Gyakkyou Burai Kaiji: Hakairoku-hen
Kaiji: Against All Rules
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

English: Kaiji: Against All Rules
Synonyms: Gyakkyou Burai Kaiji S2, The Suffering Pariah Kaiji: Backslide Arc
Japanese: 逆境無頼カイジ 破戒録篇

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 6, 2011 to Sep 28, 2011
Premiered: Spring 2011
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Manga
Genres: GameGame, PsychologicalPsychological, ThrillerThriller, SeinenSeinen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.251 (scored by 6231862,318 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #2772
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1033
Members: 113,807
Favorites: 1,716

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 14, 2011
CEMPUNK (All reviews)
Ok this is my first time to write a review so please go easy.

Let me start by saying I'm a huge fan of psychological thriller series and I must say Kaiji is one of the best there is in that aspect. Season 1 was just amazing, keeps you thinking and surprises you with the twisted outcomes. In Season 2 Kaiji has done it again, each episode keeps getting better and better makes you at the edge of your seat hunger to know whats will happen next.

If your a fan of Psychological thrillers such as Death note or Liar game, Kaiji is a must watch read more
Dec 30, 2014
ZephSilver (All reviews)
Are you suffering from an absence of GAR and strategy in your life? Already burn through your reserve JoJo's and No Game No Life strategic asspulls for a rainy day? Well, I got just the fix!

ZAWA ZAWA ZAWA ZAWA ZAWA

Story: 9/10

You'd think the novelty of high gambling will be dull after 26 episodes right? But Kaiji's sequel not only delivers yet again but surpasses expectations! But it's not all a win. The story pits Kaiji into an underground camp as a slave laborer in order to pay off his debts. As in typical Kaiji fashion, it's not all as it seems. As Kaiji butts heads read more
May 28, 2014
THEAnimeHERO (All reviews)
Kaiji season 2 offers a solid conclusion to the anime series however the series itself is a decrease in quality from season 1 Kaiji Ultimate Survivor.

Taking place a few months after the first arc, Kaiji is taken underground to pay his debt by manual labor which will take him around 15 years to complete his sentence. After a few months later, Kaiji is then allowed to be outside for a few days in which he hears about a casino with the infamous pachinko game "The Bog" which if Kaiji wins can pay off his entire debt.

The differences in this season being the 3rd series of read more
Jun 6, 2011
thefreed (All reviews)
Preliminary
I was a great fan of the first season so it's probably going to be a bit biased.

But let me tell you how much I love these series. I usually like psychological thriller, "Main character being super smart pwning everybody" kind of anime but this is my favorite one out there.

One out was mediocre, liar game got boring midway through, death note was really good but... There's just something about this series that tops all those anime and manga.

I saw the first season like 4 years ago and it's still on my mind.

Anyway WATCH THE FIRST ONE if you haven't GO NOW!

It might get you read more
Sep 22, 2019
Optigisa (All reviews)
Kaiji’s second season is not as good as Kaiji’s first season. While it has a stronger start than the former, and while it is littered with better animation and more charismatic characters, there is something about it that just doesn’t hold up to the first.

The concept of the arcade machine is intriguing and the tactics used in that arc are nothing short of brilliant, but it is the fact that the arc dragged on for so long and the episodic structure became about finding a way to beat the machine and the old man, that it became redundant to sit through. The first season read more
Nov 6, 2014
DeXeTer (All reviews)
Gyakkyou Burai Kaiji: Hakairoku Hen is the second season of kaiji ultimate survivor which continues from where the first season left of.


Story 8/10 The second season starts of with Kaiji wondering around japan looking for ways to earn money.
Wile he sees an familiar face Endoh from the first season which somewhat helped him with his debt problems in season 1 eg The gambling ship this time though Kaiji is kidnapped by Endoh and forced into slave labor to pay off his debt with very harsh living conditions. Now what l like to say about the first read more
Sep 28, 2011
Danno (All reviews)
This series is pretty suspenseful and will give you a similar type of enjoyment to the first series, but I gotta say it's not as good.

First off, Kaiji 2 is not a psychological battle. It also doesn't have much philosophy in it. It vaguely contains that sorta stuff, but it's really faint. I loved the first series of Kaiji so much for the constant risks, trust, betrayal, scams, elaborate schemes, exposure of human emotions, putting human character into question, and Tonegawa's philosophical speeches. Kaiji 2 doesn't really have such concepts in it. Both of his gambles are pretty much won simply with logic and read more
Sep 21, 2011
Sangaz (All reviews)
Preliminary
This will not be much of a review. I'm going to go against the previous two reviews, and I'll make this very quick.


This season of Kaiji is actually quite terrible. It's basically just an advert for pachinko and the upcoming Kaiji live-action movie.
Now the first season of Kaiji (aside from being very good) was dragged out a little, as are most other anime, but this season is really taking the mickey.

Any tension i intially felt while watching this has completely vanished. Kaiji's chances of wininng are like watching someone with bipolar, up, down, up, down... every single episode, just so they can stretch the series read more
Nov 3, 2012
platformerbg (All reviews)
I take it that the people who are going to watch this have already watched the first season. I am going to try to base my review on that. So basically we once again meet with Kaiji. As always he is broke. He once again is put to a test. The first part of the series concentrates in a another place (that I won't mention so there aren't any spoilers), but basically he has to gamble once more. To be honest the reason I think this season is better is since Kaiji has become more and more of a hero. Even though the read more
Feb 7, 2018
Rage-The-Dragoon (All reviews)
Tension and Tedious are 2 completely different things!
and it's clear Kaiji season 2 feels there is no distinction between the two.
Unlike season 1 this addition just drags...and drags...and drags! on and on and on.

Everything Else in the show is perfectly fine. the score is intense, the animation is crips clean, the voice acting is solid. but the single deathblow season 2 has is it's TERRIBLE dragged out pacing. it's not that noticeable in the first half of the season but it really begins to show during the second half.

And this is where the Tension vs Tedious bit comes into play. The big final gamble of read more
Oct 21, 2012
calculusman (All reviews)
(This review is only helpful if you have seen the first season)

I am writing this review to give people the perspective of someone whose favorite anime of all-time is Kaiji, yet was severely disappointed in Hairoku Hen. While Kaiji was a fast-paced rollercoaster, Hairoku Hen is the teacup ride at Disney Land. It's unfair to to compare the second season to the first- usually. In Kaiji's case however I deem it necessary.

The first arc of Hairoku Hen is excellent, and had my hopes soaring high for the rest of the season. The pace was fast, the art is still Kaiji art so it's awesome, and read more
Dec 15, 2011
ifaistos (All reviews)
Hi,

The story that surrounds this anime is awesome. Truth and the meaning of life is in continues battle with those things that most people believe that make us different from animals.
If u don't want or tired just to watch anime for fun , you must surely watch this.
Just try to keep up with the script meanings and try to search inside your heart/brain and think what will u do in the same place of Kaijis. ( main hero)

U will definitely win some things after watching this.
arigato.
Dec 4, 2018
Dr_Kon (All reviews)
The 2nd season of Kaiji is not as impressive as the first season. It still has some of the same elements that made the first season so successful and so addicting, yet it falls short in other areas. The story continues from the events that took place at the end of season 1. The first arc is decent. The second and final arc is sluggish and it becomes apparent that it is forcefully dragged out to fill 26 episodes. The lack of strong antagonists in this second season as well as the lack of philosophical elements by "villains" to question hero's actions are some of read more
Mar 26, 2020
Hawkeye- (All reviews)
Kaiji is an amazing show and i would reccomend it to any one who loves a good thriller.

But season 2 is lackluster in my opinion. It's a step down from the first season and by a step down i mean like 10 steps down.

Im kind of spoiling the next few lines so read at your own precaution






In the beggining kaiji meets endou again and hoping to get another shot for a big win but he doesent know that endou doesen't arrange those kinds of things anymore since the guy who worked for Hyoudou got fired( i dont remember his name). He gets send to read more
Feb 4, 2018
Shadowsca (All reviews)
To keep it brief:
The first season of Kaiji was a fantastic gambling anime, with the exception of the bridge crossing, but the character driven drama made even that lull in the tactical aspect of the anime enjoyable.

However, this season went a bit overboard with how slow some games are drawn out for, in particular, Kaiji vs the Bog goes on for an excruciatingly long number of episodes, and debatably it's long enough to diffuse tension, which is the opposite of the goal.

Another recurring problem was the narrator and characters repeating some phrase upwards of three times for emphasis. Though this in itself read more
Mar 3, 2020
Euphemius (All reviews)
(Since it would be useless to write a different review for the second season, I just copied the review for the first season here. I only have to say that I find the first season a little better, despite the fact that the art of the second is superior).

Kaiji is the perfect anime if you are looking for something about gambling and that it feels realistic and crude.
Because Kaiji is not simply an anime about someone who gambles - but about how bad it can be, to be a gambler in a world full of sharks ready to bite and drown you when you're weak.

Kaiji read more
Oct 6, 2016
Eira_99 (All reviews)
NOT Spoiler free. You have been warned!

After such an amazing first season, how does the second one hold up.

We enter the second season of Kaiji to find Kaiji down on his luck. He still has a huge debt hanging over him and he spends a lot of time gambling still, trying to win as much money as possible. We then find Endou, who's complaining about his latest job, which is finding and bring in Kaiji.
Turns out it's really easy because he find Kaiji almost right away, Kaiji notices Endou and instantly starts asking to go into another survival game saying this time he knows he read more
Jun 14, 2017
claracristiane (All reviews)
Oh God, I think that Kaiji put me in so many emotions, that I can't even describe! Seriously, the history can conquer you with unthinkable ways, at first, the art isn't pleasurable, but the bad luck and some kind of miracle keeps you watching and wishing that everything goes all right.
Kaiji teachs you to never give up, to believe in friendship, and that you're more broke than you think!
It's funny, it's lovin and makes you pull all your hair from your head. I need other anime like this, please God, send me something like this!!!
I recommend it for all the people that like games, read more
May 12, 2018
Kuta1 (All reviews)
(Spoilers incoming) If you like engaging, binge-worthy, edge-of-your-seat shows, you'll love Kaiji.

Story: 8/10. I found the motivations for Kaiji in this season to be stronger than those in Season 1, and it really helped establish Kaiji's character a bit more in this season while making all the risks he took seem organic and believable. There was an unbelievable sense of catharsis watching the show, perhaps one of the strongest I've felt in watching any sports anime (I consider Kaiji comparable to other anime of the sports genre despite gambling not being a sport persay). The story's nothing deep (win money and escape forced labor), but read more
Apr 5, 2018
Kqver (All reviews)
My first review on this site so i am going to make it short. (Zawa)


I was all aboard the first season of kaiji that i binged watch it in about two days so I had high expectations for this season as well. It started off well and I really enjoyed it up until later on in the series on the second arc. i wont spoil anything but it dragged on way longer than it needed to. it was like the story board artist gave up and just rinse and repeat the same premise of the last episodes until it ended. I was ready to read more