Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Gyo


Alternative Titles

English: GYO: Tokyo Fish Attack!
Japanese: ギョ

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Feb 15, 2012
Producers: Aniplex
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: ufotable
Source: Manga
Genres: Horror
Duration: 1 hr. 10 min.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 5.561 (scored by 21,133 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #94792
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2097
Members: 39,800
Favorites: 43

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 25, 2012
Queen_Stars (All reviews)
If you read the manga and like me, were looking forward to this adaptation - prepare for a dissapointment, that is, if you bother to watch this...

Basically, someone has taken this story and though...
"How can I make this fairly well known story that bit more popular? I know! I'll make it a lot less mature (i.e. easier to follow) and conform to idealism by throwing in some well known cliche's - newbie's and the more impressionable viewers will eat this all up!"
... and her we have this hour long OVA. I'll expand on the above...
Originally, a young couple are at sea, when they see something read more
Feb 22, 2012
Wilio (All reviews)
“I wonder if that stench of death will ever vanish.”

It is clear that Gyo was highly anticipated for quite a while since it is the first animated feature from one of the bizarre Ito’s story. For that matter, we may as well say that it will be the only one since Gyo is perhaps the only story that has this cinematic feels to it (and yes, Uzumaki live action was shit). Anyway, Ufotable’s adaptation of the manga completely changes the feeling of the manga to something more action and drama oriented. While it is not a problem by itself, some of those who read more
Feb 22, 2012
mdz (All reviews)
What exactly am I watching?

[Contains mild, creative language used to emphasize certain things, also contains spoilers]

This review doesn't seem to flow, think of it as fragments of criticism.

So basically, I started the movie with mediocre expectations, it had a horribly low rating, but it was animated by Ufotable. So, I may be watching mediocre shit, but at least it'll have pretty visuals.

Anyhow, the introduction piqued my curiosity, a group of fishermen appeared to be dazed and shocked from a discovery, the discovery wasn't revealed till later. Now, what was the discovery? It was landfish.

The landfish essentially have a grotesque smell, followed by a read more
Apr 10, 2015
lawlmartz (All reviews)
"I can only believe that which I've seen. Is what I've seen the truth?"

Preface:

Well, what happens when you cross Sharknado with Stink Bomb (from Katsuhiro Otomo, director of Akira) and a zombie fish apocalypse? Gyo, that's what.


Artwork and Animation: 7

Gyo was animated by ufotable (Fate Series), and with that comes their flair for the 3D CGI. While not up to the standard set by Fate before it, for a 2012 anime, the 3D is decent. It's obvious that this movie was on a budget, and it shows through some dodgy animated segments and absolutely average hand drawn animation. While it does a good job read more
Mar 1, 2012
Klabautermann (All reviews)
Talk about disappointment.

Even a person who hasn't read the manga can tell that this OVA is as much of a horror as Tim Burton's Nightmare before Christmas is. As many people so fabulously fail to understand what horror is, let me explain - it is what makes you have a ducked up dream the next night, or two, or thirty and what makes you scared to go pee by yourself in the middle of the night. It lefts an impact. This makes you pee laughing.

That being said, this would make an awesome comedy and god I wish I were being playful. Any chasing scene at read more
Feb 22, 2012
_Kanon_ (All reviews)
What a fucking mess. What a beautiful fucking mess.

Characters? Terrible. Art? Mediocre, with some hilariously obvious CGI that doesn't look good either. Sound? Unforgivable, that was not a 'GASHUNK'.

Story? Phahahahaha. Load of nonsense bollocks. So humans made evil legs but didn't actually make them and then ghosts or something and who cares Zombie Fish, who then make fat farting zombie people.

What is that, what even is that? Who thinks that shit up?

Kao....Kaori? (Yeah, shows how much of an impression our lovely lead girl had on me that I've forgotten her name already) and Dudeguy(Also another fantastic impression on me) are so hilariously boringly invincible. Who read more
Feb 24, 2012
OhanaNiArashi (All reviews)
This is not really a review, it's a warning.

I read a lot of reviews before i started watching this but none of them mentioned anything to be aware of during watching Gyo, and if there was a little bit of warning about the scenes in this ova, I wouldn't have watched it.

It includes many nude scenes and it even has an intercourse scene bluntly and it's a threesome. It has severe blood scenes and it really violates the human bodies in a horrible way and also for people who hate sea animals especially sharks you shouldn't watch.

The idea is not bad but how they expressed read more
Aug 6, 2016
LIQfilms (All reviews)
This OVA would have been so much better if those god damn sharks had some freakin' lazer beams attached to their freakin' heads...

"Tokyo Fish Attack" is an anime by good o' Ufotable and is perhaps one of the worst OVAs from this past decade of anime. Of course, as one may expect with a title such as this, I wasn't expecting too much and was instead hoping for a "so bad its good title" in the same vein as movies such as "Birdemic" or "The Room" but I just found it so... boring. I love schlock. Like a lot. And believe me, I really wanted read more
Feb 23, 2012
Taufiq91 (All reviews)
Gyo is an adaptation of a manga by famed horror mangaka Junji Ito, also known as the "Stephen King of Japan". It's one of his known works to date besides Uzumaki and it's pretty unsettling stuff. Once you finish reading it, you will get fears of looking at the ocean for a while.

So it's no exception that a guy like Ito deserves his own anime. Why not? And thus Ufotable came to the blessing and made a 70-minute OVA of Gyo.

The result? One of the most hilarious comedies ever made.

No, seriously. Whereas the original manga is a work of itself, this anime feels like a read more
Feb 22, 2012
Anybody (All reviews)
Everyone who enjoys reading manga in one point of his life has stumbled with GYO, a work of Ito Junji, aka the same guy who did Uzumaki, so I'll write this review with the assumption that you already have read the manga.

This adaptation by Ufotable is a bag of mixed beans, for one it actually follows the events of the source material, they even added new scenes, which sadly felt so out of place, take for example the airplane scene that you see in every preview of the OVA, the MC almost dies on that plane crash, only to be like "lol nothing happened" read more
Dec 9, 2013
icetrucker1 (All reviews)
just go and see Gyo no do it i will give you the loaded gun it is the wost film i have ever seen EVER not just in anime but EVER you know how bad a show is when the walking zombie fish is THE GOOD POINT in the film no really the fucking land walking zombie fish is the best part about the film i could live with the film like that but just keep watching it it gets worse really REALLY FUCKING WORSE it is the only show i had to buy that i set on fire no i did i put in read more
Oct 21, 2018
Eoussama (All reviews)
Gyo, I feel like they've misspelled the title for “Nyo”, as in “Nyooo, don't watch this”. I've watched a good one hour of this stinky crap so you don't have to, everything I dislike about a show was packed in here like an old tuna tin, especially the core idea. The thing is, Anime can be random, so random, in fact, that anything you can think of has already been animated and made into its own thing. But random doesn't always mean bad, however, Gyo was so random and stupid it might be the worst thing I've ever put interest into. Gore and excessive sexual read more
Oct 11, 2017
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Gyo was a horror manga written by Ito Junji. He's known for his horror works like Umazaki & Tomie. Gyo was written in the very early 2000s. The anime adaptation was released in 2012, roughly a decade after the manga ended. It was brought to us by Ufotable. We've seen them before with such works as Fate/Zero, Kara no Kyoukai, Gakuen Utopia Manabi Straight & Tales of Zestiria. How do they handle Ito Junji's breed of horror, usually involving fucked up body stuff? Let's have a look and judge.

Story:

We open with a trio of young ladies, Kaori, Erika & Aki enjoying a nice read more
Dec 13, 2016
Paraturtle (All reviews)
Story:
I hate everything that Gyo (anime) represents. From the narrative changes to the overly done exploitation of characters, this entire production is such a filthy adaption (I say this LOOSELY) of a pretty good horror story from Junji Ito. It sucks that a bunch of fat cat producers sitting in their studio sat around a table and decided Ito's original narrative wasn't going to work and they needed to dumb it down to BAD horror movie standards. They throw in worthless and uninteresting characters that don't help the narrative and are there solely to die, whilst also bringing down the main characters as they can't read more
Feb 24, 2012
NeverKnowsBest26 (All reviews)
Gyo is an adaptation of a manga of the same name by famed horror mangaka Junji Ito. Featuring a rather farfetched concept and grotesque content, Gyo is something that will definitely not suit all tastes. The central concept is akin to cheesy B-rated horror movies. Junji Ito had a big enough challenge making it viable in the manga, and if anything, the task is even more daunting for the animation staff of this project, as they have to bring Ito's bizarre monstrosities to life without making them look awkward or cumbersome. While this OVA does not fully overcome these challenges, it still manages to be read more
Feb 23, 2012
lolitsgriff (All reviews)
Gyo, being the first work by Ito to be animated, was met with high expectations. UFOTABLE handled the animation, which relieved many fans due to Ufotable's spot as one of the highest tier animation companies currently.

Gyo, in effect, captured the essence of the manga without falling prey to the issues that plagued it. The justaposition of humanity and monsters was done more appropriately than the manga -- by splitting Kaori's character into 3 different girls, the characterization becomes far more complete and powerful. The struggle between Aki and Erika shows the inherent issue of morality in an immoral world.

Furthermore, the choice to change the lead read more
Jun 11, 2012
dariken (All reviews)
Gyo is a waking nightmare. Some people think it's just plain disgusting, or it doesn't have a decent plot, or it doesn't explain anything in detail, or lack of character developement. Neither do nightmares, and this is why Gyo is so great. It is there and fills your screen with grotesque imagery and your head with a fitting landscape. That is what it does, and does it brilliantly. The atmosphere in Gyo is just right for a nightmare. Everything is a bit off and out of place in this piece of bizarre horror.

Bad things first: my biggest complaints are not the characters, as for read more
Mar 1, 2017
hickey92 (All reviews)
I went into this not expecting too much, but with a slight hope due to the involvement of studio Ufotable and the director of Kara no Kyoukai: Mugen Rasen on board, but at the end of the day this film is just bad. The animation is obviously great due to Ufotable's work on it, but the acting feels flat and lifeless, the plot moves at such a fast pace that it's not possible to empathise with any of the characters when something happens to them, because they're utterly one dimensional and you simply don't care.

Honestly, the quirky shlock horror premise of this movie is not read more
Jan 15, 2018
bloge (All reviews)
In short, don't watch this - read the manga. If you refuse to read though, this is still fairly entertaining while irritating.

The original comic is of horror by famous mangaka Junji Ito. This movie turns that into a thriller disaster flick and while it doesn't completely ruin it, it dampers the experience and makes it completely ridiculous later on (seriously, whoever was in-charge of the soundtrack must be insane). The biggest issue with this movie is that the director clearly didn't agree with the horror of the original, he must've not thought you could make regular fish scary. Well I beg to differ, but he read more
Jun 16, 2015
PhilFightmaster (All reviews)
"Y'know, people tend to ask me what this word means *points at TV screen as soon as a zombie octopus on robo legs tentacle porns the shit out of a woman* THIS is schlock!"
(me to a friend while watching this film)



Coming this summer...!

From ufotable, the masterminds behind such classics as the incredibly boring "Coyote Ragtime Show", the awesome "Garden of Sinners"-films and a huge amount of adaptations of that one visual novel no one knows about (something about a chick called "Sword" or something, I don't recall, nobody watched that one anyway!) comes a very, VERY loose OVA-adaptation (that nobody likes), based on a manga read more