Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Last Exile: Ginyoku no Fam


Alternative Titles

English: Last Exile: Fam, the Silver Wing
Japanese: ラストエグザイル-銀翼のファム-

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 21
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 15, 2011 to Mar 24, 2012
Premiered: Fall 2011
Broadcast: Saturdays at 02:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Gonzo
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.121 (scored by 12,926 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #33152
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2271
Members: 36,215
Favorites: 87

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 14, 2012
Brockemsockem (All reviews)
Preliminary
There's something dignified and respectable about a show like Last Exile that tells a great, unique story and quietly leaves you to praise it. Its sequel, Last Exile: Fam, the Silver Wing, destroys every bit of that uniqueness and dignity. It's content to merely hover where its predecessor soared, and feels like a desperate, cheap cash-in rather than any sort of real sequel. This review wouldn't be necessary if people judged it merely on the rating, but with so many unwarranted 8's and higher misleading people (including myself), fans of the first Last Exile need a better frame of reference.

The story is where this read more
Jan 26, 2012
5camp (All reviews)
When a sequel to Last Exile was announced, it had a real air of desperation to it. It felt like Gonzo were desperately rummaging through their back catalogue to find an IP with recognisable quality that they could rehash for some extra dough. The original Last Exile was great, but it was also complete, and ended in a way that solved all the characters issues and wrapped everything up in a perfect package. It by no stretch needed a sequel. But they did so anyway, setting it with new characters and on a completely different planet, with only very loose connections to what happened in read more
Mar 30, 2012
KatayokuTsuneki (All reviews)
Roughly eight years have passed since the final episode of Last Exile. We all remember how it concluded: after defeating the antagonist and ending a war that was raging for eternity, good guys laid their hands on a sleeper ship and went to another world to live in peace and harmony. But what they actually arrived at turned out to be the twisted, corrupted world of unnecessary sequels.

Truly, Gonzo was having a tough time and needed a strong comeback that will allow it to stay in business, so they chose to milk one of their old successful and popular titles. Was it a wise decision? read more
Oct 20, 2011
Charliegone (All reviews)
Preliminary
I have heard great things about the first installment of Last Exile and it appears many people are expecting much or at least the same from this one. I have never seen the first Last Exile, so I can't say for sure they'd be disappointed or happy.

For one I am not disappointed in this first episode. Here's why:

Story

I'm the kind of guy that doesn't read synopsis' or summaries, etc when animes first come out. I feel the best way to get a sense of how good an anime is going to be is to just jump right in and see where it takes you. In read more
Jun 4, 2012
du5k (All reviews)
Last Exile: Ginyoku no Fam goes from an interesting tribute to a snoozer and ends in a failure.

Throughout the early episodes of the series, I remember having favorable opinions for the show; it reminds me of the brilliance of the first season, the vast world, and even one of the first reasons I started liking anime, because Last Exile was one of the earliest shows I've watched. I hated Millia, but I liked Fam, and that Toyosaki Aki did a pretty good job on her. As long they keep this up and moving on to the real story, it would turn out really good.

It didn't read more
Feb 12, 2012
Hectotane (All reviews)
Preliminary
The original Last Exile was relatively good sci-fi anime. One of Gonzo's best efforts to make anime for normal people, if not overtly popular.

It featured a highly-skilled pilot (Claus) and his tough-as-nails (to compensate for her lack of fappability) co-pilot (Lavie). It's one of those Star Wars -esque shows that focused more on the settings, the "steampunk-nology," the politics, and the fighting; rather than giving losers with easy-to-crush souls something to orgasm over.

Then comes "Last Exile Fam;" with its focus on cute little girls. It's as if GONZO seriously wants to do "steampunk K-on" in the hopes of making more money and being as cool read more
Jun 3, 2012
Uriel1988 (All reviews)
In 2003, Gonzo made “Last Exile”: a neat adventure story with gorgeous visuals set in a fascinating world inhabited with some intriguing characters and, most importantly, a genuine sense of adventure and wonder. That said, it had its problems: the main characters were bland, the story pace was uneven and the ending was a rushed mess.

Fast forward to 2011, Gonzo is diving into the world of Last Exile yet again with “Last Exile: Ginyoku no Fam” (TL: Fam, the Silver Wing). A sequel that's only loosely tied to the original, both in story and, sadly, in quality.

Set an unspecified number of years after the original, read more
Mar 14, 2013
Kere (All reviews)
I loved Last Exile. It's one of my all time favorite shows. So when I heard there was gonna be a sequel. I was like "Oh yes". After I finished episode 2 I was like "Oh no". Not gonna lie, I'm 100% sure they made a sequel to the wrong series. The entire show is a downhill joke. If you don't want any Spoilers, don't read ahead.

SPOILER WARNING, MULTIPLE SPOLIERS BEYOND THIS RANT

Now that I have that out of the way, as others have said, the story line is lame. I think the Initial idea of the whole Space Pirates thing to be cool, Especially read more
Jan 9, 2012
worldsend007 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Up to Episode 12 so.

Character
This show has been able to keep my attention despite me having only seeing little of Last Exile. I love Fam Fan Fan as a character but then her attitude and her actions get redundant after episode 6. Gisey Hasn't really had a change to really develop her character so far i seen more Character development In Millia than in Gisey or even Fam.

Story.
The plot was interesting and i see it having potential but the way they are telling it, its so either dreadfully slow or to mundane and predictable that i am thinking about dropping it

Art and Sound
Now read more
Mar 20, 2015
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
To call Fam the Silver Wing a cash grab for Gonzo to milk off the popularity of Last Exile is sadly an accurate statement to describe this series. Gonzo had just recovered from declaring chapter 11 bankruptcy at the time they started production to this series and it looked like they were trying to milk the success of Last Exile's original run. While Last Exile was far from being a masterpiece in my eyes, it was still a unique steampunk title that offered an engaging plot, a likeable cast, an excellent soundtrack and some of the best animation put out by Gonzo. Unfortunately, Gonzo doesn't read more
Nov 5, 2011
suzumiyaharuhi51 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Last Exile: Fam, the Silver Wing

"Last Exile - Fam, The Silver Wing" is the sequel of "Last Exile" back in 2003. To be honest, I really don’t know anything about this anime, which means I haven’t watched “Last Exile (2003)”. So would it be alright to watch "Last Exile - Fam, The Silver Wing"? Will you be able to understand the current storyline? Usually everyone will say “NO”, but when we talked about "Last Exile - Fam, The Silver Wing", I would say “YES” because the first season and the second season have different storylines(according to my research).

After watching the first two episodes of "Last read more
Jan 20, 2012
rondoblend (All reviews)
Preliminary
Animax built alot hype around this, so was llooking forward to the premiere with a lot of expectation. Because Animax claimed that the show was epic and a studio gonzo mega production.
Ok on the review,. The first episode started with a fan service, fam in underwear. well it's okay, the airships look terrific and detailed , the battle would be awesome. but what the.. how come fam captured a giant well armored cargo ships with just a small airship and a net? it doesn't make any sense
-question: but wait a read more
Sep 11, 2012
VoidHawk (All reviews)
LAST EXILE sequel is not pair to its predecessor, sure, but it does have its flavour, and does have a nice pace. We see people doing things they believe, and there are no true villains, but people trying to struggle against what they perceive as wrong. That I really like. Pitty is GONZO did not went all the way with the possible potential with this story, and some gaps were left which should have being explained (like Dio surviving a fall inside Prester Grand Stream) or if they really abandoned it, which is very likely, as Anatoray-Disith were facing famine and lack of resources read more
Nov 10, 2013
apuzzledzebra (All reviews)
the original series was one of my first and is one of my favorite animes. when i started to watch the sequel i remembered why i loved the original. i am a little confused why people bash on this great show. i believe gonzo did an amazing job and this anime deserves more credit than it gets. it was a different story than the original series but people seem to view it as a bad continuation. there isnt a lot of connection to the original, besides some characters. this is a fresh story that was done very well. there read more
Jan 25, 2019
illuminatibg (All reviews)
Whether anime is good and bad, sometimes they just feel complete and a sequel might actually affect the feeling towards an anime in a negative way. Luckily, this sequel pulls it through, but just like the prequel there is something questionable.

Just like the prequel, this anime is for those people who like to dive into another fantasy world, ruled by planes flying on the strange fuel of Claudia. This world is different from the one you saw in the prequel. In fact the second summary clears any unknowns in the story of the "Last Exile". If you did not watch the prequel, go do it, read more
Jan 17, 2016
LolI_sweat (All reviews)
Preliminary
I watched this anime but the girls weren't very interesting, they did adventure quite a lot but in a distasteful effort considering how the art was worth the 21 episodes. Somehow, this doesn't even matter since surviving the first 5 minutes is one thing, and watching cool things happen is another.

Introduction was disintegrating, it disintegrated the immersion of what a character is and their identity. Especially on how they mocked the loli falling on wet surface phenomenon. This continues to be less focused, as we look into the characters more and focus on the future. But not really the beginning-no i'll never watch something read more
Sep 10, 2013
Advicedog (All reviews)
Preliminary
After finishing "Last Exile" I remember just laying in my bed, iPad in my lap as the closing credits rolled and thinking "What a goddamn fantastic piece of storytelling and art." As a pilot myself, I had a PARTICULARLY soft spot for the show given how I (and everyone of my kind) just wants to fly around freely over wheat fields and seeing that at the end of the show made me damn near shed a tear.

So, when I learned of Last Exile Fam (LAF henceforth), I was really excited that I'd be able to return to the universe that I had so dearly read more
Oct 9, 2015
ryuuForte (All reviews)
After watching the first season of Last Exile, watching this series feels somewhat off. First let's start with the story. In one word, the storytelling sucks. It feels like something that people come up when they brainstorm idea and have the Eureka moment. The story is unrefined and tries too hard to give roles to the 'Heroines' in this story. The end result: it just doesn't match with the story. This show tries too hard to integrate the FUN fact of flying into this war type of anime. The result being that the FUN part feels too shallow like watching some sport anime where the read more
Mar 9, 2012
Kesser (All reviews)
Preliminary
I really enjoyed the first Last Exile. It was a great story that hold me till the end. I didn't expect the sequel to be made, but I was exited when I heard the news. With no less excitement I sat and watched the first episode. Now, after 19 episodes I finally decided to write few words of opinion about the Last Exile Fam the Silver Wing.
In general I'm really satisfied. The new world we get to see is interesting and the story develops nicely. Old characters from the LE like Dio and Tatiana are present and have they roles in the new story. read more
Oct 10, 2017
Kross_sounds (All reviews)
I was initially very hesitant to watch this once I found out that the main characters were different. I will not spoil anything, but I think it's important that you know that this is NOT a spinoff. It's a true sequel. Despite the focus being on new characters at first, there are a lot of returning cast (you can see this much from the intro sequence).

I liked this season better than the original Last Exile. I know many will disagree. I get it. The first season was so good and definitely stands out as unique in many ways, especially art-wise. But what drew me to read more