - - S T O R Y - - -
Okay, so the story starts off really dark with some creepy kid who avoids making friends. He keeps a daily journal of the things he observes. He likes to spend his spare time sitting alone in his room with a blanket wrapped around himself, where he gets into "the zone" and hangs out with his imaginary friends, read more
Mar 15, 2015
ThatRazorGuy (All reviews)
Mirai Nikki (or Future Diary as it is known in English) is one of the most popular anime to come out in recent years along with Sword Art Online and Attack on Titan and much like those shows, it has divided the anime community into two camps, those who love it unconditionally and those who hate it with a burning passion, which results in a slew of insults complete with poor spelling and grammar being thrown around forums and comment sections. Now that I’ve got this little bit of superfluous information out of the way, you probably want to know what I think about the read more
Jun 28, 2018
Ryu1908 (All reviews)
Have you ever watched an anime that simply left you speechless, unsure of what the hell have you just watched, but in the most obnoxious way possible? We all probably did, shows that cause this type of reaction tend to be considered the worst ones. Well, let me introduce you to Mirai Nikki.

Mirai Nikki is the worst anime I have ever watched.

No, I'm not kidding, nor am I being hyperbolic. This unholy abomination of a series left such a negative impact on me when I originally watched it back in 2012, that I actually started to hate anime in general and lost interest in the read more
Apr 6, 2013
Growler (All reviews)
[Spoiler Warning]

What would you do if someone would drop a "bomb" on you saying you can become god. It sounds fun huh? it is... until the same person says you have to kill other people involved in the same game. Mirai Nikki... Future Diary. The game spins around these devices that lead participants close to their objective.
I found it frustrating, in a good way, that when an episode ended it made me want to watch more.. so I couldn't take a break.So I continued watching being constantly impressed by the things people can do when their lives are at stake or when they want to read more
Feb 26, 2014
DocN (All reviews)
1. Introduction/Synopsis:

Suppose you are an everyday, normal high school student with no outstanding attributes or friends. You're not particularly good at sports or at academics, though you are pretty good at throwing darts. You spend most of your time keeping a diary of random things that happen around you and talking with an imaginary friend you invented called "Deus Ex Machina", the God of Space and time and his adorable little side-kick "Murmur".

Then suddenly, one day out of nowhere, Deus gives you a diary and mentions something about a game. Entries pop up in your diary you haven't written yourself and it foretells read more
Dec 29, 2013
Demi_V (All reviews)
Sakae Esuno’s Mirai Nikki (Future Diary) is a fine combination of suspense, blood, and violent action. It is a psychological thriller that revolves around two middle schoolers, Yuki (the male protagonist) and Yuno (the female protagonist), participating in a deadly battle royale with 10 strangers. It’s personally one of my favorite gory anime, but it lacks the opportunity to become a more frightening series. Mirai Nikki’s reputation as a gruesome anime is mostly thanks to the memorable Yandere character, Gasai Yuno. Commonly known as Yuki's psychotic stalker in the series, Yuno describes herself as “a half moon” that has “a bright half and a dark read more
Jul 28, 2015
VoidX (All reviews)
Just your average-everyday anime-viewer here, with another review!

As any accustomed anime-viewer on the internet and surfing about in the vast corners of the ever expanding sea of information (or in my case, the shallow waters of 9GAG), then you have probably already heard of what could really be considered as the birthplace to "The Original Overly Attached Girlfriend", or at least by the anime community. I am of course referring to Yuno. Booting up the first episode and having quite a few expectations as to what I am about to witness, not only were they confirmed but actually exceeded these expectiations quite exceptionally. But (yes, read more
Oct 29, 2013
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
It's been quite a while since I've seen a series as laughably bad as Future Diary. Focused on a survival game with our weak-willed male lead Yukiteru and a yandere gal named Yuno obsessively in love with him, this series is a huge mess with plot and character developments, proper logic, mood consistency and relishing in its graphic and depraved content way too much.

The biggest issue that stems with Future Diary is that it seems to get too fixated in advancing its plot head-on without any regard for proper depth, buildup and consistency. There are a number of unexplored elements to the series like how read more