Ranked #1847

To LOVE-Ru (Manga)


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: To LOVE-Ru Trouble, To-Love-Ru, To Love You, To Love You - Trouble, Toraburu, ToLoveRu
Japanese: To LOVEる -とらぶる-


Type: Manga
Volumes: 18
Chapters: 162
Status: Finished
Published: Apr 24, 2006 to Aug 31, 2009
Authors: Yabuki, Kentarou (Art), Hasemi, Saki (Story)
Serialization: Shounen Jump (Weekly)


Score: 7.721 (scored by 18021 users)
Ranked: #18472
Popularity: #88
Members: 29,481
Favorites: 1,497
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Apr 29, 2015
Before you even consider reading To LOVE-Ru, there's one thing that you need to understand:

It's an ecchi, and if you dislike the genre, there is no way in hell you'll like this one. It's probably the most typical ecchi out there, and it does everything only an ecchi could do, and that's the whole point of it. So if you do dislike this type of manga, then it's best not to read it.

Warning: Very minor spoilers on chapter 1.

Story - 7/10:
Our protagonist, Yuuki Rito, is a high school student who is usually despised due to the product of his misfortune. For some unknown reason (other read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 12, 2008
Alright at first I need to say, this is one of my fav manga's but I will judge pretty strict so...

At first a normal story will start, well it's what you call normal I mean who meets a princess from a other planet, well Rito does meet the beautiful Lala Satalin, who did run away from a marriege on her own planet, when she knows him better she falls in love with him... but Rito falls for Haruna, a shy girl that he knows from when he was little... after some chapters this story will a little disappear and there will be random story's about read more
I found this review Helpful
May 16, 2008
To-LOVE-Ru is a Harem, Sci-fi, Romantic, Comedy that gives off the initial feel of an idiotic Rom/Com nevertheless it is still an entertaining read. If you feel like having a laugh then this never-ending manga is worth checking out.

It’s basically about a high school boy (Rito Yuuki) who is forced into becoming a marriage candidate for an alien girl (Lala). It begins with him protecting her from the various marriage candidates’ confrontations but soon after that finishes, the story moves onto the typical high school Rom/Com, full of idiotic sci-fi elements and every shounen Rom/Com cliché imaginable (e.g. misunderstandings). Sure if you enjoy these type read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 28, 2009
To-LOVE-Ru is the typical shounen harem, but has some flaws, which made the overall quality worse.

Story: this manga has, like most harem no real story, except for the love between the main characters. This made it overall less interesting, but the comedy made up for it. But the biggest flaw is the fanservice. It was just too much. You'll not find a single chapter without Rito groping breasts, a butt or seeing a girl naked/in underwear, not a single one. What's also damaging the plot are all this one-shots. A manga such as this should have more of these small arc, but To-LOVE-Ru had read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 15, 2011
I first started reading this manga about a year ago. I finished the anime (which sucked, by the way), and I saw that there was a "readaptation," Motto To LOVE-Ru, that followed the manga more faithfully, which sparked my interest in reading the manga. I walked into the manga, not expecting much, and the first few chapters were closely related to the first anime. I dropped the manga for a year after being disappointed, thinking it wouldn't change. I recently picked it up again and actually read the entire series in less than two weeks. Let me explain why I became obssesed with such a read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 21, 2008
To Love-Ru is one of those series I always eagerly wait for to be released, simply because it has a high enjoyment value, mostly because of the comedy, and on top of that loads of fanservice, which gets even better because of the incredibly good art style. That said, I must say that it doesn't go any further than that. Even though the art is great and enjoyment value is high, the story lacks enormously and I also don't notice a lot of character development. Sure there's story, sure there's character development, but it's all very weak and minimal. Though, both these factors are not read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 16, 2009
After finishing Black Cat, I decided to check out some of Yabuki Kentaro's other works. Since I never found Yamato Gensouki, I figured I'd settle for To-LOVE-Ru, even though he only did the artwork and the premise was practically a carbon copy of Urusei Yatsura's.
To be honest, I actually found the first few dozen chapters to be fine. The jokes were largely hit-or-miss, but Yabuki's artwork and the chemistry between the characters kept me reading. All-in-all, it was a typical ecchi harem that didn't really wear out its welcome.
But then, at some point, writer Hasemi Saki lost steam. Her jokes grew more and more bland, read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 13, 2014
To Love-Ru is a manga that uses a variety of genres which includes romance, harem and sci-fi; the plot centres around Yuki Rito a high schooler who is in love with his class mate Haruna Sairenji until he meets the alien Lala in which many misadventures spawn from.

Story - 8
The story of To Love-Ru at a first glance looks like sci-fi ecchi harem that centres around the character getting into to all sorts of random trouble, which is part is what it is but it does have slowly developing plot that slowly creeping plot which developed without me noticing until near the end which I read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 27, 2010
Please be gentel with me cuase I suck at spelling and I have never written a review before...that siad let me start this off by saying Im a huge Harem fan and have read and seen very similiar stories and characters like the ones found in To-Love-Ru. The thing that sets this one apart though is that the story doesnt take it far enough and ends with you begging for more....

First things first, how lucky can you be to have a beautiful alien princess land in your lap and then almost instantly fall in love with you?? Will if your Rito then your that lucky. read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 27, 2009
I decided to write this review after learning that this manga series will be completed next week. Despite my enjoyment of the series, I knew that the fanservice that the author provided wouldn't keep it afloat for much longer. I loved the story for it's comedy and yes, I also like the ecchiness. However, I feel that the story could have been much better. Out of the 160+ chapters that the authors managed to draw/write, only about 60-70% could have been considered story-relevant. Which also explains why the characters got a 7, after all, how can the character develop is the story doesn't? The art read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 20, 2009
aah, To-Love-Ru......
what a great manga to look at from the authors, Yabuki Kentaro(Black Cat) and Saki Hasemi.....
i like the come back of Eve as Yami in the manga, and Kyoko as the magical kyoko.
i think, To-Love-Ru has a great story, art, and characters that is ejoyable to see and look at closely.
you wouldn't wanna miss it!!
but, the anime is kinda dissapointing and only had 26 episodes...
but overall, this manga is worth readed!!! ^_^
I found this review Helpful
Aug 7, 2011
I liked To LOVE-Ru because it neither failed nor exceeded my expectations. I took it for what it was, a comedic ecchi harem, and nothing more. And I wasn't disappointed in the ending, like I was with Ichigo 100%.

Story: 4
The story was more of a distraction (and at best a complementary element) to the overall read. It got pretty crazy and beyond explanation most of the time, but it wasn't anything I got upset over. However, if you want a manga with a good plot, you might wanna skip this one.
Art: 9
The art style made this manga for me. The extremely well-drawn characters scenes read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 2, 2013
At first, it might seem that this is a more ecchi and bold copy of Girls Bravo or other stories of alien girls. However as the story develops, To Love-Ru takes its own pace. Many of the characters in this manga are based on the characters from the previous work of Kentarou Yabuki (manager Art), Black Cat. Although the ending was a bit abrupt, it not leave a bad taste in the mouth and instead leaves you wanting more.
I found this review Helpful