MyAnimeList.net

Best Voted Reviews

Oct 10, 2013
Hunter x Hunter (2011) (Anime) add
Cresherhsm
The lack of popularity surrounding Hunter x Hunter (2011) has always confused me, especially after catching up to it six months ago. For an anime that seems to do everything right, it isn't talked about a lot at a popular level. Neither has it been successful in garnering a fan base similar to that of SNK or SAO. I decided to write this review to do the show justice. If a show this good is still flying under your radar or if you are discouraged from watching this because of its "childish appearance" then reading this review is a must.

Story:
HxH is about a young read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 6, 2014
Swing Out Sisters (2014) (Anime) add
Simonian
Swing out sisters (2014) is a remake of the original swing out sisters series that, for some reason, was cancelled back in 2011 with only 1 episode ever made. This is a full hentai movie. 1 hour 20 minutes of it. That's right, you heard me. A hentai movie and in HD no less! What's that I hear you say? Overkill? No no no. This is no ordinary porn flick. This is art in its purest and primal form. From cavemen scribbling a pair of tits with a stone all the way to the modern high-tech hentai, sexuality has always been a central aspect of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 24, 2014
Paradise Kiss (Anime) add
boberic
So there are very few anime in this world that can satisfy you completely. They give you everything you want and then some delivered in a neatly wrapped box with a bow. This anime does nothing but deliver from the very first episode up until the last few seconds of the series. But let me be frank; If you're looking for a cutesy series that sugar coats all of its drama in anime cliches then get out and don't let the door hit you on your way out. This anime is not for you! With that said let's move on.

Paradise Kiss accomplishes so many things read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 13, 2013
Song of the Long March (Manga) add
inzaratha
If you are searching for your next favorite try Song of the Long March, it is an intelligent tale of revenge and survival after a political coup set in historical China.

Song of the Long March ( aka Chouka kou) is Not your average manga or rather manhua.

Li Change is the daughter of the emperor and is raised in a way to cultivate her intelligence rather than her beauty. When her family is assassinated in a political coup by another family member, she escapes and disappears while allowing her death to be read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 6, 2013
Otoyomegatari (Manga) add
HotaruKara
There is magic all around us, you may find it in an isolated nomadic town, in a traditional ceremony, in the patterns of an embroidery or in the dancing of the natives.
This manga is all about simplicity conveyed in a subtle, mesmerizing way. It tells the stories of everyday people in Central Asia in the 19th century, focusing primarly on an unusual newlyweds couple and their families. The manga begins with 20 year girl that marries a younger groom through an arranged engagement. At first their interaction is a little awkward since there is a 8 year difference in age, but quite soon, Amira and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 6, 2014
Kaiba (Anime) add
syshim
Perpetual love, an undying attachment. Thrusted into a desolate world, an existence stripped of its humanity. Will our hero find true love? Will he possibly find his true self in the process? Created from the longing embrace of a loved one, an unknown foe; found in a dismal world filled with fear, yet in the darkest depths, hope.

Perhaps what Kaiba does best is world building. In Kaiba, we are introduced to a ‘futuristic’ world where memories are reduced to tiny transportable chips, where people change bodies as they would a pair of clothes. What becomes of one’s value? How significant can feelings and experiences be read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 26, 2008
Higurashi no Naku Koro ni (Anime) add
Ceptryn
Watching Higurshi is like locking a group of happy people in a test chamber, only coming back to find they've hacked each other into a bloody mess. Its horrific, its shocking, and yet a part of you, cannot help but wonder, how did it happen?

The curiosity takes over... and so you repeat the experiment, knowing full well that those cute looking teenagers you just sent are going to end up as bloody pulps. But hey, at least each time they die, you're one step closer to figuring out why they died, it's all good.

Higurashi essentially places you in the role of the scientist. It divides read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 23, 2013
Kingdom (Manga) add
Kvshi
So, this is the first review for me so some things may not sound as good as the ones you've seen!

The community for the Kingdom manga isn't that big at all and I hope it can expand with a bit more hype!

Story: 9/10

As you've probably read the synopsis for the Kingdom manga already, you've realized it sounds simple and not as enticing, but you're completely wrong! Kingdom completely expands then blows away those expectations you had for the manga in general. The story consists of multiple Chinese based wars and a shifts in internal politics and in which each war plays read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 8, 2013
Aku no Hana (Manga) add
czxcjx
Let me start this review off with a miniature literature lecture. Charles Baudelaire was a crazy French poet who was an aspiring lawyer but decided to drop it all and become the archetypal struggling artist. He borrowed money extensively and spent them on booze and whores. Of course, he burnt out and died from overdrinking alcohol but he left behind a grand literary legacy. His poetry was vulgar, decadent and entirely brilliant, inspiring a movement called the Symbolist movement.

But rather than focus on Baudelaire, let’s focus on another poet called Rimbaud (Takao also reads him). Rimbaud became and avid fan of Baudelaire. He was a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 27, 2012
Oyasumi Punpun (Manga) add
voltadelphine
Oyasumi Punpun is one of the greatest coming of age stories told in any form of media. This story is a very relative tale of alienated youth riddled with heavy accuracy. The story is very well developed and is partially due to its long timeline spanning from Punpun's life in elementary school to his early 20's. It deals with many mature issues like sex and depression all told in a frank manner that is coated with a strange dark sense of humor and supreme melancholy. There is a lot going on including a couple of side stories involving people that are or were once in read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices