Ranked #698

Kodomo no Jikan (Manga)

Kodomo no Jikan

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: A Child's Time, Kojika, Nymphet
Japanese: こどものじかん


Type: Manga
Volumes: 13
Chapters: 93
Status: Finished
Published: May 22, 2005 to Apr 22, 2013
Authors: Watashiya, Kaworu (Story & Art)
Serialization: Comic High!


Score: 8.081 (scored by 5633 users)
Ranked: #6982
Popularity: #367
Members: 10,859
Favorites: 731
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Aug 25, 2015
Imagine you had a friend named Bob. Bob is a great guy, nice, interesting, and you like having conversations with him. He's also a non-active pedophile. What do you think of Bob? Do you disregard all his good points because of this TERRIBLE thing? Or do you continue associating with Bob because those good points outweigh his disgusting side?
This is what I struggle with when thinking about Kodomo no Jinkan, there is a reason why this manga is controversial (And the controversy is what made me want to read it). However, at the same time, it's actually quite well written, well thought out, and brings read more
I found this review Helpful
May 12, 2008
Kodomo no Jikan. Ask any well-versed anime/manga fan about this series and they're likely to respond in either amusement or disgust. I won't attempt to sugar-coat it, if you find even the slightest allude to children being the target of sexuality to be absolutely disgusting, then you should probably keep your distance from this anime. Of course, I'm sure that no one is particularly fond of the subject, however, this series doesn't merely exist as a shallow loli-con's dream world; beneath it's humorous, light-hearted (although often inappropriate) surface lies a compelling story that questions morality and today's society as a whole in read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 18, 2015
A new teacher in elementary school is afflicted by an adorable little girl in his class who believes she's in love with him. And at first it really is an affliction. He has no interest in little girls as romance or sex objects, AND since he is the girl's teacher, any relationship with her at all, if misconstrued, could ruin his life.

So far, so good, and very promising. For those of you who don't know yet, manga writers delight in creating "unworkable" couples. There are so many opportunities for humor in them! And this female mangaka clearly started out to produce such a funny story, read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 25, 2007
Kodomo no Jikan (A Child’s Time) is a Slice of Life, Romance, Comedy, Drama notorious for its controversial take on the relations of underage children in our society. There’s plenty of comedy to enjoy but it does get very serious at times.

The story is about an inexperienced, elementary schoolteacher (Daisuke Aoki) who’s having trouble with the class he teaches but there's one girl in particular he's finding hard to control (Rin Kokonoe) But what’s more is said girl has got a huge crush on him. That’s basically how this manga is laid out and for most of the beginning chapters it is littered with a read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 2, 2015
**Finished reading the manga today, here's the updates, i'm leaving the old review unchanged**

When I said this manga was more serious then the anime I was wrong, both have an equal level of drama and excitement. The ending of the manga made me feel sad and happy and the same time, sad that the manga ended and happy that the ending was nice. I'm not going to up my review from a 9 to a 10 however, as there were still a few moments which were a bit eh and some moments that felt forced.


**This is a review from when I was on Chapter 60 read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 21, 2013
You might think it's a stupid manga, with nothing more than those "she seduces him-he falls for it" scene... But actually, this manga shows the story of not only Rin and Aoki, but also the other characters including their past, their way of thinking and reacting to things in a more detailed way. Also, what's interesting is there you don't see only one kind of love and the characters aren't all "normal"! You get to see different kinds of love including those who are legal and those who aren't, and you get to see different kind of personalities. Some characters even have personality dissorders which read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 3, 2010
What an interesting manga. It's hard to give this one a review, simply because by its nature it's incredibly controversial; the foundation it's built upon is incredibly controversial. But behind all the panty shots and loli-paradise scenes, there's actually a real story, deep characters, and a fascinating assessment of children's' place in society.

Rin Kokonoe and her friends know far more about sex than would seem normal - but in these days of internet and easy access to information, is it really that strange? Their boldness and cheek is both jaw-dropping and intriguing. Plus hilarious when coupled with inexperienced Aoki-sensei's reactions. xD

There's a very interesting read more
I found this review Helpful
May 19, 2013
Lets start with the ARTWORK: Fair. Quite decent. A fair number of fan service drawings that are... well, not exactly to my taste. I try to be open minded about it, for example, if it was a story of love between two men, then it wouldn't either be my cup of tea, but the story is what is important, and how it is conveyed. The artwork is decent to carry the story.

The CHARACTERS are very good. I suppose there is a balance between characters being plausible and being interesting, and they attain both. They have their own flaws and issues, quite a few severe read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 28, 2007
I highly enjoyed this anime/manga picking it up due to the controversy around. Despite the content I did find the censors highly annoying in the anime. At first it seems like a lolicon's dream fest, but the story is much deeper then that; it touches on child abuse among other things. Despite what many think, this isn't just some 'Pedophile' Series.

It's very well done, despite the behaviour of kokonoe rin, whom many found uncomfortable to watch; due to her precocious behavior. But if you can look past that, you can enjoy this anime/manga.
I found this review Helpful
May 26, 2014
Kodomo no Jikan is, in my opinion, an amazing manga series; many find it to be this, also. However, despite the acclaim it has received, it is still controversial due to its being a lolicon-themed manga. Indeed, it is a lolicon ecchi series, but it's actually very deep and well-written, which surprised even me, frankly.

Story: 10
The story at first starts off, well, oddly. Maybe it was just me since I'm not fond of lolicon manga, but it certainly felt awkward, and I almost wanted to stop reading it. However, I got through the first volume, and to be honest, it wasn't bad. I actually thought read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 25, 2009
Kodomo no Jikan, otherwise translated as "A Child's Time" is a story basing itself around exactly that (a child's time). More over, it gets involved in the psychology of children, and more prominently, lolita-complex.

The story focus is based mainly around a newly appointed 3rd grade teacher, Aoki Daisuke, and a female trio of students, Kokonoe Rin, Kagami Kuro, and Usa Mimi and how their school and personal lives start to become further engrossed as Aoki tries to keep his class manageable.

As the story progresses it seems to cover multiple angles of child psychology/interaction, from the aspect of a Teacher/Parent trying to learn how to deal read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 29, 2008
Kodomo No Jikan, also known as A Child's Time, also known as Nymphet, has had an odd history of censorship and bias against it. Given that it both parallels and subverts Vladimir Nabakov's 1950s novel Lolita, it does rather need explaining; For one, the reason no company will touch it is the the fact the characters are underage. The actions of the young characters Rin Kokonoe, Kuro Kagami, and Usa Mimi (3 years younger than Japan's Age of Consent) are meant to make you feel off-balance. Considering that the first character introduced is what can be considered the Avatar character, Daisuke Aoki, and he finds read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 10, 2015
By now, I'm sure most well-versed in the anime / manga community have already heard about this controversial piece and what it's about, Kodomo No Jikan. If not, go read the synopsis, it's there for a reason. I was also gonna write this long intro about how people are more childish than the elementary schoolers in this series for getting butthurt and prematurely judging such a finely executed piece of work but, I'll just let my review speak for itself. So, let's cut to the chase.

Story: 10
Since you went and read the synopsis, we can jump right in without explaining the plot. After finishing the read more
I found this review Helpful