MyAnimeList.net

Best Voted Reviews

Oct 10, 2013
Hunter x Hunter (2011) (Anime) add
Cresherhsm
The lack of popularity surrounding Hunter x Hunter (2011) has always confused me, especially after catching up to it six months ago. For an anime that seems to do everything right, it isn't talked about a lot at a popular level. Neither has it been successful in garnering a fan base similar to that of SNK or SAO. I decided to write this review to do the show justice. If a show this good is still flying under your radar or if you are discouraged from watching this because of its "childish appearance" then reading this review is a must.

Story:
HxH is about a young read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 10, 2013
Feng Shen Ji (Manga) add
tcubed
Bored one evening I saw the high rating of this manga but not many reviewers so thought I would give it a try. I can't believe this manga isn't more popular.

We'll start off with the story. The main character isn't some sort of tragic hero, he is somebody that you actually start off disliking straight from the bat. His arrogance, weakness and selfishness are somewhat irritating when compared to the other characters, this however doesn't last very long.

The protagonist doesn't suffer from some cruel fate or poor upbringing and become a hero overnight. There is a long journey ahead of him and many hardships. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 8, 2013
Aku no Hana (Manga) add
czxcjx
Let me start this review off with a miniature literature lecture. Charles Baudelaire was a crazy French poet who was an aspiring lawyer but decided to drop it all and become the archetypal struggling artist. He borrowed money extensively and spent them on booze and whores. Of course, he burnt out and died from overdrinking alcohol but he left behind a grand literary legacy. His poetry was vulgar, decadent and entirely brilliant, inspiring a movement called the Symbolist movement.

But rather than focus on Baudelaire, let’s focus on another poet called Rimbaud (Takao also reads him). Rimbaud became and avid fan of Baudelaire. He was a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 26, 2008
Higurashi no Naku Koro ni (Anime) add
Ceptryn
Watching Higurshi is like locking a group of happy people in a test chamber, only coming back to find they've hacked each other into a bloody mess. Its horrific, its shocking, and yet a part of you, cannot help but wonder, how did it happen?

The curiosity takes over... and so you repeat the experiment, knowing full well that those cute looking teenagers you just sent are going to end up as bloody pulps. But hey, at least each time they die, you're one step closer to figuring out why they died, it's all good.

Higurashi essentially places you in the role of the scientist. It divides read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 29, 2014
Hunter x Hunter (2011) (Anime) add
AdamantiumX
I wont spend a lot of time going over the premise of Hunter x Hunter. The summary on MAL already covers what I could probably say about it (without spoiling much) Thus, I'm going to cut some corners a bit to talk about why I feel you should be watching Hunter X Hunter.

So, I initially heard about Hunter x Hunter when I was looking for more works by Yoshihiro Togashi. I had just finished watching Yu Yu Hakusho (back when they showed it on Cartoon Network at 5 in the morning) and I loved that series so much that I wanted more of it. When read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 6, 2014
Swing Out Sisters (2014) (Anime) add
Simonian
Swing out sisters (2014) is a remake of the original swing out sisters series that, for some reason, was cancelled back in 2011 with only 1 episode ever made. This is a full hentai movie. 1 hour 20 minutes of it. That's right, you heard me. A hentai movie and in HD no less! What's that I hear you say? Overkill? No no no. This is no ordinary porn flick. This is art in its purest and primal form. From cavemen scribbling a pair of tits with a stone all the way to the modern high-tech hentai, sexuality has always been a central aspect of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 26, 2013
Soul Eater: Late Night Show (Anime) add
NevSly
The Soul Eater: Late Night Show episodes are nothing more than the preview of the next episode, including a tiny one minute story or characters commenting on the anime/airtime/producers etc.

For those people out there who wonder if SE: Late Night Show is important for the main story, the answer is no. See them as tiny fillers. There is no real story or character development in the episodes.

I wouldn't be surprised if these episodes were actually made for an audio cd. It's really about the conversations the characters have. The art isn't anything special.

Personally, I didnt like SE: Late Night Show that much. I don't have read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 7, 2013
Danshi Koukousei no Nichijou (Anime) add
GBKeroberos
Pros:

— Hilarious jokes and situations, in both setup and execution
— Insightful and outrageous satire of common anime tropes
— Stellar voicing and relatable, varied cast of characters
— Segment-based structure keeps things moving before jokes grow old

Cons:

— A few jokes you can see coming, a rarer few that miss the mark


Danshi Koukousei no Nichijou (from here on DKN) went far above and beyond my expectations. Playing off the all-too-common “schoolgirls and everyday life” genre, DKN is far more than the mere gender reversal it may first appear to be.

Having an all-male cast, ignoring the “moe” factor really works in the show's favor. There is likewise no unnecessary read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 6, 2013
Otoyomegatari (Manga) add
HotaruKara
There is magic all around us, you may find it in an isolated nomadic town, in a traditional ceremony, in the patterns of an embroidery or in the dancing of the natives.
This manga is all about simplicity conveyed in a subtle, mesmerizing way. It tells the stories of everyday people in Central Asia in the 19th century, focusing primarly on an unusual newlyweds couple and their families. The manga begins with 20 year girl that marries a younger groom through an arranged engagement. At first their interaction is a little awkward since there is a 8 year difference in age, but quite soon, Amira and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 3, 2012
Annarasumanara (Manga) add
TheWindWaker
Children are miraculous things. Even those born in unfortunate circumstances have the impressive power to see magic in everyday life, an ability we all lose upon entering adulthood. This naive outlook on life is something we look back upon fondly, and lament over losing as we begrudgingly walk forward into our adult lives.

But some people refuse to walk that path; they refuse to grow up.

Annarasumanara is the tale of one such person and the impact he has upon a young girl who's been forced to grow up quickly, in a realistically difficult world.

The story is a masterful weaving of the harsh realities of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices