Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Shamo

Shamo

Alternative Titles

Japanese: 軍鶏

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 34
Chapters: 338
Status: Finished
Published: 1998 to Jan 13, 2015
Authors: Tanaka, Akio (Story & Art), Hashimoto, Izou (Story)
Serialization: Evening

Statistics

Score: 7.911 (scored by 3696 users)
1 indicates a weighted score
Ranked: #11182
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #499
Members: 9,561
Favorites: 337

Reviews

Urameshi_X
Jul 1, 2013
Shamo is one of the darkest themed and most graphic seinen manga I have ever read. That being said I wouldn't recommend this to the young or squeamish.

“Your light will never reach me!” –Ryo Narushima

Shamo starts with a gory scene of a young boy covered in blood after brutally murdering his parents. Thus we are introduced to the protagonist of the story Ryo Narushima, a boy that was destined to become the elite of his society but becomes a cold-blooded martial artist. After his crime Narushima is sent to Ajigasaki Reformatory, read more
I found this review Helpful
TheMagicStik
Feb 1, 2015
Over the last month or so I've seen a ton of praise for the manga "Shamo" and recently I just read the whole thing and I feel very let down. I thought the first part up to where Ryu cripples the Karate champ in their second fight the story was pretty solid and interesting but after that it just was really lame overall.

Overall the characterization of Ryu just felt like really all over the place and I didn't feel like it was because he was crazy, it just felt like the author didn't know what he was doing exactly with the character and experimented a read more
I found this review Helpful
Foolness
Jun 10, 2011
If it weren't for the manga being on hiatus, I would consider this the true spiritual successor to Fist of the North Star. (Hokuto Shinken)

One has to only look at the first few panels to wonder why I'm comparing this to something more fantasy based as FotNS.

...and I think this is what makes Shamo a masterpiece if it actually had a legitimate ending.

The manga is just pure existentialist material for me.

On one hand you had the basic premise. Shamo shattered any doubts I had that a legitimate exciting MMA manga could be made.

On the flip side, Shamo's failure in doing that, is something that would read more
I found this review Helpful
samgantz
Mar 26, 2013
Recommendable for anyone looking for an easy to follow, dark, action filled psychological seinen, which follows a young troubled protagonist. It's complimented with a visceral and detailed art style.

The story is an interesting commentary on Japanese underground crime culture, following a twisted anti-hero's struggle. It is mainly martial arts orientated and character/fight driven, so anyone looking for an exceptional or detailed story, maybe should look elsewhere. The manga does flow and read well as an outcome of this though.

What it lacks in complexity it makes up for in character development. The mangaka does a great job in engaging the reader with the characters choices, read more
I found this review Helpful
ghostcardinal
Jul 24, 2014
as a writer, one of the basic rules is that your main character has to be either likable, sympathetic, or someone cool enough that readers will admire him. Shamo breaks this rule, and unlike other series *cough*Tenjou Tenge*cough* they do so on purpose. Ryo is a horrible, horrible person. A murderer, rapist, prostituting, violent, insane sociopath, he isnt likable at all. In the beginning he had some sympathy, with the condition of his life, but he quickly loses all of it. Ryo is a monster. his sole redeeming feature is how he does care for his sister and occasionally does random acts of charity, but read more
I found this review Helpful
GumGumSaiyan
May 3, 2009
Shamo is not something for those light in heart to read. In chapter two the main character is sent to prison were he is raped, not only once, but twice. On top of that, the story if very violent, lost of fights happen as the main character grows.

Good story over all, but not something for people used to Shonen. This is X-rated stuff.
I found this review Helpful
AP_974
Jan 27, 2016
"Shamo" I knew this manga by name for a pretty long time now
I began to read it without any expectation, just knowing that it was a violent one.

Well, I was disappointed. For me, it's as if I was reading some fighting manga with sex, violence, drug ..... and I laughed hard when I saw people's review about Shamo : deep psychology, deep moral...

Let's talk about the beginning which may contain "deep psychology" : A boy - "Ryo" also nicknamed "Shonen A" after, kills its parent with a knife. Precisely, he brutally murdered them. We don't know why, only few moment in the manga explain read more
I found this review Helpful
Shading_Stuff
Dec 14, 2015
Well, it's pretty difficult to give this series an overall rating since it had a change in authors.

The series starts off really well, I'd even go as far as calling it a masterpiece up to a certain point. But well... as I mentioned this series had a change in authors. The potential masterpiece turns into a cliche fighting manga, it's hard to even call it a seinen manga. The story lost its edge, the characters stopped being interesting, only the art was still well done.

I'd say the first 13 volumes are very well done they are probably around a 9-10/10. You could just read more
I found this review Helpful
Gensai
Sep 12, 2011
The first story I've read where the main character is raped... Unlike other manga or anime he is not acknowledged for what he can do. He truly is a shamo ( fighting cock).

So what do I think of this...

Pure brilliance! This is not for someone with a feint heart, but if you can understand and respect this kind of genre it becomes a great story. It is a shame that this manga is so unknown.

For me this is better than Naruto, Bleach, Soul Eater, Daisy, Vampire knight, Death note, Deadman wonderland, hellsing and allot more. Truly this is pure gold. Pitch black gold. read more
I found this review Helpful