MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #1586
Vampire Knight (Manga)

Vampire Knight

Alternative Titles

English: Vampire Knight
Japanese: ヴァンパイア騎士

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 19
Chapters: 94
Status: Finished
Published: Nov 24, 2004 to May 24, 2013
Authors: Hino, Matsuri (Story & Art)
Serialization: LaLa

Statistics

Score: 7.831 (scored by 30200 users)
Ranked: #15862
Popularity: #13
Members: 51,096
Favorites: 5,746
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top manga page.

My Info


Popular Tags

drama fantasy romance shoujo supernatural vampire
Apr 2, 2008
Reya
A friend of mine on a forum was raving about this manga and for good reason. It has a very captivating story, great (and attractive) characters, and good realistic conversation and story.

Some thing that bugs me about what people always rave about this manga (though this does not ditract from the enjoyment of the manga) is that the manga isn't as Vampire ground breaking as everyone claims. There are several, less know, stories of vampires who can go out in day light, take pills instead of drink blood, or vampires attending a boarding school in the night class while 'normal' humans attend the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 27, 2008
arsanii
To be quite honest, I think the only really good part of this manga is the art. However even so the talking bubbles can be confusing and all the characters are too "undeniably beautiful". It's a beautiful style but just having good art isn't enough.

It's boring. I'll admit at first I thought I was curious and found it interesting. But over time, the repitiveness becomes annoying and irritating. It seems as if the same three main characters of this manga receive too much attention while all the others, who are probably even better than the main protagonists, receives a very minimum screentime. (Or linetime, w/e) read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 24, 2013
KunoYuna
= Story =
- So... this Shoujo manga actually has a plot of some sort. Though, I can't really explain it w/o saying some major spoilers here and there. Though the plot itself seems like a 'go with the flow' type, it's not b/c everything is somehow tied together in some sense or another. Let's see... Kuroso Yuki is a day class student who is part of the disciplinary club that is in charge of hiding the night classes' secret. If you read the synopsis, the night class students are vampires. If you didn't, well now you know. It starts out like that until *MINOR 'spoiler'* read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 25, 2012
SarahPanthera
To be completely honest, I never finished this manga.
There are plenty of reasons that one should read it, yet the drawbacks to this series, in my opinion, outweigh the good.

ARTWORK
The artwork was simply wonderful, some of the best I've seen. Everything is done in careful detail, and it's clear that a lot of time and effort went into crafting every scene. If only just for the beautiful drawings, I feel that this manga should be, at the very least, skimmed through. I did have issues differentiating some minor characters, as their depictions were very similar, but that doesn't take away from the fact that they read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 16, 2009
mangafreak327
i really like this manga, and the art is particularly compelling to me, but somehow i really feel like the story is repeating itself. something horrible happens, there's like 4 pages of meaningless dialogue, and yuuki and kaname have some sort of 'steamy' conversation. throw in a few shots of zero being miserable, and kaien being silly, and you've got all 54 chapters. i've been watching and reading for about a month now, and i really hope with all my heart that Hino-Sensei makes a bit of a turnaround for this manga, because it's rather promising.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 6, 2009
Kuran_Yuki
This was my first shoujo in quite a long and boy did I get lucky. It's fantastic! The world of beautiful vampires and school, what a combo. It wasn't too surprising that everyone in the series was drawn to be breathtakingly beautiful. The humor is well placed as well is the drama and action. It's a little bit of everything, so if you want to cross over from shoujo and shounen or vise a versa, this is a great series for it, doesn't matter which direction you want to go. Yuki's sweetness may get on your nerves, nobody's that pure especially a vampire and Kaname's read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 1, 2013
Cutiepiejoys
Konnichiwa, Minna! This is my first review... so please go easy with me ~.~

Story: 9/10
The story is pretty interesting... It has a lot of twist and turns especially in the ending and in the middle of the story. You probably want to keep reading until its the end!

Art: 9/10
In my opinion, the art to me was very good... I mean all the vampires look really gorgeous especially Zero and Kaname XP. I love the covers of each volume of Vampire Knight!

Character: 8/10
The characters of Vampire Knight are okay. They look "beautiful" and "cool" but their personality isn't that great.

Enjoyment: 10/10
When I first read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 6, 2008
EtherealFae
Story
The story itsself is captivating from the very beginning. The whole time I kept wondering what was going to happen next. There were things I would have never expected- excellent plot twists- and even a smidge of humor for good measure. It's got the right balance of everything: Horror, Angst, Romance, Drama, Comedy. It has it all.

Art
The art was beautifully executed. Each major plot scene gave just enough imagery to make it not too gory or not enough. Again, it had just the right balance. Also, there were some different angles thrown in there to make it that much more read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 19, 2012
66Revelations
Vampire Knight was the second manga I ever read. At that point I wasn't really familiar with the whole Shoujo genre, so I didn't realize that most of the other Shoujo stuff is boring love story crap. Still, for a shoujo, Vampire Knight was a lot better.

STORY: 5
The story starts off with the cool idea of vampires and humans coexisting, and the first two or three books aren't bad. Sorry, this spoiler is unavoidable but I have to say that from the time Yuki gets her memories back and onward, the manga sucks so badly I wondered why I was even reading it. As read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 11, 2012
Quierta
I picked up Vampire Knight believing that it might be an interesting vampire story and I like seeing the different takes on an otherwise old subject.

I will start off with the negative simply because I feel as though this must be said, or expressed:

What it boils down to is that Vampire Knight is a highly, highly confusing manga. In the beginning, as many people have experienced, Vampire Knight was rather simple in terms of plot and scenarios. As time went on, however, questions were being answered but - in the process - more questions were being asked. However, as time went on the facts and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices