Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Boys Be...


Alternative Titles

English: Boys Be...
Japanese: ボーイズ・ビー

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 11, 2000 to Jul 4, 2000
Premiered: Spring 2000
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 18:30 (JST)
Producers: Audio Tanaka
Studios: Hal Film Maker
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.511 (scored by 7,304 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #59522
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3227
Members: 18,055
Favorites: 40

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 30, 2007
jet2r0cks (All reviews)
While the story focuses on teenage boys, some light has been shed on Female characters as well. Generally, it’s something that both sexes can relate to. For the first two times watched it, I wasn’t able to fully grasp its meaning. Now that I’m a little older, I understood myself a few years back.

For this third time around, I was able to learn new things. That is what makes this series great. It’s a slice of life anime that’s actually closer to reality than other slice of life series out there.

The characters were great too. They all were very different from each other, so I’d read more
Oct 30, 2009
CmmiKllr (All reviews)
No males in any culture act like these. Sitting around talking about their love lives, constantly in the company of girls otherwise. This story had to be written by a woman or a gay man. In the middle of the story I thought the main character was going to realize he was gay. that would have explained a lot. I usually like the slice of life animes because they are incredibly insightful. This one is an exception. It did not have the truth and warmth that I enjoy so much.
Feb 25, 2010
georgi (All reviews)
You don't notice it at first, but this is definitely an anime worthy of a Hal Film Maker production. The animation seems bad at first, but it grows on you. The story seems standard and predictable at first, but it surprises you. In the end, you realize this is a man's romance story, deep in emotion, but also deep in thought. It's like the philosophy of life. It really makes you feel it, very artistically done, unbelievably beautiful especially towards the end. Undeniably beautiful, definitely recommend it.

The series struck me as unique. It did, kind of in a bad way at first. During the read more
Aug 8, 2010
Darkness007 (All reviews)
As we all know, life is not a fairytale. It’s cold, mean and will beat you to your knees and keep beating you if you let it. Boys Be… only scratches the surface of reality.

Plot

Here we have a decent story about a group of friends finding their places in life. Some might fall in love with a star crossed partner, while others perish in utter defeat and depression. As in many love animes, most of their characters are portrayed as those who are deeply in love with their lovers and won’t mind spending their lives together for eternity. In Boys Be… hearts are broken, mended, read more
Feb 6, 2015
brynolf (All reviews)
Overall
I have tried to start watching this anime several times the last couple of years, but I always quit during the first episode due to bad animation, awful directing and general dullness. At last I managed to make it through the whole thing and it actually wasn't as bad as I thought it would be. That's not to say it was good. More like a pale, anonymous "not-a-complete-waste-of-time"...

Animation
The last couple of episodes actually look decent, but for the most part, this anime just looks really bad. The animation is stiff and the characters are ugly and unpersonal.

Sound
I consider the following sound related variables "ok", no read more
May 18, 2015
Nepafarius (All reviews)
A few reviewers mentioned how this anime is slightly more realistic with its depiction of relationships, and that is true for the most part. Many character fall in love and out of love, are rejected, and circumstances keep them apart.

The problem is that for one or two cases it seems like a romance was just cobbled together, and sometimes the reason for it working/ not working is so "anime" it takes away from the realism of the others. The episodic nature of the show also means that its swings from cliched over the top anime romance to drama style romance, only sometimes finding a read more