Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

No.6


Alternative Titles

English: No. 6
Synonyms: Number Six, Number 6, No. Six
Japanese: NO.6[ナンバー・シックス]

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 11
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 8, 2011 to Sep 16, 2011
Premiered: Summer 2011
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:15 (JST)
Producers: Aniplex, Dentsu, Kodansha, Fuji TV
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Bones
Source: Novel
Genres: Action, Sci-Fi
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.761 (scored by 84,769 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #9332
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #283
Members: 159,622
Favorites: 4,436

Reviews

rachel-chanx3
Sep 24, 2011
No.6 is a captivating anime and I can honestly say that after having just watched it twice through. But then again, everyone has different tastes and this just may not be your cup of tea. Even so, it couldn’t hurt to try a sip, could it?

NOTE: For my sake, I’m writing Nezumi, as Nezumi, and not “Rat” like in the subs, and Shion instead of Sion, like the MAL character page.

Story – 8/10. No.6 is a utopia, there is no poverty, there are no conflicts, there are no problems. You will live happily and peacefully within these safe walls, and you will wear this read more
I found this review Helpful
Funnyguts
Sep 15, 2011
Wow, that was painful. Please, anyone reading this, don't bother with this anime. Go pick up a translation of the novels or the manga. I've only read brief summaries of the novel, but those summaries were enough to let me know how good of a show this could have been, and just how far BONES had to go out of its way to make the No. 6 anime a complete trainwreck.

The first three episodes of the show were really interesting. Not fantastic, but enough to get me excited. There's a strong sense of mystery pervading the first episode: Why is this kid being pursued? read more
I found this review Helpful
Hazegurl
Oct 31, 2011
Had so much potential but was wasted. When I saw the first episode I fell in love with the characters and became very interested in the story. I was so glad this wasn't one of those animes where you had to watch up until episode 4 or 5 before something good happens. It started right out with some action and character development.

Watching the next batch of episodes had me hooked because there was so many things going on with Shion and Nezumi, both apart and together, plus the background of No. 6 and how it got the way it is. The horrible acts committed by read more
I found this review Helpful
Argentchan
Jul 29, 2011
Seemed to be lacking in reviews, so decided for me to write my own.
Firstly, although only four episodes in, there are some definite Shonen Ai hints. We still have some more episodes to go before it is confirmed, but it is most definitely on the cards. So do not watch if you aren't into that kind of thing. If not, do try this, it makes for interesting character (and comical) interaction and relationship. (Sometimes even married couple like)

Now onto the main story, set in the near future in a Dystopia. (Google is your friend) Which follows Sion and Nezumi(Rat)'s story that investigates the mysteries of read more
I found this review Helpful
CD209
Apr 14, 2013
The story of no. 6 is set in a post apocalyptic earth, where humans are divided into 6 cities, and the one that is focused on is number 6, hence the title. So far, so good right? We have a story that occurs outside of a high school for once. Throw a few dystopian elements in, and it immediately looks like something worth watching. Not to mention, no. 6 is animated by studio Bones, the people behind FMA: Brotherhood. So why do I not enjoy this nearly as much as similar animes?

Let"s take a closer look.

Story: 7/10

Just a fair warning, this is not an anime read more
I found this review Helpful
TimChan
Sep 11, 2011
Firstly, No. 6 is very homotastic. It`s a fact. But to anyone who may be discouraged by the not-very-subtle homosexuality, I advise that you keep watching. Whether or not you like the overt man-love that erupts between Nezumi and Sion (who, oddly, resemble a certain pair of characters from D.Gray Man who get a lot of Yaoi attention as well), getting past it will reveal an intriguing, thought-provoking plot. Given, it is just like any utopian anime in concept - Nuclear War, bla bla bla, Utopia that turns out to not be Utopia. Yet, No. 6 does not suffer from read more
I found this review Helpful
animegirl12182
Jul 10, 2011
All right, I realize I've only seen one episode, but it isn't often that I get this excited about an anime. One episode and I'm completely taken in by it. I'm incredibly interested in this world that has been created and in the two boys, Shion and Nezumi.

The art is lovely and my initial impression is the same that I had for Eden of the East. It just has that feel to it.

Anyway, only one episode in, I don't know much about the story or where it's going, but it looks promising. Extremely promising. I think read more
I found this review Helpful
shizumisan
Dec 29, 2014
No.6 is probably one of my favorite stories of all time. It's so well written and so inspiring that when I started to watch the anime I had such high hopes especially after reading a few of the light novel volumes as well as the manga, however I was a bit disappointed in the outcome. I wouldn't say that the anime was all that bad, it was enjoyable, the Japanese voice actors were absolutely amazing (dubbed version is horrible don't watch that) and that's what really kept me going until the very end and of course the story of Shion and Nezumi. It's very face read more
I found this review Helpful
marusamarento
Sep 25, 2011
No. 6 is probably one of the most publicised anime of the Summer 2011 season, for this reason only:

The two characters are supposedly gaybones for each other.

No. 6 is a beautifully animated series by Studio Bones, who also gave us Full Metal Alchemist and Soul Eater. It is based on a series of light novels and should be known for its literary allusions and dystopian undertones. However, though the potential for an intelligent sci-fi anime is there, it is never fully realised.

Even in the light novels the plot seems rather dodgy, indecisive on whether it wants to focus on mythology or science as a basis read more
I found this review Helpful
Mavz0r
Sep 11, 2011
Let's just start this off by saying: wow. Honestly.. just wow. I've seen 10 episodes, so I know what I'm talking about.

Story:
The story itself is okay. The thought behind it is intriguing, but the way they've told it, the way they've progressed.. it's just absolutely horrible. "best security ever" is all they discuss for 3 episodes long, and when they finally infiltrate, they are all able to walk by freely. A hallway with 30 people in, someone asks you something, you punch them in the stomach, and then are able to get away without someone noticing? Yeah. Okay.

Art and sound:
The art is read more
I found this review Helpful
Catseyes
Sep 29, 2011
I read some other reviews and found them a bit short sighted in some areas. If you are the type of person that , like many i know, watch anime in the background while doing other things and just look close when things blow up... dont bother with this one. You will miss details and not get the big picture and small subplots and it will seem boring.

Yes not much action in the middle episodes, and yes some characters on a first look might just seem filling. But if you look closer it's not so.
This isn't an action anime. It actually addresses many read more
I found this review Helpful
bitxito
Jul 16, 2015
No.6 is about a dystopian near future, where an apparently perfect city (No.6) hides a dark secret. This idea has been used in many animes, it’s nothing special. However, compared whith others, No.6 is more focused on the story and the main characters.

Nezumi and Shion are the protagonist of No.6. Nezumi is the typical character that was hurt badly and now he can’t trust anyone. In fact, he thinks that trusting someone will make him weak. There comes Shion, the innocent guy that knows nothing about what’s up outside his little world. However, he seems willing to learn about the harsh reality and confront it. read more
I found this review Helpful
YoichiMiles
Jul 24, 2011
Okay, so I've just been done watching this anime, and well... I gotta say it was okay. Nothing more actually...
There are as less as two parts of this anime I like. The beginning, and the end. Last time when I reviewed this anime were when I was done watching episode 7, and by then I realized that this anime was lacking of action and interest. between episode 4 an 8 it was very minimal action happening in this anime. The only thing I was excited about by then was when Safu was captured, and after when they started to rescuing her, I was more revealed read more
I found this review Helpful
Ukiyou
May 19, 2015
This was one of very few anime that I could definitely watch all the episodes in a row and not even feel time passing. And I will definitely watch it again sometime. Despite all the negative reviews, I felt the story flowed so nicely that as soon as the ending song started I frequently caught myself in surprise thinking "what? already?".

Main themes are contrasts, knowledge/ignorance, dreams/reality. Inside the narrative, though, there is a lot of refreshingly progressive turns. There are strong, feisty intelligent girls interested in sex, there are strong emotional relationships regardless of gender and time, there are people in sync with animals, read more
I found this review Helpful
Kumajii
Nov 16, 2014
No. 6 is an interesting dystopian future anime where the world is a curiosity and the characters are what makes the show. The concept of the future in the show is not totally new (beautiful cities with dark secrets and displaced towns on the outside of its walls) but still intriguing.

What makes the show is the main story and the characters. Off the bat, the two main characters show that a complex, turbulent but genuine relationship will form. Other characters introduced in the show are also fascinating with strange dynamics between them. I would have liked to know more about the world of the show. read more
I found this review Helpful
ggultra2764
Jul 29, 2011
The past few seasons of Noitamina titles seem to have a trend going on: have one title down-to-earth with its storyline offering good quality plotting and characterization within its 11 episode length (Hourou Musuko and Ano Hana) while the other title features a grand-scale plot which while slick in presentation, has too much within its series to properly convey a well laid-out plot that explores its world due to limited episode count (Fractale and C). The Summer 2011 season continues the trend with the grand-scale plot series coming in the form of No. 6. The series appears to be portraying a dystopian society where the read more
I found this review Helpful
Snowley
Sep 16, 2011
I'd love to give that show a good 9+. I really would. Sadly, No.6 is a prefect example of anime screwed up by a bad ending. Last 5 minutes of the show make the overall score drop by one. Still, it's a great, compelling story for those, who love drama with a piece of action.

Story:
Anime follows the story of Sion, who lives in a perfect, utopian society of city called No.6, and Nezumi, who falls the victim of authorities ruling mentioned town. Two boys join forces to discover the truth about about the city, as well as themselves.
As you can see, read more
I found this review Helpful
matic12345
Oct 26, 2015
No.6 was part of the first batch of anime I had acquired together with Noir, Kill la Kill, Attack on Titan and Another and was one that stayed unwatched for the longest but after watching it I realised waiting for this long was a grave mistake. Rarely do I come across something that manages to touch me as deeply as No.6 managed to, in its short runtime of eleven episodes.

The story takes place in the future after wars have ravaged most of the earth’s surface and now people live in a few city-states which are built on the only habitable pieces of land left. We read more
I found this review Helpful
ItsukiTakada98
Jul 1, 2016
No.6 is a work of art. an anime that I was hooked onto, watched the whole thing in a day. I was watching till the end, I couldn't stop. if your into sci-fi or something with a bit of shounen ai, but not too much, then i'm sure this anime is going to be one you won't regret watching.

the story was a pretty interesting one for sure. but it was a good kind of interesting, the kind that would make you question things. going from a so called normal life, to something completely different. it seems as though it could be one of your typical read more
I found this review Helpful
MestariYN
Dec 16, 2014
"Let there be shining lights in the starless sky" - No. 6 ending (song)

Well, the story takes place in - *rataplan* - No. 6; an ideal and perfect City, without starvation, without wars and everything you need is right there. The only thing: the city is surrounded by walls.

Soon after the start we're introduced to one of the mains; Shion. A curious, naive young Boy who lives in no. 6. One night he lets a strange, injured boy into his house - and this boy is revealed as the second main named Nezumi (Side note: Nezumi is the jap. word for Rat).
Of course is read more
I found this review Helpful