MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #680
Witch Hunter (Manhwa)

Witch Hunter

Alternative Titles

English: Witch Buster
Japanese: 위치헌터

Information

Type: Manhwa
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: 2006 to ?
Authors: Jung-man, CHO (Story & Art)
Serialization: Daiwon

Statistics

Score: 8.121 (scored by 4998 users)
Ranked: #6802
Popularity: #232
Members: 11,658
Favorites: 477
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top manga page.

My Info


Popular Tags

adventure comedy shounen
Apr 22, 2010
infinity
-- [ Witch Hunter (WH) ] --

One liner: "Amazing artwork. Great narration and impressive story. Unfortunately, there is not much character development yet. A manwha that's definitely worth checking out"

- [ Story - 8 ] -

Witch Hunter revolves around witches that suddenly declared war on humans, and Witch Hunters, agents that are suppress witches. Witches are normally women that can use magic spells and invoke creatures known as Supporters in battle. The main character is Tasha Godspell and he (surprisingly) has a Supporter, Halloween.

From the line above, you could tell me: "Hey, it's just another shounen! Good hero battles evil bad guys!". You would be read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 1, 2013
r1k0noh
After 86 chapters I can tell that the author has fetish with sparkling sunglasses and weird hats. Period.

Joke aside, oh oh OH Witch Hunter, what a slow-paced manwha but surely you have grabbed my interest. Must you have patience getting into this manwha, lest you end up hatin’ it for not tellin’ you nothin’ at ol’. (damn is there really the need to differentiate between manga and manwha?)


Story: 9

Long long time ago there were human, and there were witches.
They lived happily together, if not for a new formed religion.
Snared at stakes, burnt were these witches.
This is witch hunt, led by human of power and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 6, 2010
IceAndCream
When I started reading Witch Hunter, it seemed like it was going to be a cheap ripoff of D.Gray-man. The main character (Tasha Godspell) was like Allen Walker with a chip on his shoulder. Even the WH (witch hunter) uniforms looked like the exorcist outfits. And the hunters use the typical tools of the exorcist trade.

But then it's obvious that this story is distinct. You've got the hunters who hunt....witches. (In that aspect, it seems a bit like Soul Eater.) They're all part of the WH organization opposed to the witches that are bent on world domination. That read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 7, 2008
Torint
Witch Hunter is not a groundbreaking series. It does not do anything particularly new. It is, however, a fun read. Tasha, the main character, and his magical helper Halloween have an interesting relationship that is always amusing to watch. The characters have thus far not done much to show themselves to ba above the usual crop of manga characters, but it does not make them any less likable.

The art style is average. Well made, but, again, nothing to write home about.

In conclusion, I am intrigued by this series and wish to learn more.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 2, 2011
2scu
Witch hunter sounds like a been-there manhwa but it's not. The fighting is unique, in that it contains witches, earth manipulators, technology, shamans(or something like that) that fight with the dead, and a few others, including the unique Tasha with his managun and him being the only man(for a while) thought to have magic capabilities.

story-9 It's interesting but it can bounce around a bit leaving you a bit irritated

Art-8 the art ranges from lotsa solid black to intensify the mood to light comedical sketches that make you laugh

character-10 the characters are great and each one is unique and has their own flaws. Possibly my read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 22, 2009
prischan
The whole story is great. Each character is well developed and always interesting to see. The way the author mixes the action with the comedy is very creative and you want to know what happens next. The art is also really good drawn. The whole plot is complex from the beginning and keeps you guessing.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 1, 2013
MomoiAisuki
Hey ya guys! This is one of my favorite types.
At first, I only read shoujo, school life, romance, drama... I never get interested in reading actions, adventures, fantasy... I don't know how I was convinced to read this kind of manga which I think it's only for boys, because it's action, adventure, full of fights, and whatsoever...
But somehow I really liked it, but not only like but also love it. It turned out to be my favorite. I like the outfits of the witch hunters and mostly the outfits of the witches. I like the art at a rate of 100%.
I'm amazed read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 1, 2012
Fallensurvivorz
I really like this manhwa, I find it interesting to read about Tasha's personality and his relationship with Halloween. They seem to have these love hate feelings for each other.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 16, 2012
Grizzly578
In my truly honest opinion, I have mixed feelings about this series for a number of reasons.
The pros are that it starts out with an interesting premise, characters, and this is backed by an impressive art style. The cons are that the story is to abrupt in it's transitions between a dramatic to comedic tone. The second is that the characters are TOO deeply flawed and they never try to overcome them. The third and final con is that the central theme of the story is that Possession is good, which in my opinion is a bad message.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 18, 2013
douj
this was one of the first manhwa i ever started reading (not that i read that many) when i first started reading it reminded me of d.gray-man at times, mainly the clothes the main character wears and the main character remind me so much of allen probably because the way he acts/looks. and this is one series where i like allot of characters usually it's about 2/3 characters but this series has allot of really likable characters and really like artwork of this manhwa and really love the action scenes my fave arc in this series at the moment is the Bairong Empire arc.

overall read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices