Ranked #355

Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei (Manga)

Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei

Alternative Titles

English: Sayonara, Zetsubou-Sensei
Synonyms: Farewell Mr. Despair
Japanese: さよなら絶望先生


Type: Manga
Volumes: 30
Chapters: 301
Status: Finished
Published: Apr 27, 2005 to Jun 13, 2012
Authors: Kumeta, Kouji (Story & Art)


Score: 8.281 (scored by 4070 users)
Ranked: #3552
Popularity: #349
Members: 11,359
Favorites: 758
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Jul 9, 2015
Please bear with my english.

Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei is Not a Masterpiece. It's Not even great actually. Basically this manga is not for everyone. It's main genre is comedy and yet it's hard to understand that comedy. This manga's comedy is mostly about present japan i.e you have to know more about the japanese culture and about the famous people living in it. And people like me who knows almost nothing about japan had hard time understanding the comedy in the chapters. There are some chapters where comedy are only focused on the japanese cultures that I even skipped chapters. Yes, I even skipped the chapters. read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 5, 2011
Good day class, now today we are going to learn how to make one's self taller, now excuse me while I pass out the nooses...

STORY: Sayonara Zetsubou-Sensei is a dark satire comedy manga by Koji Kumeta, and yes it's the kind of dark with notions on suicide and the gross underside of society (With a satirical pinch of looking at the light side of the underbelly of things).
Each and every chapter are mostly stand alone stories, so there's not exactly a real story to talk about, but rather they're like school lessons, each chapter goes into a certain topic and solely focuses on so. From read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 26, 2015
First off, i wont be telling spoilers. so rest easy.
second, if you think my rating is off BY A LOT even. do take note that this is MY point of view. but just to clarify, ive watched tons of animes and manga. (and collect them too) and you know what they say about beauty in the eyes right?
Third, lets get started:

Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei (SZS) is about Itoshiki Nozomu, a teacher with ultra negative personality(kinda), very high suicidal tendencies (kinda), and his class of freaks(yep,freaks).
In almost the entirety of the manga its about Nozomu complains about something in his life or society causing him to fall read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 28, 2014
Quite possibly my favorite manga series, SZS is a masterpiece of satire, social commentary, and fiendishly twisted romance.

The artwork is done in Kumeta's gorgeous abstract style. Solid darks and whites in flat planes and intricate geometric patterns. Kumeta demonstrates a genius for character design, taking the concept of the silhouette to its most extreme by actually portraying his characters as silhouettes when it suits him. This plays into the fact that they are all references and satires to various manga character tropes, effectively shadows cast by other characters that came before them, yet visually distinct and instantly recognizable, boiled down to a simple geometric read more
I found this review Helpful
May 25, 2011
I own 8 volumes of this manga and thats because thats all they sold so far in america. I agree with the other reviewer that this manga is very worthy of having reviews of it im actually somewhat surprised that this is only the second. Well i don't review much so sorry for the ranting. As for the manga i gave the story 6 because there is not much of a plot(so far), its more just random situations that are hilarious.
The art i give a 9 because its wonderful i love the way the artist makes us of patterns. For characters i gave it read more
I found this review Helpful
May 21, 2011
I have only read two volumes, but felt SOMEOME should write a review!

This is an interesting manga, the strength to me is the insights into everyday Japanese life. There is an index at the end of the book explaining different words, puns and concepts familiar to Japanese readers, but you would have to be a scholar to know them if you are American.
One downside for me is I am constantly flipping to the end to read the references - which breaks the reading flow and makes the read a lot longer than it should be. The manga almost demands two reads, just to get read more
I found this review Helpful