Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kyoukaisenjou no Horizon


Alternative Titles

English: Horizon in the Middle of Nowhere
Synonyms: Kyoukai Senjou no Horizon
Japanese: 境界線上のホライゾン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 2, 2011 to Dec 25, 2011
Premiered: Fall 2011
Broadcast: Sundays at 02:58 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Light novel
Genres: Action, Fantasy
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.251 (scored by 41,256 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #25612
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #707
Members: 107,574
Favorites: 722

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 15, 2012
Veronin (All reviews)
"Horizon in the Middle of Nowhere" is a very difficult anime to describe.

It synthesizes humor, action, and romance together into a series where each element is an irreplaceable part of the dynamic and story. Because it combines many different elements together at once it can easily bewilder the viewer and leave them in a position where they have little clue of where it is going. For some this may be a significant flaw and hold back their enjoyment while for others it may pave the way for an interesting and unpredictable story. This is definitely not an anime for everybody.

The story begins in a read more
Jan 4, 2012
Yemi_Hikari (All reviews)
This particular Anime started off on the wrong foot but in the end left me looking forward to the second season. The first four episodes are heavy handed and will be a challenge for some to get through. The best way to put it is, this Anime is set up like most Historical dramas are. The start of the storyline is about setting up the history for those who don't know anything about the history, because otherwise the viewer would find themselves confused.

However, unlike most Historical dramas just about any fan of Historical Fiction will be left in the dark because this particular show read more
Dec 4, 2011
xsnowberry (All reviews)
Preliminary
First of all, if you don't like history...good luck.

I've watched it from the start of episode 1 when it came out and I was confused!! I reluctantly continued to watch it as some say "just continue watching and then you'll understand." Now, after the 4th episode I realized things just got serious.

To watch this anime, you may need to have the ability to cram some information in your heads. I thought it was interesting how politics were so influenced in this anime. Just give it a chance and don't bluntly say "OMG, IT'S SO CONFUSING IT SUCKS!" Heck, with the hard work they made to read more
Nov 19, 2011
SayaViking (All reviews)
Preliminary
If the author of this anime would describe the plot of this anime it would probably take forever to read. And that is because this anime seems to put like 5000 different stories into one anime and try to get a good and connective plot. And for me and possibly for many other, to understand this anime seem like it would be a impossible feat to accomplish. This is by far the most confusing anime I have ever seen, and I don't mean that in a good way. I give the story a 2.

The art and sound is all good but there is nothing particular read more
Oct 5, 2011
TsukuneGintama (All reviews)
Preliminary
It is a mixture of touhou project + Infinite stratos + baka test =
Kyoukai Senjou no Horizon

The story is set in the future, Humans live in a small piece of Earth, which is still habitable, demons and other creatures inhabiting the same place, students can use power around the city.

It is a baka anime and nonsense, if you like anime "cult" , hate comedy, not see.
If you like comedy anime is recommended.
Nov 8, 2011
XfizzyX (All reviews)
Preliminary
First off since I know a lot of people only care about the first sentence of a review: wait till you can marathon it. The quality I have rated is based off 4 episodes watched each week.

I could see this show being good, no seriously I could. If They took the time to focus more on one aspect of the plot instead of the giant maze which they try to present you with. I could have (and was expecting) to see this being one of my favorite shows of the season.

The issue is; they didn't. Its not so much that I can't, or have a read more
Oct 14, 2011
Plagus777 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'll have to start off by telling everyone that there are going to be some people that like this and some people that don't. Now guess, do I mean the anime or this review?

By "this" I mean both the anime [B]and[/B] this review.

Not a few days ago I had finished bashing a certain anime for it's overdosing of characters and worthless plot. This anime is about the same thing, Mecha suits, a mob of characters, archetypes, and action featuring many abilities to woo and entertain the audience.

People do drugs not because they aren't aware that it's destroying their body, but because it feels awesome.

This is read more
Jan 5, 2012
deadeaddead (All reviews)
Preliminary
I don't get it, I just fuckin' don't get it. What's this show supposed to be about? I understood nothing, BECAUSE IT HAD NOTHING. Honestly, when you have almost no plot with random shit going on, don't put in 100 characters and expect me to remember 2.

Story: I don't know. But at the start they play tag =D.

Character: All I know is that there's a main character, who likes a girl named Horizon and finds a girl looking similar to her. He also likes them boobies, and tries to catch em all! He's a goofy, dumb, bastard who I feel kick round house kicking. He read more
Jul 13, 2012
Phlebas (All reviews)
Horizon is the kind of anime I'm tempted to say isn't being made anymore, except that is evidently incorrect.
It is completely over-the-top crazy and wildly entertaining, and fails to fit in a neatly defined genre. The writing is pure genius and has carried over well into the anime which despite its complexity doesn't stop for long-winded explanations, but rather sweeps the audience away with the constant hands-on revelations about the structure of its world.

The production values from character designs to animation, voice acting and soundtrack are excellent and it's hard to believe this is a Sunrise studio production. It's fair to say that after read more
Jul 21, 2016
czxcjx (All reviews)
Should a story aim to be a self-contained little bit of perfection, merely outlining a small aspect of human existence – or should a story aim to contain the world? Should a work be self-sufficient and explain everything within its premises, or demand that a person experiencing it strive to reach its level by poring through setting details and whatnot before experiencing it? In both cases, Kyoukaisenjou no Horizon strove to be the latter. The sheer amount of information packed per episode is focused solely on aiming for that little explosive ‘wow’ factor that comes with its recognition – while the problem is whether the read more
Nov 23, 2011
Atirs (All reviews)
Preliminary
The story is complicated, but understandable, and is quite interesting. The plot seems to go no where with the first few episodes, but it definitely picks up as the anime progresses. - 7

Art is amazing, with great character detail, and the battle scenes are fantastic, the show in general is well animated. - 9

The soundtrack fits the anime well, and is very good in general. - 8

Characters in this anime are quite unique, and certainly a refreshing change from your typical loli tsundere voiced by Kugimiya. However, with such a huge cast, it's far more difficult to develop characters properly, yet somehow for the read more
Dec 10, 2011
Jekmyster (All reviews)
Preliminary
First off the bat, I can understand why some people gave this anime a bad rating. I think there was even one that gave it a 1/10. Honestly, if i started watching the anime from the beginning, i wouldnt have waited for the next week for the second episode. Thankfully i started the anime when they released the 10th episode and so i was able to grasp a big chunk of the plot before i gave up.

I normally would tell you that you should watch the first episode, and if that doesnt get you hooked then its not worth your time. But then again, read more
Aug 5, 2013
TurnipGod (All reviews)
Kyoukaisenjou no Horizon. This anime definitely went under radar and is one of those that is not easy for the viewers to get into.It has a large terminology that is just thrown at you such as "Tes" and "Jud" as well as a massive cast of characters and a fairly complex background that would leave most viewers more confused after the first episode then Guilty Crowns plot holes. However despite all this, I can't stop loving this anime.

Story:
The main story arc in Horizon is pretty straightforward and simple. The best part about the story is the "battles". The battles in Kyoukaisenjou no Horizon is read more
Jun 20, 2012
techstepman (All reviews)
ok lets review this...kyoukai senjou no horizon

the basic story background from the novels as i found it on wikipedia: "In the far future, humans abandon a devastated Earth and traveled to outer space. However, due to unknown phenomenon that prevents them from traveling into space, humanity returns to Earth only to find it inhospitable except for Japan. To accommodate the entire human population, pocket dimensions are created around Japan to house in the populace. In order to find a way to return to outer space, the humans began reenacting human history according to the Holy Book Testament. But in the year 1413 of the Testament read more
Oct 8, 2011
srKuran (All reviews)
Preliminary
Amazing anime, with a large budget, rumors(?) says it will get 75 episodes

it has a very large background and its an adaptation of a huge visual novel,

first episode impressed me, i couldnt really follow up with what they were saying but goddamn, i had some good laugh, very nice animation and HIGH quality voice actors,
even if it does have some characters that you would think it would be stereotypical, it turns out that they have VERY refreshing design and personalities, starting with the MC, wtf, that guy is FABULOUS, it has a shit ton of characters, and im sure we will read more
Oct 11, 2011
cakeatealobster (All reviews)
Preliminary
2nd EDIT: MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS. Out of 9 episodes, it's only the prelude of what to come. Basically, in the far future, the world they lived in was uninhabitable, except for one piece of land. That land was divided into many smaller nations, at the will of the Testament Union, and ruled by them. Under the assumed mission of repeating their history to create a survivable land based on the scriptures of the Testament, the Testament Union sought and own all of the weapons deemed as the Deadly Sins, increasing their authorities. Under their rules, the Far East were beings set at the lowest of read more
Oct 21, 2014
RookieLove (All reviews)
I really like this anime~



I like the art, the music, the character's appearance/personalities, and the action! These are the things that'll bring me back to it for a nice watch while eating a pack of noodles, as it takes me through the rounds of its action and unique art style of the people! What I’ll sing and make jokes about to myself from time to time! "Yeah, kick some butt! Show me more scenes of honor and battle! Relate to how I like visual novels! Pour more “dolls” and mechas on me! A merging of zany characters, intelligent characters, and zany-Intelligent characters? Count me in!! read more
Dec 30, 2011
wavedashh (All reviews)
Kyoukai Senjou no Horizon is the very essence of a guilty pleasure. Should I enjoy a show with a laughably bad story, heavy emphasis on breast animation, and stereotypical characters? Probably not, but I still loved the series regardless. (Disclaimer: I haven't read the light novel(s), they will not be referenced)

I won't beat around the bush, Horizon has quite possibly the worst plot and story-telling I've ever seen. Names of people, places, and technology are thrown around from the very beginning. Some re-occurring characters (I'm talking about you, dorm girl) don't seem to actually do anything, and are most likely only included in anticipation of read more
Jan 8, 2012
Charliegone (All reviews)
If you watched the first episode and thought to yourself "what the heck are they talking about, nothing makes sense.." then join the club.

Story

Kyoukai Senjou No Horizon (or KSNH as I'll refer to it for now on) is a messy affair. It tries to place the histories of nations, empires, etc all into one big blob and expects you to understand it. Either that or they tried to take too much of the original work and put it in 13 episodes. Pull out those history books, you'll probably need it to understand somewhat of what's going on. Basically the story revolves around humans who read more
Feb 16, 2015
torrapamii (All reviews)
Kyoukai Seijou no Horizon, where the anime is based on the past which is very futuristic (wat). If I was to put this whole anime in one word, it'd probably be 'unique'.

Story: 7/10

One main point that this anime has is originality and its uniqueness. Religious figures, sword-fighting, magic and mechs. Putting all of those together can be a hard task, but I'd say Kyoukaisenjou no Horizon passed the test. This anime also has romance and ecchi in it, so if you don't like that, then this anime is not for you. The romance side is very very light hearted, mostly focusing on Horizon and Tori. read more