Ranked #461

Full Moon wo Sagashite (Manga)

Full Moon wo Sagashite

Alternative Titles

English: Full Moon wo Sagashite
Synonyms: Full Moon o Sagashite, Searching for the Full Moon, Ginyuu Meika
Japanese: 満月をさがして


Type: Manga
Volumes: 7
Chapters: 30
Status: Finished
Published: Dec 3, 2001 to May 3, 2004
Authors: Tanemura, Arina (Story & Art)
Serialization: Ribon Magazine


Score: 8.211 (scored by 12280 users)
Ranked: #4612
Popularity: #147
Members: 20,680
Favorites: 1,494
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Jul 27, 2008
Admittedly at first I expected this story to just be cute. Something light, something fluffy to "baw" at for a while. It is as sure as hell cute, but there is a hell of a lot more to this manga that initially meets the eye.

For one, it's PAINFUL. For all that the ending feels a little deus ex machina, there is a lot that is not idealized. Suicide, death, and loss permeate the characters' lives. There is a focus on letting go of loss, on being held back by past tragedies, and having the courage to keep living when you have to reconcile that your read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 25, 2008
A story that will have you crying, laughing, smiling and hoping throughout. Full Moon wo Sagashite is a manga for, mostly girls, or anyone who enjoys a classic love story... with a twist. Mitsuki is a character everyone will love, and will have you deciding who is best for her and who isn't the right guy. But anyway, onto the review!

Story - Arina Tanemura's best yet. I have never seen such a detailed and sad story about a tail of a love triangle(s) gone wrong. You find yourself wondering what will happen next with each page.

Art - I'm a real fan of her artwork. The read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 16, 2015
*Disclaimer: The TLDR is at the bottom.*

Not your typical magical girl transformation shojo, to say the least: 'Full Moon o Sagashite' is much more than that. It's a story about second chances and the pursuit of self-love, forgiveness and redemption.

The characters are layered so wonderfully, and grow naturally as the story progresses. Arina Tanemura does a fantastic job interweaving the relationships and back-stories within Full Moon's universe; you'll find yourself falling in love with all of her characters over and over again. She masterfully and delicately handles the topic of childhood illness and young love. Somehow, she is able to keep the atmosphere of read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 4, 2009
This is one of the best shojo manga ever. At first I thought it would be just another girl-loves-boy, happily-ever-after story, and I wasn't exactly psyched when I saw the girl was a singer (I don't like celebrity manga too much). After I started reading, though, I realized it was so much more than you typical shojo flick. This story deals with pain and loss, and at times (especially when I'm reading the lyrics that Mitsuki sings) I just want to cry. Mitsuki's love is so sad and moving, it hurts to see her put on a happy face.

The art is--what can I say? Arina read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 4, 2010
If I could summarise the review in a single short sentence it would be that this story is a trainwreck. It started slow and then couldn't decide how to develop.

There has to be some sort of universal criteria for calling things a shinigami. You just can't have fun, happy looking kids (the main characters) turn out to be DEATH GODS. Honestly, these characters are an embarrassment to every serious shinigami character out there and Deathnote fans would simply kill themselves if they were masochistic enough to read this.

When a group of shinigamis appear on the scene and say something along the lines of:
I am read more
I found this review Helpful
May 25, 2008
This Manga is a must read! If you've seen the anime; the manga in many points is alot better

More on Izumi's past! - In the anime his past is never even mentioned and displayed as a villain, meanwhile in the manga it is, and reveals he's a tramatic boy who really suffered out of all the shinigami. Once you read the manga you'll really shed a tear for him. Unlike the anime that you just want to shoot him.

More on Meroko's past- Meroko isn't even explained either in the anime. Here you see that she really did have a sad and horrible events happen read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 2, 2012
Wow. I am not normally a big fan of supernatural works because often the scenarios are so outrageous the characters themselves become unbelievable and the story suffers. This, however, is a huge exception. I didn't really notice any "fluff" characters, even the supporting characters had their own backgrounds and seemed real. Unlike many similar works, where you have to make yourself believe everything, here you only have to believe in shiragamis. After that, everything just flows and the characters behave as, with their respective personalities, you would expect them to. I laughed. I cried. I cheered them on and at the end, felt like I read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 24, 2010
This is hands down the most beautifully tragic mangas I have ever read.
It has the perfect blend of drama, romance, tragedy and a splash of humor to make it a masterpiece.
The characters are each unique individuals with impactful stories. This manga, just like many others, is nearly 100% better than the anime.

The plot: 12-year-old Mitsuki lives for two things singing and her childhood love Eichi. However, Eichi is off in another country. So, promised him that she would become a famous singer so that he could see her. But Mitsuki has a disease that is stealing her voice and limiting her to a whisper. read more
I found this review Helpful
May 13, 2010
My eyes still have the beginnings of tears in them from this story. I laughed and I cried it was so good. The story is amazing and it really makes you think about certain things. A lot of the time there isn't one clear answer and thats what makes it so interesting. I really wish that I could hear the songs that she sings because they would be so rich with feelings. It ends so beautifully.

Read it.
I found this review Helpful
Mar 2, 2010
This is a great anime/manga. the plot follows around a girl who has cancer and cant sing or else she starts coughing. One day 2 shinigamis takuto and meroko arrive and they (next is not really a spoiler.it happens in first episode) transform into a very pretty 16 year old girl wtih a perfectly healthy body so she can sing but what happens next at the audition will change her life. The characters are very deep and each are different. there arent a lot of side characters to keep track of or remember so it's very easy for those with trouble with names(like me) and read more
I found this review Helpful
May 26, 2009
Well, I though it was really: Funny, Sad, Touching, Cute, Sweet... and lots more! It can make you feel so many feelings at the same time!
Mitsuki's actions and emotions were sad yet touching... plus she can be really funny at times. She is really loyal to Eichi and it's funny how she always makes Takuto so jealous ^^ I think Meroko's story was quite touching too... the fact that she was so distant to everyone else... it was tragic really... but that doesn't stop her from being her!
The art is WOW... the best I've probably ever seen...
The characters are all really cute... but I thought read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 12, 2010
It's about time I rewrote this.

Full Moon wo Sagashite is the sad, yet inspiring story of a girl who has one year to live, as she found out when two shinigami visited her. Upon learning this astonishing fact, Mitsuki decides to make the best of it and try harder to achieve fame as a singer so she can reach her childhood love, Eichi-kun, who is living in America.

When reading any cutesy manga where there's drama and tragedy, I like to keep a box of tissues on hand. But don't worry, you won't need to use these until the second half of the series =)

Story: Now, read more
I found this review Helpful
May 31, 2013
This is shojo but not for kids under the age of nine. It could upset them easily. I mean very easily!!! It had me laughing in places and almost shredding tears in others. It is very kawaii (cute) and the shingami (death gods) are really funny!!! I am on chapter 15 and am loving the manga. It is very romantic, but not in a sexual way. Just kissing and hugging. Tanemura Arina did a great job of writing and drawing this manga. Her art is absolutely buratiful! Mitsuki is a great role model, especially if you or your child suffer from stage fright read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 8, 2009
Full Moon wo Sagashite was a romantic "suspense" manga, as in every page turn it kept me suprised and frightened at the same time as of what would happen the very next page. The story isn't bad for a fantasy/romance. The fantasy could have at least been more original and more made-up. The romance part was amazing and it passes as being great. The art was very nicely drawn and it seemed like the 'always original shojo art'. The eyes are huge and the bodies all look similar. However they were able to pull it off. The characters seemed like they were not even involved read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 3, 2015
Ah, Full Moon wo Sagashite, one of the many manga of my childhood. I discovered this manga when I was young. It was around the time when volumes 5-7 hadn't been released yet, and while I finished the entire manga, I had only seen a few episodes of the anime and never got to finish that. I really ought to. But I don't think I ever attached to the manga despite liking it. I had the first DVD once but sold it recently, knowing that the dub would never be finished. I had put the manga in a box and hadn't touched it in years. read more
I found this review Helpful