Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Arete Hime


Alternative Titles

English: Princess Arete
Synonyms: Arite Hime, The Adventure of Princess Arete, Arete-hime
Japanese: アリーテ姫

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 21, 2001
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Studio 4°C
Source: Novel
Genres: Fantasy, Magic
Duration: 1 hr. 45 min.
Rating: G - All Ages

Statistics

Score: 6.991 (scored by 3,249 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #37832
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #4372
Members: 8,871
Favorites: 38

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 5, 2009
ace52387 (All reviews)
Arete Hime initially seems like a typical modern iteration of a fairy tale, ala Disney, with a captive princess who desires to see the world and empathize with its denizens. Eventually, it shapes into a multi-segmented journey of self discovery more akin to "Siddhartha" than "Rapunzel."

When looking back at the entire Journey our main character, Arete undergoes, it's quite epic. This in no way changes the fact that some stretches are completely starved for plot development, using the time instead to flash some scenic shots and play with Arete's diatribes on her predicaments. Which brings me to one of the biggest problems with this film: read more
Jan 28, 2012
Yukariki (All reviews)
Children’s fiction is an appealing genre for all ages. Consider Harry Potter: kids, teenagers, and adults all screamed in glee when the final book in the saga was released. All of these works are simple, straight to the point, and wonderful to look at. Reading these types of fiction influences everyone in the crucial age of adolescence. Everyone has their favorite children’s books; mine was Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Hence, I learned to laugh at dark humor and absurd deaths at a young age.

At the age of five, I asked the unknown sentient beings with the cooties -- a worse opponent than the Bubonic read more
Sep 17, 2015
sagittas (All reviews)
We all have a little magic inside of us. At any time, all we have to do is close our eyes and use the words of the heart, and we can become anyone and go anywhere we want to. Regardless of gender, age or ethnicity, we are all capable of it. Much more powerful than any spell, this magic is the strongest force on Earth.

Princess Arete is an exceptionally empowering animated picture by Studio 4°C, based on the book The Clever Princess by English author Diana Coles. While it was originally targeted towards children, the movie itself is a remarkably mature deconstruction of the read more
Jan 12, 2016
Ezekiel_01 (All reviews)
It’s now the year 2016, new challenges and obstacles awaits us in this following year and let me start the by introducing you guys the Movie Princess and what I think about it.

Plot (6/10)+ Character (4/10)-
The story is very simple but very slow paces in presenting its wonderful message. The concept of the story is good for it promotes freedom by self-discovery and believing in one self to achieve its goal and wishes without relying to any superficial solution which are magic that bent reality. Princess Arete is a good deconstruction of princess stories for it teaches us that dreams can be read more
Jan 31, 2019
megafat (All reviews)
Our story follows Princess Arete, who is confined in the castle tower under the instruction of her her father, the king. He demands that Arete should never have contact with the outside world until she meets a potential suitor for her to marry, and uses these suitors to bring him jewels and powerful magical items from a race of long-dead sorcerers in an attempt to win his admiration and the permission to betroth his daughter.

Because of this Princess Arete spends her days watching the world outside of her window. Arete sneaks outside to watch the common people live out their normal lives. One day, a read more
May 11, 2013
gwern (All reviews)
_Princess Arete_ is, in many ways, an odd duck. While the ending is a good ending by many standards and educates me in some respects, it still leaves me unsatisfied - and I think that may be the mark of how it is a peculiarly *feminist* film as opposed to a regular film, in the sense of showing an empowered competent female protagonist of the kind you have to watch patiently for a Ghibli film to see usually.
Apr 28, 2016
lainbow (All reviews)
The art is simple, but the story is enjoyable and the music is also very nice. The princess is compassionate and thoughtful. No one in her castle cares about her, but she cares about others. My complaint is that too much time was spent on the part where she is imprisoned, and too little time is spent on the part after she escapes. A whole series could have been made out of this story. Since it's only a movie, it was condensed. But I just think the part that should have been condensed more is her time of imprisonment, read more