Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Omoide Poroporo


Alternative Titles

English: Only Yesterday
Synonyms: Omohide Poro Poro, Omoide Poro-poro, Memories Like Falling Rain Drops, Memories Like Falling Teardrops, Memories of Teardrops, Memories of Yesterday
Japanese: おもひでぽろぽろ

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 20, 1991
Producers: Tokuma Shoten
Licensors: GKIDS
Studios: Studio Ghibli
Source: Manga
Duration: 1 hr. 58 min.
Rating: G - All Ages

Statistics

Score: 7.611 (scored by 29,068 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #13422
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1421
Members: 60,179
Favorites: 500

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 27, 2007
YourMessageHere (All reviews)
Now and again, I find I'm being asked why I like anime, and what's so special about it. One answer you hear given quite often to questions like this is "it's not just for kids, anime is for grownups too". I used to say this too, but in the case of much of what's out there, after much thought I realised that's not really accurate. Sure, there's anime out there that's full of sex and/or death and/or 'mature themes', and a lot of things that are more complex than children are thought to be able to deal with, but not much anime, read more
Aug 20, 2013
Fabio (All reviews)
If you want in any way, to see a family eating a pineapple and simply have an intense emotional reaction, almost cry by quietly staring at the characters just moving, if you are tired of the laziness among animators these days in general then I cannot recommend anything other than the remarkable underrated masterpiece:

Only Yesterday.

The reason why Only Yesterday might be the most realistic anime movie of all time is that, they did, care about the smallest things, the characters' movements, their eyes, their mouths, how the whole cast reacts to an action, how they gave everyone enough space to experience their opinions without being read more
Apr 19, 2009
Valwin (All reviews)
We can notice that there is a tendency to overrate average productions when it comes to their true value. It is probably caused by TV and the fact that the best selling anime are being watched by kids raised on sex and violence occuring in the Internet. Anime based on those two things (sex & violence) shows that it is much easier to make such anime insted of trying to show people something important and valuable. Only Yesterday is one of those "depper" and underrated productions, which can appear on endangered species list soon if that tendecy mentioned before won't be stopped.

First, I have say read more
Mar 20, 2014
AnnoKano (All reviews)
There are plenty of films that can impress you the first time you watch them, but there are only a few that impress you more and more with every subsequent viewing. Only Yesterday is just such a movie, one so rich in depth that the first viewing is only as good as a passing glance at the painting of an old master.

Taeko Okajima is a twenty seven year old office worker in Tokyo. Summer holidays are fast approaching and Taeko is doing what she normally does, and will travel to work on a farm in the countryside. During the course of her journey she experiences read more
Oct 31, 2017
simplereviewer (All reviews)
Script - Some chick is going to the field to spend some time away from the noisy city and there she reminds of her youth, and well, that's it. It's adapted from an episodic manga and the idea was to gather certain moments of the protagonist's past as a cohesive feeling of nostalgia. Taking a look at the interactions you'll notice they are rather realistic, with uncomfortable silences and stares at every corner. Now, maybe is just me but I grew up in a family where I was the youngest brother and man, that sucks. My two brothers were very close and I felt very read more
Sep 10, 2017
alphysIRL (All reviews)
What? A two for a Studio Ghibli movie. How preposterous! Yes, yes I know. However I have some VERY good reasons for it, I promise.

Now I looooovvvveee Studio Ghibli movies. They are always beautifully drawn and animated, the stories are unique, and the characters are cute and quirky (with the exception of Princess Mononoke).

What I liked about this movie:
-it's art style
-The funny flashbacks

What I didn't like about it:
-For a movie tagged for romance, there really isn't a whole lot of actual romance in the time setting of the movie
-The flashbacks were great but didn't really fit smoothly in the movie itself. read more
Aug 17, 2017
Objectivity_jk (All reviews)
Only Yesterday is a very uncomfortable sit, and I'm not just talking about the twenty minutes dedicated to young girl's periods. The film's world is fairly well animated, but it looks and feels very empty, giving the story a depressing mood as if someone died. I want to mostly talk about the plot generally so I'll get everything else out of the way quickly.

Art: Looks pretty good, but the simple style can sometime exasperate the feeling of emptiness

Sounds: I like the soundtrack, but a few moments during the film the music is unnecessarily kitschy.

Character: Most characters are ether mean spirited, self-centred, kooky, or boring. I read more
Feb 19, 2010
davieboy232 (All reviews)
there are a lot of things that can be said about this but im just going to point out some that stick out the most.

the movie itself is one of a woman who questions herself about her life more or less in a nutshell. the intro and some other music in this movie was calming and made portions of the movie seem serene which was a nice touch. the art work would have achieved a better score if it weren't for one thing and this is just my opinon, but did any one else notice how bizzar looking Okajima looked everytime she smiled? she did read more
Mar 12, 2016
modernjosei (All reviews)
Only Yesterday understands the nuances of childhood nostalgia. I think to a certain degree we all want to relive the simplicity and easygoing nature of our childhood, but unfortunately reality has other plans. Depending on where we are in life, our childhood memories can play a huge part in understanding where we came from, and why we are the way we are today. Only Yesterday takes this idea and creates a movie out of it, and it’s something that’s incredibly relatable, no matter your age.

Only Yesterday is visually breathtaking. As you would expect from Studio Ghibli, this movie is beautiful from start to finish. The read more
Feb 14, 2009
Shugocharalover (All reviews)
It's been a while since I've watched this, so bear with me...

-Spoiler free-

Story-

The story switches back and forth between the now grown up main character- Taeko Okajima – and her childhood self. Although many seem to dub the story unoriginal I beg to differ, the setting and style is unlike anything I’ve ever seen. Yes I must agree that the underlying aspect of the story; did my life really turn out the way I want it to? - is rather weak. However I like to think that things like whether it’s weak or not can be changed dramatically by directing and art, which this story read more
Feb 2, 2017
Rising_Sun (All reviews)
An almost unknown film of Ghibli that although does not count on the magic of the other films shows us another great history of quality that is something difficult to understand for certain people.
The story of Taeko is a pure and literal slice of life that may be tedious to see in certain parts for those who do not like this genre.
The quality of animation was not much to my liking and the Soundtrack is quite difficult to perceive.
I really liked the part where "the past" meets "the present" giving an end to the story to the height of other Ghibli films.
If you like (rather) read more
Apr 27, 2018
Fear_the_Reefer (All reviews)
There are two people with us at any given moment... There’s the person we currently are, who’s in charge of every decision we have to make as it comes to us, and there’s the person we remember being. This can be the person we were back in school, where we wistfully wish we’d applied ourselves harder; This can be the person we were last week, when we wish things had played out differently on that date or that big important meeting; This can be the person we were when we were much smaller, as we reflect on how that child could have ever read more
Jan 9, 2016
BowlingJD (All reviews)
Director Isao Takahata (Gauche the Cellist) with Studio Ghibli behind him brought one of the most progressive anime films of all time, Only Yesterday. This anime was significant in the fact that it was outside of anime tradition and was a realistic drama aimed primarily at women.

For the plot, it is amazingly simplistic, but brings about deep thought in the main character, 27 year old Taeko and in turn the audience. She is travelling on a ten day sabbatical from her melancholy job in Tokyo to the countryside of her brother-in-law. From there, Taeko starts to have strange recollections of her past, specifically fifth grade; read more
Nov 14, 2016
Thetys (All reviews)
As a Ghibli, this movie is unique.
It has no generic plot line like most other Ghiblis. (Girl-Guy relationship with mysterious strangers coming outta nowhere to help them fight an enemy.)
...unlike Ghiblis, it's relatively boring : It takes 60 mins for the film to finally engage a problem other than in flashbacks, where the main character is a child, acts childishly, etc, thus making the whole tension be pretty much unimportant (for the most part)... 'not saying the first hour is bad though, it's filled with nostalgic Japanese culture, flash backs, and realism : This movie is very realistic, to the point it feels like some read more
Aug 19, 2010
curiositykate (All reviews)
I bought this DVD for two reasons. One, because it's Studio Ghibli. Two, because it's about a girl reflecting on her life and her childhood (as the back of the box puts it 'growing up and growing older') and I'm always drawn to films with this theme (for obvious reasons). And it turned out to be even better than I'd expected. I was crying by the end. I think I'd even go as far as to say that it's my favourite, along with My Neighbour Totoro and Whisper of the Heart. I couldn't choose between the three. It's about a 27 year old girl from read more
Jan 18, 2013
Mixxu (All reviews)
When your inner self starts remembering past memories and those enjoyable times and can't just forget those lovely memories. Only Yesterday or japanese titled "Omohide poro poro" is touching movie for Isao Takahata. I watched this movie yesterday and I really loved it.

Story: - 10

Story is pretty simple and it's nice to follow because your hearing the story by narrator who is telling it for. Now why these story just drives in it's because you can easily relate to characters I am sure many of us has some or less school memories and other memories. Story is not boring at all it's starts with read more
Apr 1, 2009
MaeBern (All reviews)
This movie is not half bad. When I watched I thought it was boring at first and was going to drop it but as the movie went on it turn out to be okay. I have to say this movie is hard to understand and if you do not look at the details than it might be hard. After the movie, I started looking back to my past and found some little things that I still have. This is a cute little movie gets you thinking about the things you had or still have. I have to say though this movie should be watched by read more
May 2, 2009
ChidoriCipCirip (All reviews)
I'm not good at writing reviews but i just want to say what i liked about this anime: remembering yourself as a child and the important memories at that age and how they make a person develop.
And i was surprised to hear hungarian and rumanian national music on the soundtrack. ^^
Apr 6, 2018
Fantalicious (All reviews)
Few people can make you feel nostalgic for a time and a place you've never been, but that has always been one of Takahata's biggest strengths. There is a certain kind of magic surrounding his films, whilst they still are very grounded in reality. And nowhere else does Takahata show this as well as he does in Only Yesterday.

Throughout the film, we constantly switch between the present and the past. Whenever we are in the past, the art style becomes softer and almost dreamlike. It's also in the past where we see the more fantastical elements of the film, the best example being when Taeko read more
Feb 6, 2018
attempt1 (All reviews)
Only Yesterday is a fantastic slow paced slice of life film.

Taeko is a unmarried woman in her 20s living in the city on holiday in the countryside. She reminisces about her time when she was 10 years old, while getting close to a local farmer, and getting to know the locals and spending time with family in the countryside.

Taeko and her experiences, both as an adult and child are very relatable. The film jumps between present time and to when she was 10 years old. The flashbacks consists of her memories like her first crush, or struggling with maths, or following your dreams. This read more