Gyakkyou Burai Kaiji: Hakairoku-hen


Kaiji: Against All Rules

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Kaiji: Against All Rules
Synonyms: Gyakkyou Burai Kaiji S2, The Suffering Pariah Kaiji: Backslide Arc
Japanese: 逆境無頼カイジ 破戒録篇

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 6, 2011 to Sep 28, 2011
Premiered: Spring 2011
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 00:59 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Manga
Genre: SuspenseSuspense
Themes: GameGame, PsychologicalPsychological
Demographic: SeinenSeinen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.251 (scored by 8548785,487 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #2702
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1102
Members: 159,358
Favorites: 2,216

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 14, 2011
CEMPUNK (All reviews)
Ok this is my first time to write a review so please go easy.

Let me start by saying I'm a huge fan of psychological thriller series and I must say Kaiji is one of the best there is in that aspect. Season 1 was just amazing, keeps you thinking and surprises you with the twisted outcomes. In Season 2 Kaiji has done it again, each episode keeps getting better and better makes you at the edge of your seat hunger to know whats will happen next.

If your a fan of Psychological thrillers such as Death note or Liar game, Kaiji is a must watch read more
Dec 30, 2014
ZephSilver (All reviews)
Are you suffering from an absence of GAR and strategy in your life? Already burn through your reserve JoJo's and No Game No Life strategic asspulls for a rainy day? Well, I got just the fix!

ZAWA ZAWA ZAWA ZAWA ZAWA

Story: 9/10

You'd think the novelty of high gambling will be dull after 26 episodes right? But Kaiji's sequel not only delivers yet again but surpasses expectations! But it's not all a win. The story pits Kaiji into an underground camp as a slave laborer in order to pay off his debts. As in typical Kaiji fashion, it's not all as it seems. As Kaiji butts heads read more
May 28, 2014
THEAnimeHERO (All reviews)
Kaiji season 2 offers a solid conclusion to the anime series however the series itself is a decrease in quality from season 1 Kaiji Ultimate Survivor.

Taking place a few months after the first arc, Kaiji is taken underground to pay his debt by manual labor which will take him around 15 years to complete his sentence. After a few months later, Kaiji is then allowed to be outside for a few days in which he hears about a casino with the infamous pachinko game "The Bog" which if Kaiji wins can pay off his entire debt.

The differences in this season being the 3rd series of read more
Jun 6, 2011
thefreed (All reviews)
Preliminary
I was a great fan of the first season so it's probably going to be a bit biased.

But let me tell you how much I love these series. I usually like psychological thriller, "Main character being super smart pwning everybody" kind of anime but this is my favorite one out there.

One out was mediocre, liar game got boring midway through, death note was really good but... There's just something about this series that tops all those anime and manga.

I saw the first season like 4 years ago and it's still on my mind.

Anyway WATCH THE FIRST ONE if you haven't GO NOW!

It might get you read more
Sep 22, 2019
Optigisa (All reviews)
Kaiji’s second season is not as good as Kaiji’s first season. While it has a stronger start than the former, and while it is littered with better animation and more charismatic characters, there is something about it that just doesn’t hold up to the first.

The concept of the arcade machine is intriguing and the tactics used in that arc are nothing short of brilliant, but it is the fact that the arc dragged on for so long and the episodic structure became about finding a way to beat the machine and the old man, that it became redundant to sit through. The first season read more
Nov 6, 2014
DeXeTer (All reviews)
Gyakkyou Burai Kaiji: Hakairoku Hen is the second season of kaiji ultimate survivor which continues from where the first season left of.


Story 8/10 The second season starts of with Kaiji wondering around japan looking for ways to earn money.
Wile he sees an familiar face Endoh from the first season which somewhat helped him with his debt problems in season 1 eg The gambling ship this time though Kaiji is kidnapped by Endoh and forced into slave labor to pay off his debt with very harsh living conditions. Now what l like to say about the first read more
Sep 28, 2011
Danno (All reviews)
This series is pretty suspenseful and will give you a similar type of enjoyment to the first series, but I gotta say it's not as good.

First off, Kaiji 2 is not a psychological battle. It also doesn't have much philosophy in it. It vaguely contains that sorta stuff, but it's really faint. I loved the first series of Kaiji so much for the constant risks, trust, betrayal, scams, elaborate schemes, exposure of human emotions, putting human character into question, and Tonegawa's philosophical speeches. Kaiji 2 doesn't really have such concepts in it. Both of his gambles are pretty much won simply with logic and read more
Sep 21, 2011
Sangaz (All reviews)
Preliminary
This will not be much of a review. I'm going to go against the previous two reviews, and I'll make this very quick.


This season of Kaiji is actually quite terrible. It's basically just an advert for pachinko and the upcoming Kaiji live-action movie.
Now the first season of Kaiji (aside from being very good) was dragged out a little, as are most other anime, but this season is really taking the mickey.

Any tension i intially felt while watching this has completely vanished. Kaiji's chances of wininng are like watching someone with bipolar, up, down, up, down... every single episode, just so they can stretch the series read more
Jun 7, 2020
WhiteWolfKiba (All reviews)
Studio Madhouse has done it again in the 2nd season of Kaiji! This is a 10/10 gambling anime. Kick Kakegurui to the curb, cuz there are no moe character designs or forced romantic relationships to be found in THIS gambling anime!

Story: 10/10. The stakes have never been higher in season 2 as Kaiji finds himself basically a slave working in a labor camp to pay off his massive debts. If he raises enough money he can buy his freedom and rejoin society above ground! How's that for motivation? There's a small moment I need to mention where Kaiji can finally afford a decent meal for read more
Jan 20, 2021
NotoriousSpast (All reviews)
*sniff* this is pure ideology, but you know *sniff* the good kind of ideology.

If you want an anime that's not always going the path, you expect it to do i think Kaiji is something that you could like.

Kaiji is every single one of us. He is a loser... Of course he had his potentials when he was younger, but capitalist world brought him into his misery. He for sure is an intelligent guy, but his kind-hearted personality denied him access into a wealthy life and the story is going to show you exactly this multiple times. You're the loser, if you're altruistic, if you're read more
Nov 3, 2012
platformerbg (All reviews)
I take it that the people who are going to watch this have already watched the first season. I am going to try to base my review on that. So basically we once again meet with Kaiji. As always he is broke. He once again is put to a test. The first part of the series concentrates in a another place (that I won't mention so there aren't any spoilers), but basically he has to gamble once more. To be honest the reason I think this season is better is since Kaiji has become more and more of a hero. Even though the read more
Sep 20, 2020
cameronrb24 (All reviews)
Quick Thoughts:
Promising start marred by pachinko.

Story:
Season 2 picks up some time after the end of the 1st season, with more debt accumulated. A familiar face picks him up and drops him off at an underground camp to work off his debts. This arc lasts about nine episodes and the second, and final, arc takes up the remaining 17 episodes. I think the first arc was solid; we get all Kaiji's mindgames, scheming, trickery and charisma displayed in full effect. The second arc was the worst in the entire series in my opinion, mainly due to its pacing issues. The first few episodes provided good setup/backstory, read more
Dec 15, 2011
ifaistos (All reviews)
Hi,

The story that surrounds this anime is awesome. Truth and the meaning of life is in continues battle with those things that most people believe that make us different from animals.
If u don't want or tired just to watch anime for fun , you must surely watch this.
Just try to keep up with the script meanings and try to search inside your heart/brain and think what will u do in the same place of Kaijis. ( main hero)

U will definitely win some things after watching this.
arigato.
Mar 3, 2020
Euphemius (All reviews)
(Since it would be useless to write a different review for the second season, I just copied the review for the first season here. I only have to say that I find the first season a little better, despite the fact that the art of the second is superior).

Kaiji is the perfect anime if you are looking for something about gambling and that it feels realistic and crude.
Because Kaiji is not simply an anime about someone who gambles - but about how bad it can be, to be a gambler in a world full of sharks ready to bite and drown you when you're weak.

Kaiji read more
Feb 7, 2018
Rage-The-Dragoon (All reviews)
Tension and Tedious are 2 completely different things!
and it's clear Kaiji season 2 feels there is no distinction between the two.
Unlike season 1 this addition just drags...and drags...and drags! on and on and on.

Everything Else in the show is perfectly fine. the score is intense, the animation is crips clean, the voice acting is solid. but the single deathblow season 2 has is it's TERRIBLE dragged out pacing. it's not that noticeable in the first half of the season but it really begins to show during the second half.

And this is where the Tension vs Tedious bit comes into play. The big final gamble of read more
Apr 4, 2021
Kempokid21 (All reviews)
In some ways Kaiji's 2nd season could be seen as a bit of a disappointment, with far less focus on the crazy gambling games that push each side's strategic and psychological limits to the max, and more of a character driven story with the focus being on pushing the luck in your favour. Even so however, the stakes prove to be just as high this time around, making a lot of the tension remain despite the much less intense moment to moment interactions between opponents due to the games being around finding the cheats and rigs of the game and exploiting them, rather than necessarily read more
Jan 7, 2021
vaporweeb (All reviews)
I'm in the minority here, but I think Kaiji 2: Ultimate Survivor is BETTER than the first season, Against All Rules. Although I enjoy each for different reasons.

In the second season, we see our titular protag start off in an even worse state than the first season: working in a slave labor camp underground, where his wages are less than a convenience store job above ground, yet the work is must more grueling and deadly.

// MILD SPOILERS //

Kaiji can barely keep himself out of debt from the allure of a cold beer on payday, much less from actually gambling. So when he does read more
Nov 22, 2020
pandapanda108 (All reviews)
If i can just win big once i can be reborn and make my life how i want it to be

This anime was a wild ride. But it is not the kind of show that can be enjoyed watching it 1 episode a day. It's really made to be watched in 6-9 episode blocks. The creators of this show timed each episode intelligently so the viewer must watch the next episode immediately. This is a strength of this show but also a downside for certain viewers who are looking for a casual experience.

This show is true to the harsh reality of gambling and life for read more
May 29, 2020
Dunk_A_Ccino (All reviews)
Kaiji: Against All Rules is a step up from an already outstanding first season. So much passion, ferocity, hype, and love went into what is easily one of Madhouse's best work to date and ends off with a bang. Every episode ends up building up with flawless execution and payoffs. Kaiji is an incredible character and every villain is so enjoyable that I was glued to the screen in anticipation for what would happen next. Do yourself a favor and watch/read and here's to hoping one day we will see a continuation of this incredible series.

The Future is in our Hands.
Mar 26, 2020
Hawkeye- (All reviews)
Kaiji is an amazing show and i would reccomend it to any one who loves a good thriller.

But season 2 is lackluster in my opinion. It's a step down from the first season and by a step down i mean like 10 steps down.

Im kind of spoiling the next few lines so read at your own precaution






In the beggining kaiji meets endou again and hoping to get another shot for a big win but he doesent know that endou doesen't arrange those kinds of things anymore since the guy who worked for Hyoudou got fired( i dont remember his name). He gets send to read more