MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #1754
Vampire Knight (Manga)

Vampire Knight

Alternative Titles

English: Vampire Knight
Japanese: ヴァンパイア騎士

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 19
Chapters: 94
Status: Finished
Published: Nov 24, 2004 to May 24, 2013
Authors: Hino, Matsuri (Story & Art)
Serialization: LaLa

Statistics

Score: 7.791 (scored by 32280 users)
Ranked: #17542
Popularity: #18
Members: 54,980
Favorites: 5,925
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top manga page.

Popular Tags

drama fantasy romance shoujo supernatural vampire
May 31, 2013
hippokrys
VK is not a manga to be taken seriously. After 93 chapters of devotion: hoping that characters would evolve, that you would get some satisfaction or at least closure, you get absolutely nothing - only the bitter taste of disappointment.

Story 6/10:

There’s a great sense of mystery in the beginning, and the relationship between Yuki, Kaname and Zero is so deliciously mysterious and drama-filled that it’s easy to get hooked. You have the basic ingredients for a love triangle and lots of angst. You have the taboo vampire/human relationship and the beauty of longing for something out of reach. There was a sort of self-deprecating read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 18, 2010
Jazze
The drawings are gorgeous, that's a given. It's a lot better than those silly flowery scenes in typical shoujo manga. I first started reading Vampire Knight yesterday, and it was really interesting enough for me to pull through all of the fifty-nine chapters (as of this writing), so I can not deny its appeal. However, there are some points that I feel need significant improvements.

For me, Vampire Knight is a guilty read. Why? Certainly not because of Twilight (okay, maybe so). But it's because of the tension in this manga. For me, the character interactions between all characters were appealing, even though their actual development read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 10, 2010
carrotdawg
VK is like that senior year head cheerleader you had you eyes on as a freshman, pretty on the outside but an absolute airheaded, superficial, lack of direction mess on the inside.

But I'm just sterotyping.

VK was a shoujo with potential, and although I usually avoid that genre like a plague due to it's crappy weak characters, their faggy male counterparts and generally weak cliche plotline, the stunning art of VK drew me in. Admittingly the bishie's had a large pull factor, but it also got a number good reviews so I decided sure, why not?

Storyline: 4/10
To begin with the story seemed sure simple read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 24, 2013
Wanderer6
I could write lots of good and bad things about this manga. It had its own downhills and uphills, but have finally finished with a - in my opinion - beautiful ending.

Let's face it, the story wasn't that original to start with and the characters were stereotypes or idealized men and women. Although Yuuki - our heroine - is like that too, she was my favourite character in the beggining, but that changed when an important incident occurred(don't want to spoiler it for you, although it's quite obvious). She is cheerful, hard-working, always trying to do her best. Kaname and Zero are typical male characters: read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 5, 2010
musicvidnut96
I've read up to the current chapter and have decided to review the series.

Story: 6/10
In the beginning, it was quite easy to understand. It wasn't complicated. It was just a simple beginning. Then, after the death of one of the antagonists, it slowly grew more complicated. There were a lot of twists and a lot of scenarios that did not make a lot of sense. A majority of the aspects slowly meld together. At the beginning, it was interesting, but, 66 chapters later, it's dull. It feels dragged on. If it wasn't so dull and repetative, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 27, 2008
LoonyB
I belive I'm the first one to give this a lower review.

I'm going to go through this bit by bit, please bear with me and do not give me any trouble if you're a fan, this is my right of speech.

Story:
At first I quite liked the story, it was easy to get into. However as it went on I think that the writer has one to many themes that are just way to smiliar to have in this type of story. Long lost family, family stituations in general, unriquited love (and lots of it), 'incest', almost yaoi. While this can sometimes mean a good story, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 30, 2011
Amberlight
Vampire Knights is the typical Vampire story with all blood stained love and unexpected crazy turns. well this is all my personal opinions as i am i pure shojo fan; here goes~

STORY:
Personally i feel Vampire Knights is a really good vampire story to start with. It has a sweet atmosphere and a good concept of creating a school where Vampires and Humans study in different time periods.. Coexistence of Vampires and Humans is a good thought, really nice one but as you go deep and deep into the story it getts totally messed up!!!! Its quite complicated. once you get an analogy (or you read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 24, 2013
izzyb1027
Okay so here is my second review! Again there MIGHT be spoilers but this is just the first 5 volumes because I have not finished the series so the first 24 chapters.

So far I actually like the series Vampire Knight, its interesting and very well put together in my opinion! The artwork is well drawn and I absolutely love the characters. I also like the plot, the way everything unfolds! Um the worst volume... For me, would have to be the first one. I think Matsuri Hino could have waited a bit longer to reveal Zero's secret... Though I was not surprised when I found read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 21, 2009
StarryNight
Matsuri Hino is a great artist, but unfortunately the story of ‘Vampire Knight’ is sorely lacking when it comes to story elements.

The main three of the story are completely unequal when it comes to development:
Hino writes such a complete and compelling story for one male character, and get fans on his side, only to have things go to h*** in a handbasket for him.
The other male character is left completely in shadow, yet is ultimately the one who makes *All* of the pivotal plot decisions. Readers don’t know about his personality during any of these decisions, though, and this leaves read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 11, 2008
nataliexkathryne
i first got into vampire knight after stealing a classmate's manga in our free period, i've been hooked ever since.

there are a few key elements that i think, make this a very decent manga.
the first, and probably most important, is the interpretation hino give us of vampires. i'm be blatantly honest, i truly believed i would hate this manga just from the title. in my experience vampire/horror manga all contain the same basic element which make the storylines very predictable. what i love about vampire knight is that they don't stick to vampiric rules.
there is no aversion to sunlight, no fear of garlic or stakes, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful