MyAnimeList.net

Recent Reviews

Today, 12:26 AM
Ojousama no Untenshu (Manga) add
kkkkimk
Ojousama no Untenshu is a short, sweet shoujo based on forbidden love. It rotates around the concept of Sayaka, a rich, young lady from a prestigious family falling in love with her childhood friend/servant, Narutaki. However, during this era, a relationship between a "master" and "servant" is considered very taboo.

I really like this manga. It is short, light, and enough to fill my shoujo needs. It is a bit typical, but I enjoyed it, nevertheless.

The theme of the whole "rich girl falls in love with servant boy" has been overdone, but the story holds its consistency towards the end. It's really sweet, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Yesterday, 12:04 AM
Migawari Hakushaku no Bouken (Manga) add
mishi26
Honestly speaking, this was a highly enjoyable read. If you're looking for an easy-going, comedic story with some fluff, this is the perfect pick.

Just adding to the description already mentioned above - this manga is about two twins, boy and a girl. The boy, Fredrick, is a noble, working directly under the king and is entrusted as the guardian, however, circumstances lead to his twin sister replacing him at the palace with Richard as Mirielle's bodyguard. Richard and Mirielle (who is disguised as Fredrick) undergo much turmoil at the castle in Fred's stead. The story basically follows their encounters.

I think what I loved about read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 28, 2014
Hayate no Gotoku! (Manga) add
Thai777
It pains me to see so old reviews of Hayate no Gotoku! manga so I decided to write one knowingly how bad I am to express myself and how bad I am for writing. So bear with my writing. I am also sorry for all the grammars mistakes.

Before anyone comment on how I rated it in my list which is unequal to this reviews, it is because one particuliar arc was so great(which is rare for me to find something GREAT) made me keep this score. In other word my rating in the list was more feeling wise(since it is MY list) and this review read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 28, 2014
New York New York (Manga) add
MrLiannon
Initially I intended to abandon this manga because of my first impression of the characters during the first few chapters being that they(Mel and Kain) seemed too flat and I grew gradually indifferent towards Kain's impulsive and irrational character. HOWEVER, as I gave it more patience and understanding Ragawa has somehow showed time and again the blissful feeling of having someone beside you through the rough times. The journey of Kain and Mel's romance is a thrilling story in which they endeavor through tragedy and despair in the big city of New York. This manga also deals with the struggle with same-sex relationships as well read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 28, 2014
Madan no Ou to Vanadis (Manga) add
Gastrea
Due to my previous review being deleted, I am now under obligation to right another review which will hopefully not be touched in the future! As I said before, I will give my personal thoughts~
When I first picked up this LN, I was absolutely entranced by everything it had to offer! Every sentence was like a finely crafted jewel of the highest value. Every scene was like the most beautiful art piece hanging up on a wall. The innocent romance was the purest form, and made me cry when a touching moment came about. Even after multiple re-reads, it still retains every quality I described, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 28, 2014
Re:Monster (Manga) add
KoveBau
At this moment, 28th of August 2014, there are only 5 chapters of Re:monster out with english translations.

Re:Monster is a very easy and simple story. The story begins from strech due to the MC's reincarnation. From that moment the new life of the MC begins to develop its path and continues to grow on doing so.

Reasons why Re:Monster is a Strong 8:

- It's a good story, even if the plot isn't that grand or deep in the beginning.
- The MC is not a idiot. He is a logical thinker and has a quick understanding of things around his new life as a goblin.

-It contains some read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 28, 2014
Mousugu Shinu Hito (Manga) add
KoveBau
-MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS-

Mousugu Shinu Hito shows the true human nature in its purest form. a living being's will to survive no matter what, to do everything they can to not DIE.

Kominato Riku, as said in the synopsis, is your generic high school student with a liking towards videogames and therefore wanting to become a game desginer. Nothing special there, is there?

And then the ''Die Anyday'' trend of video's began to happen. And to make a short story even more short. It fucked up his life.

This harem wasn't 'kindly' built up. it is a pure forced thing and that is was I love it. little bits read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
TravisJP
For the first few volumes, I had nothing but praises for this author. Just when you think thinks are finally going to slow down story wise, it gets spun from another POV (Point of view) and retold in their eyes. For example, any random bystander that barely had any explanation actually had a deeper meaning. Impossible to predict that they'd be anything big but once revealed, you knew the author had it planned all along. I personally loved the story but there is a huge fault that I find. In a good steady, exciting pace, the protagonist builds his way up in life just to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 27, 2014
Elfen Lied (Manga) add
phs_togusa
Much like how Akira is Katsuhiro Otomo's magnum opus which has yet to be succeeded, Elfen Lied is Lyn Okamoto's magnum opus. To this day, he has yet to create something just as successful/controversial as this particular manga. Most people know of Elfen Lied through the anime adaptation produced by Arms in 2004, which wasn't exactly the best adaptation. Okay, let's not mince words here: Arms was perhaps the WORST choice to adapt Elfen Lied, especially given how many liberties were taken with the script and such. Don't even get me started on how the Japanese AND the English dubs of this show are both read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 27, 2014
Battle Royale (Manga) add
StellarAbyss
'Kill or be killed. This is how this fucking game works'.

It's more violent than your Tokyo Ghoul and much more emotional than Eren's mom being munched by a Titan. This, ladies and gentlemen is 'Battle Royale' - an original story featuring a very gruesome gladiator fight imposed by the government act, between innocent teenagers on a deserted island. One thing is for sure - Battle Royale encapsulates trust, betrayal, love, insanity, gore, fear, anxiety, despair for survival and most importantly, hope into this incredible 15 volume manga that is just incomparable with the movie.

For most of you out there, who've seen the Battle read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 27, 2014
Crimson Shell (Manga) add
phoenixgirl
I would give this a all 10 but it had the capabilities of being more than a one-shot. This one-shot had everything perfectly placed for how short it was. Excitement, betrayal, love, friendship, evilness, and at the end a very sad part that made me cry.

It's obviously done by the same author which makes me love it even more. If you love Pandora Hearts then you will love this one-shot. The art was beautiful, the character were done quickly and right. It doesn't look that much but Pandora Hearts fans! Read this one-shot! You will like it! And the plot is really good. Too read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 27, 2014
Pandora Hearts (Manga) add
phoenixgirl
Ok...I wrote 10 for everything. It's hard not too! I adore this manga...I first started reading manga Sailor Moon and that got me hooked. When I watched the Pandora Hearts anime I was; Meh...I loved the characters but my personal opinion is that they messed up the plot a bit. Too many holes. Then I read the manga and it was wonderful!

Each character has a good/ happy/ tragic backstory. The plots twists are amazing, they will surprise you. I didn't expect to really like this because surprisingly I am not fond of Victorian era. Kurshitsuji is a exception. This is a wonderful manga that read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 27, 2014
Solanin (Manga) add
Iflybees
Solanin was just another one of those manga i find at the bottom of recommendation manga that i read.
Or so I thought.
The story started off rather slow, so i thought of dropping it, thank god i didn't.
As a personal preference, i prefer shounen manga over shoujo, this being a definite exception.
The author really puts the lifes of young adults in pictures and words, it expresses all the troubles and the feelings of love lifes, unemployment and the such.

(I don't write reviews often, sorry for the half-assed-ness)
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 26, 2014
Pandora Hearts (Manga) add
Evtsynen
I'll make this review spoiler free. If there's any spoilers, I will warn you of them.

I found this manga by first watching the anime of it. The anime was wonderful even though some moments were stretched. However, the story didn't go all the way to the end and so many questions were left unanswered. This is the first manga I've ever read and so far it's been worth it.

CHARACTERS ~
I think all the characters are wonderful in each aspect and I love that they all have some story arc. They all come back at some point and are not just there for laughs for example. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 26, 2014
magico (Manga) add
greatyu
Shounen Jump has a certain credibility for always introducing manga and anime to the world which gives an everlasting impression. And Magico is no exception at all.

Written by Naoki Iwamoto, We follow Emma who is to be married to a King and the wedding gets crashed, she gets picked up by Shion who reveals that there's a force of immeasurable destruction lying within Emma that could destroy the world, and he also says that the only way to seal the magic is to follow some rituals which involves marrying him.

Story(8):It deals with magic namely there are sages and the wide variety, cool super read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 26, 2014
Stand Up! (Manga) add
ShaChan
For a while now I've been looking for something a little different. What I feel lately about shoujo manga and romantic series in general is that there's absolutely nothing new about it, all has the same plot-line-skeleton and annoying motives.

So while I was willing to give a chance to Stand Up!, I must admit I wasn't expecting more than yet another mediocre read. But I was surprised, in a good way.

The story revolves around Furuya Utaku (nicknamed Utamaru), a 172-cm-tall, big-eared, somewhat-awkward, shy fifthteen-year-old girl starting her first year in high school. She is sitting next to Harada Naoyuki, an outgoing, center-of-attention, straight-forward read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 25, 2014
Eyeshield 21 (Manga) add
Dokia
Well First off I'm not an amazing at this reviewing manga or anime thing yet so... I personally love Eyeshield 21. The story of Sena Kobayakawa wanting to be the best football player in Japan was ultimately interesting. The determination that he and the other players showed gave goose bumps and gave me shivers. The Art by Yusuke Murata was amazing. Only that quality could be expect from my favourite manga artist. He knows what he's doing. You could feel the emotion pouring off of the page You felt what the characters feel and more. It was so well done. The poses the character read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 25, 2014
Giganto Makhia (Manga) add
Malfegor
Ah, Giganto Makhia. Kentaro Miura's first original work in over two decades and ultimate proof that he did not spend his year of Berserk hiatus just lazing around, like so many people seem to accuse him of. The man obviously needed a creative break and created this very short seven chapter manga in the meantime. And you know what? Did a damn fine job with it, too.

Story - 8
Giganto Makhia is a science fiction story set a hundred million years in the future, though to be honest it feels more like a fantasy story, as you wont find any advanced technology or other elements that read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 24, 2014
Kuroshitsuji (Manga) add
phs_togusa
NOTE: I already covered the first season of Kuroshitsuji's anime series. Roughly 75% of what I said about the story/characters applies to the manga in full-force. I really don't feel like repeating myself, so if you think I didn't do the source material justice... just read my review on the first season and come back here.

When you think about it, Kuroshitsuji's anime history is quite messy. I mean, the first season started when the manga was still in relative infancy and had no idea what exactly it wanted to be, it forked off from the manga when there was no more stuff to adapt, there read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 24, 2014
LLLL (Manga) add
Fatalrain
As short as this manga is, I feel like manages to get across the story the artist was trying to get across. The characters are fun and interesting, the atmosphere is well depicted and the story is quite unique. I do wish it had ended a little differently, however the ending wasn't bad. I think most people that enjoy supernatural things, would enjoy this.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices