MyAnimeList.net

Best Voted Reviews

Oct 10, 2013
Hunter x Hunter (2011) (Anime) add
Cresherhsm
The lack of popularity surrounding Hunter x Hunter (2011) has always confused me, especially after catching up to it six months ago. For an anime that seems to do everything right, it isn't talked about a lot at a popular level. Neither has it been successful in garnering a fan base similar to that of SNK or SAO. I decided to write this review to do the show justice. If a show this good is still flying under your radar or if you are discouraged from watching this because of its "childish appearance" then reading this review is a must.

Story:
HxH is about a young read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 6, 2014
Swing Out Sisters (2014) (Anime) add
Simonian
Swing out sisters (2014) is a remake of the original swing out sisters series that, for some reason, was cancelled back in 2011 with only 1 episode ever made. This is a full hentai movie. 1 hour 20 minutes of it. That's right, you heard me. A hentai movie and in HD no less! What's that I hear you say? Overkill? No no no. This is no ordinary porn flick. This is art in its purest and primal form. From cavemen scribbling a pair of tits with a stone all the way to the modern high-tech hentai, sexuality has always been a central aspect of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 6, 2014
Kaiba (Anime) add
syshim
Perpetual love, an undying attachment. Thrusted into a desolate world, an existence stripped of its humanity. Will our hero find true love? Will he possibly find his true self in the process? Created from the longing embrace of a loved one, an unknown foe; found in a dismal world filled with fear, yet in the darkest depths, hope.

Perhaps what Kaiba does best is world building. In Kaiba, we are introduced to a ‘futuristic’ world where memories are reduced to tiny transportable chips, where people change bodies as they would a pair of clothes. What becomes of one’s value? How significant can feelings and experiences be read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 26, 2008
Higurashi no Naku Koro ni (Anime) add
Ceptryn
Watching Higurshi is like locking a group of happy people in a test chamber, only coming back to find they've hacked each other into a bloody mess. Its horrific, its shocking, and yet a part of you, cannot help but wonder, how did it happen?

The curiosity takes over... and so you repeat the experiment, knowing full well that those cute looking teenagers you just sent are going to end up as bloody pulps. But hey, at least each time they die, you're one step closer to figuring out why they died, it's all good.

Higurashi essentially places you in the role of the scientist. It divides read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 8, 2013
Aku no Hana (Manga) add
czxcjx
Let me start this review off with a miniature literature lecture. Charles Baudelaire was a crazy French poet who was an aspiring lawyer but decided to drop it all and become the archetypal struggling artist. He borrowed money extensively and spent them on booze and whores. Of course, he burnt out and died from overdrinking alcohol but he left behind a grand literary legacy. His poetry was vulgar, decadent and entirely brilliant, inspiring a movement called the Symbolist movement.

But rather than focus on Baudelaire, let’s focus on another poet called Rimbaud (Takao also reads him). Rimbaud became and avid fan of Baudelaire. He was a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 27, 2012
Oyasumi Punpun (Manga) add
voltadelphine
Oyasumi Punpun is one of the greatest coming of age stories told in any form of media. This story is a very relative tale of alienated youth riddled with heavy accuracy. The story is very well developed and is partially due to its long timeline spanning from Punpun's life in elementary school to his early 20's. It deals with many mature issues like sex and depression all told in a frank manner that is coated with a strange dark sense of humor and supreme melancholy. There is a lot going on including a couple of side stories involving people that are or were once in read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 14, 2011
Tsumiki no Ie (Anime) add
trzr23
Twelve minutes.

That’s all it takes.

You don’t need 26 episodes. You don’t need 13 episodes. Hell, you don’t even need an hour. You only need 12 minutes.

You only need 12 minutes to have one of the most absorbing, thought provoking, melancholic, bittersweet, beautiful and calm (all at the same time) moments of your life. Le Maison en Petits Cubes (The House of Small Cubes) is proof of that.

This Oscar winning short film (yes, you read right, this anime won an Academy Award in the category Best Animated Short Film in 2009) is about a grumpy old man who builds additional levels onto his home in read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 21, 2010
Oresama Teacher (Manga) add
Iwasmarching
Let me just say this about Oresama Teacher - don't read it if you're in a library. Don't read it at one am when you're supposed to be in bed. Don't read it in the computer lab during class.

No. If you're going to read Oresama Teacher, do it somewhere secluded where you can laugh your ass off like an idiot without getting in trouble.

Although the plot can sometimes feel just a wee bit confused and you sometimes want to hit yourself at how dense the characters (really just one) can be, this is definitely not a manga you want to miss reading. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2010
Zoku Natsume Yuujinchou (Anime) add
breathesunshine
I put off finishing Zoku Natsume Yuujinchou, the sequel to Natsume Yuujinchou, only because I didn't want it to end. I had really enjoyed the first season, and this one was even better.

Like it's prequel Zoku Natsume Yuujinchou has a very gentle feel to it. It's heavy focus on loneliness and longing, is evened out with cheerfulness of love and friendship that Natsume experiences not only with the youkai he encounters but with his foster parents, school friends, and other humans.

You can see Natsume growing stronger bonds with characters introduced in the first season. It's enjoyable to see the almost sibling love between Natsume and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 10, 2010
Dengeki Daisy (Manga) add
Nia9001
“No matter what happens, I’ll protect you.”

Where have I read this line? Wait. Let me think.

Oh right, from oodles of shoujo mangas I read. I remembered dropping a lot because they were a lot too similar to each other. It just differs from the art to its supporting characters and leads. There’re a lot of arcs being used over and over and over again. Hotsprings, going on field trips, getting locked in a gym storage room and whatnot.

Of course, Dengeki Daisy springs out the cliché plots at its peak.

As another fan of the shoujo genre, I am once again amused on how Motomi Kyousuke handles read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices