MyAnimeList.net

Recent Reviews

Mar 2, 2015
Chihayafuru (Anime) add
UltraDoom
Do you know anything about karuta? Would you like to care about it more than any sport or game you have ever seen? Then Chihayafuru is for you. I wanted a slice of life, I thought I was getting a sports anime, I ended up with a sports slice of life comedy romance anime that completely amazed me. This anime is great, I very much want a third season and while the pacing can be a bit schizophrenic the experience is still unlike anything else I have seen. This is a suspense lovers dream! Give it a go, you'll probably be pleasantly surprised. I still read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Temere
Terrible tsundere and magical mishaps season 3. Have you ever had the feeling where you should have stopped a long time ago but you didn't and came crashing down from your peak? This is that crash.

The story for the first half seems to throw out the window what was learnt in previous seasons and go on its own trail for the good of doing nothing more than adding a new face to the already horrific harem. It does however have an evil working in the background that has been doing so for longer than the viewers realize and only now comes to light. More so read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nickholai10
Honestly this movie was pretty badly done could of been much better.Overall it was good but the story was too flat. It basically was revolution we found akito and back o the usual gimmicks.The art and everything was good for a 1990's anime.The characters well same off as the tv series nothing new.For the people who liked the tv series i recommend u watch the movie at your own risk it will leave u just like it left u at the end of the show clueless and wanting more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Bokura wa Minna Kawaisou (Anime) add
UltraDoom
This was the first anime I had ever seen after first reading the entire manga. As a result, I enjoyed it far more than I would have otherwise and now recommend always searching out a well-translated mange before watching an anime whenever possible. Its not like it is here in the West where the movie or show versions are adaptations and highly altered. So far, I have found that anime really strives to bring the manga to life and tell the story as richly and accurately as possible, with frequent nods to story and character elements that can't be covered. This was the case for read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Black Bullet (Anime) add
UltraDoom
Its awesome, go watch it.

Really though this is just high action, heartfelt fun. The sound is HORRIBLE and absolutely laughable at points but its also really good at others, the weakest point in the series by far. The art is good the story is well done and the characters are really wonderful. I highly enjoyed this anime and would love to see more progression with the characters.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Ao Haru Ride (Anime) add
UltraDoom
I've never wanted to slap a character so badly before, but Kou really needs it. This show is a bit of a mixed bag, you get wonderful characters being idiots to each other in what should really be a beautiful story. Ao Haru Ride sits somewhere between Say I Love You and Kimi ni Todoke. Its darker than Kimi ni Todoke but not quite to the Say I Love You level. Ultimately, its probably a bit more realistic and maybe that's why its harder to take. I think the story went where it needed to, but the missed opportunities of the characters themselves leaves a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Another (Anime) add
UltraDoom
Ugh. Didn't live up to the hype. If you liked this you might like Deadman Wonderland as well, they are fairly similar but equally hard to watch. Deadman Wonderland was hard to watch because it was brutal, Another was hard to watch because it was a bit of a trainwreck. The art is good, the sound (not music though) was great and highly engaging, but the story... It starts so good and ends, well you'll have to decide on your own. I thought it was an affront to the story and characters, but your mileage will vary. This show suffers a bit from the Akame read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
UltraDoom
After reading countless gleaming reviews on this anime I decided to give it a whirl with zero expectations. Maybe I was saving it because it looked to be too far out of my comfort zone, maybe I didn't want something emotional, I don't know but it sure hit home when I watched it. I had just had a lifelong friend I called brother sent to the hospital for heart failure...in another country. Then I watched Anohana. I could only take 2 or 3 episodes at a time tops. I never outright sobbed but I was filled with both joy and agony in a way I read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Aldnoah.Zero (Anime) add
UltraDoom
I am writing this review based on the potential this series has now that the second season is out. My ratings would have been much lower otherwise. The main characters are a bit stoic, and the western-style storytelling leaves a lot to be desired. However, IF, and that's a very big IF, this show takes a better direction in the second season it would redeem the first entirely. On its own merits, the first season is a real bore to get into, then it picks up considerably leading to a potentially unsatisfying conclusion depending on your preference. Approach this one with caution, its great but read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
AKB0048: Next Stage (Anime) add
UltraDoom
I feel like this season had much more fan service, which I really hate. It prevents me from recommending shows to people that otherwise would enjoy them a lot. At any rate, the story is still as insane as ever, the characters develop well and its highly satisfying to watch. I feel that the story gets particularly muddled when you have to remember several names of characters: who they represent, who they want to represent, who they should be representing, and ultimately their real name and nicknames. I enjoyed this season as much as the first and highly recommend the series.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
AKB0048 (Anime) add
UltraDoom
I liked this way more than I should have. The art was fantastic, I found myself having favorite songs very quickly (Beginner anyone?!?!). The story and real band that this is extremely loosely based on is completely insane and thoroughly enjoyable. The character development is excellent and the mashup of genres happening within this show is really a marvel to witness. Its funny, touching, encouraging and really well done, give it a try!
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Recorder (Anime) add
PhKarall
I seriously hope that most of Ryu Kato´s short films have not been reviewed at all simply because there is not much to review. If it is because nobody bothers to watch them, it would be pretty sad, because it´s quite imposing how an abstract little work of art is perceived as something amazing by some people, while others simply ask themselves what the hell they just watched.

If you haven´t watched anything like this before, give it a try and see what Ryu Kato does to you. The worst thing that can happen is that you feel like you wasted a few minutes of your read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Fellika
Story:
I'm writing this review because I literally just finished reading the whole manga and it's one of the most tear jerking manga you will find. The story is so different and so surreal and it's so hard to comprehend the shoes that the main character is trying to withhold. She's suffering daily and daily with the love of her life and simply the life that she has while holding her lover's hand. It's amazing how this one author can make so many tragedies while making it beautiful at the same time.
Art:
Reminded me of Bokura ga ita's art. Didn't really bother me.. I read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Neon Genesis Evangelion (Anime) add
Otaku-Slayer
Humans are complicated. Each one of us is unique. Each one of us is different, so different that to completely understand another person is impossible. The problem is that we want to be understood, and we want to understand. We try to connect but we end up hurting each other. We end up suffering pain, rejection and hatred. Yet we are stubborn, despite all that we still can't bear to be alone, so if we keep searching for a way to fill our empty heats, we might just find love, we might just find happiness.

Neon Genesis Evangelion is one of the most popular read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Usagi Drop (Anime) add
B-HO_BHO
SPOILERS: Minimal (I can't ruin the experience).

To be Frank, I was skeptical about committing to watching Usagi Drop having read all the manga. Adaptations are great and all, but boy oh boy the source material (original writing) for this almost led me to drop this entirely.

Now, I can safely say I'm glad to have watched this amazing experience.

So how do I describe and score Usagi Drop? Well, this happens to be one of those shows where numbers just won't do, and an in-depth analysis is actually quite frankly overkill since it might lead to some people to never watch this show. Ever. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Shitcom (Anime) add
Ovetastic
This....

This is a pure work of art.

The amount of emotions, character development and art all packed into 1 minute is completely insane. This is by far the best minute I have ever spent in my life. I truly believe this is a masterpiece, and anybody who hasn't watched this must watch ASAP.

Story: 10/10

Don't let the title fool you, this is a work of art. The title is what brings out the intense comedy and romance. I have never witnessed such an intense joyride of emotions packed into 1 minute. The plot is incredibly original and I'm sure you have seen nothing like it.

Art: 10/10

The read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Shingeki no Kyojin (Anime) add
yuuujinchou
Before I start, I just want to say that the manga is much better; it goes much deeper, and despite the things that are being dragged on It is much more successful in terms of plot twists and character development. I won’t compare the two too much, but I have to say that the time limit and the pointless dramatic scenes are what ruined the series the most.

If you are the type of person that watches anime purely for enjoyment, then by all means go ahead and watch. If you are the type of experimented watcher that analyzes everything, then you probably will be read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
aggronian
Oh my, was this anime amazing!
This review will be not only for season one but for season 2 as well since they both are the same main story.
The story is amazing, everything you hear, see or think probably has relevance to the story in some way and also probably has some deep backstory. There is a constant dark tone throughout the entire anime which makes every moment suspenseful and also makes you want to keep watching after an episode is done. Trust me I've watched this anime several times and i still cant stop. Although the dark tone, the writers were able to loosen things read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Rising x Rydeen (Manga) add
Gudodama
Rising X Rydeen is on the surface, your stereotypical Main character want's to be the best, he's given lame, but somehow powerful(in a way) powers, creates a harem. Probably the main difference about this and other super power genre is that the main character really has a ridiculously stupid power. There are also shortcomings in this manga, when you finish, you'll feel somehow unfulfilled. You'll have more questions than answers which would be fine if the author didn't decide to leave it basically in a cliffhanger situation. Other than that, most of it is somewhat enjoyable.

Story: 6 - It's your common main read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Clannad: After Story (Anime) add
ObjectiveOpinion
Before you read this review, there are two things you should know.

1) It is only going to add fuel to the fire for those who don’t like Clannad: After Story and infuriate those who do. Read at your own risk.
2)This review isn’t telling you to not watch Clannad or After Story. On the contrary; if you have ever considered it, go watch it. Form your own opinion. This is mine.

Still here? Great.

Ill start off with what I did like about it, so that I don’t come across as a jerk right off the bat. Oh and dont worry; Im not going to tell you Clannad: read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Diabolik Lovers (Anime) add
Acacia93
Overall I enjoyed this anime.

The episodes are short, which annoyed me to no end. But they were entertaining, each ending just at the right point to pull me into the next.

I found the story to be quite gripping, while not usually a fan of anything where the female lead is used as someone's chew toy, no pun intended, I found myself gripped by her story. There was very little to the female lead but I connected with her story and her need to know why.

Looking forward to season 2, too see if they can keep the sequel as gripping.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Xowlreed
After watching this special I was simply speech-less.

I was like "How did the producers of Cowboy Bebop manage to cool down before the cancellation of the main anime and make such an unique special episode?" I think this was the special that surprised me the most among all specials I have watched. This because, in my opinion, the producers couldn't have handled the (almost) cancellation of the main anime better. They just thought "Is our anime being cancelled? You know what? We'll just make an episode here starting with "Hey guys, Nothing lasts forever. All things must come to an end. This is the so read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Samurai Champloo (Anime) add
PhKarall
Samurai Champloo: Where hip hop culture and kickass samurai sword fighting clashes. Not only is that just as cool as it sounds, it is just one of many aspects that makes this show a true masterpiece!

In a nutshell, Samurai Champloo follows a young girl named Fuu, accompanied by swordsmen Mugen and Jin, on a epic journey through Japan´s edo period in search of the samurai who smells of sun flowers. It is basically a road movie that features many things you don´t come across in anime that often.

After i first watched the show in 2007, it topped my all time favourite anime list and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Hunter x Hunter (2011) (Anime) add
KeyboardKafe
There becomes a point in your life where you think, at least for one specific, genre, category, demographic, you name it, your expectations have been met. You come to see as an avid anime fan that if it is Shonen, ESPECIALLY if it runs in Shonen Jump, then it was been done before and will probably be done again. But this time… I’m not sure I can say that anymore. There probably never has been a journey so fulfilling, so empowering and profound as the journey of Hunter x Hunter. This was not an adventure for the characters. This was an adventure for the viewers.

PLOT:

Hunter read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Tonari no Atashi (Manga) add
soniaball03
Even though i haven't finished the story i find it kinda disappointing. The characters are dumb, i didn't really like them. I couldn't feel close to them. The story is not your "cliché" shojo but it was weird. I couldn't understand why the characters were doing some things, and the creativity was poor, The art was OK.
But it's not so bad and if you like those kind of story it's a good catch.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Shitcom (Anime) add
Midorikami
I seriously don't have words to describe such a shit. Moreover, half of the name already reflects the idea of the "Anime". Is about shit and it is a crap. I hate people who troll saying that this pathetic "anime" is good. So, I can say that is the only "anime" which I voted 1. Worst minute of my life. Thanks for reading, but it is the truth about Shitcom
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Death Note (Anime) add
iRhyso
Death Note is the first anime that I have ever watched. At the time, I did not consider myself to be a fan of anime in the slightest, and it was my girlfriend that convinced me to give this show a chance. It did not disappoint, and it has changed my view on anime completely.

I will try my best to keep this review spoiler free, not revealing any major plot points, which could ultimately ruin the show for those yet to watch it.

I personally feel that the concept of Death Note is unlike anything I had seen created before, giving a good understanding to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Romantic19
As one concludes Clannad: After Story, they are presented with another "alternate world" OVA (such as the one that ended the first season of the original Clannad anime) in the form of a chapter focused around Kyou Fujibayashi (as well as in turn: Ryou, her younger twin sister).

The episode takes place timewise around the end of the first season of the show (though not given an "exact" episode parallel like the last one with Tomoyo). However, it strangely works better to watch it at the end of the second season and I don't think it would have the same impact if watched read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Shitcom (Anime) add
Messiah29
Wow. Just wow. I mean, one could take this video as a postmodern view of the relationship between man and woman. Or, you can just watch the video and declare it as nothing but pure and utter, wait for it, shit. Just shit. There is literally no other word to describe this video.

You know, I honestly don't know why I wrote this review at all. I guess I'm just bored. I will give out a warning though. You probably shouldn't watch this while eating or if you're feeling sick.

Actually, better yet, don't watch this at all. Trust me, I'm doing you a favor...
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Kimi to Kami Hikouki to. (Manga) add
LAOG
Kimi to Kami Hikouki to, is a 4-koma by Hazuki, Maccha. A cute, simple, and light-hearted story about two childhood friends, and some paper airplanes.

Like most other 4-komas, this story follows the typical 4-cell format. It’s full of light-hearted jokes, and has a simplistic storyline. Kei, our protagonist of the story, finds himself at odds with himself, as he tries to grasp what his feelings for his childhood friend (the heroine) Rin are. During the story we meet Rin, a shy girl who communicates with the majority of people with paper airplanes. The paper airplanes are a symbolic bond that she shares with Kei, and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann (Anime) add
FreddyTheMonkey
STORY: 9
Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann is the story of Simon, a hole-digger who has lived his whole life underground. One day, he and his friend (or as they call themselves, "brother") Kamina encounter a giant mecha from the surface, a Gunman, and defeat it with Yoko, a girl who also lives on the surface. The three boys and other allies will go on a quest to save the humans from the tiranny of Lordgenome, the Spiral King who forces men to live underground. This is the story of the first part of the series, but from episode 15 onwards GL changes COMPLETELY and develops in read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Hunter x Hunter (2011) (Anime) add
Hootja
-Summary-

Story: 8
Art: 10
Sound: 9
Character: 10
Enjoyment/Overall: 10

This show is everything I want in an anime. Stunning visuals, awesome/catchy soundtrack, great story, and some of the most likable and interesting characters to ever appear in anime. Please, Japan, make more shows like this one.

-Details-

Story: 8
Genres: Action, Adventure, Shonen, Superpower
Themes: Friendship, Aloof/Badass/Mysterious father, Coming-of-Age, Individualism (Natsume Soseki) vs serving the group first, Human nature, Good vs evil

The basic premise of this show is not too different than other shonen fighters. The main character, Gon Freecss, was abandoned by his father who wanted to pursue his own adventures as a hunter rather than raise a kid. Now Gon wants read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Persona 4 The Animation (Anime) add
furdlemygurdle
Adapting a video game story into any sort of media outlet is much, much harder than adapting, lets say, a manga into an anime. Video games are the most immersive medium of entertainment I feel, because for all intents and purposes, you ARE the main protagonist, and you are living out the story and setting the creators have given you. That being said, the tools used to create these immersive settings for the player, the game mechanics especially, are extremely hard to translate into any other medium, since you are not interacting with the world, just observing.

Quick disclaimer. I have played the game through read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Death Parade (Anime) add
ekkswhyzedwhy
I'm not here to give you a rating for this anime, or to persuade you to watch it, or to show you a biased view on the 'story' I'm just here to give you the facts, 8 episodes in, while avoiding any spoilers. This will not be your conventional review because I'll simply be taking apart the anime.

Story: Duos, pairs of people who die together end up in the place called Quindecim where they have no memory of what happened before they died or even their actual death.
That's the plot, and there's nothing else to it. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Tokyo Ghoul (Anime) add
MyuuKitoshi
I've watched this anime several times over, completed the manga and am up-to-date on the current Manga and airing season before deciding to write this. This will be my first review I've ever written but i see Tokyo Ghoul as being something really worth doing this for.

Story- 8/10 - The story is well written and they do a great job taking from the manga, obviously things are gonna get left out or the time of an event may change but nothing to truly ruin or change the original story line. It stays enjoyable through its entirety, Throughout the series it has some very read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Ao Haru Ride (Anime) add
kurobato
Ao Haru Ride, my second shoujo not that one of the most interesting I've seen so far.
I make a premise before starting this review: being a small boy I have problem with shoujo, I can not "identify" the protagonist as it would do in a shonen, so if you describe it a little differently from my usual reviews for this reason .
Let's start with the plot: not exactly the most original, this boy and this girl in a long time they meet again, and the girl seems to fall in love with him, remembering the good times spent. In 12 episodes the plot failed to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Nazo no Kanojo X (Anime) add
GoodSirMatt
A well executed take on high school anime relationship (apart from the drool). This show took me by surprise and im glad.

Character development is this shows shining glory, you really grow to care for the 2 main characters and begin to relate to them. If you're like me and have been frustrated by harem animes and their oblivious male lead, this show will sits and listen to your frustration and offer you tea to make it all better.

There is a sense of maturity hidden in Nazo no, due to the numerous life lessons it provides to the viewer, its that friend who always gives read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Gundam Build Fighters (Anime) add
Momot98
"Is this the light of the human heart?!"

Gundam Build Fighters is the kind of anime that most people would be turned off from watching once they read the plot summary. The reason for that is Build Fighters main idea is silly in quite a few ways. It introduces us to a world where Gundam inspired plastic models (or as they're called in the anime, "GunPla") battle for victory in a series of intense action sequences. It's hard to imagine how this could be considered fun, or interesting, but it is quite an incredible surprise and an absolute delight to watch.

Story - 8/10:
Gundam Build Fighters read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Highschool of the Dead (Anime) add
GoodSirMatt
The ecchi is strong with this one, strong and highly unnecessary given the situation the group is in, its like they think its a booby field trip...The show starts off strong with the zombies making a dramatic and sudden entrance, this would make you think that you're in for walking dead anime, nope and nope.

After episode 1 the fan service invades and doesn't want to leave (much like the zombies, see what i did there). It becomes annoying very quickly and acquires so much that the experience of the zombie survival is washed away only to return when all the boobs are covered in read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Freezing (Anime) add
GoodSirMatt
What a harem should be. This is quite a satisfying anime with great character development. Unlike most harems this one actual sees a relationship develop between the main characters.

Later on another girl is thrown in to add some hint of lighthearted competition to the relationship but it doesn't sway things off balance in the slightest, in fact it helps improve character development.

The ecchi in Freezing is present 80% in mature serious situations that make this show "mature", that and all the dismemberment....the other 20% reflects the shows take on generic harem boy girl situations but these are executed in a way that makes them read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Nami (Anime) add
abystoma2
Nami, probably the best anime that was and will be ever made. If you haven´t seen Nami, you haven´t seen good anime yet. Movie so short, yet containg feeling some series could not show in 12 full episodes. The outstanding story full of clever metaphors is accompanied by even more outstanding revolutional animation which transcends the anime itself and becomes a genre of its own. Nami is one of these anime you just have to rewatch and rewatch again because of how beautifull it is. Similar to Neon Genesis Evangelion, the mind-blowing plot-twist will make your head full of thoughts for at least a month, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
ZephSilver
Instead of wasting both your time and mine with a long winded review that is totally unnecessary for this series, I'll save you the trouble by being as blunt as possible. No matter how you dress it, no matter what story is presented, Queen's Blade exist for one purpose and one purpose only.. And that's to simply sell fanservice.

The fanservice serves no context to the show and is only there for otaku pandering. This renders all the characters to be nothing more than over sexualized walking dolls that come in varies forms of fetishes. Nothing can be taken seriously if every fight ends with read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Nami (Anime) add
razortongue
No words...can describe what I have just bore witness to. Its a weird integration of stop motion animation and live action filled with a lot of less than subtle sexual themes and motifs involving a nude woman and some fishes. Felt like Terry Gilliam decided to go make a porno with David Lynch. Only Japan could conceive something this bizarre.

Watch it. I know it may be odd for me to recommend something that I gave such a horrendously low score to but its something that just has to be seen to be believed. Don't blame me if you throw up though.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Onegai☆Teacher (Anime) add
gagan5867
Here is a short review from me on this beautiful series called Onegai Sensei.

I would like to start with the story. I say it is a 9. The story is about the romance a person with a disease that puts him into a near dead state for random period of time and an older women who is his teacher and an alien. Quite interesting, isn't it? Although I loved the story, one thing I felt about it was that it could have been a little more detailed. The story is slightly rushed, I would say. It could have been more intriguing is some parts were read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Akame ga Kill! (Anime) add
thegreatbakson
This anime is an absolute masterpiece. Everything from the character art and the story, to the plot and the sound, everything in this anime is absolutely magnificent. At first, I avoided watching it because the name didn't seem really interesting to me. Boy, was I wrong, and after a while I decided to watch it.

Story - 10/10 - Let me tell you about the story. Don't worry, I won't spoil anything, or won't name any of the characters(well I maybe will at some point but not constantly). This story got me like:"Man, is this even real?". I think it's the first anime since the Death read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Otome Youkai Zakuro (Anime) add
OtakuPrincess010
Story- The plot wasn't confusing at all. It wasn't cliche, and very original. It did have a few things that were predictable, but only a few. I think that this was a very unique and different anime. The ended was surprisingly different then how I though it would end. There was only one thing I didn't like at the end.

Art- The art really shined in this anime. The character and setting art was average, it was the fighting. The visuals were stunning during a fight scene. There were vivid colors and it flowed nicely. The cherry blossom petals that occasionally showed look beautiful. The read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Kara no Shoujo (Anime) add
DoctorCaim
Now if you're watching this, you're most likely watching it because you've heard of the visual novel so let me expell all notions with a brief rhetoric.

"Is this an adequate adaptation of the visual novel, Kara no Shoujo?"

No, no it is not.

Now let's get on to the review for elaboration.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Narrative design (Characters, plot, and overall effectiveness of it)

Kara no Shoujo tries too hard at being two things and ultimately fails at both. It tries too hard at adapting the visual novel and ends up giving no room for the hentai and it tries too hard at being a hentai and ultimately leads to an incompetent read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Jokei Kazoku: Inbou (Anime) add
ebonyhatesyou
story: 7/10
It actually has a plot! Even though the development at episode 2 is confusing and messy. It looks like they wanted to make something original in episode 1 (wow, the man actually tries to make the girls enjoy the sex!) but in episode 2 turns out to be mainstream hentai. But I appreciate the effort to try to make something original.

art: 9/10 Beautiful and original art, specially the faces. Good expressions, enough difference between characters.

sound: 9/10 The music is good, I noticed it before thinking about it. I really liked it, it's catchy.

character: 7/10 The characters are more developed (they have emotions, they're not read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Taneyamagahara no Yoru (Anime) add
Yesmo
Taneyamagahara no Yoru or The night on Taneyamagahara is an anime that I found by accident when I randomly browsing on some blogs. I’m getting interested with it since it is short and animated by studio ghibli; my favorite studio which production mostly gave me interesting experience. I’m giving it a shot and boy; once again the studio gave me that experience. Okay, enough with the history lesson now let’s onto the review.

On the technical side of things. Simply put, The Night on Taneyamagahara is a brilliant piece of arts. Everything is hand-drawn made it looks like a real-life painting. The backgrounds are detailed and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Binbougami ga! (Anime) add
SquareCircles
Poverty Gods. Gods of Destitution.. Ever heard of them before?
I hadn't. It's ridiculous and you wouldn't think they would be able to actually make a coherent plot that has a moral behind it using them. However, I was positively surprised.


After reading the synopsis I wasn't really excited about starting it and the over the top voice acting and character depiction wasn't that attractive in the first couple of episodes. Give it a chance though and you won't be disappointed.


The ludicrous anime references that vary from Death Note to DBZ will keep you engaged and watching out for the next one. The pacing read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Claymore (Anime) add
Dretax
Story: 10
Claymore seems to be something new for me. The reason is because It's not like the other Shounen animes, but the plot Itself is so unusual, and It's so unique and so well-made it's unlikely any anime like this or even close will be remade.

Art: 9
The art/design in the anime seems kinda unusual for the first time, honestly It seemed ugly in the first two episodes. Watching the 3rd episode, I got used to It, and in the middle of It I really liked It. The characters are detailed, and It's the same about the environment. With one word again: "unique".

Sound: 9
I don't read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Shion of the Dead (Manga) add
txrxgxu
If you've followed Mangabox for a while, either through the app or via the website, you've probably discovered that most their manga are like cheap candy. It's cheap, you know you can get better elsewhere, but hey, it does the job and you get more every week.

Shion of the dead was one of those that I followed with very low expectations. I was pretty sure it would be one of those situation comedy manga that follows a standard gag scheme with little or no surprises. Well then, I started to notice that I actually enjoyed this title. And even better, character development started to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Koroshiya 1 (Manga) add
FreddyTheMonkey
STORY: 8
Koroshiya 1, or Ichi the Killer as I will address the serie from now on, is the story of a group of excommunicated Yakuza members who try to achieve money and pursue their objectives by manipulating and killing other criminals, aided by their partner Ichi, a ruthless killer. Ichi is in fact a young man in his twenties, with a dramatic past which caused his mental instability. This manga is his story as well. The author tackles themes such as violence, power, crime and the likes, adds a whole bunch of extreme violence, vices and perversions and builds a complex story which continuosly surprises read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Pokemon Best Wishes! (Anime) add
Phoenix2510
I used to enjoy the Pokemon anime a lot when I was young. Even now the earlier seasons have not lost their charm for me. However, the current season of Pokemon can be summed up in one word-REPETITIVE.

Story:-
There is no real plot and every episode is just the same-Ash finds some guy/pokemon who needs help->Ash tries to help him->More stuff happens->The guy or pokemon gets in trouble->Ash helps him->The guys original problem is solved. Rinse, repeat, recycle...and that's how every episode goes.

I used to enjoy the gym battles and tournaments earlier. in fact it was the only reason I watched Pokemon . Now the gym read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Gangsta. (Manga) add
Marthgun
This manga has defeated me and i will stop reading it now. I'm not very good with depressing material, but the intensity and mood this sets is unlike anything i've ever seen or read.

The story is about two middle aged friends who live in a crime infested city filled with abnormal humans, some of which are very powerful. Not shounen type powerful, but very strong / hard to kill. The focus is on the two main characters who do odd jobs for the local mafia type gangs, from bodyguards, to delivering packages. Early they meet a prostitute doing tricks read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
One Piece (Anime) add
OtakuSaif
First of all let me tell you One Piece is a master piece. It's about a boy called Monkey D. Luffy who decides to become a pirate, gather a crew and find the trasure ''One Piece''!.

This anime is just so cool, It's probably the best anime I've ever watched so far. The main character Luffy has taught me a meaningful lesson in life. He taught me that if you decide to accomplish something, you should put everything on it and fight for your goal.

I see a lot of people drop this anime because of the artwork... I kind of agree but it does get a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Claymore (Manga) add
FreddyTheMonkey
STORY: 6
Claymore is the story of the "Silver Eyed Witches", half-human half-demon beings who fight man-eating monsters called Youma. The main protagonist is one of these witches-warriors named Claire, and the majority of the plot is about her quest for revenge. Despite the basic premise, the story evolves to become a bit more complex; in the end I found it to be Claymore's weakest aspect, as it remains largely predictable. The one time it tries to surprise the reader with a big revelation it does introduce some unexpected elements, but the author did not employ the said elements in any other way throughout the manga read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Bakemonogatari (Anime) add
YorouzoyaHouse
Hachikuji : "Araragi-san, you don't look the least bit apologetic. You should at least say something after touching a girl's delicate chest."
Araragi : "Umm... Thanks?"

If you like an anime which has lots of witty entertaining dialogue, really interesting characters, a weird,unique but good looking artstyle with amazing voice actors who can sing the openings and endings and is fast moving and all the while maintains an overall mystery on what's going on which when revealed later makes you go, "My! That was clever", then this anime is for you.
Now, if the above sentence wasn't suffocating you, then you can surely enjoy Bakemonogatari as it read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Trinity Seven (Anime) add
torrapamii
I don't know if it's just me, but I always like those types of anime where the main character is the 'chosen one'. Is that the main reason why I really like Trinity Seven? Nope.

Story: 9/10

A great story this anime has. Each episode doesn't drag on and introduces a new problem every 2 episodes. I was really into the anime and to see what happens after each episode, even though some of the action scenes are anticlimactic. The action is best when it's around Arata, mainly because he's a badass. Comedy-wise? I'd say it was mediocre, because it uses falling down and grabbing boobs almost read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
IS: Infinite Stratos (Anime) add
swagzzz
With Infinite Stratos, I only watched through it mostly because i wanted a good laugh. Not because it was a comedy, but just because of how bad it could get. The story mostly surrounds a boy who gets put into an all girls school because he's the only male that can operate these machines. Why is he the only male? Why can females only use them? Don't ask, you're here for tits. This is the equivalent of to love ru but with mechas. But don't get too carried away because there is no advancements from the MC to the females.

The main character is basically read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Ansatsu Kyoushitsu (Manga) add
Looklook111
Assassination Classroom is somewhat of a unique shounen which blends comedy and action really well.To me this manga is a break from the more mainstream shounen manga and it really is a fun and interesting read.

Story
The story to say the least is really weird.The misfits(Class 3-e) of Kunugigaoka Middle School must kill their new homeroom teacher (an octupus creature of unknown origin or as the students call him Koro-sensei) before he blows up the earth in one year and also become world class assassins in the process .For the most part the stories really focuses on the development of class 3-e developing into assassins read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Junketsu no Maria (Anime) add
DemonofRazgriz
Maria: witch whom play god


this review is spoiler free and comprehensively judging from my stand point

this story set out based on war between England and France, the church ploy and also the involvement of Witches hired by several Lords to help them win the war. Maria, slightly different from another witches, she hates war. So she stopped them using her magic.

from story point of view, it is quite intriguing because well the tense between British and French is like never ending problem until now, and this Anime Series emphasizing on the war between them. So yeah, quite intriguing if i may said so. The story read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2015
Donten ni Warau (Anime) add
MeePeR
Donten ni Warau also known as Laughing Under the Clouds(which after finishing the anime, the title makes a lot of sense to me now!) looks like a series that is pretty generic at first, but it really isn't.

The show centers around the relationship between the three Komou brothers - Tenka, the oldest, Soramaru, the 'middle brother', and Chuutarou, the youngest, and the events that go on around them.

Now, onto the review!

Story: 10/10
The story was very interesting, mainly focusing on the brothers' relationship(will go into their relationship in the characters section), and the "Orochi's Vessel" that appears once in a few hundred years ? read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
Akuma no Riddle (Anime) add
MeePeR
Assuming that you have seen the anime, or read the Synopsis on Akuma no Riddle, lets go straight into the review:
WARNING: POSSIBLY SOME SPOILERS AHEAD IN STORY CATEGORY!
(Going to do Story last)

Art/Animation: 7/10
The art/animation was good, there wasn't anything that caught my eye that looked amazing, but there was nothing that was bad.

Sound: 9/10
The music in this anime was amazing, the music during the fights set the mood perfectly for every assassin. My favorite though was the opening song, that got me pumped up to watch the show every time. The endings were all good, with a few unique songs that stood read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
Clannad: After Story (Anime) add
Sorainnosia
Our life is like a cycle, sometimes we are above and sometimes we are under

Clannad ~After Story~ is a sequel from Clannad and an adaptation from the original Visual Novel created by KEY. The anime often heard in my ear as one of the best anime. I always ask myself, ''Why? Why Clannad very famous? Is it really that good?". But now, i know something special is exist in this story.

If you looked Clannad AS, there is not much to say about the plot. It told us a tale of a man that suffer the difficulties of living, and how he pass through it. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
Barakamon (Anime) add
zaraku
Summary(If you don't want detailed analysis) : Barakamon is just one of those anime that makes you feel happy inside, the characters are lovable, the art is beautiful despite the story being a bit lacking in conclusion. Although this is a slice of life anime, so that's to be expected. The overall environment brought by Barakamon really gives a warmth to the viewers heart. When you see everyone in the small village pitching in when someone needs help, it really makes you think that living in somewhere like that would be paradise.

Story: The story of Barakamon isn't that great, like most slice of life anime. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
Ping Pong The Animation (Anime) add
Lyevino95
Ping Pong The Animation is a really good show. The art quality is poor, and characters may be a bit cold and hard to understand, but it was rather enjoyable, with certain comical reliefs and plenty of action. Unlike other sports anime I've watched, I didn't know anything about table tennis. This anime taught me quite a lot about it.

Story & Characters: 9/8
The story was pretty good and straightforward. I liked that it was simple enough to follow, but not slow and boring at the same time. The only issue I had with it was the characters. It was quite hard to figure who the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
Tokyo Ghoul √A (Anime) add
eagleeye91
SPOILER-FREE Review of Tokyo Ghoul √A
Currently at 8 of 12.

Last year's Tokyo Ghoul was good, albeit having the potential to be better in my opinion. This year's √A continues on the hype of the 1st season's finale (Kaneki's Acceptance), and is failing heavily in terms of character development and story.

Season 1's action was the centerpiece of the show. I personally think that it's because of the action-horror genre that this became a phenomenon. However, √A's action scenes (there may be 3 or 4 right now) are lackluster. Basically, the word 'lackluster' is the word to be used for this show.

Categorized review:
STORY: 7
√A picks off read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
Utsu Musume Sayuri (Anime) add
gghelis
"Is this end of Evangelion?"
- a youtube comment

No review, just random thoughts on this.
- My life won't ever be the same from now on.
- If Sigmund Freud ever wrote fiction, that how its animated adaptation would look like.
- I'll no longer be able to play the legendary helicopter game series on Sega Genesis again.
- If a person dies while watching this, they should be granted a Darwin awards
- Sayuri's ("SAYURIII!!!") mama ("MAMAAA!!!") definitely cheated on her papa ("PAPAAA!!!").
- Mama doesn't have a dildo growing on her head, does this mean she didn't strike when her time had come?
- MEEEOW

- quote of the day
Puriiizu, puriiizu, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
Itsuka Tenma no Kuro Usagi (Anime) add
Dai_Kina
I don't really understand what was in the author mind when he did that anime.It's like he started with a story ,a strong story with a big plot and all...And then finally choose to rush over it and turn the anime into a school-life/harem/fanservice one.Not that I'm complaining about that ,I love school-life ,harem and fanservice :3 .But damn...Don't do that like that ! It's like you plan to watch Lord of the Ring for the first time and when you do it it is :

*first hour* "Frodon ,you have to destroy the ring.Go to the Mount Doom and throw it into that damn read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
Death Note (Anime) add
gghelis
"If you're looking for justice, that's just what you'll find – just us".
- Richard Pryor, comedy actor

* SPOILERED HEAVILY, DO NOT READ IF YOU'RE STILL TO WATCH THIS SHOW *

If you pick a random guy who has ever seen an anime, you can be 90 percent sure that he has seen "Death Note", and 99 percent sure that he at least knows what it is. It is rated most popular here on MAL, and with a giant gap which doesn't leave any other anime even a slightest chance to grasp the leadership anytime soon, if ever.

It is a story about a guy who acquired a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
The Sky Crawlers (Anime) add
Skyzblue
Genre: Drama, Military, Tragedy.

Studio: Production I.G.

Director: Mamoru Oshii (Ghost in the Shell, Patlabor 2)

TSC takes place in what might possibly be described as mid 20th century Europe (more specifically Britain) in an alternate timeline. It is an era where the majority of the population lives in peace, with wars being mainly a plaything between different mercenary groups in the name of their respective contractors. These so called mercenaries, who engage in the dance of death in the sky, pre-eminently consists of teenagers who ‘never age’ and are known as ‘Kildren’.

It is under this context we are introduced to one half of our central characters, Yuichi read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Wexik
I cannot laugh enough at how ridiculously perfect the title is for this anime, because it is in essence, a party of corpses.

That's right! If you haven't guessed already, this anime heavily revolves around blood, gore, and more blood. Intestines, eyeballs, guts, everything is on the menu for all you gore lovers!

Over the course of four episodes, the story is obviously not going to be perfect. However, it does have a fair enough plot and it definitely has a shocking ending. Some people will enjoy it, some people wont. I personally liked the ending.

Perhaps one of the biggest downfalls to this anime are read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
Monster (Anime) add
LucifVegeta
We all know "those" anime fans, right? The ones who are so consumed with maintaining an aura of posh cognizance that they refuse to actually enjoy anime that are entertaining? The ones that get off by watching Evangelion reruns? Well, Monster has long been a critic's sweetheart of an anime, one that, to me at least, had a vibe strangely homologous to those anime that are supposedly chock-full of symbolism and that are constantly overrated by the "intellectuals" of the community.

And I am here to say that Monster, unlike many critical reverences, actually deserves all of its intense hype.

Monster is a morbid tale rooted in read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
Koufuku Graffiti (Anime) add
Shiruet
Coming from the producers of "Hidamari Sketch" and "Puella Magi Madoka Magic" is the new food anime of the season, Koufuku Graffiti is an outstanding anime about a girl named Ryou who finds her passion in cooking and cuisine through her daily life and her friends! With dishes introduced every episode, this is a slice of life (Pun intended) anime that is favourably sweet!

Story - 7/10

Like most other SoL/Comedy, it has no set plot/storyline, but rather the occurrences of the daily life of a character in the anime. However, the events that happen are still worthwhile and fun to watch as we follow Ryou and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
Onii-sama e... (Anime) add
doc_awesome
"Oniisama E" is classic shoujo and often described as a yuri, although there is not really that much lesbian content and mostly it is a story of friendship and conflict between teenaged girls. It is the story of Nanako, a classic shoujo heroine who has the best of intentions but keeps getting in situations where people are plotting her social downfall or even just slapping her dramatically. She starts a prestigious all-girls school where she is curiously chosen to join an elite sorority and is drawn into a complicated and mysterious relationship between the sorority's beautiful president and other girls in the school's social hierarchy. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
The iDOLM@STER (Anime) add
Scrambled1432
Nearly plotless, fluffy as hell, and still pretty good. No CGI unlike Love Live!, which might be good or bad depending on who you are. Somehow manages to have each character be a character despite there being 15 or so.

Suuuuuuuper homosexual, though. Single most gay thing I've ever watched, and I watched Boku no Pico, man. Not that it's a bad thing, just incredibly homo. Every character is a lesbian or Miki, the only confirmed straight one there.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
Ou Dorobou Jing (Anime) add
Groupanimenight
Laohoam- To me this anime had a lot of potential, but failed to reach it. The lack of a plot is what got me the most. Though there was some episodes that tied together, other then those the only thing that really tied the anime together was the fact he was the king of bandits. I would recommend if you want a few short stories, which is what each episode pretty much was, but all and all it was ok.
Zarroc- it was good.

Tadgh: For starters, I really liked the art style, it was what attracted me to this anime in read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
Saikyou Densetsu Kurosawa (Manga) add
truisms
Saikyou Densetsu Kurosawa is an offbeat seinen comedy about a 44 year old construction worker with no family, no friends, no girlfriend, and basically no prospects. It touches on a lot of themes that will be familiar to many people, and brings a maturity and thematic depth to a classic shonen formula.

Story: 6/10
The story itself is fairly straightforward and inspiring, following Kurosawa as he seeks to become more accomplished in the eyes of others. The storytelling is funny and smart, and the story has some thematic depth as well. The main issue comes from the fact that, like many shonen manga, it follows a general read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
Strike the Blood (Anime) add
Dai_Kina
I rarely say that easily but that anime is epic and full of quality ! I've watched the 24 episodes one shot ,eating in front of it ,skipping sleeping hours because each episode end made me have the urge to watch the next one.I've rarely been so much into an anime ,this one is definitely one of my favorite one ! Let's examine it :

Story (8) : The story can sound classical for some peoples ,but for my own I find it original and really interesting.It's about a guy ,the MC ,which inherits the power of an ancient vampire ,a really powerful one.At the beginning read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
No Game No Life (Anime) add
yuuujinchou
I initially dropped this halfway, but decided to give it another chance since I wanted to discover what made this series so popular, turns out the rest didn’t really improve and while this show has some qualities, the negative aspects really stand out too much for me to make it enjoyable.

Story: I’m not an expert when it comes to the RPG genre, but even though the games are interesting and the moves rather easy to understand everything else just seems like a waste of time. The plot looked very promising at first, the ten pledges and the idea of using games to decide things read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
Green Green (Anime) add
literaturenerd
What would happen if you took a Japanese porno game, removed all the sex scenes, and released it as an anime so people could enjoy the ingenious plot? On the good end of the spectrum with "good" being a relative term, you get Fate Stay Night. On the unholy end of the spectrum you get the evil known as Green Green!

plot: 1/10

Green Green is about an all male school located in the middle of nowhere that suddenly has female guest students for a few months as a social experiment. Now the boys must spend those months trying to get into the girls' pants. That's it. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
Hikari no Megami (Anime) add
AlexanderKami
Since this has an entry why not give it a review?

This Special's a 2-minute battle...thus, Story (5) and Character (6) are irrelevant. Just two things I wanna point out:
1) I loved how they refrained from making Link speak and
2) I really disliked Palutena's entrance.

Art (8) and Sound (7) were really good. I would highly recommend watching the raw version though (the dubbed version's voices were a bit messed up).

As for Enjoyment (9)...you get to see Link actually fight in an anime scene, what else is there to say?

Overall (7): The primary reason for watching this is Link (for me at least). You 've got nothing read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
Devil Survivor 2 The Animation (Anime) add
Shiro-tama
I honestly cried at the end because even when everything was sad during the story, they made the ending a super happy one and I seriously think this is one of the best Anime about Devils ever made. I liked it because the art was cool, the story plot was weird yet amazing, in the English version the voices weren't bad, and the characters had new surprises in every episode with great personalities fitting each of their looks. I loved and enjoyed it so I hope you will watch it and feel the same way I did watching Devil Survivor 2: The Animation!!!
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
Ping Pong The Animation (Anime) add
xKiTE
And here is a lighter review for those not keen on reading TOO much, and lazy like me ;)

STORY: 10
The two main characters life kind of revolve around Ping Pong, but the series is NOT really about a sport at all! It's not about sport competition. It's about life, struggles, challenges, personal issues and overcoming them or not at all. It's about how humans are, their emotions, how they feel, learn, grow, and live. All presented in a very unique and thoughtful way, while also adding in lots of funny, witty, humorous moments, keeping the show light, pleasant, and very REFRESHING. Great scripting.


ART : 9
The read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
InfiniteJam
When watching Is this a Zombie? Of The Dead, i was hoping that I would enjoy it as much as the first season. And I wasn't disappointed for the most part. There were quite a few things that erked me about this season that I couldn't look pass, as I did with the 1st season. But, as this review goes on I'll explain more.

Story: 6
After Ayumu and the crew defeat that other Zombie, their life is peaceful for the most part until new and old enemies make their appearances. I found the enemies to be pretty underwhelming and barely filled their roles as enemies as read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
Accel World (Anime) add
jj26287
This anime is one of those that have a great idea and have a good storyline to back that idea. So in other words it doesn't disappoint. With fantastic art styles, and solid character development, it makes this anime quite an enjoyable experience. Despite the main character being a disappointing fail for most, the anime does a good job making him grow and develop in the virtual world and also the real world. He transitions from being a person with low self esteem who lets others take advantage of him to a somewhat more mature character who learns to stand up for himself and his read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
Dareka no Manazashi (Anime) add
PhKarall
Every director has the same main goal: touch the emotions of the audience. I wouldn´t say that there aren´t many who can actually achieve this, but there are definetly very few who can pull it off in less than seven minutes. 6 minutes and 40 seconds of screentime is all that Makoto Shinkai needs to tell the bittersweet story that is Dareka no Manazashi.

In this little story about family values, it is impressive how Shinkai manages to use the seven minutes he has here... we learn just enough about the characters and their background to care about them, making the film quite read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
Haibane Renmei (Anime) add
infamousas
Couldn't help but to think it could have been much more. It teases you with a lot of mysteries at the beginning but instead focuses between the relationship of the two main characters instead of going deeper into revealing the answered questions. Had great potential but did not live up to it.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
Fate/stay night (Anime) add
WhatIsLyfe
Hey you! Yes, you there! Do you want to see a review of Fate/Stay Night from somebody that is not a butthurt fan-boy? Come click expand more already! I promise you will be entertained and informed of this series with no spoilers! Well? What'chu waiting for?

Story-4/10
Before i start, i just want to say that apparently this series is demographized as a Seinen anime, but the way that this anime was made is barely border-line shounen. If not for the violence, i could give this to little kids to watch...

What irks me the most is that this anime is all over the place, yes, the series read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
No Game No Life (Anime) add
Lyevino95
No Game No Life is a one of a kind show, with a cliche setting, that somehow managed to keep me up watching episode after episode. I really enjoyed this anime!

Story: 10

Though the whole concept of the protagonists being pulled into another world, such as a game one for instance, has been used and reused hundreds of times, but the way this anime's story unfolds truly is unique and magnificent.

Art & Sound: 8

Though the art was very complementing to the story, it made it a bit difficult to get a feel for certain characters. The sound was good, though there weren't any particular voices or read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
Sen to Chihiro no Kamikakushi (Anime) add
Visceras
Well, usually i avoid reviewing movies because for me it's hard to judge them because i'm more used with series but still, i felt i had to make a review to this piece of art..

Let's get to it .. Sen to Chihiro no Makikakushi or spirited away is a movie that came out in 2001 and had a huge success, it had so many that it streamed outside of japan, in many different countries and translated to many different languages.. when i first watched this movie i had 10 years old and i didn´t realize the beauty of it.. now 7 years later i read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
Kuroshitsuji (Anime) add
ririchiyomika
This is going to be lengthy and somewhat draggy one, because this is my favourite anime. So if you have no patience to read all this text, please move on.

Many many moons ago, Pre-Hotarubi Age, Pre-MAL, Pre-Anything Relevant to Anime, there was a painfully shy youth in Great Britain, London. Note the word shy, not introverted. Introverted implies a sense of quiet maturity. That youth was not in the slightest mature. She cried frequently, and cannot seem to understand the fact that she was bullied so often at school because of her family background. She believed it was all her fault, that for one reason read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
Shingeki no Kyojin (Anime) add
Blazestar
You know a franchise is successful when you can find pictures of Mikasa floating around on food packagings. Yes, as if chips need her protection from getting eaten by a titan. ha ha ha. Sorry that was a terrible joke.

Contains Spoilers, minor.

Anyways let's talk about Attack on Titans. This show becomes so popular in the west that makes people forget One Piece and Naruto have ever existed. Popular things tend to not be the "best" things, but it is undebatable they always have aspects that are truly good and worth praising. That said, these good features tend to overshadow the flaws and problems read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
Yuru Yuri Nachuyachumi! (Anime) add
HaXXspetten
It's been almost 2,5 years of waiting but Yuru Yuri is finally back!

Assuming you've seen both seasons of the TV-series prior to this, there is little need for introduction and thus I will keep this short. It's the same good old character cast as it has always been; Akari's hair buns are still detachable, Chinatsu's artistic skills are still frighteningly bad and TOSHINOU KYOUKO is still as whimsical and energetic as ever in her tomato outfit.

In this 1-hour OVA, after a rather... *unexpected* opening scene, the story is about the whole group going on a camping trip in the summer. It's a very typical slice-of-life read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
Shingeki no Kyojin (Anime) add
ZephSilver
**THIS REVIEW CONTAINS MINOR SPOILERS**

During moments of extreme heart pumping excitement we tend to lose all train of thought and rationality. We are blinded by the pure excitement of the moment and tend not to think twice about it. This of course and lead to a false sense of understanding in our judgement. Many adrenaline rush shows can bring on this effect and often lead to many offering immense praise because of it. But what happens when we take a step back and observe the bigger picture, when we as viewers see the forest from the trees. Our once immersive experience can become questionable to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
logicat
*Muhahahahah*


Disclaimer: This is a light-hearted series so seriously don't expect serious stuff.

It is difficult to write about this anime without any spoilers but for people who enjoy comedy and can ignore the ecchi this series will be very funny. The characters were funny and the harem concept was not overdone or annoying.

If you love Fino(or Phino) and Raul you ll love the show. It seemed that only 2 characters were truly given importance in this show and the rest were in supporting roles though they had hints of such potential.

The idea is similar to Devil is a part timer(which is amazing) but I would read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
Hagure Yuusha no Estetica (Anime) add
ChocolateGIjoe
This anime tries to do to many different things. It tries to be funny but I didn't laugh once while watching the show. It tries to be action packed but the main hero is so overpowered it isn't interesting and you find yourself not caring about the outcome. This show also decides to be an ecchi anime, but the ecchi aspect of the show isn't the main point it just ends up making the show worse. The show had an interesting concept, but it just ends up becoming a mess. The art was pretty good. The sound was fine nothing special but Funimation did read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
Zankyou no Terror (Anime) add
White_Hawk
Two kids wanna blow stuff up.
responsibly.
Totally normal, we've all been there, I mean, explosions are cool
Unfortunately laserbeams in video games aren't enough

Unable to let go of the poop of the past, they want revenge on those who tormented them!

So they build some Bakudan and hit up the sunny summer of tokyo!
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2015
Shingeki no Bahamut: Genesis (Anime) add
Corbot06
It appears that every fucking anime has to have some correlation to school, you've got zombies at school with tits, demons at school with tits, and Angels at school with tits. What happens though if I were to cleverly combine all of said supernatural creatures into a fantasy world setting, dispose of all the high schools and tits, and supply some entertaining pieces? Well you've got the anime I shall be reviewing today, Shingeki no Bahamut: Neon Genesis! Let's have an adventure shall we. Adventure is out there! *shows UP*

Shingeki no Bahamut is produced by studio MAPPA, who produced a personal read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy