Ranked #1626

Vampire Knight (Manga)

Vampire Knight

Alternative Titles

English: Vampire Knight
Synonyms: Watashi to Fukigen na Panya-sanThe Sour-Faced Baker and MeThe Sullen Baker and Me
Japanese: ヴァンパイア騎士


Type: Manga
Volumes: 19
Chapters: 102
Status: Finished
Published: Nov 24, 2004 to May 24, 2013
Authors: Hino, Matsuri (Story & Art)
Serialization: LaLa


Score: 7.761 (scored by 33919 users)
Ranked: #16262
Popularity: #22
Members: 58,142
Favorites: 6,120
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.


May 31, 2013
VK is not a manga to be taken seriously. After 93 chapters of devotion: hoping that characters would evolve, that you would get some satisfaction or at least closure, you get absolutely nothing - only the bitter taste of disappointment.

Story 6/10:

There’s a great sense of mystery in the beginning, and the relationship between Yuki, Kaname and Zero is so deliciously mysterious and drama-filled that it’s easy to get hooked. You have the basic ingredients for a love triangle and lots of angst. You have the taboo vampire/human relationship and the beauty of longing for something out of reach. There was a sort of self-deprecating read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 14, 2015
I started to read the manga after watching the anime because the anime is good and interesting. But I ended up getting very disappointed.

Story: The main plot is interesting and probably one of the reasons why it became so popular. It started out as good but ended up being very confusing and messed up. I think the mangaka wanted to please the fans of the two male lead and so the story ended up getting messed up. The only good thing about this manga is the fact that up until the end, you can't really tell who will end up with Yuki. If that read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 18, 2010
The drawings are gorgeous, that's a given. It's a lot better than those silly flowery scenes in typical shoujo manga. I first started reading Vampire Knight yesterday, and it was really interesting enough for me to pull through all of the fifty-nine chapters (as of this writing), so I can not deny its appeal. However, there are some points that I feel need significant improvements.

For me, Vampire Knight is a guilty read. Why? Certainly not because of Twilight (okay, maybe so). But it's because of the tension in this manga. For me, the character interactions between all characters were appealing, even though their actual development read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 27, 2008
I belive I'm the first one to give this a lower review.

I'm going to go through this bit by bit, please bear with me and do not give me any trouble if you're a fan, this is my right of speech.

At first I quite liked the story, it was easy to get into. However as it went on I think that the writer has one to many themes that are just way to smiliar to have in this type of story. Long lost family, family stituations in general, unriquited love (and lots of it), 'incest', almost yaoi. While this can sometimes mean a good story, read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 30, 2011
Vampire Knights is the typical Vampire story with all blood stained love and unexpected crazy turns. well this is all my personal opinions as i am i pure shojo fan; here goes~

Personally i feel Vampire Knights is a really good vampire story to start with. It has a sweet atmosphere and a good concept of creating a school where Vampires and Humans study in different time periods.. Coexistence of Vampires and Humans is a good thought, really nice one but as you go deep and deep into the story it getts totally messed up!!!! Its quite complicated. once you get an analogy (or you read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 10, 2010
VK is like that senior year head cheerleader you had you eyes on as a freshman, pretty on the outside but an absolute airheaded, superficial, lack of direction mess on the inside.

But I'm just sterotyping.

VK was a shoujo with potential, and although I usually avoid that genre like a plague due to it's crappy weak characters, their faggy male counterparts and generally weak cliche plotline, the stunning art of VK drew me in. Admittingly the bishie's had a large pull factor, but it also got a number good reviews so I decided sure, why not?

Storyline: 4/10
To begin with the story seemed sure simple read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 5, 2010
I've read up to the current chapter and have decided to review the series.

Story: 6/10
In the beginning, it was quite easy to understand. It wasn't complicated. It was just a simple beginning. Then, after the death of one of the antagonists, it slowly grew more complicated. There were a lot of twists and a lot of scenarios that did not make a lot of sense. A majority of the aspects slowly meld together. At the beginning, it was interesting, but, 66 chapters later, it's dull. It feels dragged on. If it wasn't so dull and repetative, read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 11, 2008
i first got into vampire knight after stealing a classmate's manga in our free period, i've been hooked ever since.

there are a few key elements that i think, make this a very decent manga.
the first, and probably most important, is the interpretation hino give us of vampires. i'm be blatantly honest, i truly believed i would hate this manga just from the title. in my experience vampire/horror manga all contain the same basic element which make the storylines very predictable. what i love about vampire knight is that they don't stick to vampiric rules.
there is no aversion to sunlight, no fear of garlic or stakes, read more
I found this review Helpful
May 18, 2015
Although I'm gonna criticize the parts I didn’t like about this manga, I rate Vampire Knight with a well-deserved 10! A total master piece!

It is said (well, at least I say it....) that the things you're more judgmental about are the ones you like the most. That applies in this case.

If you like manga about vampires, intrigue, with a thousand and one stories intertwined, past-present-future, fights, blood, love, hate, secrets, and so on YOU SHOULD DEFINATELY READ VAMPIRE KNIGHT! All characters are thoroughly designed and the drawings are spectacular. You get hooked from page 1.


Why I'm gonna criticize it? Well, for once I do not read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 9, 2015
Blood.. they Say it is genetic memory of generations of our ancestors living a century ago. The source of life, energy, something without which it is impossible to do, our most precious treasure. Maybe that is why so many stories about vampires, creatures, seeking to Rob us of our treasure, and along with life. Their image is exploited mercilessly, and for a long time. The inhabitants of the night, brought before us in the pages of books and in the movies, in a completely different way, ruthless monsters, beasts in human form, a charming brutal and terrifyingly beautiful creatures, their lifestyle so attractive that few read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 2, 2008
A friend of mine on a forum was raving about this manga and for good reason. It has a very captivating story, great (and attractive) characters, and good realistic conversation and story.

Some thing that bugs me about what people always rave about this manga (though this does not ditract from the enjoyment of the manga) is that the manga isn't as Vampire ground breaking as everyone claims. There are several, less know, stories of vampires who can go out in day light, take pills instead of drink blood, or vampires attending a boarding school in the night class while 'normal' humans attend the read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 15, 2014
Manyyyyy people seem to not like this manga. Is it cuz it reminds them of that so-called vampire movie that every girl fangirls over? but let me get started on one of the most amazing reviews you'll ever read. leeetttsss not forget its by yours truly, dats right TOBI9790!!!! :D ..........if you die from the awesomeness of dis review please dont sue me. now shall we begin?

dis story is good for a shojo its about a girl dat attends dis academy which seems normal but their is a huge secret. nope not like the dirty magazines under your big (dats not even a big read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 21, 2009
Matsuri Hino is a great artist, but unfortunately the story of ‘Vampire Knight’ is sorely lacking when it comes to story elements.

The main three of the story are completely unequal when it comes to development:
Hino writes such a complete and compelling story for one male character, and get fans on his side, only to have things go to h*** in a handbasket for him.
The other male character is left completely in shadow, yet is ultimately the one who makes *All* of the pivotal plot decisions. Readers don’t know about his personality during any of these decisions, though, and this leaves read more
I found this review Helpful
May 24, 2013
I could write lots of good and bad things about this manga. It had its own downhills and uphills, but have finally finished with a - in my opinion - beautiful ending.

Let's face it, the story wasn't that original to start with and the characters were stereotypes or idealized men and women. Although Yuuki - our heroine - is like that too, she was my favourite character in the beggining, but that changed when an important incident occurred(don't want to spoiler it for you, although it's quite obvious). She is cheerful, hard-working, always trying to do her best. Kaname and Zero are typical male characters: read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 27, 2008
To be quite honest, I think the only really good part of this manga is the art. However even so the talking bubbles can be confusing and all the characters are too "undeniably beautiful". It's a beautiful style but just having good art isn't enough.

It's boring. I'll admit at first I thought I was curious and found it interesting. But over time, the repitiveness becomes annoying and irritating. It seems as if the same three main characters of this manga receive too much attention while all the others, who are probably even better than the main protagonists, receives a very minimum screentime. (Or linetime, w/e) read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 1, 2013
Konnichiwa, Minna! This is my first review... so please go easy with me ~.~

Story: 9/10
The story is pretty interesting... It has a lot of twist and turns especially in the ending and in the middle of the story. You probably want to keep reading until its the end!

Art: 9/10
In my opinion, the art to me was very good... I mean all the vampires look really gorgeous especially Zero and Kaname XP. I love the covers of each volume of Vampire Knight!

Character: 8/10
The characters of Vampire Knight are okay. They look "beautiful" and "cool" but their personality isn't that great.

Enjoyment: 10/10
When I first read more
I found this review Helpful
May 25, 2012
To be completely honest, I never finished this manga.
There are plenty of reasons that one should read it, yet the drawbacks to this series, in my opinion, outweigh the good.

The artwork was simply wonderful, some of the best I've seen. Everything is done in careful detail, and it's clear that a lot of time and effort went into crafting every scene. If only just for the beautiful drawings, I feel that this manga should be, at the very least, skimmed through. I did have issues differentiating some minor characters, as their depictions were very similar, but that doesn't take away from the fact that they read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 6, 2009
This was my first shoujo in quite a long and boy did I get lucky. It's fantastic! The world of beautiful vampires and school, what a combo. It wasn't too surprising that everyone in the series was drawn to be breathtakingly beautiful. The humor is well placed as well is the drama and action. It's a little bit of everything, so if you want to cross over from shoujo and shounen or vise a versa, this is a great series for it, doesn't matter which direction you want to go. Yuki's sweetness may get on your nerves, nobody's that pure especially a vampire and Kaname's read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 6, 2008
The story itsself is captivating from the very beginning. The whole time I kept wondering what was going to happen next. There were things I would have never expected- excellent plot twists- and even a smidge of humor for good measure. It's got the right balance of everything: Horror, Angst, Romance, Drama, Comedy. It has it all.

The art was beautifully executed. Each major plot scene gave just enough imagery to make it not too gory or not enough. Again, it had just the right balance. Also, there were some different angles thrown in there to make it that much more read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 20, 2014
Vampire Knight is a Shojo-style manga. Now to get rid of the elephant in the room, Vampire Knight is FAR better than most other vampire stories like Twilight, and Vampire Diaries. The thing is, it doesn't need to try because those books aren't well liked by many people if you set up a survey (please don't send me hate mail, thank you).
As many of you know, Vampire Knight is about Kaien Cross making a school that teaches human-beings and vampires to co-exist with each other. Vampire Knight has just the right amount of students that are for, or against Kaien Cross's plan. The private read more
I found this review Helpful