Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kaikan Phrase


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Sensual Phrase
Japanese: 快感 フレーズ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 44
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 20, 1999 to Mar 25, 2000
Premiered: Spring 1999
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Studio Hibari
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.521 (scored by 2,814 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #15492
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3617
Members: 8,994
Favorites: 105

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 23, 2009
KWabbit (All reviews)
Since I had just finished watching Kaikan Phrase, I thought I'd do a little review on it.
I came across this anime while updating the Kaikan Phrase manga entry, I immeadiatly added it to my plan to watch list since I had liked the manga so much.
The story is very simple, the band Lucifer tries to make it to the top of the music charts while various people try to stop their journey to the top.
I was disappointed to say the least but enough about that, onto the good points:

The other members of the band (besides Sakuya), get a lot more screen time and character development, read more
Jun 22, 2008
2gud2btru (All reviews)
I still have a "hang-over" over Nana so I was browsing for some animes thats relevantly similar to it. Came across Kaikan Phrase but had a dout coz its quite old. But I somehow ended up watching it and have no regrets at all.

The story started of typically. A little bit slow but as it progresses you'll find yourself hooked. There's a lot of character development that would make one kind of attached to each band member. It was focused more on the band, on have they struggled, how they developed they're relationship to each other and how they overcame the obstacles read more
Sep 3, 2016
kay-love (All reviews)
I just finished this anime AND manga so everything is really fresh. I have to say I enjoyed both the anime and manga but the anime is much more different than the manga. They totally go off script and change a lot in the anime. Personally , i prefer the manga. I usually prefer anime to manga so that is huge for me to say.

Anime- focuses more on the journey of the band rather than the relationship of the main manga characters. I think hey did this to try and divert from the really adult themes the manga has. 1997, so that should tell you read more
Nov 24, 2013
arielphf (All reviews)
I enjoyed the manga for this very much, though it did have some significant weak points, the adult themes and boldness of the storyline made up for a lot of shortcomings. Unfortunately, the anime production removed the one redeeming feature of the story completely!

The artwork is very dated, for something produced in the 90's, it looks like something from the 70's, and while they give us a lot of background on the other members of the bands, they water all of it down! This manga is really ONLY interesting because it's racy and because of the very titillating relationship between the characters. read more
Sep 29, 2009
Sapphire86 (All reviews)
Kaikan phrase is quite the squeaky clean anime, although it is adapted from Mayu Shinjou’s manga and those familiar with her works would expect an amount of smut and ecchi-ness but in contrast this anime has everything but those steamy elements.

The story starts off with making the band; each character is introduced with their set of problems as they try to become professionals. Whilst the band is discovering itself at the grass-roots level we’re frequently made to listen to their sounds, composed of catchy tunes Midnight Crow and Datenshi Blue (which are sang by the real-life Lucifer band – clever of the producers to read more
Dec 6, 2017
Chinomi-san (All reviews)
Ah, just skimming through the screenshots of this anime gives you the nostalgia surrounding that age-old dream and idea: if you believe in yourself and work hard enough, you can achieve anything you set your mind to. If you’re not too old to root along for a small band raising to the roof, “Kaikan Phrase” might be up your alley.

I can’t quite remember why I put this on my list. I think it was recommended to me by someone when I mentioned I hadn’t watched much music anime. Truth be told, if you notice the aesthetics, it’s not much to look at. The anime was read more
May 31, 2010
harness_light (All reviews)
Preliminary
kaikan phrase calls to your inner musician, it gives a different view on music in anime series, this is an older anime more directed in a rock and roll genre of music unlike classical as an example of Nodame Cantabile or an idol anime like kirarin revolution, for an old anime the sound and art style if great. so i must say kaikan phrase is a good anime.
May 4, 2017
Potatogirrrl (All reviews)
The reason why I wanted to write a review on this anime is because it has only a few and people might want to hear more opinions. As it is an old anime, Kaikan Phrase is not so well-known. Yes, the animation might not be at it's best, yes there is no HD version and the sound is not perfect but this anime has the charm most old anime have.
I have began reading the manga just recently and for those who look for something similar, you might be disappointed because this anime is not focused on romance even if it includes some. I honestly read more
Mar 11, 2011
BlackBell6 (All reviews)
In short, 'Kaikan Phrase' is about a band 'Lucifer' that strives to get famous. 'Kaikan Phrase' starts with Santa and Yuki quitting their old band and starting a new one.That isn't so easy if you want to make a wonderful band.
In this anime there are beautiful drawings, Lucifer's songs are great, Sakuya's voice is outstanding. Every member of 'Lucifer' has their own unique character, especially that mysterious Sakuya Ookouchi, but even he who seemed a very cold guy at the beginning, is able to fall in love.
Dec 27, 2010
Dinora (All reviews)
Preliminary
read the manga before I watched this anime, and based on what I thought of the manga, the show is very different. Thinking about how smutty the manga is, the anime contains surprisingly little romance, even though there certainly is some.

I was a bit sceptic about the art at first. I didn't really like the art in the manga either, so it might not be a surprise that I wasn't fond of it. Though, after a while I started to get used to it and then it was just amazing. The music is better than I expected, and I found myself really enjoying listening read more
Nov 25, 2009
linyka (All reviews)
Preliminary
I first read the manga which I enjoyed and then I accidentally stumbled on the anime. The difference shocked me. It focused more on the characters and the making of the band. Until Aine came into the picture I actually really liked it.
The thing I liked about the manga is that you can create the music of the band to you're liking in you're head, so in the anime you really have to like the music to think they're amazing. It's an old anime, quite long with 44 episodes, and the tech part is very old, a little hard for the eyes.
After Aine was read more
Jan 14, 2011
StrawberryGlass (All reviews)
Kaikan Phrase is one of my favorite MANGAS, but as for the anime it could have been better. To read the manga and then watch the anime, I was dissopointed. The first half of the anime is all about the band, who they are (but not their lives), how they get together. Truthfully, I was not intrested in them at all. I wanted to know more about Aine and Sakuya. What was happening with them. They threw in peices of the other band members stories too. I would have liked to have side stories about the other memebers too, because as much as I loved read more
Feb 25, 2013
cookieminx (All reviews)
Honestly I began watching the anime of after having read and fell in love with the manga. And I think it because of the order of them, that I couldn't't give the anime a higher mark than a 7. I began watching in December but after 18 eps I felt as if I was forcing to watch each I found these ones quite repetitive and found myself being easily distracted by other thing and I left it for over 2 months before telling myself I had to finish the rest. And I was hooked! 26 eps in under a day and yes I went read more
Nov 18, 2010
r0anne07 (All reviews)
I was reading through some recommendations for a good manga online and saw the manga at first, read through it before and was planning on reading it again since I had a lot of chills and giggles throughout the manga and I didn't even know that there was an anime for this not right after I went and look in this site. Anime wise it was good but left through a lot of good parts from the manga and they never really finished the anime too. I was hoping for some continuation but regardless I was a little disappointed on how it turned out.