MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #479
Full Moon wo Sagashite (Manga)

Full Moon wo Sagashite

Alternative Titles

English: Full Moon wo Sagashite
Synonyms: Full Moon o Sagashite, Searching for the Full Moon, Ginyuu Meika
Japanese: 満月をさがして

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 7
Chapters: 30
Status: Finished
Published: Dec 3, 2001 to May 3, 2004
Authors: Tanemura, Arina (Story & Art)
Serialization: Ribon Magazine

Statistics

Score: 8.231 (scored by 11154 users)
Ranked: #4792
Popularity: #108
Members: 18,413
Favorites: 1,380
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top manga page.

My Info


Popular Tags

drama fantasy romance shoujo
Jul 27, 2008
TrenchKamen
Admittedly at first I expected this story to just be cute. Something light, something fluffy to "baw" at for a while. It is as sure as hell cute, but there is a hell of a lot more to this manga that initially meets the eye.

For one, it's PAINFUL. For all that the ending feels a little deus ex machina, there is a lot that is not idealized. Suicide, death, and loss permeate the characters' lives. There is a focus on letting go of loss, on being held back by past tragedies, and having the courage to keep living when you have to reconcile that your read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 25, 2008
Makaiei
A story that will have you crying, laughing, smiling and hoping throughout. Full Moon wo Sagashite is a manga for, mostly girls, or anyone who enjoys a classic love story... with a twist. Mitsuki is a character everyone will love, and will have you deciding who is best for her and who isn't the right guy. But anyway, onto the review!

Story - Arina Tanemura's best yet. I have never seen such a detailed and sad story about a tail of a love triangle(s) gone wrong. You find yourself wondering what will happen next with each page.

Art - I'm a real fan of her artwork. The read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 4, 2009
th_poodle
This is one of the best shojo manga ever. At first I thought it would be just another girl-loves-boy, happily-ever-after story, and I wasn't exactly psyched when I saw the girl was a singer (I don't like celebrity manga too much). After I started reading, though, I realized it was so much more than you typical shojo flick. This story deals with pain and loss, and at times (especially when I'm reading the lyrics that Mitsuki sings) I just want to cry. Mitsuki's love is so sad and moving, it hurts to see her put on a happy face.

The art is--what can I say? Arina read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 2, 2012
flickec
Wow. I am not normally a big fan of supernatural works because often the scenarios are so outrageous the characters themselves become unbelievable and the story suffers. This, however, is a huge exception. I didn't really notice any "fluff" characters, even the supporting characters had their own backgrounds and seemed real. Unlike many similar works, where you have to make yourself believe everything, here you only have to believe in shiragamis. After that, everything just flows and the characters behave as, with their respective personalities, you would expect them to. I laughed. I cried. I cheered them on and at the end, felt like I read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 24, 2010
HotaruMiyu
This is hands down the most beautifully tragic mangas I have ever read.
It has the perfect blend of drama, romance, tragedy and a splash of humor to make it a masterpiece.
The characters are each unique individuals with impactful stories. This manga, just like many others, is nearly 100% better than the anime.

The plot: 12-year-old Mitsuki lives for two things singing and her childhood love Eichi. However, Eichi is off in another country. So, promised him that she would become a famous singer so that he could see her. But Mitsuki has a disease that is stealing her voice and limiting her to a whisper. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 27, 2008
dara-chan
It was a wonderful manga! It really pulled me in, it almost hurt to take my eyes away from it (you know what i mean). Arina tanemura made her characters so likable, you get really attached!^^

All and all it was amazingly good, and by far one of the best mangas I've read!
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 25, 2008
RICEA42991
This Manga is a must read! If you've seen the anime; the manga in many points is alot better


More on Izumi's past! - In the anime his past is never even mentioned and displayed as a villain, meanwhile in the manga it is, and reveals he's a tramatic boy who really suffered out of all the shinigami. Once you read the manga you'll really shed a tear for him. Unlike the anime that you just want to shoot him.



More on Meroko's past- Meroko isn't even explained either in the anime. Here you see that she really did have a sad and horrible events happen read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2010
KingBowness
This is a great anime/manga. the plot follows around a girl who has cancer and cant sing or else she starts coughing. One day 2 shinigamis takuto and meroko arrive and they (next is not really a spoiler.it happens in first episode) transform into a very pretty 16 year old girl wtih a perfectly healthy body so she can sing but what happens next at the audition will change her life. The characters are very deep and each are different. there arent a lot of side characters to keep track of or remember so it's very easy for those with trouble with names(like me) and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 13, 2010
rinn4
My eyes still have the beginnings of tears in them from this story. I laughed and I cried it was so good. The story is amazing and it really makes you think about certain things. A lot of the time there isn't one clear answer and thats what makes it so interesting. I really wish that I could hear the songs that she sings because they would be so rich with feelings. It ends so beautifully.

Read it.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 26, 2009
IkutoFanGirl
Well, I though it was really: Funny, Sad, Touching, Cute, Sweet... and lots more! It can make you feel so many feelings at the same time!
Mitsuki's actions and emotions were sad yet touching... plus she can be really funny at times. She is really loyal to Eichi and it's funny how she always makes Takuto so jealous ^^ I think Meroko's story was quite touching too... the fact that she was so distant to everyone else... it was tragic really... but that doesn't stop her from being her!
The art is WOW... the best I've probably ever seen...
The characters are all really cute... but I thought read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices