Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kokurikozaka kara


Alternative Titles

English: From Up on Poppy Hill
Synonyms: Coquelicot-zaka kara, Kokuriko-saka kara, Kokuriko-zaka kara, Coquelicot Saka kara
Japanese: コクリコ坂から

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 16, 2011
Licensors: GKIDS
Studios: Studio Ghibli
Source: Manga
Duration: 1 hr. 35 min.
Rating: G - All Ages

Statistics

Score: 7.961 (scored by 44,866 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #6152
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1217
Members: 82,210
Favorites: 412

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 22, 2012
Beatnik (All reviews)
Well that's two lacklustre Ghibli movies under Goro's belt. On one hand I can understand Hayao supporting his son in his career, yet on the other hand this blatant form of nepotism is doing nothing but showing that the Miyazaki magic will disappear when he does.

Goro doesn't deserve to be making Ghibli movies just yet. Maybe gaining more experience doing other things would prepare him for that special of roles, but instead what we're left with is his experimentations and learning process stamped with the Ghibli logo. It's diluting the brand. His two films aren't even pandering to mainstream audiences; that’s read more
Sep 18, 2011
Rubi-Jah (All reviews)
From up on Poppy Hill, another great addition to the Ghibli Studio collection in my opinion. Let me start off by saying that what attracts me to to any work associated with Hayao Miyazaki is the element of magic, creative settings and unforgettable characters. Even Tales of EarthSea, directed by Goro Miyazaki (same director for this movie) had some of these elements...however, you wont necessarily find that when you watch From up on Poppy Hill.

Story 8/10

The story is about family, love and determination. I found that each of these elements were strongly portrayed throughout movie by the two main characters and in the end read more
Nov 10, 2013
tehnominator (All reviews)
Miyazaki Goro's sophomore attempt at directing proves that he can stand apart from his legendary father, but perhaps he is still walking in the shadow of the behemoth Studio Ghibli. Yet his recent work does not back down in its fight to earn a place in their legacy.

From Up on Poppy Hill gives us the standard we expect from a Ghibli film: beautiful art, consistent and vibrant animation complementing stories and characters with either a whole lot of heart or charm and sometimes both. But while Miyazaki makes all the right steps, he has a long way to go to give us something that is read more
Oct 8, 2013
totorolover33 (All reviews)
When people hear the words 'Studio Ghibli,' many have come to expect a masterpiece. This is both a blessing and a curse; whilst this does mean that more people watch these (usually pretty amazing) films, it also means that people can mistake 'imperfect' for 'bad.'

I can't speak for everyone, but I actually really enjoyed From Up on Poppy Hill. The characters were likeable - not particularly in-depth or rich, but likeable - and the quirky supporting cast were always there to pick up any slack. In fact, I would say that the supporting cast is one of my favourites from a Ghibli film so read more
Jan 21, 2012
ClaudeDante (All reviews)
Kokurikozaka Kara is not only Studio Ghibli's newest film. It is, in my opinion, the worst film they have made so far.

Our story begins with Komatsuzaki Umi, a girl living in a coastal town in 1960s Japan. Every morning, she rises a pair of flags which can be seen from the sea. Without spoiling anything, I must admit the reason why she does it is pretty tear-jerking.

What isn't tear-jerking, however, is the story in general. I've never seen such a horribly put-together story. The characters are absolutely forgettable, and the script is horrendous. I was shocked when I realised how many inconcistencies and plotholes plague read more
Jan 29, 2014
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Well, we began Studio Ghibli month with their first film and now, as it draws to a close, let's take a look at one of their most recent films. From up on Poppy Hill was written by Miyazaki Hayao and Niwa Keiko with direction by Miyazaki Goro... Wait, the same director as Studio Ghibli's only bad film, Tales from Earthsea? In fact, Niwa Keiko was partially responsible for writing that travesty too... Maybe they won't completely fail this time? I mean, Miyazaki Hayao is involved in this one and he does have a history of making films that are, at the very least, decent. read more
Aug 24, 2017
Major_Gilbert (All reviews)
This is my first ever review, so bare with me...

From up on Poppy Hill is an anime which I think deserved much more than how it was perceived by the audience. For me, it was one of the best films I ever watched as a Ghibli Film. I always waited for the day that a school anime would be released by Studio Ghibli! And they've done it by making this beautiful and heart-warming one.

The film has a quote which is my favorite one from all Ghibli Films:
"Destroy the old and you destroy you own memory of the past. Don't you care about the read more
Jan 4, 2013
movoning (All reviews)
Hmmmm....again, it doesn't make sense. I tend to open with this line a lot.

Let's try a catchier opening line: this movie approached the characters and plot almost existentially (and yes, like borrowing the ideas of existentialism).

This is clearly one of my favorites from Studio Ghibli. Perhaps I have a bad way of judging things, or I'm just seeing things differently from how most people see them, because I do not think this movie has any execution flaw. Yes, yes, I like Goro's father's works, but not all of them. As for Goro's,I don't remember Earthsea much, but I remember other studio ghibli read more
Mar 24, 2014
AnnoKano (All reviews)
Studio Ghibli will always be one of the most highly regarded and the most critically acclaimed animation studios in the world. Such is their success that almost every film they have produced has been something great, and many of them masterpieces. There are so many things they do well- their animation is fantastic, the characters are memorable, the stories are great. They seem to do everything fantastically well. However there is one thing which has always bothered me slightly about Studio Ghibli; almost every film (with perhaps one exception) they've produced has been made primarily for children. Now there is nothing wrong with making read more
May 25, 2019
AnimeBW (All reviews)
From Up on Poppy Hill is a deceptively difficult film to wrap your head around, for a story and production that appear so plain and homespun on the surface. A combined directorial effort by Hayao Miyazaki and his son Goro, the end result ends up feeling more like an Isao Takahata interpretation of your average slice-of-life anime. On the one hand, it’s easily the least ambitious film in the Ghibli oeuvre, but on the other, there’s a lot more going on in the subtext and theming than is immediately apparent. It’s kind of dull, but also kind of interesting, kind of underwhelming but also rather read more
Sep 27, 2013
Meg-nyan (All reviews)
From Up on Poppy Hill was directed by Goro Miyazaki, Hayao Miyazaki's son. I was pretty interested to see how much of Hayao's legacy he could carry on. This movie looked very promising, but it was simple. The outcome wasn't exactly what I expected, and this goes as a bad and good way.
Story: 8/10
The main plot for this movie is about two students: Shun and Umi. They have a story of family, love, and willpower that is so simple yet so sweet. To be quite honest, that's the word that really describes this movie the best: simple. Unlike past Ghibli movies, From Up read more
Apr 4, 2018
godofmankind (All reviews)
[STORY: 7/10]
This is one of the tamest Ghibli movies that is more slice-of-life than anything. This movie has an interesting concept, but not a very unique one, as forbidden love between two main characters has been done many times before. The ending feels incomplete as well, leaving us with desire to see what happened next, but in a bad way.

[ART: 9/10]
While this movie does have beautiful Ghibli animation, it feels like they held back a bit. Nothing is visually mind-blowing like in other titles. This may be in part because of its slice-of-life nature, but even so, it doesn't quite meet the expectations of a read more
Aug 4, 2014
NeverKnowsBest26 (All reviews)
If nothing else Goro Miyazaki’s sophomore directorial effort, From Up on Poppy Hill (or Kokurikozaka kara) is an improvement from his less-than-impressive debut work, Tales of Earthsea. It’s a much smaller, more modest movie with a simple story, but a better fit for the unseasoned director. It’s a comfortable viewing experience, a gentle coming-of-age story that also works well as a period-piece of early-1960s Japan. It’s a story about looking optimistically towards the future, while remembering to pay homage to the past. Yet, with this said, the movie still feels like it is lacking something, a certain uncategorized magic that flows through Miyazaki Senior’s movies. read more
Feb 8, 2015
EvergreenOrchid (All reviews)
From up on Poppy Hill has made itself an independent film that doesn't compare to any other Studio Ghibli films in the past. Before watching this, I was worried that it would be a copy for 'Whisper of the Heart', a romance film from Studio Ghibli that I thoroughly enjoyed myself. But this film is worlds apart from it and shines as a unique and enjoyable experience for all ages. I love how there is a deep plot that doesn't just focus on the fact that these two love each other forever, there are some trials that they have to face in order to truly read more
Jul 30, 2018
boyoungsi (All reviews)
This is the 3rd time i watch Ghibli film, and IMHO this is a masterpiece. Well i admit that sometimes i can't understand their expression clearly, for example when they are in doubtful situation, their face doesn't show much/drastic change. On the other hand this show bring a deep impact for young generation to always have faith in yourself (WITHOUT WHINING) in order to achieve your dream/ fulfill your mission.

art and sound 10
it brings me to old era, nostalgia

story 10
The story is wide, but the main focus is self development. This is heartwarming and realistic, especially when it shows the dorm life.

character 10
i like read more
Aug 21, 2012
hammerinpeace (All reviews)
My favorite part of this film is the setting, in fact, I'd have to say it's my favorite setting in a Ghibli movie so far (followed closely by "Totoro's" countryside). The little 1960's costal town "Poppy Hill" is set in is so adorable and picturesque, with beautiful backgrounds painted in rich colors. Studio Ghibli once again does a good job of evoking that nostalgic feel you often get from their movies.

Characters were okay. Both main characters were hard working, a trait that everyone loves in a protagonist. However, they were a little too perfect. Hayao Miyazaki, who wrote the screenplay for "Poppy read more
Feb 10, 2018
attempt1 (All reviews)
This is a solid slice of life romance movie, however it's nothing special. This is Goro Miyazaki's second film he has directed, this thankfully is a significant improvement from the critically slammed Tales of Earthsea, although From Up On Poppy Hill isn't as good as some of Studio Ghibli's better films.

This movie is about exploring your family heritage, which are shown really well. There are multiple scenes where Umi is thinking about her dad and how much he means to her, like during a dream sequence when she sees him again, or how everyday she raises the sea flags. These scenes show how much Umi's read more
Aug 20, 2016
Nadimi (All reviews)
As much as I love and adore anime, I wouldn't really call myself a Studio Ghibli fan. On the contrary, I'm more of an anti-Ghibli kind of gal, so to speak. Before you stop reading my review or call me a lunatic, however, I would like to point out that I did watch over a dozen Ghibli films before coming to this conclusion. Although most people would like to argue that every single Ghibli piece is a masterpiece, I beg to differ. Out of all the films produced by this studio which I have seen, there were only two that I really liked and only read more
Aug 19, 2016
chrissy_poo_too (All reviews)
The later day Ghibli movies. So much COMING OF AGE DRAMA. I liked this more than I thought I would considering it's not directed by either of Ghibli's heavy hitters. I've been watching the Ghibli movies in reverse order and surprisingly I'd put this above The Wind Rises. It's definitely better than Marnie as well. Princess Kaguya...we'll see when I rewatch them in a decade or so. I know I shouldn't compare; every film is a delicate unique snowflake that deserves to be judged on it's own merits. So what are Poppy Hill's merits?

Beautiful Backgrounds: The messy interior of the clubhouse makes me rage with read more
Nov 14, 2013
pageprophet (All reviews)
I don’t understand why this Studio Ghibli film is considered mediocre by those who are used to the studio’s works, maybe because this is more of a Slice of Life anime. It lacks the fantastical elements of other Ghibli films. But I don’t think that’s a good enough reason to dismiss it as mediocre. In fact, From Up on Poppy Hill has a storytelling style that, as far as I’ve seen, hasn’t been done by Miyazaki before.

The story has two interweaving plotlines -- the personal lives of Umi and Shun and the seemingly controversial account of the school’s clubhouse. These two stories alternately develop, and read more