MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #2008
To LOVE-Ru (Manga)

To LOVE-Ru

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: To LOVE-Ru Trouble, To-Love-Ru, To Love You, To Love You - Trouble, Toraburu, ToLoveRu
Japanese: To LOVEる -とらぶる-

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 18
Chapters: 162
Status: Finished
Published: Apr 24, 2006 to Aug 31, 2009
Authors: Yabuki, Kentarou (Art), Hasemi, Saki (Story)
Serialization: Shounen Jump (Weekly)

Statistics

Score: 7.751 (scored by 14687 users)
Ranked: #20082
Popularity: #69
Members: 23,798
Favorites: 1,271
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top manga page.

My Info


Popular Tags

comedy ecchi harem romance
Feb 21, 2009
kurokamis
To-LOVE-Ru is a sci-fi manga with various other genres such at romance and comedy. It's a about a highschooler, Rito Yuuki who has an encounter with an alien named Lala. He is love with Haruna Sairenji. This manga captivated me alot and kind of hooked me on the first chapter.

Story 8/10
At first glance, To-LOVE-Ru seems like a hopeless randomized ecchi sci-fi harem, which is kind of true since most of the chapters are quite random. I think Ken-kun has created a storyline that has a basis to it that follows it's own schedule. Sometimes it will be on track other times it will be read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 28, 2009
Sakurei
To-LOVE-Ru is the typical shounen harem, but has some flaws, which made the overall quality worse.

Story: this manga has, like most harem no real story, except for the love between the main characters. This made it overall less interesting, but the comedy made up for it. But the biggest flaw is the fanservice. It was just too much. You'll not find a single chapter without Rito groping breasts, a butt or seeing a girl naked/in underwear, not a single one. What's also damaging the plot are all this one-shots. A manga such as this should have more of these small arc, but To-LOVE-Ru had read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 16, 2008
Master10K
To-LOVE-Ru is a Harem, Sci-fi, Romantic, Comedy that gives off the initial feel of an idiotic Rom/Com nevertheless it is still an entertaining read. If you feel like having a laugh then this never-ending manga is worth checking out.

It’s basically about a high school boy (Rito Yuuki) who is forced into becoming a marriage candidate for an alien girl (Lala). It begins with him protecting her from the various marriage candidates’ confrontations but soon after that finishes, the story moves onto the typical high school Rom/Com, full of idiotic sci-fi elements and every shounen Rom/Com cliché imaginable (e.g. misunderstandings). Sure if you enjoy these type read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 12, 2008
Lyfa
Alright at first I need to say, this is one of my fav manga's but I will judge pretty strict so...

Story:
At first a normal story will start, well it's what you call normal I mean who meets a princess from a other planet, well Rito does meet the beautiful Lala Satalin, who did run away from a marriege on her own planet, when she knows him better she falls in love with him... but Rito falls for Haruna, a shy girl that he knows from when he was little... after some chapters this story will a little disappear and there will be random story's about read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 15, 2011
nyesman
I first started reading this manga about a year ago. I finished the anime (which sucked, by the way), and I saw that there was a "readaptation," Motto To LOVE-Ru, that followed the manga more faithfully, which sparked my interest in reading the manga. I walked into the manga, not expecting much, and the first few chapters were closely related to the first anime. I dropped the manga for a year after being disappointed, thinking it wouldn't change. I recently picked it up again and actually read the entire series in less than two weeks. Let me explain why I became obssesed with such a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 21, 2008
MassZERO
To Love-Ru is one of those series I always eagerly wait for to be released, simply because it has a high enjoyment value, mostly because of the comedy, and on top of that loads of fanservice, which gets even better because of the incredibly good art style. That said, I must say that it doesn't go any further than that. Even though the art is great and enjoyment value is high, the story lacks enormously and I also don't notice a lot of character development. Sure there's story, sure there's character development, but it's all very weak and minimal. Though, both these factors are not read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 16, 2009
redsilversnake
After finishing Black Cat, I decided to check out some of Yabuki Kentaro's other works. Since I never found Yamato Gensouki, I figured I'd settle for To-LOVE-Ru, even though he only did the artwork and the premise was practically a carbon copy of Urusei Yatsura's.
To be honest, I actually found the first few dozen chapters to be fine. The jokes were largely hit-or-miss, but Yabuki's artwork and the chemistry between the characters kept me reading. All-in-all, it was a typical ecchi harem that didn't really wear out its welcome.
But then, at some point, writer Hasemi Saki lost steam. Her jokes grew more and more bland, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 27, 2010
GodEmperor
Please be gentel with me cuase I suck at spelling and I have never written a review before...that siad let me start this off by saying Im a huge Harem fan and have read and seen very similiar stories and characters like the ones found in To-Love-Ru. The thing that sets this one apart though is that the story doesnt take it far enough and ends with you begging for more....


First things first, how lucky can you be to have a beautiful alien princess land in your lap and then almost instantly fall in love with you?? Will if your Rito then your that lucky. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 27, 2009
artemishiu
I decided to write this review after learning that this manga series will be completed next week. Despite my enjoyment of the series, I knew that the fanservice that the author provided wouldn't keep it afloat for much longer. I loved the story for it's comedy and yes, I also like the ecchiness. However, I feel that the story could have been much better. Out of the 160+ chapters that the authors managed to draw/write, only about 60-70% could have been considered story-relevant. Which also explains why the characters got a 7, after all, how can the character develop is the story doesn't? The art read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 13, 2014
vince1996
To Love-Ru is a manga that uses a variety of genres which includes romance, harem and sci-fi; the plot centres around Yuki Rito a high schooler who is in love with his class mate Haruna Sairenji until he meets the alien Lala in which many misadventures spawn from.

Story - 8
The story of To Love-Ru at a first glance looks like sci-fi ecchi harem that centres around the character getting into to all sorts of random trouble, which is part is what it is but it does have slowly developing plot that slowly creeping plot which developed without me noticing until near the end which I read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices