Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita


Alternative Titles

English: Humanity Has Declined
Synonyms: Jintai
Japanese: 人類は衰退しました

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 2, 2012 to Sep 17, 2012
Premiered: Summer 2012
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: AIC A.S.T.A.
Source: Light novel
Genres: Comedy, Fantasy, Seinen
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.851 (scored by 43,042 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #8042
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #756
Members: 127,260
Favorites: 1,693

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 11, 2012
Veronin (All reviews)
To learn and evolve is a natural process of human nature. But after countless mistakes, does this growth still hold any meaning? What then, if the consequences are so severe that amending the situation becomes impossible?

For Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita, this is answered through a colorful world where humanity is on the verge of extinction, succeeded by a race of silly, mass-producing fairies bearing a constant grin. Adorable and amusing as they are, these little creatures are anything but auspicious. Repeating tragedy in situations of utter insanity, the fairies exist as a personification of humanity's follies, neatly told through a clever story of satire read more
Jun 25, 2014
Vene (All reviews)
~Multilangual review, English & Español: Humanity has Declined~

Humanity Has Declined is sure an interesting title for an anime, I bet it happened before, you know, suddenly our creativity starts to run to it's fullest in order to guess what's the anime's storyline, the possibilities are infinite, after all, imagination has no borders, it's like being under a spell which allows us to imagine complete different scenarios where we're able to push our ideals, characters personalities, story developments, plot twists, in few words, everything we'd like to see, but the spell isn't eternal, everything cease when we're forced to open our eyes, yes, we wake up read more
Jul 25, 2012
NoExit (All reviews)
Preliminary
What is will be left once we are gone? The premise of a post-apocalyptic future is one that is immensely intriguing and relevant in a world in which such a scenario could easily become reality. Yet it is also a topic that has already been exhaustively explored in a myriad of past works. Thankfully, Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita, or "Humanity has Declined," deviates from the beaten path-- it deals not with a future ravaged by destructive capabilities of our own hands, but one marked by a much slower and inevitable fate for humankind. And, unlike its predecessors, Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita seamlessly combines the lighthearted read more
Jun 4, 2013
gknight (All reviews)
I am just so happy to be through with that show, I really could not stand it. Generally I came to it for the amazing art style but I only found a pile of jokes that really didn't entertain me that much.
The show has some interesting atmosphere for a comedy, and it sometimes give the feeling of something more dramatic but it's not funny enough as a comedy and not nearly interesting enough as a drama.
Character and story development is almost non existent. The main character is being slightly examined throughout the show but the characters around her are so wacky there's hardly one relationship read more
Dec 5, 2013
ZeroReq011 (All reviews)
Based on the title, the average individual would probably conjure projections of some bleak and black post-apocalyptic world. Based on the show's artwork, the average individual would conjure preconceptions of some bright and fuzzy fantasy setting. It's really neither, and yet it's kind of both, and that's one of the things that makes Humanity has Declined both refreshing and intriguing.

Produced by AIC, Humanity has Declined was adapted from a light novel series of the same name by Tanaka Romeo. Direction was handled by Kishi Seiji, Script, by Makoto Uezu. Character designs, original and anime, respectively, were drawn up by Sunaho Tobe and Kyuuta Sakai. As read more
Jul 3, 2014
dex_mt (All reviews)
Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita takes place in a future world where humanity is currently in the process of being replaced by a superior subspecies or tiny, carefree fairies. Most technology seems to be shut down, though they still seem to have some advances of older times such as guns, obsolete cars and functioning toilets. The main character, an unnamed girl living with her grandfather in a small village, works as a mediator between humans and fairies, and therefore finds herself mixed up in quite a few unexpected situations caused by the completely random action of the fairies.

Both the fairies and the story in general seem read more
Sep 6, 2013
azuslu7jpg (All reviews)
Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita is a clever anime that has something for just about everyone.

As always, my reviews are spoiler free.

Jinrui is a bit difficult to get a bead on; is it a comedy, parody, fantasy, or something else entirely? How can a totally nonlinear story about characters who are not even given names be so captivating? And finally, what is the deal with all these fairies?

Story - 8/10
In the distant future, declining birthrates have led to a new “mankind.” These tiny creatures are called fairies, and with their tremendous numbers and mysterious technology it has become a necessity for humans read more
Jun 17, 2015
RecklessPeggy (All reviews)
Humanity Has Declined Review

Welcome ladies and gentlemen to my review of Humanity has Declined, let’s get started!

The Story
The story of Humanity has Declined is set in a world where the decrease in birth rates have caused the population of humans to decrease giving rise to “new humans” known as fairies who possess technological advancements. We follow Watashi as an arbiter of sorts between the fairies and the humans as she tries to investigate the fairies and their behaviors which lead to some convoluted adventures.

The main thing to acknowledge about this title is the fact that this is a comedic satire that pokes read more
Jul 22, 2012
jbeat (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you're looking for an anime to kill some time, I guess this is something to watch. However, if you're looking for an anime that you would want to really enjoy watching, then perhaps you would want to think it over. Additionally, if you have a long list of anime to watch, this would probably be a low priority. Basically, this anime deals with fairies and their assistance to a poverty driven village.

While watching the first two episodes, I noticed that the story is very slow paced and quite boring. The story wasn't too compelling. The humor is probably targeting the younger audience. I read more
Jan 17, 2014
DragonBlood1209 (All reviews)
When an anime series' title is Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita--that translates to Humanity Has Declined, for those of you who don't know a smidgen of Japanese--potential viewers expect some sort of post-apocalyptic shounen with its fair share of violent gore, blood, drama, survival, and action. Already you have piqued the interest of a good bit of the audience. And when its main character is a female . . . Well, let's just say that it's an unfortunate fact that for some--sorry, many--people, action+boobs=instant must watch. With that you have increased the audience's interest by at least ten-fold. Finally you hear that it has fairies in read more
Oct 1, 2012
SNchan (All reviews)
A lot of people have deemed Jinrui to be a highly intelligent and special anime, one which manages to punch them in the feels and is a strong contender for their personal Anime of 2012. There are also a lot of people calling Jinrui the hipster's anime, in both the positive and negative sense of the word.

Jinrui is a weird series, and in fact the weirdest thing I've seen in recent memory. Yet, it stands out from most of the other "weird" anime, in that there's not really anything stereotypical about it's weirdness (in contrast to other weird shows such as Full Metal Panic or read more
Sep 6, 2013
pakoko (All reviews)
One thing the viewers have to note about Jinrui Wa Suitai Shimashita is that as much as it sticks out like a sore thumb among anime for its originality, there is little to no justification for this originality. In other words, asking yourself, “What just happened?” will be a common occurrence while watching this anime. However, it is up to you, the viewer, whether to decide to keep watching or to just stop. The anime itself will not try to pull you back in with any fanservice or drawn-out explanations of what is going on in the anime. To enjoy this anime to its fullest, read more
Jan 4, 2015
BlerdGirl (All reviews)
The plot summary of this anime and its poster makes the series seem like a typical cute comedy anime set in an alternate version of earth. However, I was pleasantly surprised to see that wasn't the case.

Most of the anime is actually satirical social commentary on things such as the consumption of mass-produced food, manga, and the use of electricity. Meanwhile, the last two episodes present a look at Watashi's past to see what made Watashi who she she is.

While the way the satire is presented may seem weird at times, there are moments that will make you smile, chuckle, or laugh out read more
Nov 9, 2012
Nonyflah (All reviews)
Having known nothing about the show aside from the synopsis, I had no idea what I was getting into in the first episode. I expected a quiet story with an overarching plot involving travel and politics with a hint of melancholy for the fate of the human race. Though there were some moments when the melancholy did rise up, especially toward the end of the series, the show proved to be more of a surreal examination of the modern world with a lot of dark humour. Topics covered range from the trials and tribulations of a mangaka through the concept of nations to the nature read more
Feb 3, 2018
Artrill (All reviews)
[6.0/10]

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Humanity has Declined left me puzzled. Not necessarily out of confusion of whether I enjoyed the show or not. Spoiler, I did, but because I can't help but feel that if this series was more geared for "me", as someone with taste and emotion and certain biases, I would've down-right loved it. I think the best way I could describe Humanity has Declined is that of an audacious delight. Audacious because of the downright fascinating narrative choices, both in story and structure, and a delight because when everything wraps up at the end you are often times left going, "that was clever!" A series thats read more
Sep 27, 2012
NeverKnowsBest26 (All reviews)
Well, isn't this something different. A strange, colorful post-apocalyptic tale that doesn't aim to fill us with dread or sorrow as most do, but rather get us to laugh. Humanity has Declined (or Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita) is an off-beat comedy with boundless creativity. It is cute, quirky, and filled with happy pastel colors; yet just beneath its fluffy appearance, it possesses an acid wit and dark sense of humor, with some really interesting concepts behind them. This odd juxtaposition makes it one of the most unique, memorable, and funniest shows I've ever come across.

For reasons unexplained, human civilization has been massively downsized along with read more
Jul 3, 2012
Baconzombie (All reviews)
This is my first review (and it's of a series that is only 1 episode in), so forgive me if I over-complicate sentences and make no sense. Thanks in advance :)

Story:
Watashi, the main character (also called Okashi-chan by the fairies), is a mediator of the UN between the humans of the past of the present-humans (the fairies). The setting is in the far distant future where mankind has imploded to the point of near extinction. As far as we know in the story, we follow the life of the villagers "struggling" to live (although it sure doesn't feel like they are due to the read more
Sep 28, 2014
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my reddit thread)

Let’s face it, anime is weird. Sure, we get our fair share of “normal” shows: realistic cyberpunk dystopias, dramatic romances, and VRMMO stories. And then there is this one. Humanity Has Declined isn’t your typical anime. On the surface, it appears to be about a girl who bakes bread and makes candy. In reality, the show is an interesting parody on anime and society as a whole.

STORY

Humanity Has Declined begins, much like the show, rather strangely. Our main heroine, known as the “Mediator” has come to a village to assist those there in dealing with the local “new read more
Sep 17, 2012
leingodf8 (All reviews)
Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita (otherwise known as Humanity has Declined) was originally a series of short novels written by author Romeo Tanaka, a man most famously know for his work in the adult Japanese game industry. But don't let that cloud your opinion of this show, as it turns out Jinrui wa etc. is actually quite an interesting little work. It has its ups, it has a few downs, but lets see how good it really was shall we?

To begin, as the title states, Jinrui wa is a story set in a somewhat post-apocalyptic future were humanity, while still being there, is on a large read more
Sep 18, 2012
Tzu (All reviews)
In the new millennium you often hear the bad side of life, talk of wars or rumors of wars. You possibly chat with a friend about natural disasters or an upcoming zombie apocalypse.

Never hoping the world comes to an end and that the religious nuts are wrong is wishful thinking. Personally I'd find a field of barley wheat and a good book on brewing then call it fair.

"Humanity Has Declined" threw me for numerous loops and I was pretty surprised with how good this turned out. I often find myself picking out titles that I am utterly disgusted with but this one was a good read more