Hotarubi no Mori e


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Into the Forest of Fireflies' Light, The Light of a Firefly Forest
Japanese: 蛍火の杜へ

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Sep 17, 2011
Producers: Aniplex
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Brain's Base
Source: Manga
Duration: 45 min.
Rating: G - All Ages

Statistics

Score: 8.541 (scored by 179,228 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #862
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #196
Members: 320,718
Favorites: 5,670

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 29, 2012
Lustreless (All reviews)
"It is sad not to love, but it is much sadder not to be able to love." The words uttered by Miguel de Unamuno become unusually symbolic when we think of them in the context of Hotarubi no Mori e. The romance genre has grown stiff over the centuries - and some may even imply that any originality in that peculiar type of works has depleted, that nothing fresh and original can be created when basically everything is a cliché these days. Well then, I'm truly glad I can say that whoever sports that belief is in the wrong. The evidence: Hotarubi no Mori e.

How read more
Jul 26, 2013
hinahinaxxchoco (All reviews)
"Time might separate us some day. But, even still, until then, let's stay together." -Hotaru Takegawa

Time is cruel. Time is responsible for the summers that come and go, for the leaves in autumn that shrivel and fall to the ground at the mercy of the next toddler looking to create satisfying crunching sounds, for the long and cold winters.

You come to love the smell of rain in the spring or the cool breeze of a summer night and then poof. It's gone.

Much like a fleeting summer's day, the main characters in Hotarubi no Mori e are bound by the chains of time. He read more
Jul 12, 2012
Z-I-CO (All reviews)
I am not great at writing reviews, but I am trying to get better so please bare with me on this one. Hope you like my review though ^^ ok so lets get on with it.

I started to watch this because it was written by Yuki Midorikawa. I loved her previous work "Natsume Yuuchinjou" and I was hoping this would be another good anime to pass my time on. I was not wrong.

I am sure that on this movie there are many reviewers who has retold the summary of this story in their own review which I am going to skip over because I read more
Jun 19, 2016
CeleriLord (All reviews)
Hotarubi no Mori e is a calm story of love, growing up and the passage of time. It will charm you with it's great visuals and a beautifully composed soundtrack, and that's pretty much it for me. If this sounds like something you'll like... good, go watch Natsume's Book of Friends or Garden of Words, both of them way more worth your time then this.

[THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS AHEAD NOW!!!] Now for the detail of why I didn't like this movie:

In this kind of short, emotional movie, the characters have to be easy to get attached to, since the short time of the movies read more
Apr 20, 2015
orionator (All reviews)
*SPOILER WARNING*

For something with a pretty basic romantic storyline, Hotarubi no Mori e pulled it off pretty well.

It's easy to follow; a young girl gets lost in an enchanted forest, she meets a spirit, they become friends, they grow up together every summer, they fall in love, and then their love ends. Pretty basic, huh? That's what I loved about it. It was a comfortable watch, you didn't have to think about it too much, but all the emotion is still there.

The script is well written, interspersed with the right amount of humour, with natural conversation flowing between the two main characters. read more
Feb 29, 2012
TheArchangel (All reviews)
From the same creator of the ever calm "Natsume Yuujinchou" series comes "Hotarubi no Mori e," a tale of the developing friendship between a young girl, Hotaru, and her youkai companion, Gin. Through brief glimpses at their time spent together once a year in the summer, viewers witness the passage of time and the changing of seasons, and the growing bonds that develop as the young girl grows up, while her youkai companion remains relatively the same. Even though this difference in age is negligible in her younger days, it becomes an increasing problem as she grows older.

Although this aging problem specifically deals with read more
Nov 18, 2011
5camp (All reviews)
From the same mangaka that wrote Natsume Yuujinchou, being adapted by the same animation studio that brought you Natsume Yuujinchou, directed by the same man who directed Natsume Yuujinchou. Would you believe then, that this is nothing like Natsume Yuujinchou? That it is, in fact, a rip-roaring action-packed adventure flick as the main characters ride wave after wave of explosions and cynical social satire? Of course you wouldn't believe it because you're not gullible. This is just Natsume Yuujinchou the Rather Short Movie.

The story is very simple, almost refreshingly so compared to the convoluted mess that sometimes invades blockbuster flicks. A little girl gets lost read more
Aug 4, 2013
Wulff (All reviews)
Hotarubi no Mori e is a relatively short movie that attempts to portray the developing relationship between a young girl and a spirit who stumbles upon said young girl in a forest.

Unfortunately, the movie suffers greatly from being as short as it is.

With that said, the movie does have some appeal to it.

First of all the artstyle of the movie is good. By no means will it blow your mind, but it is definitely drawn with care to it and it is detailed. There is no particular scene in the entire movie I can strike down upon and say "The animation faltered there".

Secondly, the music read more
Jul 20, 2012
PoeticJustice (All reviews)
I have no words to describe this anime. To me, this anime is nothing short of perfection. This movie cements anime as a legitmate form of art in my opinion.

Story- The story starts out with a young girl, Hotaru, who gets lost in the forest of sprits. It is then that she meets, Gin, a sprit who lives in the forest who decides to help her leave. The twist is, that Gin can never be touched by a human or he will disappear. It is then that the seeds of their relationship is planted. Rarely, is there a show that can depict a love read more
Jan 23, 2016
Akafection (All reviews)
There’s many ways to communicate with each other like talking for an example, but talking doesn’t enough to know someone deeper, it just gave us the impression about how other’s feel when they talked to us. Because of that, we learn about touching with each other. “Touching” in here is the act of how we serve our feelings towards someone and just as simple as that, love can emerge and grow within it. Well, as most of people said that “love” is an emotion that sometimes hard to understand and very complicated. But, you’re not gonna get a headache or something when you watch this read more
Mar 3, 2013
NonOtaku (All reviews)
Want forty-four minutes of sadness and happiness mixed into a ball just for you?

Well here you go, Hotarubi no More e. Beautiful and tender, Hotarubi no Mori e is the very embodiment of tranquility. The watercolor backdrop, the light toned colors, and soft piano background music immerse the viewer in a placid world. With the passing seasons throughout the movie, from slumbering winters to shimmering summers, a sense of timelessness pervades the experience.

Hotaru, a young and playful girl, finds herself lost in a forest purportedly inhabited by spirits while spending a summer at her Uncle's countryside house. A mysterious and masked young man named Gin, read more
May 12, 2015
Chubbymajo (All reviews)
So much to say about that one great first love. Since time immemorial, first love has always filled our hearts with longing and nostalgia and that is where Hotarubi no Mori e hits home.

Ever had the feeling when you want something so bad even though you know that it's never ever gonna be yours? We all did. No matter how futile it is we still hope for a better future with the one we love. But reality isn't gonna babysit us. Sometimes it has a cruel way to wake us up.

Hotarubi no Mori e is a romantic-fantasy anime filled with memories of summer and unadulterated read more
Sep 1, 2013
Meg-nyan (All reviews)
I heard a lot about Hotarubi no Mori e for its great story, despite it being so short (45 minutes). It was a movie that people deemed was almost equal to others like 5 Centimeters per Second. I finally watched it after my friend pushed and pushed me to see it and I was definitely not disappointed.

Story: 9.5/10
The romance story of a forbidden love seemed very unoriginal after years of silly soap dramas reusing the plot over and over again. But a sprinkle of supernatural and innocence made Hotarubi no Mori e different from the others, and better. The love story between read more
Jul 7, 2015
Ravenclaw18 (All reviews)
9/10
My friend had introduced it to me and it was a great anime movie.
Hotaru, (main heroine and protagonist) was lost in a forest as a young child where she met a boy named Gin who covered his face in a mask. Hotaru could only go visit Gin in the summer, so the movie mostly focused on Hotaru's summers, except for one glimpse at her winter months.

The story was great. It showed Hotaru grow up each time she went to visit Gin, and you could see her develop from a clumsy, young child to a mature, healthy young woman. Meanwhile, the movie fills you with read more
Aug 9, 2015
Amaranthyz (All reviews)
There is a metaphor that speaks of two parallel lines that have many in common but never meet...but there is another that really graced this movie dearly.
"The two lines that merge closer to one another as time pasts...but once they meet, they will separate forever."

Basic geometry may not really do this movie justice but it perfectly encompasses how their love was destined but not meant to be forever. I am ashamed to have only watched this movie today but I would probably regret if I never did.

STORY
It is a simple tale of forbidden love that grew from strangers to an uncanny friendship and soon evolved read more
Nov 9, 2014
shin_josae (All reviews)
I stumbled upon this anime by pure coincidence while I was searching for something similar to Mushishi. Since it had only one episode, I thought to myself: I will give it a go. Needless to say, I was not dissapointed. It is truly great, but extremely sad. I cried like a baby during the last 10-15 minutes. Seriously, it is devastating. From my point of view at least. It is about love that can never become reality because even the slightest touch by a human will make him disappear. The story is simple, the characters are well thought out, but it is really so sad. read more
Mar 2, 2012
TofuZz (All reviews)
Note: This is one of my many works from Sekijitsu

“…My chest will hurt. My tears will be overflowing. But this warmth in my hands and these summer memories will live on in my heart…”

Hotarubi no Mori e did much more than present us a coming-of-life masterpiece as it shows us its lack of story being one of its strong points. It is as if Omori Takahiro has put you under a spell as you watch second by second the simplicity unfold into a marvellous piece of writing. And if that wasn’t enough, Yoshimori Makoto maintains your hypnotic state as he accompanies that simple story with read more
Jul 21, 2014
PrincessP (All reviews)
When I finished watching Hotarubi no Mori e, I was in a certain state of mind. I wasn't quite in a down pour of rain and dark clouds, but I wasn't engulfed in sunshine happiness either. I'm not sure where I was, but there's one thing I'm 100% sure of, and that is the fact that I absolutely LOVED this anime!

Story: 10! (^ o ^)/ Ten! 10! Diez! Sampu! テン!
The plot of Hotarubi no Mori e is very unique. I have yet to watch an anime like this one (it read more
Feb 1, 2015
sunnierskies (All reviews)
Life is a fleeting concept. Everything in it, be it love, friendship, loss, happiness, you can't have it forever, because it just doesn't work that way.

Hotarubi no Mori e has wrapped itself around my head and heart, making me truly respect this movie and its message. At first, it will appear to be a simple movie of friendship between Hotaru, a little girl lost in the woods, and Gin, a forest spirit who is lost emotionally. But it is so much more than that. For such a short movie, it is incredibly impacting and thought-provoking.

Story: 9
We begin with our main character, the young Hotaru, who read more
Aug 9, 2016
VladWolfsbane (All reviews)
Can you love someone you can't touch? It seems you can, if you're willing to except the inevitable - it wont have a happy ending. But if the road itself is worth walking who cares where it leads.

"Hotarubi no Mori e" is piece written by Yuki Midorikawa, if you've watched her other work "Natsume Yuuchinjou", you know what to expect from this short film as it's every bit as good if not better.

What was is like being a child? To be honest I don't quite remember it very well, but one thing I recall is that I wasn't as skeptical as I am now. If read more