Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Da Yu Hai Tang


Alternative Titles

English: Big Fish & Begonia
Synonyms: Da Hai, Big Fish & Chinese Flowering Crabapple
Japanese: 大鱼海棠

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 8, 2016
Producers: Enlight Pictures
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: B&T
Source: Original
Duration: 1 hr. 40 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.861 (scored by 1,403 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #7452
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3214
Members: 11,114
Favorites: 36

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 6, 2017
Muuu (All reviews)
I made an account on here just to write a review for this, since no one else has! This is such a beautiful movie. In my opinion (and I know not many will agree with me but whatever), this by far surpasses any Ghibli movies, as well as Kimi no na wa. Of course there were a few things it could have done better, but honestly, everything was too superb for me to notice many flaws at all.

Art: 10/10. Literally so gorgeous. The vibrant colors and scenery were incredibly majestic and stunning, and the whole time I felt completely immersed. Not to mention, all of read more
Jul 13, 2017
Kuroko-chan (All reviews)
I recently watched Da Yu Hai Tang, without expecting too much from it.

It looked like an ordinary average anime, but it was surprisingly good.

At the beggining I thought it was good, I enjoyed, but then it began to be more and more interesting by the passing of the minutes.

The anime had a lot of suspense and a lot of emotional scenes.

Why I think the anime is really good?

1.Story - The story was very well made, not the usual boring story like in almost all anime, it's something different, and this is a good thing.

2.Art - The art wasn't quite a masterpiece, but it was good read more
Feb 7, 2017
PettankoFTW (All reviews)
*This review contains minor spoilers for the sake of humour*

China strikes again!
But seriously, there are more and more Chinese animations that are coming out lately and managed to capture an overseas audience which is pretty interesting to see to say the least. So we really should find a better one word representation of this because “Chinese Cartoons” is 1 word too many for my mouth. That aside, let’s actually get on with the review.

Sound: 10
We are going to start with sound because ear-gasms are apparently a thing. The music and sound effects are really well done and are used perfectly; melding together the read more
Jul 10, 2017
Scotlette (All reviews)
Finally watched this movie after I lost the name a year ago and found it again last week. I got to know about it because it's a collaboration btwn a Chinese studio and the Korean studio that made Korra.

The art and animation is next level revolutionary. The character designs, flora and fauna, elements, music, voices and everything visual are like endless orgasm for your eyes. You can see the Korra and Ghibli influences in it. I loved it. BUT it was a real real pity - the entire film happened too fast, it was one tragedy to another in seconds, too many characters that read more
Feb 8, 2017
8hachiman (All reviews)
yes for some the Chinese is going to throw you off a little bit but other than that the movie is on par in animation with Ghibli movies and Kimi no na wa, garden of words etc. The story was a bit weak but many supernatural storylines tend to have such effect.

ART (10/10): one word stunning. You will be totally mesmerised by the level of detailing and the vibrant colours. The amount of work put in the art is completely visible in the incredible visual sequences. At some points you can notice CGI being used but the animators did manage to meld it in quite read more
Aug 19, 2017
Moihaha (All reviews)
OVERALL RATING : 1, PATHETIC.

Hi, this is a very negative review of Big Fish and Begonia.
I'm only writing this because I seem to disagree with all the other reviews, so a different point of view might be interesting to read.
Keep in mind that this is a conversation, please do not randomly get offended.
So, here is why not only did I not like Big Fish and Begonia, but this movie actually made me seriously angry :



STORY AND CHARACTER : 3, POOR.

The plot is a generic seemingly harmless come of age story about a strong girl who thinks out of the box and follows her read more
Jun 11, 2017
chevybow (All reviews)
(Minor spoilers in this review)


Da Yu Hai Tang is an okay movie. Unfortunately, that's all that can be said about this movie and it is not one to leave a lasting impression.


The movie starts in a fantasty-like setting where we meet our main character, our main character's best friend, and the main character's family and other random people in this fantasy society. In order to fully become an adult, at the age of 16 they must undergo an arbitrary task of going to the human world as a... red fish.. and then come back after a week and then they get to be called read more
May 30, 2017
Niveen_Sleem (All reviews)
It took me almost a year to realize that this title is not Japanese but Chinese. The realization hit me just when I was preparing to watch it. I thought,"A Chinese anime movie? Why not! This is gonna be interesting." I had my doubts. I also had my hopes. But it all stabilized when the story ha started. Trust me! This movie is worth it.

For all the lovers of mythical worlds and magic, this is a very good choice. It's not even on earth to begin with. It's about sacrifice and noble feelings. The magnificence of the animation adds to read more
Jun 18, 2017
rxquiem (All reviews)
Overall, I found the movie to be a bit slow and boring, and I was more sold on the b-plot than the main story. Conflicts/plot points could've been brought out more, as the viewer I felt very little suspense.

The visuals and sound fell flat for me too. I sorta felt like I was just floating through, not really engaged. I really can not find any artistic value in this.

For me, what I enjoyed about the movie was the believable characters and the moral/thematic takeaways. I'll be forgetting everything else. The story overall and the ending stood out, but the experience could've been made a lot read more
May 24, 2017
kiawe (All reviews)
that was so damn beautiful

the story was well done and very emotional. you have this magical mythological setting and explore how it interacts with human reality. there were some loose ends and there couldve been so much more but alas movie time is limited and it only made the world they built feel so much bigger
as i already said this was beautiful. but not just the stunning art, i was also very captured by the sound.
i usually dont bother or notice anything about the sound but here it was absolutely amazing. the music (both instrumental and vocal), the animal sounds (both backround and from the read more