Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Air


Alternative Titles

English: Air
Japanese: AIR

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 7, 2005 to Mar 25, 2005
Premiered: Winter 2005
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:30 (JST)
Producers: Pony Canyon, TBS, Movic
Licensors: ADV Films, Funimation
Studios: Kyoto Animation
Source: Visual novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.391 (scored by 124,445 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #21332
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #419
Members: 234,193
Favorites: 2,615

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 24, 2008
MedliSage (All reviews)
Air
~ The 1000th Summer...~

Story (9/10)
Air the story of Yukito Kunisaki, a young man carrying on his family's journey to find the "girl in the sky" and free her from a curse. Stumbling upon a sleepy coastal town, he meets three girls: Misuzu Kamio, Kana Kirishima, and Minagi Tohno. He comes to spend more and more time in the town, living at the Kamio residence with Misuzu and her adopted mother.

Some may know, others may not, but Air is based off an ero visual novel by KEY. Thus, each of the main heroines (Misuzu, Kana, and Minagi) each have different scenarios to explore. The short anime read more
Jul 28, 2007
jet2r0cks (All reviews)
If you’re into drama and supernatural anime, then Air is for you. I actually quite liked it, in fact, I like it better than Kanon 2006. There were similarities between the two, like for example, I though the two series had similar characters. Yukito was a lot like Yuichi and Misuzu’s story and predicament was a lot like Makoto’s. Air’s story is also made up of character arcs. I think Air has 3 or 4 character arcs and each arc focuses on one major character at a time.

It was a sad anime. The scene when Misuzu was crying out “mama!” has been embedded into my read more
Oct 23, 2007
Master10K (All reviews)
Air is an anime series, with a great batch of characters to go with a beautiful and heart-breaking story however it can be a difficult story for some to follow. ^_^

From the beginning it is pretty easy to tell that the show originated from an “eroge / visual novel”; with the ordinary guy coincidently meeting a girl that would change his life. Air is an anime with a very weird concept which can be pretty difficult to comprehend to begin with. The story basically follows Yukito, the male protagonist who gets to know three girls, each of them having something mysterious and peculiar about them read more
May 24, 2013
vasili101 (All reviews)
Air is a rather peculiar and unique anime to say the least, it’s indubitably one of Kyoto Animation’s most inventive and ingenious series to date. This evidently should come as no surprise since this is an adaptation of a prized and cherished visual novel made by the adept and adroit studio known as Key, a subsidiary of Visual Art’s.

Air is an anime that pertains to a select breed of anime that strive to relay a considerably greater amount of occurrences and revelations to the viewer than one would reasonably anticipate out of a mere half season series. It’s exceptionally high compared to what one of read more
Jul 2, 2013
CosmynX (All reviews)
To say the least, Air is definitely one of the more unique anime made by Kyoto Animation. Air is based off one of Key’s better known visual novels. However, compared to the other Key adaptations made by KyoAni, Air strives to do a lot more, in quite a few ways.

Like I’ve said, even with its limited half-season length, Air certainly doesn’t lack content, with quite a complex plot. And seriously, the bare-bones ideas behind Air are fantastic – extremely thought-provoking and intriguing. In all honesty, Air certainly could have become a masterpiece, in all dimensions.

Unfortunately, Air strives to achieve a little bit too much. read more
Aug 10, 2008
Drew013 (All reviews)
When I was told by one of my friends that everybody should see Air at least once in their lifetimes because it was so good, how could I refuse. This was a person I trusted and who introduced me to Ghost In The Shell. WOW.. Wasn't he wrong. A lot of people have given Air rave reviews, but I found it to be boring and at times, down right annoying.

I found the story slow, repetitive and predictable. The major "Twists" could be seen from a mile away. The best parts of the story were the short and sweet subplots and flashbacks which I must admit, read more
Jun 24, 2009
JesuOtaku_ (All reviews)
Let me start off by saying that I can be known for despising moe with the pure unbridled passion of a thousand blazing suns. BUT! I thought it only fair to explain why I hate it with a review of possibly the best show that moe has to offer up. “So, why the bile, JesuOtaku, what’s wrong with the heartwarming moe story?” you may ask. You may not have asked that nicely, but whatever.

Well, before I get into that, I should probably praise all the things Air does right that make it by far my favorite moe title. Don’t get too excited, that’s like read more
Sep 17, 2008
Splitter (All reviews)
Air was the first of the Key / Kyoto Animation series and in my opinion, it's the one that has left the most indelible mark. Running on an ethereal kind of magical realism and raw human emotion, it is a roller coaster for the heart that, even three years later, I can't bear to forget.

Air is about a young girl named Misuzu Kamio, who meets a drifter named Yukito on the first day of summer. Misuzu wants to make Yukito her friend and so she offers to let him stay at her place with her and her mother, Haruko. Yukito reluctantly takes advantage of her read more
Mar 1, 2008
game8910 (All reviews)
Air was the very first anime from the amazing due Key/Kyoto Animation, and it was definitely one of the best romance/drama animes that you can find out there.

Story: I'm not gonna lie, this story made no sense to me, I watched all the episodes and was left thinking WTF IM SO CONFUSED? but after rewatching it I slowly began to understand it more. The tragedy of Misuzu and the whole theme of flying and freedom and destiny was pretty cool and the story ended up being an enjoyable one despite the complexity behind it.

Art: OMG...Air has to be THE best looking anime I have ever read more
Dec 30, 2011
kkslider5552000 (All reviews)
Oh boy, I'm not gonna be popular after this, meethinks. I saw the japanese version, btw.

Well, I think you can immediately tell what I thought about this and downvoted me respectively. Cool, whatevs. But I really did not like this series...mostly. Haven't seen anything else from this series, I believe it's based on some visual novels or whatever. I don't know, but these 13 episodes were ulitmately not a good experience by themselves at least.

There is technically an overall story to all of this. It's a shame it's far too vague and pointlessly cionfusing in an attempt to be deep. I mostly get what they read more
Jul 6, 2010
5camp (All reviews)
The prob­lem with cri­tiquing Air is that the many reas­ons I have for not lik­ing it are also reas­ons why oth­ers do like it. A small example of this would be the extent this show went to show how imma­ture Mis­uzu was. It went to quite ridicu­lous extremes. The sum­mer diary, the teddy dino­saurs, the ‘will you play with me’, right up to the point when she cut her hair, she could have just as eas­ily been 6 years old and I wouldn’t have bat­ted an eye­lid. But that’s not really cri­ti­cism, is it. It’s just some­thing I didn’t like. It’s like cri­ti­ciz­ing Hanamaru Kinder­garden read more
Aug 13, 2007
lchoister (All reviews)
Depending on what stage you are in your life or what epiphanies or experiences you have gone through, I think affects the way you understand and view things. And from where I stand today, I have to say, I really liked Air.

The story was very good and it flowed at a continuous speed so that was good. The art was nice too although the characters did look very cartoonish at times because their eyes were like 3/4 of the size of their face and it did bother me a little bit that all these young girls had heaving chests. Minor details I read more
Sep 25, 2008
Retro8bit (All reviews)
Going into this anime at first, I wasn't really sure as to what to expect. Upon first look this may seem like your typical "boy meets a bunch of women---perverseness ensues." Trust me though, this anime is far from that.

The story revolves around the legend of "the girl in the sky," who is said to carry the entire world's burdens. Enter Misuzu Kamio, a typical little girl that likes dinosaurs and lives with her mom in a quiet little town, but who may also have some sort of connection to the legend. She lives mostly a solitude life in her town, that is read more
Mar 23, 2009
Credulous (All reviews)
Why is this anime rated a 4 by me? Did it have an interesting plot? Did it even have a plot to begin with? Air is an anime that has recieved much praise from many people and I just have to say; it must be me who is in the wrong in thinking this anime is below mediocre, it must be me right?

When I first started watching Air I had rather high expectations and you know what? They were shattered right off the bat. The first episode did not deliver the way I had thought it would, the only thing it delievered was good animation read more
Jun 29, 2010
Moonlith (All reviews)
The 1000th Summer sure was one of dramatic events, intriguing people and gorgeous landscapes.

That pretty much sums up the three greatest aspects of AIR, yet another anime that'd been on my personal to watch - list for years before I actually got down to it. Better late than never, as is once again proven in this case.

I was rather sceptical at first when I began watching the show, despite my initial belief I'd like it since, you know, I'd planned on watching it in the first place. My fears were reinforced as what I was bombarded with during the first few episodes were things I've read more
Nov 16, 2014
EpicSawce (All reviews)
In a short summary, Air tries to do too much in it's limited time and flops. Air forces a complex plot on the viewer that doesn't fit well, which leads to its downfall.

Air's story starts out pretty simple, but soon takes some emotional turns with characters we've barely met. The logical choice would be for our MC to leave or ignore these girls who need help, but he becomes ever so close into figuring out his mother's tale. 1 cour was not enough to fill even 1 route from the VN and in turn, leaves the anime viewer read more
May 14, 2009
Isaristh (All reviews)
Air, unfortunatly, was the worst anime I've ever watched. It had alot of potential, but in the end it took a severe swerve onto the wtf-highway.

Air is about Yukito Kunisaki, a young man who travels looking for a woman his mother had told him about in a story. On his travels, he meets Misuzu Kamio. The two become good friends, but a disease bed-rids Misuzu and leaves her fighting for her life.

Now, up until that part, everything in the anime had been good, all the makings for a great ending. Until of course, as you'll see, it turned for the worst. As Misuzu read more
Dec 6, 2014
Blec (All reviews)
Key is famous for creating lovable characters that you come to like, and then ripping your heart with feels. If you know anything about Key than you probably have heard of Clannad, Kanon and Air. Each of them are harems (one guy goes after several different girls and eventually ends up with one of them), and usually each heroine is given their own subplot. What makes Key better than 90% of these type of narratives is all of them usually amount to something; whether it is an overarching theme (Kanon) or an effective way to lead into something more (like Clannad After read more
Nov 24, 2006
June (All reviews)
If you'd like to see my full review than leave a comment on my profile.

Glimpse:
Storyline: I tried so hard to follow the story and where it was trying to take me. Maybe if I was familiar with the game, but I'm not and the same could be said for many of the viewers out there. The story was simple enough and quite beautifully laid out for about the first half of the series, then it took a spiraling nose-dive into complete confusion. There was a side story set in feudal times that seemed very interesting but didn't fully connect with main storyline, as did a read more
Aug 31, 2008
TsuruyaSonozaki (All reviews)
I believe to be the most "pure" anime out there. It has such a softness to it, that when you watch it you can almost feel the softest silk sliding across your fingers. It's very gentle, but yet not a really cutesy anime. All of the characters are very sweet and loveable, making it very hard to find a favorite character. It's got a very touching storyline, although it is quite sad. It's a very beautiful sadness though. One that everyone would cry at, but yet it's so gorgeous.
It's not hard to get attatched to everyone in it. They all have something about them that read more