MyAnimeList.net

Best Voted Reviews

Dec 18, 2014
Jitsu wa Watashi wa (Manga) add
Plume1015
Normally I wouldn't recommend something that could be classified as a harem style manga (I like several but I know they aren't some people's cup of tea) but with this I am willing to make an exception.

If you like comedy in your stuff, then you owe it to yourself to check this out. As with most things the first few chapters may seem a little shaky at first but stick with it, IT'S WORTH IT!

The characters all develop very well and are highly unique and the author uses all of them hilariously. My personal favorite character in the manga is the closest thing to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 29, 2013
Slow Starter (Manga) add
lilmdawg
"Slow Starter" is a great shounen-ai series to read, especially for those who are just starting to test out the waters in this genre. It's a relaxing manga to read when you're not looking for an overwhelming amount of drama or crazy plot twists.

The plot is centered around two boys from different high schools who happen to take the same train together every morning. My favorite aspect of the series is that the author is able to make the characters and their interactions seem very realistic. The feelings between them are raw and genuine and very sweet.

With its light atmosphere and likeable characters, this is read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 11, 2014
Rikudou (Manga) add
stefeman
As always, the vultures are already reviewing and trying to kill any interest towards this series.-

To counter these underated reviews, i shall post my own opinion that favors this series.

One should notice that instead of "unneccessary shock value", this manga is flooding with hope and kindness. The kid indeed has a sad life during the start, but you can already see stuff happening for him, and as you read forward you have unexplainable desire to know what happens next in this thorny and long path of Rikudo.

As of writing these, there has already been at least 3 noteworthy characters for the story and I can't read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 21, 2015
Aria (Manga) add
_Walve_
Well, there are thousands of manga ever made, each of them has its proposal to introduce us. Some try to show us a story of overcoming, others a history of surrender. Some are complex, some are simple. They are all different, but they all are made so that you can have fun - trying to unravel the mystery, get excited - seeing that good fight, and maybe even relax - watching the daily life of someone living in a rural place . All sleeves try to fulfill its proposal, but not everyone can. Believe me, there are few manga that can meet your proposal. So, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 29, 2014
There She Is!! (Anime) add
Yesmo
I come across this anime (Well it’s on MAL so I called it anime) by accident, I had no idea what to expect from this series and then WOW, just wow. It practically fulfills all of the requirements needed to be meaningful series. This anime does not need to rely on grandiose plots or convoluted philosophical contentions to communicate anything meaningful. The characters are easy to understand and grow fond of, but are also layered and interesting and most of all it is only 5 minutes. And that anime is titled “There She is.”

“There she is!” is a Korean music animated drama, produced by SamBakZa read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jaehaerys48
These short videos are exactly what they present themselves to be - enjoyable little videos that provide historical background on the tanks in Girls und Panzer. There is no new animation for the videos - just shots from the series, diagrams of tanks, and some actual footage of tanks in action. However, as someone who enjoys reading about tanks and armoured vehicles, the information in the videos is not just accurate, but surprisingly detailed. Yukari goes over a wide variety of material, from the effectiveness of sloped armour whilst talking about Pravda's Russian tanks, to pre-war tank doctrine whilst discussing St. Gloriana's British "infantry tanks", read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 7, 2008
Vampire Hunter (Anime) add
Maur
Overall/Enjoyment:
Most games never survive the transition to another medium. They are usually universally terrible and this would be the first adaptation I've seen that I liked. I was surprised when within the first few minutes of watching I thought "hey, this doesn't completely suck..." By the end I had concluded "yeah, that wasn't bad". I'm not a huge Darkstalkers fan, but I played enough of it to think "ehhh, what the hell, why not?" I think even if I wasn't vaguely familiar with the characters I would've still enjoyed this. I watched all 4 eps in a row fairly painlessly and could've easily watched more read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 9, 2015
Digimon Adventure (Anime) add
Lil-Bird
Constantly accused of being a Pokémon rip-off, Digimon has struggled to find a big audience, particularly in the West—it doesn't help that its marketing never really took off out here. However, despite it never gaining a huge fanbase like its rival, Digimon continues to be a strong—if not struggling—franchise that still has a foothold in countries outside of Japan complete with its own loyal fanbase. So when most people think of Fox Kids or Saban Entertainment, they fondly think of either Power Rangers or Digimon (usually the first season), and not so much of the network itself. But for years, it meant risking an all-out read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 6, 2015
RahXephon (Anime) add
adrianojones
Preface (let me get this out of the way): Rahxephon certainly draws strong influences from various sources; Robert. F. Young's The Dandelion Girl, James Churchward's The Lost Continent of Mu, and most famously, Neon Genesis Evangelion. In fact, the latter's impact was evident to the point where Rahxephon was often called an "Evangelion ripoff", and while it should cry out indignantly against having such a name, there are certainly numerous parallels in presentation that almost seem as if the show was paying homage to NGE. Now, that said...

Our love for our favourite shows by no means dissipate after their credits roll, much like how read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 12, 2015
Onii-sama e... (Anime) add
DystopianLove
Amidst the blossoming shades of spring, between the pink-dressed cherry blossoms, under the sun-kissed sky, lies an all-girls-academy. Embracing the wave of the new season, starts a new school year; not just any school year, but for many attendees, their first year of high school.

As initially painted by the rose-colored imagery and setting, it is easy for one to be fooled into thinking that Onii-sama e is a series that maintains a light-hearted tone reveling in the daily lives of girls starting off their new journey as high school students financed by the usual formula of first loves, budding friendships, and fun trips to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 30, 2015
NHK ni Youkoso! (Anime) add
homeroiscool
Are you new to anime? Or are you a veteran? Well, with "NHK ni Youkoso!" it doesn't matter! This is one of those anime that you can easily get through, want more, think about it's message and wonder how such a masterpiece isn't more popular. Not only does this anime entertain it's audience with a wonderful story, a variety of characters, great sound affects and great music, but it also teaches the viewer about the difficulties of social anxiety and psychological disorders. There are only a handful of anime out there that handle such delicate subjects and shower them in read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 10, 2014
Sundome (Manga) add
stop_freud
So on the Richter scale of humanity, if 1 is the antithesis of emotion and 10 is bawling my fucking eyes out, this is probably a 9.9 because it's physically impossible to bawl your fucking eyes out. I've never read a graphic novel that made me so sad. Like, come *on*, industry. This is only porn.

That brings me to my first warning - Sundome is for all you deviants out there. If you can't deal with piss, snot, saliva, and post-climactic messes, then don't read because that makes up at least half of all the sexual content in this manga. The other 49% of it read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 19, 2015
Eureka Seven AO (Anime) add
Archaeon
Building on an existing storyline isn't an easy thing to do - especially when the ending of the original tale has a degree of finality to it. That doesn't stop people making the attempt though, and nowhere is this more prominent than in the world of fanfiction. This rather odd realm of amateur (and not-so-amateur), writers is filled with continuations, alternate retellings, character side-stories, non-canon additions, and a host of other works that reflect the fan's passion for the source material. Although they often lack the quality and direction (and sometimes the logic and common sense), of professional pieces, they're generally imaginative yarns that can read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 16, 2015
Glasslip (Anime) add
palladia
Like a light summer breeze, Glasslip, which looked to be a tranquil slice-of-life, floated onto the summer anime scene.
Like summer, many, including me, looked forward to Glasslip. I think a lot of us were weaned on the gorgeous visuals, intricate plot, and superb character development found in Nagi no Asukara, which was created by the same studio that made Glasslip. A very sparse summary and teaser video only served to increase the enthusiasm for Glasslip. What I expected was another wonderfully drawn anime with a touch of supernatural and profound character progression.
There was just one thing that was, as I would discover, incredibly erroneous in read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 11, 2015
Chihayafuru (Anime) add
TodokanaiKoi
“I hope they will fall in love with karuta. The way we did...” - Ayase Chihaya


At face value, I don’t think I would have ever watched Chihayafuru. Revolving around a card game, karuta, and being a sports anime, the show naturally checked off two boxes that I try to avoid. Sparked by the novel curiosity of how a foreign sport could be brought to life by animation, I ended up watching the anime. It was one of the best whimsical decisions I’ve made, as my prejudice could not have been any more wrong – I loved this anime. Chihayafuru is an anime that revolves around read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 10, 2015
Kokou no Hito (Manga) add
Rqt
It's a sort of coming of age story, that is to say, we watch as this young aimless boy becomes a man through the many trials and tribulations he faces, through the mountains he climbs and the people he meets. From the inception he is ostracized from those around him (largely by his own accord) who has no clear goals in life. As fate would have it, he is bullied into climbing, and in turn he develops a deep love for it. Death, betrayal, disloyalty and sacrifice follow Mori on his passage to adulthood and Kokou no Hito is able to present the harsh read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Usagi Drop (Anime) add
B-HO_BHO
SPOILERS: Minimal (I can't ruin the experience. Also, forgive my poor grammar)

To be Frank, I was skeptical about committing to watching Usagi Drop having read all the manga. Adaptations are great and all, but boy oh boy the source material (original writing) for this almost led me to drop this entirely.

Now, I can safely say I'm glad to have watched this amazing experience.

So how do I describe and score Usagi Drop? Well, this happens to be one of those shows where numbers just won't do, and an in-depth analysis is actually quite frankly overkill since it might lead to some people to never read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 9, 2015
Gunslinger Girl: Il Teatrino (Anime) add
adrianojones
To call the original Gunslinger Girl a pleasant surprise is an understatement – what began as mere curiosity gradually transitioned into genuine intrigue, as its expertly constructed main cast, thematic depth, haunting beautiful soundtrack, and breathtaking visuals made for an unexpectedly profound, and remarkable, experience. That said, the change in studios for the second season was a bit of a risky move, as the first one did such a large number of things right; and unfortunately, to call this transition rough would be to say the least. However, the series’ rich characters and engaging relationships have remained consistent, making for an experience which, at its read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 21, 2014
Otona Joshi no Anime Time (Anime) add
Satire
"With age comes wisdom, but sometimes age comes alone." - Oscar Wilde

With the passing of every year one can't help but feel nostalgic at times. As you get older, you might find yourself asking, "Where did all the time go?" or "When did I get so old?" In those moments, we often find ourselves looking back towards the past. There were moments that you felt happy and sad, content and depressed, ecstatic and lazy, full of love and full of regret. There were the soaring highs and there were the abysmal lows. There were moments when you wondered what if. Would things have turned out read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 21, 2014
Ice (Anime) add
YouMustRecover
The anime known as "ICE" is pretty much what would happen if some recent high school dropout otaku won $5,000 dollars off of a scratcher ticket and decided to use that money as his funds to accomplish his life-long dream of making an anime. This otaku spends all $5,000 to hire a group of animators. That particular group of animators is composed of five of our otaku pal's high school friends who all learned to draw from this book.

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/51166TNTG2L._SL500_AA300_.jpg

So after using all of his funds to hire animators, our hero, the otaku, realizes that he has no money left over to hire voice actors read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 10, 2014
Himouto! Umaru-chan (Manga) add
Radical-Gale
Seeing as no one has made a review for this yet i thought i would make a quick one i don't normally write reviews but this is a good manga so i though i would.

Himouto! Umaru-chan is a manga about a girl (Doma, Umaru) who leads a double life one as a very proper girl, she has amazing grades, many admirers, and is respected by every one. But as soon as she gets in to her house she turns in to a hardcore otaku shut in who plays video games, watches anime, reads manga, eats snacks, and drinks coke all day. Its a short read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 6, 2009
Clannad: After Story (Anime) add
LemonLyme
I laughed...
I cried...
I experienced something that changed my life...

In a nutshell, Clannad ~After Story~ influenced the way I will live for the rest of my life and not just in some half-assed way like any other show would. It legitimately moved me to make certain decisions, for better or for worse. In that sense, no other anime can compare, as no other anime has provided an equivalent reaction on my part.

Before you continue, you should know that Clannad ~After Story~ is a continuation of the story from Clannad and an adaptation from the original Visual Novel by KEY. Although knowledge of the first season read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 26, 2008
Higurashi no Naku Koro ni (Anime) add
Ceptryn
Watching Higurshi is like locking a group of happy people in a test chamber, only coming back to find they've hacked each other into a bloody mess. Its horrific, its shocking, and yet a part of you, cannot help but wonder, how did it happen?

The curiosity takes over... and so you repeat the experiment, knowing full well that those cute looking teenagers you just sent are going to end up as bloody pulps. But hey, at least each time they die, you're one step closer to figuring out why they died, it's all good.

Higurashi essentially places you in the role of the scientist. It divides read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 29, 2008
Hiiro no Isu (Manga) add
AuroraStar
Wow, I'm a bit amazed that no one has written a review for this yet. ^^ I didn't give the story and art a full ten because of how it's well written, yet it's not very full... It doesn't really answer all the questions I have for it and it has a big chance of being longer and better if you just add the right ideas to it; the art isn't my ideal kind of art, although it's rather plain and simple, it's the art that makes me really drawn to it. Setsu's character design and her personality and attitude on things truly do suit read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 24, 2015
JoJo's Bizarre Adventure (2012) (Anime) add
literaturenerd
Overview:

Nearly every review of JoJo 2012 praises it as a MASTERPIECE, because it represents a triumphant return for the macho manly anime of the past. I have a slightly different perspective than most critics on MAL, so unsurprisingly my conclusion was a little different as well. If I was born between 1995 and 2000 and grew up during the "sparkling kawaii desu moe" era of anime where every male protagonist is a whiny pussy, I too would be inclined to give Jojo a 10/10 out of sheer novelty alone. However, I was born in the 1980s and I actually remember the GAR days of manly read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 13, 2015
Working'!! (Anime) add
Yesmo
The second season of Working is even better than the first one. And of course my statement would be false if you’re not a fan of Aoi Yamada. To begin with, Working 2 is the continuation of Working! The original anime is about a family restaurant called Wagnaria, with a focus on its quirky employees, from the chef to the waitress even to the manager. I already make the review for the first one so I don’t want to go much into depth here, you can’t look at it. The first season left some issues, which is the development for the new annoying and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 9, 2015
Akira (Anime) add
jraspider2
Akira is a 1988 Japanese Animated film directed by Katsuhiro Otomo based on Otomo’s manga of the same name.

In the year 1988 a mysterious explosion destroys Tokyo while supposedly also causing World War III. 31 years later, in the year 2019, a new city, entitled Neo-Tokyo, is built which is in a state of constant chaos due to constant skirmishes between rival biker gangs as well as barrages of anti-government attacks carried out by various revolutionary groups. This is the stetting of Akira.

Within this setting the plot focuses on two major characters. Shotaro Kaneda, the arrogant leader of a biker gang, and his childhood friend/rival, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 22, 2015
Solanin (Manga) add
Ducat_Revel
"What now?" is the dilemma some fresh graduates experience. On the surface, the issue seems extremely trivial and somewhat privileged. The graduates who experience this must have the luxury to hesitate and question the world around them instead of just plunging headfirst into the cool and foreboding waters of society to make ends meet and survive. Which, I acknowledge, is fair criticism. However, that does not invalidate the legitimacy and emotions felt by those graduates. There is actual meat to what they contemplate over. It is a question of meaning. And it's a personal question. Feeling trapped in a dead end situation because the path read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 28, 2014
Sci-fi Harry (Anime) add
BobSamurai
To give this series a credible negative review that isnt solely based on the wimpy protagonist; Sci Fi Harry was a poorly created series. Its basic plot actually sounds quite interesting but it suffers from poor execution. It poorly translates a 2 volume manga into a 20 episode anime with loads of filler, not only in the sense of breaking away from the manga's canon, but in the sense of taking so much time to do anything. The conversations are painful to listen to due to frequent dumbfounded stares, reiteration, characters repeating each others names and more dumbfounded stares. the first 3 episodes were the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 26, 2014
Seitokai Yakuindomo (Anime) add
seanm826
"Dick-jokes the anime", these were the words that got me interested in this show, and it I couldn't describe it any better. It starts off seeming like a typical romcam/harem, but Seitokai Yakuindomo has its own unique genre of humor that sets it apart from the norm.

As a show with constant references to dildos, cum, sex, incest, boobs, panties, dicks and literally everything dirty you can honestly think of, in a show about high school girls, you would think this would be ecchi, but it's not. It's a slice of life anime with some of the most creative and unique comedy I have ever read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 29, 2014
Dragon Ball Z (Anime) add
Soul_Punisher
If anyone knows of Shounen anime Then there is No doubt
anyone would of course heard of Dragon ball Z which I'm obviously sure
most people who are reading this review have and are not hopefully sleeping under a rock.

Its One of the earliest shounen animes along side others. The show itself has probably had
one of the Biggest impact of a shounen anime I've seen in my lifetime growing up besides the likes of attack on titan, Fullmetal Alchemist and Death note and yet till this day
it has many viewers still checking it out. some have finish seeing it, some re watch it, some read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 3, 2014
Nodame Cantabile Paris Hen (Anime) add
DeusAnima
An Introduction

I remember being very hesitant to dip my toes into the josei genre due to a silly chemical called testosterone. This all changed when I watched H&C. Finally, I could watch romantic comedies where moe, fanservice, unrealistic sexual situations, and cliches were absent. By the end of H&C I was thoroughly convinced that I would never find another josei of a similar caliber. This is where Nodame Cantabile comes in. Nodame Cantabile has far exceeded my expectations and has captivated me from episode 1.

I will to the best of my abilities review the Paris Chapter in a way that will hopefully prove helpful read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 21, 2013
Haikei, Niisan-sama (Manga) add
Charcanis
A sweet, slow-paced story of two brothers and their unusual yet strangely entrancing relationship.

Haikei Niisan focuses on the story of overly-dependent Yutaka, whose fondest childhood memories were of him and his older brother, Minoru. Yutaka was always overly attached to his brother, who was something of a second parent to him. As the years pass, Yutaka's feelings for Minoru transcends that of your typical sibling relationship - and Minoru's constant absence from home leaves Yutaka forever yearning for him. How will Yutaka fare as his feelings become increasingly intimate, and what of Minoru's feelings for Yutaka? Can a love like this ever prevail?

The topic of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 20, 2011
Lock On! (Manga) add
hJ
PLOT:

After the success of oneshot, the fans expected the series to do well but there were certain things which lead to its quick cancelation.

9.9/10 WSJ series are battle manga. Either they involve fights or strong rivalries. The remaining 0.1 require something really special to become a hit. Lock ON! was rather a plain romantic comedy and lacked depth in it.

The plot turned out repetitive. Sanda kept on chasing Niko and was beaten by her every time. Later he pulled off some cool accomplishment to make Niko realize that he’s actually a cool guy. As soon as she got this impression going on, Sanada again did read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 26, 2010
Fuan no Tane (Manga) add
ultama121
Is there a monster in your closet...? What's under your bed...? What does the darkness hide...?

In a nutshell, Fuan no Tane is a compilation of common (and not so common) fears and traumatizing experiences from people in manga form. This manga illustrates how these fears have a certain grip over society and why.

There is no central story in this manga, which may come as unorthodox to some readers, but give it a chance if you have to. The purpose isn't to per se create a central story, but rather to combine many stories with a central intention. If read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 30, 2009
Mars of Destruction (Anime) add
Foggle
This is by far the anime medium's magnum opus. Mars of Destruction is the best animated movie I've seen in years, if not ever. In terms of science-fiction related media, this blows other greats such as Heinlein's works, Battlestar Galactica, and Neon Genesis Evangelion out of the water. Truly an experience I will never forget, and oh, what an experience it was!

Story: 10/10
This film is highly philosophical. I actually felt regret when the Big Bad Ancient Guy told Random Armored Cop Dude that the humans were the true invaders of Earth. This plot twist was stunning and, on the whole, thought-provoking. It was like something read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 5, 2015
Basilisk: Kouga Ninpou Chou (Anime) add
fictionmurder
Basilisk is a successful attempt to combine historical premise with supernatural/fantasy setting and to produce an original piece with elements of both genre present throughout the show. The anime centers on a fierce battle between two ninja clans, but the fight scenes do not follow sword-action as you may expect of samurai era - at this point fantasy part takes over.

The story takes place in Tokugawa period, when the retired shogun Ieyasu orders Iga and Kouga clans to fight each other, representing two of his successors and the outcome will determine next shogun. Apart that, these clans have a history of their own and seemingly read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 1, 2015
Aria the Origination (Anime) add
Agnedea
Before I begin, I'd like to take a moment and point out the fact that "Origination" is the last season of Aria, not the start. It frightens me that there are more total entries of "Origination" than "Natural" in people's lists. Even though Aria does not have a foundation story so skipping the first two seasons won't let you miss out on anything that would drastically impact the story, you don't get the full experience and development by doing so. I highly stress if you are planning to watch this to begin with "Animation", not "Origination", otherwise you'll be losing the special connection when the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 17, 2015
Diabolik Lovers (Anime) add
zombielolcats
I just marathoned this abomination (which wasn't too difficult considering each episode is under 14 min) and first of all, men: if you hate women and like to see them abused you will love this show, ladies: if you are masochists you will also love this show. If these descriptions do not fit you, you will just be vomiting your brain cells out the entire time.
From reading the summary, you would (obviously) think this story would evolve to the brilliant anime equivalent of the Mona Lisa or the Sistine Chapel but no. Let's go through this using the provided elements.

Alright, I KNOW the art is read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 12, 2014
Bokura wa Minna Kawaisou (Manga) add
stopIt
Sigh.

A manga like Bokura wa Minna Kawaisou can really mess you up. It can destroy your libido for weeks, make getting out of bed hard and going to work/school/neet-activities even harder. Overall just suck the will to live out of you. Why? We'll get into that later.

The story is not anything spectacular, in fact, in five years when I've read more this and that, I'll come back and call it slightly generic. But in a industry that thrives on re-using scenarios and ideas, you always have to have something special to succeed. Some cases it's a twist that has never been seen before (for example read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 6, 2014
Hikaru no Go (Anime) add
AdamantiumX
This is somewhat of an anomaly. If you had told me that one of my favorite series was going to be a show about people playing go, I would've laughed and told you that you clearly don't know me. Yet, here it is.

Admittedly it's been a few years since I watched Hikaru. Working in the time to rewatch a 75 episode series isn't feasible when there's other anime to watch out there. However, that doesn't matter much as I will explain below.

Let's talk about the story first:

I rated Hikaru no Go an 8 on story because I felt like while it's exceptional, the story is read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 2, 2014
Hunter x Hunter (2011) (Anime) add
Cresherhsm
The lack of popularity surrounding Hunter x Hunter (2011) has always confused me, especially after catching up to it six months ago. For an anime that seems to do everything right, it isn't talked about a lot at a popular level. Neither has it been successful in garnering a fan base similar to that of SNK or SAO. I decided to write this review to do the show justice. If a show this good is still flying under your radar or if you are discouraged from watching this because of its "childish appearance" then reading this review is a must.

Story:
HxH is about a young boy read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 28, 2013
Toriko (Manga) add
Soul_Punisher
This Review is for those who are intending on reading toriko so its About time someone gave an honest objective reason as to why someone should read the Manga without any spoilers...
So let me give you Toriko's main Pros & Cons:

Pros
+ World Building
This is where Toriko has an obvious advantage over the typical battle shounens. The sheer scale and diversity of the planet in which the story is set is awesome!.

+ Battles
The fights in Toriko highlight the "battle" in being a battle shounen. More often than not, in head to head fights there are no holds barred. Characters just don't give a flying F read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 7, 2013
Taiyou no Ie (Manga) add
luxraysrock
I honestly can't believe that this has the shoujo tag, as it's like no other in the genre that I've read, and I've made my way around the shoujo area!

Anyway, I'll cut right to the chase.

STORY: 9
I actually don't think I've spotted any cliches yet. The story seems very refreshing and original, and although I guess it does use the tragedy cliche a little bit, the characters make up for it with their realistically-portrayed emotions. Our heroine, Mao, has problems with her family, and as such is often alone. Her childhood friend who is 7 years older than her usually finds her and invites her read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 12, 2010
Berserk Prototype (Manga) add
aindah
I've only recently started reading Berserk, so I've decided to check out the Prototype. I think that anyone who enjoys reading Berserk will find this interesting and worth reading. In itself it does not stand out particularly, and it really looks like another chapter of Berserk with some differences concerning the details of the story. (There are slight defferences in the treminology, and Guts is somewhat differently drawn.)
I found it worth while because it actually shows you that a rough idea needs to be refined and thought through to bring about something as good as Berserk is. I've read some mangas that were potentially great, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 25, 2010
Pandora Hearts (Manga) add
Neiru2013
I never expected to like Pandora Hearts. I hate the Victorian era, get easily bored by mysteries, and am typically annoyed by fluffy cuteness. I much prefer violence, blood, and deep, dark storylines. And yet, I love Pandora Hearts to pieces!! I think I experience it from a different angle than many other PH fans, so I want to offer my perspective.

I love all the characters here. Really, I've never loved so many characters so much before. They all have very colorful personalities, representing most of the standard animanga archetypes but elaborating on each in unique ways. I connect with all of them very strongly. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 21, 2010
Oresama Teacher (Manga) add
Iwasmarching
Let me just say this about Oresama Teacher - don't read it if you're in a library. Don't read it at one am when you're supposed to be in bed. Don't read it in the computer lab during class.

No. If you're going to read Oresama Teacher, do it somewhere secluded where you can laugh your ass off like an idiot without getting in trouble.

Although the plot can sometimes feel just a wee bit confused and you sometimes want to hit yourself at how dense the characters (really just one) can be, this is definitely not a manga you want to miss reading. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 11, 2010
Litchi☆Hikari Club (Manga) add
LaBrosephine
First off, since you're on this manga's page you probably already know what you're getting into. If that isn't the case, I highly advise that if you have not had any experience or prior knowledge of the ero-guro (erotic grotesque) and yaoi genres to NOT READ THIS MANGA.

Yes, it is very, very explicit.

Litchi Hikari Club is an adaptation of a theatrical play of the same name that was performed at the Tokyo Grand Guignol Theatre in 1985.
(For those who do not know, the original Grand Guignol was located in Paris, France, and became infamous for it's horror-themed performances that involved large read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 5, 2009
Onanie Master Kurosawa (Manga) add
Velkan
Onani Master Kurosawa is something entirely different than what you see at first glance. If you are expecting something erotic or funny, you are looking in the wrong place. Those that can get past the synopsis and exposition will be rewarded, as when you reach the real bulk of the story you will realize just what it has to offer.

It is no secret that this manga deals with mature themes. The problem lies within the fact that it paints the wrong picture for potential readers. The focus is not to be sexually explicit. Rather, it is presented to us in a way that is very read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Beatnik
Women in prison. Ok, got your attention.

Featuring one of the most ridiculously tense and violent games of catch-ball ever, Stone Ocean is even better than part 5 of the JoJo saga. If Golden Wind was the zenith of the JoJo franchise, then Stone Ocean is the apex. Ok, they both mean the same thing but you get the idea.

Starring the daughter of the stoic, bland, yet incredibly powerful Jotaro, the story has jumped a few years to 2011, Florida, USA. Jolyne is in a 'pinch' as the Japanese love to say. She's on her way to a sprawling prison complex read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
[1] 2 3 ... 20 ... 40
Advertising     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy