MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #758
Kodomo no Jikan (Manga)

Kodomo no Jikan

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: A Child's Time, Kojika, Nymphet
Japanese: こどものじかん

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 13
Chapters: 93
Status: Finished
Published: May 22, 2005 to Apr 22, 2013
Authors: Watashiya, Kaworu (Story & Art)
Serialization: Comic High!

Statistics

Score: 8.091 (scored by 4908 users)
Ranked: #7582
Popularity: #344
Members: 9,467
Favorites: 661
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top manga page.

My Info


Popular Tags

comedy ecchi loli romance
May 12, 2008
JeejaeStitches
Kodomo no Jikan. Ask any well-versed anime/manga fan about this series and they're likely to respond in either amusement or disgust. I won't attempt to sugar-coat it, if you find even the slightest allude to children being the target of sexuality to be absolutely disgusting, then you should probably keep your distance from this anime. Of course, I'm sure that no one is particularly fond of the subject, however, this series doesn't merely exist as a shallow loli-con's dream world; beneath it's humorous, light-hearted (although often inappropriate) surface lies a compelling story that questions morality and today's society as a whole in read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 25, 2007
Master10K
Kodomo no Jikan (A Child’s Time) is a Slice of Life, Romance, Comedy, Drama notorious for its controversial take on the relations of underage children in our society. There’s plenty of comedy to enjoy but it does get very serious at times.

The story is about an inexperienced, elementary schoolteacher (Daisuke Aoki) who’s having trouble with the class he teaches but there's one girl in particular he's finding hard to control (Rin Kokonoe) But what’s more is said girl has got a huge crush on him. That’s basically how this manga is laid out and for most of the beginning chapters it is littered with a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 21, 2013
_Reminiscence_
You might think it's a stupid manga, with nothing more than those "she seduces him-he falls for it" scene... But actually, this manga shows the story of not only Rin and Aoki, but also the other characters including their past, their way of thinking and reacting to things in a more detailed way. Also, what's interesting is there you don't see only one kind of love and the characters aren't all "normal"! You get to see different kinds of love including those who are legal and those who aren't, and you get to see different kind of personalities. Some characters even have personality dissorders which read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 28, 2007
LAH-Azrael
I highly enjoyed this anime/manga picking it up due to the controversy around. Despite the content I did find the censors highly annoying in the anime. At first it seems like a lolicon's dream fest, but the story is much deeper then that; it touches on child abuse among other things. Despite what many think, this isn't just some 'Pedophile' Series.

It's very well done, despite the behaviour of kokonoe rin, whom many found uncomfortable to watch; due to her precocious behavior. But if you can look past that, you can enjoy this anime/manga.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 3, 2010
kittykatloren
What an interesting manga. It's hard to give this one a review, simply because by its nature it's incredibly controversial; the foundation it's built upon is incredibly controversial. But behind all the panty shots and loli-paradise scenes, there's actually a real story, deep characters, and a fascinating assessment of children's' place in society.

Rin Kokonoe and her friends know far more about sex than would seem normal - but in these days of internet and easy access to information, is it really that strange? Their boldness and cheek is both jaw-dropping and intriguing. Plus hilarious when coupled with inexperienced Aoki-sensei's reactions. xD

There's a very interesting read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 25, 2009
Bitmap
Kodomo no Jikan, otherwise translated as "A Child's Time" is a story basing itself around exactly that (a child's time). More over, it gets involved in the psychology of children, and more prominently, lolita-complex.

The story focus is based mainly around a newly appointed 3rd grade teacher, Aoki Daisuke, and a female trio of students, Kokonoe Rin, Kagami Kuro, and Usa Mimi and how their school and personal lives start to become further engrossed as Aoki tries to keep his class manageable.

As the story progresses it seems to cover multiple angles of child psychology/interaction, from the aspect of a Teacher/Parent trying to learn how to deal read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 29, 2008
jaymiechan
Kodomo No Jikan, also known as A Child's Time, also known as Nymphet, has had an odd history of censorship and bias against it. Given that it both parallels and subverts Vladimir Nabakov's 1950s novel Lolita, it does rather need explaining; For one, the reason no company will touch it is the the fact the characters are underage. The actions of the young characters Rin Kokonoe, Kuro Kagami, and Usa Mimi (3 years younger than Japan's Age of Consent) are meant to make you feel off-balance. Considering that the first character introduced is what can be considered the Avatar character, Daisuke Aoki, and he finds read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 19, 2013
Mandarni
Lets start with the ARTWORK: Fair. Quite decent. A fair number of fan service drawings that are... well, not exactly to my taste. I try to be open minded about it, for example, if it was a story of love between two men, then it wouldn't either be my cup of tea, but the story is what is important, and how it is conveyed. The artwork is decent to carry the story.

The CHARACTERS are very good. I suppose there is a balance between characters being plausible and being interesting, and they attain both. They have their own flaws and issues, quite a few severe read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 26, 2014
inukagome134
Kodomo no Jikan is, in my opinion, an amazing manga series; many find it to be this, also. However, despite the acclaim it has received, it is still controversial due to its being a lolicon-themed manga. Indeed, it is a lolicon ecchi series, but it's actually very deep and well-written, which surprised even me, frankly.

Story: 10
The story at first starts off, well, oddly. Maybe it was just me since I'm not fond of lolicon manga, but it certainly felt awkward, and I almost wanted to stop reading it. However, I got through the first volume, and to be honest, it wasn't bad. I actually thought read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices