Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Cowboy Bebop


Alternative Titles

English: Cowboy Bebop
Japanese: カウボーイビバップ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 3, 1998 to Apr 24, 1999
Premiered: Spring 1998
Broadcast: Saturdays at 01:00 (JST)
Producers: Bandai Visual
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.811 (scored by 298,816 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #242
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #33
Members: 561,582
Favorites: 32,885

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 24, 2008
TheLlama (All reviews)
People who know me know that I'm not a fan of episodic anime series unless they're either one season (12-14 episodes) long or a slice of life series. Why? They have a tendency to get boring, or repetitive. But all rules and preferences have exceptions. You know what? Cowboy Bebop is that exception.

The story is set in a space western setting - a genre and setting I'm loving more and more for each show I watch that falls under the genre. We follow two bounty hunters, Spike and Jet, who own a ship called the Bebop. They travel the Solar system, chasing wanted criminals to read more
Jul 10, 2013
Polyphemus (All reviews)
Cowboy Bebop is one of those series that is just impossible to criticize. Not because it has no flaws, but because it has rabid fans who will defend it to the death. It has obtained the mythical “classic armor,” which is an abhorrent carte blanche, bestowed upon only the most overrated of anime, that is used to automatically defend against any sort of legitimate criticism. Cowboy Bebop certainly has good qualities, and it is relevant in how it influenced western perception of anime, but it wasn't quite groundbreaking or revolutionary in and of itself. You could argue that its audiovisuals were in fact groundbreaking, but read more
Jan 30, 2009
TheCriticsClub (All reviews)
Only a few anime series or movies could be considered true classics, and one of the most notable shows to fall into this category is iconic not just for its style, design and animation, but also for the depth of its characters and its music.

That anime is Cowboy Bebop.

Story

Cowboy Bebop is told as a series of standalone episodes, each of which is only really connected to one another by the characters, with very few of them directly following on from one another. This method of storytelling is now termed as “episodic”, and while the format is now commonplace in anime, this series set the standard read more
Jan 5, 2014
DeusAnima (All reviews)
Cowboy Bebop was one of the first anime that truly impressed me.
One of the first anime that convinced me the anime genre as a whole had something going for it, that anime has qualities that separate it from other forms of entertainment.
It is a show that has withstood the test of time and is often viewed as a masterpiece by many. With such popularity and praise there is bound to be a group of the opposite extreme that dislike the show. Now I bear in my mind that although this group is a minority their points are valid. As a reviewer I look at read more
Jun 15, 2011
xm0123 (All reviews)
Cowboy Bebop was originally an anime series created by Shinichiro Watanabe in 1998. It consists of 26 episodes, a mini-sode, and a theatrical movie. It was released in America in 2001, and is one of the few anime franchises to be more successful in North America than in its native Japan. I have seen the 26 tv episodes and the movie. I already know what a lot of you are doing right now after glancing at the numerical score I gave; you're hitting up the comment box on my profile and writing these exact words:

"Fuck you! Cowboy Bebop is a classic! You're not allowed to read more
Nov 7, 2006
Xinil (All reviews)
Cowboy Bebop is an episodic series. By episodic, I mean that one episode doesn't necessarily lead or follow the next one. With that being said, don't expect a lot of "plot" in this series. You watch Cowboy Bebop for the characters, plain and simple. Spike, Faye, Jet, Ed, Ein are what make this anime arguably one of the most memorable series ever produced. The music is awesome (especially if you're a fan of Jazz), the animation is top notch (considering when the series came out), and the enjoyment value is second to none.

While a lot of people want that "similar episode" feel, if you're the read more
Apr 14, 2008
jaymez333 (All reviews)
The most overhyped and overrated anime of all time in my opinion. The first 20 or so episodes are pretty much random bounty hunting episodes then near the end of the series they try to throw in some ridiculous plot involving a "Syndicate". The animation and art was subpar, the sound and music were very nice though. Overall Cowboy Bebop is disappointing and very much a forgettable series. If you want to see a good series from Cowboy Bebop's director Shinichiro Watanabe check out Samurai Champloo
Jun 25, 2011
therustbelt (All reviews)
Cowboy Bebop has something that the anime world has seem to have forgotten in a coinpurse somewhere: balls.

I don't mean just any kind of balls. I mean huge, sweaty, hairy testicles that swing back and forth like wrecking balls at the sheer hint of thigh movement. The atom-slicing power of these balls could level Detroit in a single blow. I'm not talking about the steroid ravaged, "mom where's the protein" balls of TTGL or G Gundam either. Those are anime you put on right after you inject yourself with bull-shark testosterone and deadlift 440 lbs. No, the balls Cowboy Bebop slaps on the table are read more
Jul 28, 2016
CodenameComma (All reviews)
Preliminary
So, I know almost everyone loves this show to death, but honestly I in no way can understand the hype. Cowboy Bebop is, probably, the worst anime I have ever seen in my life.

Story - 1
First of all, there is no story. The show is episodic, which isn't always a bad thing, but Cowboy Bebop does each individual episode's story so poorly. Every episode basically goes the same way. The crew catches a cheap bounty showing how "cool" they are. Then, one of the members meets some suspicious stranger, who, surprise, ends up having a bounty on their head. As the episode moves on, we read more
Oct 3, 2010
blushjoy (All reviews)
Cowboy Bebop is, in effect, an episodic, slice of life sort of series revolving around our Space Cowboys (and girls) Spike, Jet, Faye and Ed. This review is here to tackle some points about the series I feel are worth mentioning, as I know it's all been said before.

Now Cowboy Bebop has it all; great characters with good backstories, smooth animation, amazing music and lots of humor. So why don't I love it? Quite simply, Cowboy Bebop was a frustrating experience for me! I watched the series on and off over a couple of months, far longer than it normally takes for me to finish read more
May 27, 2014
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
All things considered, there’s nothing quite like it when you come off an anime and realize how much it has built itself as this important piece of art that has since transcended its ever-present influence on other mediums. This particular show, named Cowboy Bebop, definitely lived up the legacy it deserves of being the pinnacle of late ’90s anime that would influence a wide variety of anime leading up to the new millennium. Even with all that has been all said and done, that’s not to say that Cowboy Bebop has its fair share of hiccups.

But before I get into that, it is important to read more
Apr 20, 2010
kajia (All reviews)
"Cowboy Bebop" reeks. It really does. It reeks of originality, it reeks of attitude, but most of all, it reeks of perfection.

I'm not gonna bother writing about how cool the main protagonist Spike Spiegel is, or how colourful the rest of the cast are - those are established facts and have been discussed to death already, so I'm gonna write about what makes "Cowboy Bebop" different instead. Almost everything about it is unusual. It's a clash of a huge number of often contradicting styles that, on paper, looks like disasters waiting to happen. However, the reality is that "Cowboy Bebop" takes everything in its stride read more
Jun 3, 2007
jupiterjazz (All reviews)
Story, Character, and Enjoyment: 10/10 Drama Llama?
Cowboy Bebop is probably the most amazing anime I have had the privilege of watching. Even now, seven years after watching it for the first time I am having difficulty putting it into words. What is so unique about it is how the episodes don't link together, but instead mainly focus on a character or two. Director Shinichiro Watanabe did such an amazing job flushing out the characters whether the current episode shows them living their day-by-day life in the present, or delving into a certain characters unique past it really makes the Cowboy Bebop universe seem tangible. read more
Mar 7, 2013
Ibelucas (All reviews)
I was scared to touch this anime. Despite the reviews, despite my friend's sage advice, despite everything, I resisted for months. I didn't want to dive into something that showed only on Adult Swim at 2 in the morning on weekdays. It didn't seem like the kind of show I wanted to watch. I want to see the latest and greatest, the anime that grab the headlines, that are here and now, that are modern and are visually appealing. Cowboy Bebop didn't seem to me like it fit into any category I ever liked either. Western styled mixed with space drama? How can that even read more
Jul 20, 2016
themegamancave (All reviews)
"Well here’s another great moment in the legend of Spike, famous bounty hunter and dog walker."
-Spike Spiegel

Due to my increasingly robust backlog I rarely take the opportunity to rewatch an anime. For the sake of Cowboy Bebop, one of my few critically acclaimed series, I decided to make an exception. My re-analysis was sparked by a conversation I had recently with a friend, in which she asked me what I loved so much about the series. For some reason, I couldn't rattle off a list or even a few distinct reasons as to why I hold the series in such high regard. This led me read more
Aug 19, 2010
gwho (All reviews)
I hear so often from ppl saying Cowboy Bebop is the "absolute best" anime ever made. maybe 10 years ago, but Cowboy Bebop is soooo far from that title now. So my post here will be blatantly contrasted from this point of view to compensate, rather than being more of a middle ground review that i otherwise might have written.

I think most ppl are still inflating the ratings on this series due to it being a landmark or a breakthrough. it can hardly be argued to keep it in that position after so may great other animes have come out. Take Samurai Champloo alone, which read more
Jul 19, 2015
shehrozeameen (All reviews)
At its core, Cowboy Bebop is the story of Spike Spiegal, Jets Black, Fay Valentines, Edward, Ion, Vicious, and Julia. But that's where the whole anime, in itself, drives a whole lot more in its 26 episodes. It leads us through a universe somewhere around 2080s space - I'm not sure, because in one episode one of the characters died in 2071 - where we still have the planets of the Milky Way, but because of the presence of orbital gates and space travelling and colonization, all the planets are now in themselves environments with interactive stories to tell. And yes, a lot of stories read more
Jul 12, 2015
showandAG (All reviews)
Cowboy Bebop... widely considered as a masterpiece. I personally thought it was good, but I would have trouble placing it at masterpiece status.

I decided to watch Cowboy Bebop because it was done by Shinichiro Watanabe, who also did Samurai Champloo, which is one of my all time favorites. If you watched Champloo, Bebop is similar in that both follow an episodic format, where there is some kind of a story or plot, but the story itself is not as important as the journey. In Champloo, this was the search for the sunflower samurai. I guess in Bebop the main plot focus could be considered Spikes read more
Nov 11, 2014
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

Today I will look at what is probably the most universally well received anime by non-otaku and casual viewers. It is well known that "film snobs" don't have the same taste as average film goers. A film snob will say Citizen Kane or Tokyo Story is the best movie of all time whereas an average viewer will generally choose something like The Godfather or The Shawshank Redemption. With anime it is the same way. If Legend of the Galactic Heroes is the Citizen Kane of anime revered by all the elitist snobs, and all those people making a pathetic attempt to "prove" that they are read more
Jun 24, 2008
Venneh (All reviews)
Title: Cowboy Bebop

Manga, Anime: Cowboy Bebop has two manga incarnations to its name. The first, with the same title as the show, is a manga adaptation of the anime, with story by Hajime Yamate and art by Yutaka Nanten, and ran in Kadokawa Shoten's Asuka Fantasy DX magazine from April 1998 to April 2000. The second, titled Cowboy Bebop: Shooting Star, is a retelling of the anime, done by Cain Kuga, and also ran in Asuka Fantasy DX during 1997. Both have been licensed Stateside by Tokyopop, and the release date for the third and second and final volumes for both were read more