Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Kira


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Higurashi no Naku Koro ni OVA 2, When They Cry Glitter
Japanese: ひぐらしのなく頃に煌

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 4
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 21, 2011 to Jan 25, 2012
Producers: Frontier Works
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Studio Deen
Source: Original
Genres: Mystery, Parody
Duration: 29 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 6.581 (scored by 30,995 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #56312
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1574
Members: 60,971
Favorites: 125

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 24, 2013
AlchemistR (All reviews)
This is likely the only review I will every write on this site, and it's going to be a fairly brief one. The reason for this is that people give this show way too much hate.

First of all, anyone that watches Higurashi for the gore will not particularly like this OVA. But then again, Higurashi is in no way about the gore; it's about the characters and what they go through. And this fact is exactly why I am giving this an 8/10. Over the course of the series, we have all seen just how much suffering the characters have gone through. Don't you read more
Sep 12, 2011
P_D_S (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ok, so the Commemoration of the infamous Higurashi no Naku Koro Ni's 10th Anniversary, DEEN gives us a Comedy and at the moment, It is rated...ok.
On the Other hand. Type Moon is making a 10th Aniversary anime for the horror anime/LN Tsukihime and the Action Anime/LN Fate Stay Night. AND IT IS ALSO A COMEDY.

Talk about Double Standards people. People Slam Higurashi kira for not being serious. Carnival Phantasm is just as Serious as Kira. Get over it. For the 10th Anniversaries of Studios and Famous Serious anime the Animation Companies decided to do something Lighthearted.

So Why the Hate all on Kira? It is read more
Aug 4, 2011
Racheya (All reviews)
Preliminary
As of the first episode of Kira, it's absolutely terrible. I knew from the trailer that it was going to be bad but the whole thing turns out just to be an extended eroge sequence involving each of the main girls in turn.

DEEN have an opportunity to make an OVA for Higurashi, one of my favourite series, and they make this... this... abomination. Maybe the three episode arc will be vaguely less disgusting but going off this first episode I don't even know why I should bother continuing to watch it.

Rei had a similar thing with a silliness fun episode at the start but the read more
Jul 25, 2011
nekonapping (All reviews)
I love the original Higurashi and find this to be just a composite of fan service scenes that really don't have the same plot or impact. The art is good and theres noting really wrong with fan service but it's a major disappointment if you liked the original series and lacks any real conflict or plot.
Mar 22, 2014
Link_of_Hyrule (All reviews)
Since there are a lot of conflicting viewpoints on this 4 episode OVA, I thought I would just clear things up for those of you who are trying to decide weather or not to watch it:

First, let it be noted that there is no gore what so ever in the OVA; something that Higurashi is infamous for. However, if you were only watching Higurashi for its gore, then you were watching it for the wrong reasons, because it's not a show about mindless blood and gore. Higurashi is and has always been about the journey of the characters,the struggles they have had to go through, read more
Feb 8, 2012
0504 (All reviews)
As the latest addition to the Higurashi-franchise, this OVA follows in the footsteps of the two less-serious and more comical arcs from Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Rei. Aside from the usual comic relief, this time there was further emphasis on fan-service, mainly seen during the first episode. In today's market it isn't surprising to see such content surface in the Higurashi-franchise, though evidently many Higurashi fans don't quite fit in the moe-loving masses, targeted by said content.

In short, if the intriguing story or the splatter-filled scenes from the original work are what you're after, you'll have to look elsewhere. But if you wish read more
Sep 5, 2011
DrAgNmAsTr (All reviews)
Preliminary
Wow, looks like many people are really hating this right now. Many people want the mysterious and twisted stories back with this, but instead they get some fan service. What do i say about it? Well since it's just an OVA, you can obviously not expect Anything storylike in it, which many people don't seem to understand (OVAs like Hellsing are rare okay, you don't really get story filled OVAs). More than 80% of OVAs are just for fan service, if you haven't known.. I know it may have seemed like it tainted the killer loli character, but some of us like to see them read more
Aug 20, 2011
Auska-Neumaki (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ahhh Higurashi Kira what breath of fresh air on the series of Higurashi. I will say first that this story is not a creation of Studio DEEN but actually a creation by Ryukushi07 himself. This is a simpler anime then the others and allows laughs and TONS OF FANSERVICE. If you are a true fan of higurashi who loves the show for its story and not its violence you may enjoy this funny OVA. This will not be a long review just enough to get my thoughts out about this show

First off Story:4

I gave the story for episode one a 4 because well it read more
Sep 1, 2011
ai4s (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ok, I'm going to start off by saying this: If you are a hater, go ahead, hate. But I am a Higurashi DIE HARD. And I can completely explain my review. Of course, Kira has just started, and ohoho there's still more to judge.

Story - 8
Although it's basically unrelated to happenings of the actual - at the lack of a better term - "timeline" to Higurashi no naku Koro ni, it gives a fun and comedic spin off. Some may not like this because they want more questions answered, and honestly, I think they all were (play the game!). I must admit that read more
Sep 28, 2011
DokFaust (All reviews)
Preliminary
Okay guys real talk. I know a lot of times studios put out fan service anime and people bash it and say things like, "this show has no plot" and "this is a bunch of mindless ecchi crap" and the like. I'm not one of those people. I like a good service anime, and this isn't one. I watched the original Higurashi, and if I was told (and I was) that they were making a nice dirty ova series with the original characters, I'd be about that (and I was). Here's the problem, there's really nothing erotic about this episode. The E scenes comprise maybe read more
Feb 8, 2012
HatchetGirl (All reviews)
The first episode was honestly a disgrace. It made the whole anime seem like a mindless fanservice anime. Although, continue watching. Each episode, it gets better. The ending episode, and the episode before that, are extremely awesome. Any Higurashi fan should watch this, even with the horrible first episode. The animation quality is high, and the sound quality is too. The opening theme song is a little odd, considering the other three openings were much darker, but, it's sort of a nice change of pace. Thanks for reading, hope you enjoy Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Kira!
Oct 1, 2011
Diassia (All reviews)
Preliminary
Not a lot of people have written a review since the last episode so I felt I should.

I have to admit I REALLY didn't like the first episode. It made me cringe a little bit and for a long time I considered not continuing with the OVA at all. I won't turn this review into ranting about why I didn't appreciate the first episode (I think the other reviews do that quite successfully)

However, I actually really enjoyed the second episode. I know a lot of people are saying that they don't appreciate the 'magical girl' or 'mecha' storyline but I felt it was a very read more
Mar 5, 2012
sisgood (All reviews)
While it is true that Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Kira is far more light-hearted than any of the other installments, with the exception of the second episode, (which I just think of as Hanyu screwing with Rika’s dreams like she has been known to do) they all fit perfectly well with the Higurashi world built through Ni, Kai and the first OAV. Even the second episode still had the same feeling as the others and it was nice to see the two boys finally get some screen time together.
The series of disasters have ended, Rika and everyone else is safe. I think they’ve read more
Aug 8, 2013
moonkingdomify (All reviews)
Not...As...Bad...As...Everyone...Says...It...Is...

The only reason that I gave this any form of 1 was because it had no story.

As the writer of the original series said. You need to put in some comedy with the depressing and disturbing stuff. It keeps the viewers attention. And with a new disturbing arc and a few more seasons covering the other outcomes that the player of the games could have gotten.

I really enjoyed this arc. Even though it doesn't take the same disturbing feeling of the other three seasons. It felt good to have it here. And how could you people not expect Ryukishi07 to put this into action.
Jun 8, 2015
Simonian (All reviews)
Around 4 years ago I was one of those people who watched the 1st episode of Kira, gave it a rating of 2 and wrote a review bashing it immensely. Feeling nostalgic lately I've decided to re-watch and complete the series, coming to the realisation that Kira is actually a very fitting conclusion to the Higurashi saga.

While the 1st episode still aims to deliver more fanservice than an avid fan of this series would ever expect to see, it still does so in that creepy mysterious Higurashi way. Many would argue still that it is not the best way to start off a new instalment read more
Dec 30, 2011
BasicallyTNG (All reviews)
Preliminary
Higurashi no Naku Koro Ni Kira. What a disaster.

This is an OVA to the popular and thoroughly enjoyable Higurashi anime series. I was utterly disappointed with Kira. Nothing in Kira even remotely made any sense and it seems to be just full of fan-service and parodies of the original Higurashi series. Now don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against fan-service. I welcome them with open arms as long as they make the anime more interesting. But in Kira, it is completely disgusting and it adds no value to the Higurashi series and in fact insulted each of the lovely cast.

Seriously, this anime is as read more
Apr 11, 2015
Micsupreeme (All reviews)
~ Nipaa! ~

For goodness' sake. There seems to be sea of angry reviewers patrolling Kira around the clock. Simply put, don't get into a 4 episode OVA expecting a vivid and meaningful addition to a franchise's story - now that's one to write down if you can't remember.

Higurashi is a franchise that i simply adore - Ni Kai making its way to my #3 spot...
The mystery, the depth, immersion, horror, and the unexpected twists allowed me to become enveloped in a story far exceeding my expectations.
Kira is quite the contrast, as for the most part: it covers a much more controversial, playful and nonsensical aspect read more
Dec 12, 2011
shadowxps (All reviews)
Preliminary
All I'm seeing is scathing reviews. Especially the first episode which people think is absolutely stupid. Just to let people know that particular episode is adapted from the actual visual novel. Dang. It's a fan service OVA. Just watch it for what it is. There really isn't any story left to be made. If they tried it'd probably be far worse than this. The characters are back and are just as lovable. Honestly I'm glad that after 10 years they made anything at all. If you're a fan then I hope you will enjoy it. I'm a fan and I found this OVA to be read more
Oct 24, 2011
Der_Blaue_Wolf (All reviews)
Preliminary
When I heard there would be a new Higurashi OVA, I was overjoyed! I couldn't wait for more fun from Hinamizawa, with the appropriate amounts of death, violence, psychological torture, the works.

Then I heard the opening...

That was enough to make me think thing's were bad, but I kept going none the less. Surely this would just be a nicer, somewhat happier set of episodes, maybe discussing all the good things that happened after Kai finished up, maybe a genuinely funny set of episodes, kinda like Rei's first and last episodes.

It wasn't. It was echii, all the way, and not the funny way. I don't know read more
Jun 7, 2014
ShnupDawg (All reviews)
If you liked Higurashi no naku koro ni, I reccomand that you won't watch Higurashi no naku koro ni kira. It's not horror, it's not scary, it's shoujo, and highly pervert.
This series made me sick. They turned Keichi into a sick pervert who imagine all the girls doing really degrading punishment games, like cleaning windows with their butt.
And Rika chan and Satoko chan as magical girls? Excuse me but I have to throw up.
If you gonna watch it, just remember, I warned you.